→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

7 albums you should listen to this week

Guedra Guedra and Electric Jalaba pay tribute to the Gnawas, while Biga Yut, Pappy Kojo and Nubiyan Twist renew hip hop. Valerie June’s offers lulling soul, while Strut Records takes us back to the golden age of Afro-American music with JuJu.

Logos II
Pappy Kojo

The Ghanaian artist rejuvenates the local hip-hop scene with his new album Logos II. Rapping from a young age, he left his native country for Italy in 2004 and began covering and posting popular tracks on his YouTube channel. He eventually recorded his own songs accompanied by Italian and Ghanaian music producers. Success came in late 2014 after his collaboration with Ghanaian celebrity Joey B on the official single “Realer No.” He also performed in South Africa at the Big Brother finals. He was then nominated three times at the Ghana Music Awards in 2015, earning him an award for Hip Hop Song of the Year. His album offers thrill and serenity, as perfectly illustrated by the soothing sounds of the intro on “Uomo,” beforethe frantic beats of “Uomo”.

Listen here

Vamparina
Biga Yut

The Ugandan artist graces the Nyege Nyege sub-label with a new project built on surprising rhythms. Having grown up in the ghettos of Gaba, he is best known for accompanying Ecko Bazz on the single “Tuli Banyo,” a track reminiscent of the golden age of British grime. Biga Yut released his first EP, entitled “Walah,” in 2020, a perfect symbiosis between sounds present in nature and electronic melodies through which the young artist reflects on his musical whirlwind of a trajectory, from the ghetto to the studio. Biga Yut’s undeniably futuristic new track, “Cash Boss,” is the product of a collaboration with the Portuguese artist Jonathan Uliel Saldanha, who formed HHY & The Kampala Unit in Uganda. Biga Yut drags listeners into his futuristic universe, lying at the intersection between dancehall, funk, pop and reggae… a real explosive cocktail of a track.

Listen here

The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers
Valerie June

After her 2017 album, The Order of Time, Valerie June launches into The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamer, an infinitely sweet track, as seen in the video for “Call Me A Fool,” in which she bewitches us with her soul-wrapped voice. This track remains full of optimism, despite the sadness of the lyrics: “They call me a fool because of your love baby.” Blues, country, folk, gospel, pop, psychedelic rock and soul are all mixed in. In the sensual video, Valerie June exposes her vulnerability, transforming this fragility into a breathtaking strength.

Listen here

Live At 131 Prince Street
JuJu

Strut Records offers us a real gem. The New York label has continued its reissues of Black Fire label records, which is known for bringing magnificent jazz and soul works to light. Strut allows us to discover JuJu’s Live At 131 Prince Street, recorded in 1973 in New York in the Ornette Coleman’s loft-gallery, one of the precursors of free jazz. It includes original compositions and covers, such as the previously unreleased “Thembi,” which Pharoah Sanders, another great figure of free jazz, had written for his wife. Brought to play on The Resurrection of the Dead by Marvin X (figure of the Black Arts Movement), the musicians gathered around saxophonist Plunky Branch founded the group Juju to continue their experiments, infusing their jazz with Afro-Latin rhythms, as in their first record A Message From Mozambique, released in 1972.

Listen here

Freedom Fables
Nubiyan Twist

The young English collective from Leeds is shaking up the codes of contemporary jazz in a mix of soul, jazz and Afro-groove while featuring talented artists on their next album Freedom Fables. This musical melting pot highlights the talented Anglo-Nigerian Ego Ella Ma, who recently performed at the Colors Studios, as well as the Ghanaian highlife legend Pat Thomas. In their clip “Tittle Tattle,” soul singer Cherise Adams-Burnett is once again invited to join the group, but this time to dethrone the master of an English country castle and take her revenge on history in a video reminiscent of a period drama skit. The craze has remained intact since the band’s first sets in Leeds underground clubs, which embodied the hype building in some London clubs.

Listen here

El Hal / The Feeling
Electric Jalaba

The six-piece British band explores the sensory effect of Gnawa music. “El Hal,” in Arabic, means “the feeling,” more precisely the feeling that comes when you play music and transcend where you are. This indefinable feeling is what the musicians of Electric Jalaba feel when they play Gnawa music. The bassist and producer Olly Keen describes it this way: “The feeling of being grabbed by the music and lost in the groove.” This feeling is even stronger for singer and guembri player Simo Lagnawi, whose native language is Arabic. In a groovy, psychedelic Arabic repertoire, we hear the remnants of West African dialects – Bambara from Mali, Fulani and Hausa from the Sahel region – as a testament to the age-old nomadism of these desert peoples. We hear the doubled ode to Allah and to the maâlem Mahmoud Guinea, who is the subject of the song “Daimla.” The feeling that music gives them, from their London studio, is both a form of self-renunciation and a collective attachment that binds them together more than ever, just like the people of Morocco.

Listen here

Vexillology
Guedra Guedra

Undoubtedly behind one of the biggest hits of the 2020 with his Son of Sun EP, Guedra Guedra announces the release of his new album, Vexillology, where he continues to build bridges between clubs and African traditions. He breathes new life into his bass-led music by mixing tribal chants, nature sounds, and traditional percussion recorded directly at the source. Through the prism of tribal and ancestral practices, he imagines utopian equality between societies separated by borders, and the reunification of North Africa with Sub-Saharan Africa through his music. Convinced that no studio recording can compete with the practice of field recording, the Moroccan artist built the track “Aura” on raw materials. Organized in a circle, men and women sing, recite poems and play the bendir (North African percussion) to reach a collective trance, which Guedra Guedra brilliantly transposed to a club setting on this track..

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

7 albums à écouter cette semaine

Guedra Guedra ainsi qu’Electric Jalaba rendent hommage aux Gnawas, pendant que Biga Yut, Pappy Kojo ou encore Nubiyan Twist renouvellent le hip hop. La soul de Valerie June nous berce, tandis que Strut Records nous replonge dans l’âge d’or de la musique afro-américaine avec JuJu.

Logos II
Pappy Kojo

L’artiste ghanéen renouvelle le hip-hop avec son nouvel album Logos II. Rappant dès le plus jeune âge, il quitte son pays natal pour l’Italie en 2004, reprenant des chansons populaires, qu’il publie sur sa chaîne YouTube. Il finit par enregistrer ses propres morceaux, accompagné par des producteurs de musique italiens et ghanéens. Il connaît un succès grandissant à la fin de l’année 2014, après avoir collaboré avec la célébrité ghanéenne Joey B, dont son premier single officiel Realer No. Il se produit en Afrique du Sud lors de la finale de Big Brother. Il est ensuite nommé trois fois aux Ghana Music Awards en 2015, ce qui lui vaut un prix pour la Chanson hip hop de l’année. Son album peut à la fois nous bercer et nous faire vibrer, comme l’illustrent parfaitement les sonorités apaisantes de l’intro, mais aussi les rythmes effrénés d’ « Uomo ».

Écoutez ici

Vamparina
Biga Yut

L’artiste ougandais fait honneur au sous-label de Nyege Nyege avec un nouveau projet aux rythmes toujours aussi surprenants. Ayant grandi au sein du ghetto de Gaba, il est notamment connu pour avoir accompagné Ecko Bazz dans le single « Tuli Banyo », rappelant l’âge d’or du grime anglais. Biga Yut finit par sortir son premier EP, intitulé « Walah » en 2020, parfaite symbiose entre sonorités présentes au sein de la nature et mélodies électroniques, sur lequel le jeune artiste revient sur sa trajectoire, du ghetto au studio, scandant des rimes intenses dans un tourbillon musical. Aujourd’hui, Biga Yut dévoile un nouvel EP nommé « Vamparina ». Indéniablement futuriste, le titre « Cash Boss » constitue le produit d’une collaboration avec le Portugais Jonathan Uliel Saldanha, ayant initié HHY & The Kampala Unit, en Ouganda. Biga Yut nous captive entre dancehall, funk, pop et reggae — vous l’aurez compris, un véritable cocktail explosif.

Écoutez ici

The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers
Valerie June

Après son album The Order of Time, paru en 2017, Valerie June se lance dans The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamer, d’une douceur infinie, à l’image du clip de « Call Me A Fool », dans lequel elle nous envoûte, avec sa voix enveloppée de soul. Ce titre demeure empli d’optimisme, malgré la tristesse des paroles : « On me traite d’idiote à cause de ton amour bébé. » Blues, country, folk, gospel, pop, rock psychédélique et soul s’y mêlent. Nous sommes également agréablement surpris par la sensualité de ce clip, dans lequel Valerie June nous livre sa vulnérabilité, de manière enthousiaste, transformant cette fragilité en une force époustouflante.

Écoutez ici

Live At 131 Prince Street
JuJu

Strut Records nous offre une véritable pépite. La maison new-yorkaise poursuit ses rééditions du label Black Fire, notamment connu pour mettre en lumière de magnifiques œuvres de jazz et de soul. Strut nous permet ainsi de découvrir le Live At 131 Prince Street de JuJu, enregistré en 1973 à New York dans le loft-galerie d’Ornette Coleman, l’un des précurseurs du free jazz. On y trouve des compositions originales et des reprises, comme celle du morceau inédit « Thembi » que Pharoah Sanders, autre grande figure du free, avait écrit pour sa femme. Réunis pour travailler sur la pièce de théâtre The Resurrection of the Dead de Marvin X (figure du Black Arts Movement), les musiciens réunis autour du saxophoniste Plunky Branch fondèrent le groupe Juju pour y poursuivre leurs expériences, perfusant leur jazz de rythmes afro-latins, comme dans leur premier disque A Message From Mozambique paru en 1972. 

Écoutez ici

Freedom Fables
Nubiyan Twist

Le jeune collectif anglais originaire de Leeds bouscule les codes du jazz contemporain dans un brassage de soul, de jazz et d’afro-groove tout en invitant des artistes de talent à les rejoindre sur leur prochain album Freedom Fables. Ce melting pot musical met en valeur la talentueuse Anglo-Nigériane Ego Ella Ma, récemment passée par les studios Colors, ou encore la légende ghanéenne du highlife, Pat Thomas. Dans leur clip « Tittle Tattle », la chanteuse soul Cherise Adams-Burnett est une nouvelle fois invitée à rejoindre le groupe, mais cette fois, pour détrôner le maître d’un château de campagne anglaise et prendre sa revanche sur l’Histoire dans un clip comique digne d’une farce de Molière. On comprend l’engouement resté intact depuis les débuts du groupe dans les clubs undergrounds de Leeds, incarnant à eux seuls le bouillonnement musical qui perdure encore dans certains clubs de la capitale anglaise. 

Écoutez ici

El Hal / The Feeling
Electric Jalaba

Le groupe britannique composé de six musiciens explore l’effet sensoriel de la musique gnaoua. « El Hal » désigne en arabe « le sentiment », plus précisément celui qui vient quand on joue de la musique et qui nous fait oublier où l’on est. Cette sensation indéfinissable, les musiciens d’Electric Jalaba la ressentent lorsqu’ils jouent de la musique gnaoua. Le bassiste et producteur Olly Keen la décrit ainsi : « Le sentiment d’être saisi par la musique et perdu dans le groove. » Ce sentiment est d’autant plus fort pour le chanteur et joueur de guembri Simo Lagnawi pour qui l’arabe est la langue maternelle. Dans un répertoire groovy psychédélique en langue arabe, nous entendons les vestiges de dialectes d’Afrique de l’Ouest – le bambara du Mali, le peul et le haoussa de la région du Sahel – en témoignage du nomadisme séculaire de ces populations du désert. Nous y entendons l’ode doublée à Allah et au maâlem Mahmoud Guinea dont fait feu de tout bois le titre « Daimla ». Cette sensation que la musique leur procure depuis leur studio londonien est à la fois une forme d’arrachement à soi et un attachement collectif qui les lie plus que jamais, à l’image de ce peuple du Maroc. 

Écoutez ici

Vexillology
Guedra Guedra

Incontestablement auteur de l’une des plus grosses claques de l’année 2020 avec son EP Son of Sun, Guedra Guedra annonce la sortie de son nouvel album Vexillology, dans lequel il continue de bâtir une passerelle entre les clubs et les traditions africaines. Il insuffle la vie à sa bass music en y triturant chants tribaux, sons de la nature, ou percussions traditionnelles enregistrés directement à la source. A travers le prisme des pratiques tribales et ancestrales, il imagine alors une égalité utopique entre des sociétés séparées par les frontières, tentant de réunir l’Afrique du Nord à l’Afrique sub-saharienne à travers sa musique. Convaincu qu’aucun enregistrement studio ne peut rivaliser avec la pratique du field recording, l’artiste marocain est parti chercher sur le terrain la matière première du morceau « Aura ». Organisés en cercle, les hommes et les femmes chantent, récitent des poèmes et jouent du bendir (percussion nord-africaine), pour atteindre une transe collective, que Guedra Guedra retranscrit brillamment sur ce morceau en le transposant dans l’environnement des clubs.

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé