→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Ama Gogela: a nervous second album by trio Phelimuncasi

Label Nyege Nyege announces the release of Durban-based band Phelimuncasi’s second album entitled Ama Gogela.

Driven by a need to produce politically-motivated music and to shake things up, the trio made of band members Malathon and twins Makan Nana and Khera came together in 2012 in the Mlaszi township of Durban in South Africa. Their debut album 2013-2019 released in 2020 took the gqom scene by storm. By mixing the dark house music inspired by kwaito with the toyi-toyi (a powerful dance accompanied by protest singing that was used during anti-apartheid demonstrations to intimidate police and security forces), their message was definitely revolutionary.

PHELIMUNCASI – I don’t feel my legs

This distinctive feature has not been lost in their second album Ama Gogela which sees the band’s return. The lyrics of the single “I don’t feel like legs” sung both in isiZulu and English can be heard alongside the police sirens, thick bass and dense percussive chatter. It serves as a call to action for anyone listening.

The album’s name itself is evocative. Inspired by a ferocious South African bee, it reads as a metaphor : the goal is to leave you restless, just like after having been stinged by the insect.

“The same thing happens when that bee hits you hard. Once it stings you, you can’t manage it, it’s painful. It’s like our songs – once you listen, you can’t stop”, they explain.

While the message is evidently political, Phelimuncasi is not losing sight of the dancefloor. Harnessing South Africa’s ancient theatrical and storytelling traditions, the band tries to imbue the new album with the same distinctive energy.

“We believe our music is irresistible, you can’t sleep or chill while it’s playing.”

The album also features an impressive range of diverse talents with the return of DJ MP3 and DJ Scoturn, already present in their first album, with the addition of locals DJ Nhlekzin, DJ Ndakx, amongst others. They all give credence to the dynamism of Durban’s globally prestigious gqom scene.

The album Ama Gogela will be out May the 13th via Nyege Nyege Tapes.

Listen to Phelimuncasi in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Ama Gogela : un second album nerveux signé Phelimuncasi

Le label ougandais Nyege Nyege annonce la sortie de Ama Gogela par Phelimuncasi, le second album du groupe sud-africain basé à Durban.

Poussés par un désir de produire de la musique engagée et de faire bouger les choses, Malathon et les jumeaux Mankan Nana et Khera décident de monter ensemble un groupe en 2012 à Durban en Afrique du Sud. Leur premier album, 2013-2019, prend quasi instantanément d’assaut la scène gqom à sa sortie en 2020. Dans ce disque, le trio mélange habilement la musique house inspirée du kwaito avec le toyi-toyi (une danse de manifestation associée aux chants contestataires anti-apartheid du peuple sud-africain) pour délivrer un message décidément révolutionnaire.

On retrouve cette même marque de fabrique dans le nouvel album Ama Gogela qui marque le retour du groupe. Les paroles du single « I can’t feel like legs » sont chantées à la fois en anglais et en zoulou. Elles accompagnent le bruit des sirènes de police, des basses lourdes et des percussions. Il s’agit d’un appel à agir qui s’adresse au public.

PHELIMUNCASI – I don’t feel my legs

Le nom de l’album est également évocateur. Il fait référence à une abeille féroce endémique de l’Afrique du Sud. C’est une métaphore car l’album se veut source d’agitation, comme après avoir été piqué par un insecte.

« C’est comme quand vous vous faites violemment piquer par une abeille. La piqûre vous empêche de penser à autre chose. C’est douloureux. Comme nos morceaux – après les avoir écoutés, on ne peut plus s’arrêter », affirme Phelimuncasi.

Si le message est bien politique, le trio ne perd pas de vue le dancefloor. Le groupe s’imprègne de la culture de l’Afrique du Sud et de ses anciennes traditions théâtrales et narratives pour faire passer la même énergie qui a fait le succès de leur premier album.

On retrouve également dans cet album un éventail vertigineux d’artistes invités par le groupe avec le retour de DJ MP3 et DJ Scoturn, déjà présents dans 2013-2019, et d’autres musiciens locaux tels que  DJ Nhlekzin et DJ Ndakx. Ils attestent du dynamisme que l’on attribue à la scène gqom, mondialement reconnue, de Durban.

Écoutez Phelimuncasi dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

L’album Ama Gogela sort le 13 mai chez Nyege Nyege Tapes.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé