→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Moh Alileche pays tribute to Algeria; Magic System honors the Zouglou culture; Rocé and Amaro Freitas highlight great figures of African descent, while the Omnivore Recordings label glorifies the Ethiopian reggae singer. Elsewhere, Karen Nyame KG promotes the music of the African diasporas, as does Etanan with Jamaican reggae. 7liwa further establishes himself in the world of Moroccan trap music and,  Finally, KiDi and Chinese Kitty pay tribute to carnal pleasure.

Envolée Zougloutique
Magic System

Magic System pays tribute to the streets of Anoumabo, south of Abidjan and to zouglou culture. The aim was as follows: “To launch a message of hope to the youth and awareness especially relating to environmental protection.” A real work of societal criticism, Magic System seeks to raise awareness around immigration struggles, improve education and comment on the disappearance of certain icons. With the African nature of this project, the group plans to tour 14 countries on the continent “to be in communion with all the fans.”

Listen here

Humanity is Falling Apart
Moh Alileche

Based in the United States, the Algerian musician explores the musical cultures of the Amazighs, the indigenous people of North Africa. He sings in his native Tamazight language, and plays the traditional mandol, a stringed instrument used widely in Kabyle and Chaabi music. For this new album, recorded in November 2019 in Algeria, Alileche injects a touch of folk, especially beautiful alongside Dahmane Ben Dahmane on violin, banjo and mandol and  Karim Hamzaoui on piano.

Listen here

The Return Of Jack Sparrow
Ethiopian & His All Stars

Omnivore Recordings is back with unreleased singles from the Jamaican reggae legend Ethiopian, real name Leonard Dillon. Dillon started his career under the pseudonym Jack Sparrow and demonstrated a timeless mastery of rocksteady. The U.S. record company returns to the soundscapes he delivered alongside the group The Ethiopians, following stings singing with The Wailers, Bob Marley’s famous reggae group.

Listen here

Poings serrés
Rocé

With Algerian and Russian roots, the rapper is following in the footsteps of his father Adolfo Kaminsky, a resistance fighter and anti-colonialist who fought for the liberation of all oppressed peoples. With this new release, Rocé honors the great figures of Africa and the Diaspora with a profoundly pan-African spirit. A true work of memory, this EP calls upon the emancipating souls of the Algerian emir Abd el Kader, the Afro-American activist Angela Davis and the Burkinabe president Thomas Sankara.

Listen here

Sensei II
Karen Nyame KG

The British artist has concocted an EP made up of 100% positive vibes. Karen Nyame KG transports us in a whirlwind of joy, blending desire, love, party and sexuality, while evoking serious subjects such as women’s emancipation. For this project, she collaborated with Aymos, Mista Silva, Taliwhoah and Toya Delazy. With a soundscape situated between afrobeats, funk, gqom and R&B, Karen Nyame KG seeks to highlight the musical cultures of the African diasporas, giving the impression of a return home, as perfectly illustrated on “Africa.”

Listen here

Sankofa
Amaro Freitas

This is Amaro Freitas‘ most personal and accomplished project, mixing Afro-Brazilian rhythms, from samba to maracatu while passing through frevo jazz, funk and the musical heritage passed down via his evangelical education. The name of the album refers to the Adinkra symbol of a bird known as Sankofa, whose head is turned backwards. It is a symbol that had meaning for the Akans of Ghana and Ivory Coast, Amaro explains: “The symbol of the mystical bird, which flies with its head backwards, teaches us the possibility of returning to our roots, in order to realize our potential to move forward. With this album, I want to bring a memory of who we are and pay homage to the neighborhoods, names, characters, places, words and symbols that come from our ancestors. I want to celebrate where we come from.”

Listen here

Pamoja
Etana

The Jamaican singer, nominated in 2019 for Best Reggae Album at the Grammy Awards, has released a new album. Here, she evokes the power of love on “Legacy,” Black pride on “Melanin” and self-love on “Natural Beauty.” She joins forces with many artists, including Alborosie, Damian Marley, Fiji, Naiboi, Nandy, Patrice, Stonebwoy, Vybz Kartel, Wezi and Wyre.

Listen here

Weld Fatima II
7liwa

The Moroccan rapper, who defines himself as an “Amazigh Muslim who comes from Andalusia,” continues to explore the trap landscape, blending upbeat melodies, with dark and disenchanted lyrics. He evokes the struggles of the migrants of the Strait of Gibraltar in “Batal l3alam,” as well as his support for Palestine with “QUDS,” a reference to the holy land of Jerusalem. Bo9al, Issam and XXXRAYS are also present on the project.

Listen here

The Golden Boy
KiDi

The Ghanaian Afropop artist has released a new album, fresh off the  Artist of the Year award at the 2021 Ghana Music Awards. He defined the project, which marks a a symbiosis between Afrobeat, R&B and reggae as follows: “I am really hoping this Golden Boy project takes me to the next level of my career.” Here, he is surrounded by Joey B, Kuami Eugene and Patoranking, evoking 2.0 sexuality, daddy issues as well as spirituality.

Listen here

SMD
Chinese Kitty

The Guyanan pays tribute to carnal pleasure on her new album, SMD, a title reflecting a masochistic abbreviation. With lyrics like “I don”t fuck for free,” she recalls the feminist researcher Paola Tabet’s concept of “economic-sexual exchange.” Her new music features French Montana, Fivio Foreign, LightSkinKeisha, Dave East and Chanel.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

10 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, Moh Alileche rend hommage à l’Algérie tout comme Magic System honore la culture zouglou. Rocé et Amaro Freitas mettent en lumière les grandes figures d’ascendance africaine, tandis que le label Omnivore Recordings glorifie le chanteur de reggae Ethiopian. Karen Nyame KG valorise les cultures musicales des diasporas africaines, à l’instar d’Etana, fière de son reggae jamaïcain. Quant à 7liwa, il s’impose davantage dans le monde de la trap marocaine. Enfin, KiDi et Chinese Kitty chantent le plaisir charnel.

Envolée Zougloutique
Magic System

En plus de rendre hommage à leur quartier Anoumabo, au sud d’Abidjan, mais aussi à la culture zouglou, le plus magique des groupes raconte : « Lancer un message d’espoir à l’endroit de la jeunesse et de prise de conscience surtout relatif à la protection de l’environnement. » Véritable critique sociétale, Magic System s’intéresse dans cet album à l’éducation, à l’immigration clandestine ou encore à certaines icônes disparues. Fier de l’africanité de ce projet, le groupe compte effectuer une tournée dans 14 pays du continent « pour pouvoir communier avec tous les fans. »

Écoutez ici

Humanity is Falling Apart
Moh Alileche

Basé aux Etats-Unis, le musicien algérien explore les cultures musicales des Amazighs, les populations autochtones d’Afrique du Nord, en chantant dans sa langue natale, le tamazight, mais également en jouant le mandol traditionnel, un instrument de musique à cordes, très utilisé dans les musiques kabyle et chaâbi. Dans ce nouvel album, enregistré en novembre 2019 en Algérie, Moh Alileche apporte une touche folk, notamment aux côtés de Dahmane Ben Dahmane au violon, au banjo ainsi qu’au mandol ou encore de Karim Hamzaoui au piano.

Écoutez ici

The Return Of Jack Sparrow
Ethiopian & His All Stars

Le label Omnivore Recordings revient sur des singles inédits de la légende du reggae jamaïcaine Ethiopian, de son vrai nom Leonard Dillon, qui avait commencé sa carrière sous le pseudo de Jack Sparrow. Ce dernier avait notamment marqué les esprits par sa maîtrise du rocksteady. La maison de disques états-unienne revient ainsi sur les succès de cet artiste, qui avait fondé le groupe The Ethiopians, après avoir chanté avec The Wailers, groupe de reggae fondé par Bob Marley.

Écoutez ici

Poings serrés
Rocé

Le rappeur, d’origine algérienne et russe, suit la lignée de son père Adolfo Kaminsky, résistant et anticolonialiste qui luttait pour la libération de tous les peuples opprimés. Cette fois-ci, Rocé honore tout particulièrement les grandes figures d’Afrique et de la diaspora, dans un élan profondément panafricain. Véritable travail de mémoire, cet EP fait appel aux âmes émancipatrices de l’émir algérien Abd el Kader, de la militante afro-américaine Angela Davis ou encore du président burkinabè Thomas Sankara.

Écoutez ici

Sensei II
Karen Nyame KG

L’artiste britannique nous a concocté un EP aux ondes 100 % positives. Tout en évoquant des sujets sérieux tels que l’émancipation des femmes, Karen Nyame KG nous transporte dans un tourbillon de joie, mêlant désir, amour, fête et sexualité. Pour ce projet, elle a notamment collaboré avec Aymos, Mista Silva, Taliwhoah ou encore Toya Delazy. Entre afrobeats, funk, gqom et R&B, Karen Nyame KG a souhaité mettre en lumière les cultures musicales des diasporas africaines, donnant l’impression d’un véritable retour à la maison, comme l’illustre parfaitement son titre « Afrique ».

Écoutez ici

Sankofa
Amaro Freitas

C’est à coup sûr le projet le plus personnel et abouti d’Amaro Freitas, mêlant différents rythmes afro-brésiliens, de la samba au maracatu, en passant par le frevo, sans oublier le jazz, la funk ainsi que l’héritage musical issu de son éducation évangélique. Le nom de l’album renvoie ainsi à un symbole adinkra représentant un oiseau, nommé Sankofa, dont la tête est tournée vers l’arrière, qui était utilisé par les Akans du Ghana et de Côte d’Ivoire. Amaro explique : « Le symbole de l’oiseau mystique, qui vole la tête en arrière, nous enseigne la possibilité de revenir à nos racines, afin de réaliser notre potentiel pour aller de l’avant. Avec cet album, je veux apporter une mémoire de ce que nous sommes et rendre hommage aux quartiers, aux noms, aux personnages, aux lieux, aux mots et aux symboles qui viennent de nos ancêtres. Je veux célébrer d’où nous venons. »

Écoutez ici

Pamoja
Etana

La chanteuse jamaïcaine, nommée en 2019 pour le meilleur album de reggae aux Grammy Awards, sort son nouvel album, évoquant le pouvoir de l’amour comme dans « Legacy », la fierté d’être noire avec « Melanin » ou encore l’amour de soi dans « Natural Beauty ». Elle collabore avec de nombreux artistes, dont Alborosie, Damian Marley, Fiji, Naiboi, Nandy, Patrice, Stonebwoy, Vybz Kartel, Wezi, mais aussi Wyre.

Écoutez ici

Weld Fatima II
7liwa

Le rappeur marocain, qui se définit comme un « Amazigh musulman qui vient d’Andalousie », poursuit son exploration de la trap, aux mélodies enjouées, qui contrastent fortement avec le discours désenchanté de l’artiste. Il évoque notamment les migrants du détroit de Gibraltar dans « Batal l3alam » ainsi que son soutien à la Palestine avec « QUDS », en référence  à la terre sainte de Jérusalem. Bo9al, Issam et XXXRAYS sont également présents sur ce projet.

Écoutez ici

The Golden Boy
KiDi

L’artiste ghanéen d’afropop, qui vient de remporter le prix de l’Artiste de l’année aux Ghana Music Awards 2021, dévoile son nouvel album, symbiose entre afrobeat, R&B et reggae. Il affirme : « J’espère vraiment que ce projet de Golden Boy me fera passer à l’étape supérieure de ma carrière. » Pour cela, il s’est entouré de Joey B, Kuami Eugene et Patoranking, évoquant la sexualité 2.0, les problèmes liés à notre rapport au père ainsi que la spiritualité.

Écoutez ici

SMD
Chinese Kitty

La chanteuse de Guyana prône le plaisir charnel dans son nouvel album, SMD, abréviation qui fait en anglais référence au masochisme sexuel. Elle exprime également ses attentes, affirmant « ne pas baiser gratuitement », rappelant le concept d’ « échange économico-sexuel » de la chercheuse féministe Paola Tabet. Elle chante aux côtés de French Montana, Fivio Foreign, LightSkinKeisha, Dave East ainsi que Chanel.

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé