Onipa’s uprising against the machines in their new video

The band Onipa unveils the video clip for “We No Be Machine”, the eponymous title of an album which will be released on March 20th via Strut Records.

Onipa is a project born from a longstanding friendship between Tom Excell, conductor, guitarist and composer of the jazz/afrobeat combo Nubiyan Twist, and K.O.G, aka Kweku of Ghana, member of K.O.G & The Zong Brigade, accompanied on keyboards by Dwayne Kilvington (Wonky Logic) and Finn Booth (also from Nubiyan Twist) on drums.

In a mix of influences, from Accra to London via Johannesburg and Kinshasa, Onipa’s Afro-disco rhythms blend with K.O.G’s vocal talents, between singing and toasting, sailing from English to Creole pidgin via Ga.

In the video of “We No Be Machine” the group tends to denounce the omnipresence of technology in our lives and reminds us that “we are not machines” (we no be machine) in opposition to the name of the group which means “human” in the Akan language, spoken by the Ashanti ethnic group in Ghana.

The album is scheduled for March 20 on the excellent British label Strut Records, which features collaborations with South African rapper Spoek Mathambo, Lesotho star Morena Leraba, Ghanaian percussion master Afla Sackey, British rapper Syntax and Tanzanian sisters Pendo & Leah Zawose.

The album We No Be Machine, will be available on March 20 via Strut Records.

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Onipa contre les machines dans la vidéo de 'We No Be Machine'

Le groupe de 4 musiciens Onipa dévoile le clip de « We No Be Machine » titre éponyme d’un album à paraître le 20 mars via Strut Records.

Onipa est un projet est né d’une volonté commune entre Tom Excell, chef d’orchestre, guitariste et compositeur du combo jazz/afrobeat Nubiyan Twist, et K.O.G, alias Kweku of Ghana, membre de K.O.G & The Zong Brigade, accompagnés aux claviers par Dwayne Kilvington (Wonky Logic) et Finn Booth ( de Nubiyan Twist également) à la batterie.

Dans un mélange d’influences, d’Accra à Londres en passant par Johannesburg ou encore Kinshasa, les rythmes afro-disco d’Onipa se mélangent avec les talents vocaux de K.O.G, entre chant et toasting, voguant de l’anglais au pidgin créole en passant par la langue Ga.

Dans la vidéo de « We No Be Machine » le groupe tend à dénoncer l’omniprésence de la technologie dans nos vies et nous rappelle que ‘nous ne sommes pas des machines’ (we no be machine) en opposition au nom du groupe qui signifie “humain” en langue Akan, parlée par l’ethnie Ashanti au Ghana.

L’album est prévu pour le 20 mars sur l’excellent label anglais Strut Records qui comporte des collaborations avec le rappeur sud-africain Spoek Mathambo, la star du Lesotho Morena Leraba, le maître des percussions ghanéen Afla Sackey, le rappeur britannique Syntax et les soeurs tanzaniennes Pendo & Leah Zawose.

L’album We No Be Machine, le 20 mars via Strut Records. En précommande dès maintenant.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé