→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Les Filles de Illighadad take us on a tour of the Tuareg blues, while Sparrow and Barbossa journey around the world. Tkay Maidza explores happiness after a breakup and LV & Joshua Idehen evoke the melancholy of the same idea. Elsewhere, Omar Pene ponders global warming and 3XOJ delves into the systemic oppressions in Morocco. Lastly, Sneakbo remembers street tales from Brixton, Bella Shmurda teams up with Dangbana Republik and Show Dem Camp continues his Clone Wars series in a way that proves transformative for Nigerian music.

Les Filles de Illighadad at Pioneer Works
Les Filles De Illighadad

The Niger band has released a live album, recorded long before the health crisis. Les Filles de Illighadad have helped spread Tuareg blues around the world, including at the Pioneer Works, a mythical concert hall in Brooklyn where they performed in 2019. These two nights of performances were captured for a live album produced by their label Sahel Sounds in collaboration with the New York venue. These artists encourage a meditative and celebratory approach to life.

Listen here

Last Year Was Weird. Vol.3
Tkay Maidza

Tkay Maidza continues her Last Year Was Weird project, the first volume of which was released in 2018 and the second in 2020. The Umi and Yung Baby Tate collaborator mixes hip-hop, pop and electronic music to concoct an EP full of positive vibes. The Australian-Zimbabwean artist also produces fairy-tale videos, which bring on a state of deep introspection and self-love after a breakup.

Listen here

Seven Seas
Sparrow et Barbossa

Surrounded by a bevy of international guests, the Swiss-Uruguayan duo Sparrow and Barbossa has released an Afro-Latin house delicacy that is ready to light up the summer. This album sounds like a post-lockdown moment where everyone can come together to release the energy pent-up over the last year. Among the featured artists are their Spanish mentor DJ Chus, Kenyan singer Idd Aziz, the Cuban group Los VanVan, Moroccan pioneer Cee ElAssaad, Floyd Lavine, a rising star of South African electronic music and Dele Sosimi, a Nigerian ambassador of Afrobeat. The duo explains: “Sparrow and Barbossa is a pirate duo. Pirates explore the seas, and we tried to dive into the heritage of the cultures as much as possible.”

Listen here

Ends
LV & Joshua Idehen

The trio paints a bleak picture of their country following Brexit, denouncing the nationalism and racist acts that have ensued. They also evoke depression and toxic masculinity on an album that embodies the questions of the Black Lives Matter generation on an electronic, dancehall, bass music and dubstep soundscape. Joshua Idehen adds: “Ends is about endings: marriage, my idea of myself as a ‘good guy’, my belief that Britain was good and that Nazism will never come back, the endings of my certainty that things will get better. Ends is a story of closure.”

Listen here

Stork
3XOJ

The Moroccan producer and DJ continues to explore North African decolonial concepts at the intersection between conscious rap, fusion beats and traditional North African music. In collaboration with Don Zilla and Casablanca rapper Nabil Enmiri, better known as Al Nasser, 3xOJ unveils a minimalist and deeply lyrical cyberpunk EP dedicated to rai singer Cheb Hasni. The video for “Stork” illustrates this mood perfectly.

Listen here

Jetski Wave 3
Sneakbo

The London rapper remembers the streets of Brixton alongside artists such as Ard Adz, BackRoad Gee, Daniel Christian, Luciiia, Pa Salieu, M24, Moelogo, Mopiano, Richie Campbell, Stickz and Still Greedy. He evokes both the love, the hardship and the heartbreak.

Listen here

Climat
Omar Pene

After years of absence, the Senegalese singer has released a project dedicated to ecology, calling on us to fight against the destruction of the planet: “The climate is a situation that concerns us all. Global warming is something that exists. I see people who do not believe in it, while it should challenge consciences.

Listen here

Clone Wars Vol.5 – The Algorhythm
Show Dem Camp

Somewhere between pop, R&B, alté, highlife and Afrobeats, the Nigerian duo, formed by Ghost and Tec, has released the fifth part of its Clone Wars series, which Tec defines as follows: “The Clone Wars series was born out of the fact that we felt that everything sounded the same. When you look more broadly in Nigerian society, there are a lot of clones in general, whether you follow larger constructs like tribalism, religion or money.”

Listen here

High Tension 2.0
Bella Shmurda & Dangbana Republik

The Nigerian singer Bella Shmurda has released his new EP, a continuation of the High Tension project, released in 2020. He explains: “High Tension 2.0 is another dimension of Bella Shmurda. A new style, a new vibe, a new thing for my people. It’s like lightning. You can’t stop lightning from striking, and that’s the way I’m coming. I’m coming to penetrate. I’m coming to cheer up my people. I’m coming to change people’s minds, consciously.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Les Filles de Illighadad nous font découvrir le blues touareg, tout comme Sparrow et Barbossa nous font voyager à travers le monde. Tkay Maidza nous invite au bonheur après une rupture, tandis que LV & Joshua Idehen l’évoquent de façon mélancolique. Omar Pene s’inquiète du réchauffement climatique, là où 3XOJ mentionne les oppressions systémiques au Maroc. Sneakbo narre ses contes de rue de Brixton, Bella Shmurda s’associe à Dangbana Republik pour dévoiler sa nouvelle vision de lui-même et Show Dem Camp poursuit sa série Clone Wars, de façon à transformer la musique nigériane.

Les Filles de Illighadad at Pioneer Works
Les Filles De Illighadad

Le groupe originaire du Niger dévoile son nouveau projet : un album enregistré en concert, bien avant la crise sanitaire. Le blues touareg des Filles de Illighadad s’est ainsi propagé dans le monde, notamment au Pioneer Works, salle de concert mythique de Brooklyn dans laquelle elles se sont produites en 2019. Pour notre plus grand bonheur, ces deux nuits de performances ont été captées pour en extraire un album live produit par leur label Sahel Sounds, en collaboration avec le lieu new-yorkais. Ces artistes nous incitent à la fois à méditer et à célébrer la vie.

Écoutez ici

Last Year Was Weird. Vol.3
Tkay Maidza

Tkay Maidza poursuit son projet Last Year Was Weird, dont le premier volume est sorti en 2018 et le deuxième en 2020. Elle collabore notamment avec Umi et Yung Baby Tate. La chanteuse australo-zimbabwéenne mêle hip-hop, pop et musique électronique pour nous concocter un EP empli d’ondes positives, à l’image de ses clips féériques, nous invitant à une profonde introspection et à nous rendre compte de notre propre valeur suite à une rupture amoureuse.

Écoutez ici

Seven Seas
Sparrow et Barbossa

Entouré d’une ribambelle d’invités internationaux, le duo suisso-uruguayen Sparrow et Barbossa sort une friandise house afro-latine qui prévoit d’illuminer l’été. Cet album sonne comme une réunion post-confinement où chacun viendrait lâcher le manque-à-danser contenu pendant un an. Côté invités, on y croise leur mentor espagnol DJ Chus, le chanteur kényan Idd Aziz, le groupe cubain Los VanVan qui apporte une touche latine, le pionnier marocain Cee ElAssaad, Floyd Lavine, star montante de la musique électronique sud-africaine ou encore Dele Sosimi, ambassadeur nigérian de l’afrobeat. Le duo explique : « Sparrow et Barbossa est un duo de pirates. Les pirates explorent les mers, et nous avons essayé de plonger dans l’héritage des cultures autant que possible. »

Écoutez ici

Ends
LV & Joshua Idehen

Le trio dresse un portrait sombre de leur pays suite au Brexit, favorisant le nationalisme et les actes racistes. Évoquant également la dépression et la masculinité toxique, cet album incarne les questionnements de la génération Black Lives Matter, sur de la musique électronique, du dancehall, de la bass music ou encore du dubstep. Joshua Idehen ajoute : « Ends parle des fins : du mariage, de l’idée que je me faisais de moi en tant que “gentil”, de ma conviction que la Grande-Bretagne était bonne et que le nazisme ne reviendra jamais, la fin de ma certitude que les choses vont s’améliorer. Ends est une histoire de fermeture. »

Écoutez ici

Stork
3XOJ

Le producteur et DJ marocain continue d’explorer les concepts décoloniaux nord-africains, entre rap conscient, fusion de beats et de musiques traditionnelles d’Afrique du Nord. En collaboration avec Don Zilla et le rappeur Nabil Enmiri de Casablanca, plus connu sous le nom d’Al Nasser, 3xOJ dévoile un EP de cyberpunk minimaliste et profondément lyrique, dédié au chanteur de raï Cheb Hasni. Le clip « Stork » l’illustre parfaitement.

Écoutez ici

Jetski Wave 3
Sneakbo

Le rappeur londonien narre plusieurs contes de rue, aux côtés de nombreux artistes, à l’instar d’Ard Adz, BackRoad Gee, Daniel Christian, Luciiia, Pa Salieu, M24, Moelogo, Mopiano, Richie Campbell, Stickz ou encore Still Greedy. Il y évoque le ghetto, l’amour ou encore les peines de coeur.

Écoutez ici

Climat
Omar Pene

Suite à des années d’absence, le chanteur sénégalais consacre son nouveau projet à l’écologie, nous appelant à lutter contre la destruction de la planète : « Le climat est une situation qui nous interpelle tous. Le réchauffement climatique est quelque chose qui existe. Je vois des gens qui n’y croient pas, alors que cela doit interpeller les consciences. »

Écoutez ici

Clone Wars Vol.5 – The Algorhythm
Show Dem Camp

Entre pop, R&B, alté, highlife et afrobeats, le duo nigérian, formé par Ghost et Tec, dévoile la cinquième partie de sa série Clone Wars, que Tec définit ainsi : « La série Clone Wars est née du fait que nous avions l’impression que tout sonnait pareil. Quand on regarde plus largement dans la société nigériane, il y a beaucoup de clones en général, que l’on suive des constructions plus grandes comme le tribalisme, la religion ou l’argent. » 

Écoutez ici

High Tension 2.0
Bella Shmurda & Dangbana Republik

Le chanteur nigérian Bella Shmurda sort son nouvel EP, dans la continuité du projet High Tension, paru en 2020. Il explique : « High Tension 2.0 est une autre dimension de Bella Shmurda. Un nouveau style, une nouvelle vibration, une nouvelle chose pour mon peuple. C’est comme la foudre. Vous ne pouvez pas empêcher la foudre de frapper et c’est comme ça que je me présente. Je viens pour remonter le moral de mon peuple. Je viens pour changer l’esprit des gens, consciemment. »

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé