→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

The Afrorack, first experiments on DIY modular synthesizers

Back in 2019, an article was dedicated to Brian Bamanya’s Afrorack, Africa’s first DIY modular synthesizer. The inventor is now about to release his first album named after his creation via Ugandan label Hakuna Kulala.

Spring 2018. Bryan Bamanya began looking in Kamapala’s repair shops for the pieces that would allow him to build the first African modular synthesizer. To do so, Bamanya relied on tutorials and circuit diagrams found on the Internet. Thanks to his impressive resourcefulness, he managed to beget the Afrorack. His success didn’t stop there, the young inventor went on to perform at the Atlas Electronic Festival in Marrakech, Morocco and at the Nyege Nyege Festival in Jinja, Uganda.

Behind the Afrorack is a desire to break with American and European and to reconnect with his African roots. “Our heritage does not come from Detroit, Chicago or Berlin – but from our own musical traditions. I am convinced that the next electronic music revolution will take place in Africa,” he said with confidence back in 2019. Indeed, the current synthesizers sold on the market are mostly American or German. Besides their exorbitant price and their scarcity in Uganda, Bamyana rejects industrial tools. “The charm of DIY lies in its power of emancipation: you are able to build yourself an instrument so you are able to create music. I find it very anti-consumerist and I like that a lot“.

In his debut album The Afrorack, the name of which is a nod to his invention, Bamanya introduces polyrhythmic structures found in some African musical traditions thanks to his synth sequencer. It is especially noticeable in “African Drum Machine”. Different layers of sounds can be distinguished, between the oscillators and the drums, to give shape to hypnotic new rhythms. It most certainly is the result of Bamanya’s work on algorithmic music and euclidean rhythms he already mentioned back in 2019. In “Osc”, this same frenetic rhythmic intensity typical to East Africa’s sounds can be found.

The Afrorack out on May 27th via Hakuna Kulala.

Listen to “Osc” in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Afrorack: the body to the machine (interview & live session)
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

The Afrorack, première expérimentation sur le synthétiseur africain DIY

On vous en parlait en 2019, Brian Bamanya, le concepteur de l’Afrorack aka le premier synthétiseur modulaire DIY du continent africain, s’apprête à sortir son premier album éponyme via le label ougandais Hakuna Kulala.

C’est au printemps 2018 que Brian Bamanya part à la recherche de pièces auprès des réparateurs informatiques à Kampala pour concevoir le premier synthétiseur modulaire africain. Pour se faire, il s’était appuyé sur des tutoriels et des schémas de circuits électroniques récupérés sur Internet. Grâce à sa grande débrouillardise, il était ainsi parvenu à donner naissance à l’Afrorack. Son succès ne s’est pas arrêté là car son invention plaît. Le jeune trentenaire ougandais enchaîne les sets de l’Atlas Electronic Festival à Marrakech au Nyege Nyege Festival à Jinja.

Derrière l’Afrorack se cache une volonté de se distancer des techniques américaines et européennes pour mettre en valeur la musique africaine. “Notre héritage ne vient ni de Detroit, Chicago ou Berlin – mais de nos propres traditions musicales, je suis convaincu que c’est en Afrique qu’aura lieu la prochaine révolution des musiques électroniques ! », avait-il affirmé à PAM en 2019. En effet, les synthétiseurs actuels sur le marché sont le plus souvent de facture américaine ou allemande. Outre leur prix exorbitant et leur inaccessibilité en Ouganda, Bamyana rejette l’outil industriel. « Le charme du DIY, c’est son pouvoir d’émancipation : être capable de construire soi-même un instrument en mesure de créer de la musique. Je trouve ça très anti-consumériste et ça me plaît beaucoup. »

Dans son premier album The Afrorack, dont le nom rend hommage à son invention, Brian Bamanya introduit les structures polyrythmiques qu’on retrouve dans certaines traditions musicales africaines à l’aide du séquenceur de son synthé. On le remarque particulièrement dans « African Drum Machine ». On y distingue différentes superpositions de sons, celui des oscillateurs et celui des percussions, qui viennent ainsi former ce nouvel amalgame de rythmes hypnotiques. C’est très certainement le fruit de son travail sur les musiques algorithmiques et les rythmes euclidiens qu’il évoquait déjà en 2019. Dans « Osc », on retrouve également cette intensité caractéristique de la musique d’Afrique de l’Est.

L’album The Afrorack est à découvrir le 27 mai prochain.

Écoutez « Osc » dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

Afrorack : le corps de la machine (interview et live session)
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé