→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

John Johanna and Sefo Kanuteh seek the Divine on Ahimsa

Capitol K’s Faith & Industry label announces the release of new album Ahimsa born from the collaboration between British producer John Johanna and Gambian kora and balafon’s virtuoso Sefo Kanuteh. 

Both artists had already worked together for Sefo Kanuteh’s debut album Afou which was produced by John Johanna and released a year ago. Their musical friendship started in 2018 when Kanuteh’s manager heard one of Johanna’s songs on the radio and put the two men in touch. Their music has been described as a mix between Kanuteh’s Gambian Jaliya and Johanna’s electronic spiritual music. Since they have decided to produce a new three-track EP entitled Ahimsa which will be released by Capitol K’s Faith & Industry

Ahimsa, which takes its name from the Sanskrit word for non-violence, combines Johana’s electronic music with the powerful lyrics of Kanuteh, sung both in English and in Mandinka, which reflects their guiding philosophy. In it, they aim to allay the anxieties and encourage the hopes of a world in turmoil. 

“God is the one with real power and wealth. Don’t be afraid…” sings Kanuteh in Mandinka

The title track of the same name is a reflection on the artists’s faith (Kanuteh is a Muslim and Johanna an Eastern Orthodox Christian). According to them, answers are to be found in the realm of spirituality and the Divine. This will one day lead us to emancipation, not only from political and economic oppression, but also from the problems we carry within and between us.

In the same way, “Nyomuta” continues with themes of human solidarity over and against the machinations of power, as well as the responsibilities of care and attention that we owe one another.

The last track “Mercante” explores, through the story of medieval Italian merchant Messer Francesco Datini, how long-distance merchants paved the way for colonialism. It offers a reflection on wealth, power and global monopolism. The track features, at the end, Betamax, the drummer from the British band The Comet is Coming and a solo from Austrian saxophonist Guido Spannocchi.

Ahmisa out May 27th via Capitol K

Listen to “Ahmisa” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Ahimsa : un voyage spirituel proposé par John Johanna et Sefo Kanuteh

Le label Faith & Industry annonce la sortie du nouvel album Ahimsa né de la collaboration entre le producteur britannique John Johanna et le virtuose gambien de la kora et du balafon Sefo Kanuteh. 

C’est en 2018 que le manager de Sefo Kanuteh met en relation le griot gambien au producteur britannique John Johanna après avoir entendu un de ses morceaux à la radio. Le premier album de Sefo Kanuteh, Afou, sorti l’année dernière, est ainsi produit par John Johanna. Leur collaboration s’avère fructueuse puisque le duo décide de remettre le couvert avec un nouvel album intitulé Ahimsa produit par le label londonien Faith & Industry.

Ahimsa, qui signifie « non-violence » en sanskrit, associe la musique électronique de John Johanna aux textes puissants de Sefo Kanuteh. Chantés à la fois en anglais et en mandinka, ses paroles reflètent leur philosophie commune : elles cherchent à nous rassurer et nous redonner espoir dans un monde en plein bouleversement. 

« Dieu seul possède le véritable pouvoir et la vraie richesse/ N’ayez crainte … », chante en langue mandingue Sefo Kanuteh dans le titre du même nom.

Dans le single « Ahimsa », le duo propose une réflexion sur leur foi (Sefo Kanuteh est musulman tandis que John Johanna est un chrétien orthodoxe). Selon eux, les réponses se trouvent dans le domaine de la spiritualité et du divin. Elles nous conduiront un jour à l’émancipation, non seulement de l’oppression politique et économique mais aussi des autres difficultés qui nous divisent et auxquelles l’humanité doit faire face. 

De la même manière, « Nyomuta » reprend le thème de la solidarité humaine face aux machinations du pouvoir. Le musicien gambien parle des responsabilités que nous nous devons les uns aux autres.

À travers l’histoire du marchand italien du XIV siècle, Messer Francesco Datini, le dernier morceau « Mercante » s’intéresse au rôle précurseur des échanges commerciaux internationaux dans le colonialisme. Il propose une réflexion sur la richesse, le pouvoir et le commerce international. Le single fait intervenir, à la fin, Betamax, le batteur du groupe britannique The Comet is Coming ainsi que le saxophoniste autrichien Guido Spannocchi.

L’album Ahimsa sort le 27 mai 2022.

Écoutez « Ahimsa » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé