→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

The best afro club tracks of the season

This is it, the journalistic extension of our afro + club playlist is now a monthly series. A rendezvous not to be missed for DJs, clubbers and lovers of dancefloor sounds impregnated with the culture of the continent and its diaspora. Here are 17 essential tracks that have set the pace for the new year.

 

Find the full selection in our afro + club playlist.

Natoxie Ft TKD – Left Right

Natoxie – Left/Right

Already present in our July selection, Natoxie strikes again with “Left/Right”, a new shatta and dancehall riddim hot as embers. The Martiniquan is accompanied by his acolytes Le Jemss, Not Nice, Ranger Rouge and Ti Couby on these 2 minutes of pure debauchery!

DJ Tobzy – Human Being is a Chameleon Beat (feat. Dragon Beatz & DJ Ozzytee)

On the eve of the release of a first album by Nyege Nyege Tapes, DJ Tobzy releases in parallel this track on his YouTube channel. As usual, the Nigerian illustrates himself with the frenetic collage between gqom, afrobeats, baile funk and techno that has already made him the ambassador of this underground scene of Lagos called Cruise or Freebeat. On the menu, uptempo beats, nonchalant lyrics and old-school synths, all pumped up with adrenaline!

Lady Leshurr – Tabasco

With “Tabasco”, the rapper Lady Leshurr has undoubtedly signed one of the afro-club anthems of this summer. Drawing its roots from the small island of St. Kitts and Nevis in the Caribbean, the British MC unleashes the dogs to deliver a frantic dancehall turbine that promises to draw a few liters of sweat.

>

Mbulelo – Kalibre

After a passage on the prestigious label Transmat from pioneer Derrick May, the South African Mbulelo logically arrives at Hakuna Kulala with a new EP, at the crossroads of gqom and Detroit techno. Among these 4 tracks, “Kalibre” raises the tension up a notch with its hypnotic polyrhythms and its minimalist techno loops.

Mina & Bryte – Abeka Bugatti (Banga remix)

One year after the success of their EP Abeka Bugatti, the British producer Mina and the Ghanaian MC Bryte entrust their 5 tracks to amapiano, batida and gqom remixers. The eponymous track, a spontaneous mix between London club culture and African electronic music, is reworked here by Franco-Gabonese Banga, who adds her melodic and percussive signature!

Utility, DJ Plead – Flooot (DJ Plead rework)

Australian DJ and producer DJ Plead gives a new dimension to “Flooot” from Nexus Destiny, a collection of 60 arpeggios made entirely with software synthesizers. He uses the basic melody as a base for a new track that oscillates between breakbeat and batida atmospheres.

DJ Mariio – Pink Light

DJ Mariio is the rookie on The Gqom Trilogy compilation, which tracks the innovations of the Durban scene through three producers. In this 26-track collection about to be released by Hakuna Kulala, the 20-year-old producer offers the single “Pink Light” in a saturated, almost spooky style that torments the basics of gqom. 


Karen Nyame KG – Taboo
After an EP like Sensei II, the return of the British artist KG was more than expected. At the same time in the voice and in the production, she comes back in force with the single “Taboo”, where she speaks about desire and sexuality in a sensual soul atmosphere as Sade, doped with amapiano basses. A treat of modern electronic music.

Professional Beat – Are You Playing? 

A new example of cruise – a Nigerian style also known as “freebeat” – with Professional Beat, another rising star of the genre. Uptempo beats that reach 140 bpm, catchy gimmicks and heady melodies make this track a DIY gem. The Nigerian offers here a hit as spontaneous as it is artisanal!

DJ Katapila – Fadidi
Heading to Accra, where DJ Katapila draws on the origins of house music, Detroit techno and traditional Ghanaian rhythms to create a singular style, catalyzed by his Twi flow. “Fadidi” is just a sample of the old-school techno delirium that the MC and producer offers us on the singular Techno Africa EP released by Club Yeke.

Magugu – Stay One side

Born in Lagos, Magugu now lives in London where he shaped his sharp rap in pidgin, amplified by the UK bass fog that hangs over the club planet. At the rate of a track per month minimum, the rapper releases his productions in the shade and regale us once again with his serious and charismatic flow on “Stay One Side” which surfs on the energy of grime. Boiling.

DJ Lycox – Ve So

Who says afro club says batida, and who says batida says DJ Lycox, a real hit machine from Lisbon who never stops releasing killers on his Soundcloud page. Percussions, arrogant melody and dirty lyrics make “Ve So” a pure product of the ghetto. Legend has it that this track is a precursor to an upcoming album…

RS Produções – YAH

A few blocks away, the crew RS Produções launches the alert with a dangerous batida track from their EP Dar é Dar. In a more sticky formula, the team led by DJ Narciso explores the depths of batida on “YAH”, with a recipe as unhealthy as groovy.

Lijay – Hotline fuck

In the wake of Natoxie, the other Martinican, Lijay, produces the most pornographic track of this list. With Jeskobeat’s slowed down shatta prod, Lijay displays his nymphomaniac mood on this completely obsessive “Hotline Fuck”.

Florentino x BAMBII x KD One – Constrictor

From the Mancunian underground, Florentino delivers a reggaeton-soaked dembow single on the big house XL Recordings. Soaked in the atmosphere of the streets of Bogotá and Barcelona clubs, Florentino summons Bambii and KD One on a “Constrictor” as sexy as grimey.

Slikback – XP44

With more than one EP per month on average – always free on Bandcamp – Slikback combines abundance and generosity without ever releasing the tension. With the powerful “XP44”, the Kenyan takes control of his machines to release almost gory sounds and propel gqom into orbit. Definitely the king of African experimental music.

Bun Xapa – Amsterdam 
DJ Satelite grows wings with this afro-tech anthem that begins his latest EP GAS GAS GAS. With its trance melody and its strong percussion, the hypnotic “Amsterdam” confirms the rise of the South African Bun Xapa within the reference label Seres Produções.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les meilleurs morceaux afro club de la rentrée

Ça y est, l’extension journalistique de notre playlist afro + club devient mensuelle. Un rendez-vous à ne pas manquer pour les DJs, les clubbers ou les amoureux de sons dancefloors imprégnés de la culture du continent et de sa diaspora. Voici 17 morceaux incontournables qui ont rythmé notre rentrée.

 

Retrouvez la sélection dans notre playlist afro + club.

Natoxie Ft TKD – Left Right

Natoxie – Left/Right

Déjà présent dans notre sélection de juillet, Natoxie frappe encore avec « Left/Right », un nouveau riddim shatta et dancehall chaud comme la braise. Le Martiniquais est accompagné de ses acolytes Le Jemss, Not Nice, Ranger Rouge et Ti Couby sur ces 2 minutes de débauche !

DJ Tobzy – Human Being is a Chameleon Beat (feat. Dragon Beatz & DJ Ozzytee)

A l’aube de la sortie d’un premier album chez Nyege Nyege Tapes, DJ Tobzy lâche en parallèle ce titre sur sa chaîne YouTube. Comme à son habitude, le Nigérian s’illustre avec le collage frénétique entre gqom, afrobeats, baile funk et techno qui a déjà fait de lui l’ambassadeur de cette scène underground de Lagos appelée Cruise ou Freebeat. Au menu, beat uptempo, lyrics nonchalants et synthés old-school, le tout gonflé à l’adrénaline !

Lady Leshurr – Tabasco

Avec « Tabasco », la rappeuse Lady Leshurr a sans doute signé l’un des hymnes afro-club de cette fin d’été. Tirant ses racines de la petite île de Saint-Christophe-et-Niévès dans les Caraïbes, la MC britannique lâche les chiens pour livrer une turbine dancehall effrénée qui promet de faire couler quelques litres de sueur.

>

Mbulelo – Kalibre

Après un passage sur le prestigieux label Transmat du pionnier Derrick May, le Sud-africain Mbulelo débarque logiquement chez Hakuna Kulala avec un nouvel EP, à la croisée du gqom et de la techno de Detroit. Parmi ces 4 titres, « Kalibre » fait monter la tension d’un cran avec ses polyrythmies hypnotiques et ses boucles techno minimalistes. 

Mina & Bryte – Abeka Bugatti (Banga remix)

Un an après le succès de leur EP Abeka Bugatti, la productrice britannique Mina et le MC ghanéen Bryte confient leurs 5 titres à des remixeurs amapiano, batida ou gqom. Le morceau éponyme, mélange spontané entre club culture londonienne et musique électronique africaine, est ici revu par la Franco-Gabonaise Banga, qui appose sa signature mélodique et percussive!

Utility, DJ Plead – Flooot (DJ Plead rework)

Le DJ et producteur australien DJ Plead donne une nouvelle dimension à « Flooot », extrait de Nexus Destiny, une collection de 60 arpeggios entièrement réalisés avec des synthétiseurs logiciels. Il utilise la mélodie de base comme socle d’un nouveau morceau qui oscille entre breakbeat et ambiance batida.

DJ Mariio – Pink Light
DJ Mariio est le rookie de la compilation The Gqom Trilogy, qui suit les innovations de la scène de Durban à travers trois producteurs. Dans cette collection de 26 titres sur le point de sortir chez Hakuna Kulala, le producteur de 20 ans propose le single « Pink Light » dans un style saturé, presque effrayant, qui tourmente les bases du gqom.

Karen Nyame KG – Taboo
Après un EP de la trempe de Sensei II, le retour de la Britannique KG était plus qu’attendu. A la fois au chant et à la production, elle revient en force avec le single « Taboo », où elle parle de désir et de sexualité dans une ambiance soul sensuelle façon Sade, dopée aux basses amapiano. Un régal de musique électronique moderne.

Professional Beat – Are You Playing? 

Nouvel exemple de cruise — un nouveau style nigérian également connu sous le nom de « freebeat » —  avec Professional Beat, autre étoile montante du genre. Beat uptempo qui frise les 140 bpm, gimmicks catchy et mélodie entêtante font de ce morceau un petit bijou de collage DIY. Le Nigérian offre ici un tube aussi spontané qu’artisanal !

DJ Katapila – Fadidi
Direction Accra, où DJ Katapila s’inspire des origines de la house, de la techno de Detroit et des rythmes traditionnels ghanéens pour créer un style singulier, catalysé par son flow en langue twi. « Fadidi » n’est qu’un échantillon du délire techno old-school que nous offre le MC et producteur sur le singulier Techno Africa EP sorti chez Club Yeke.

Magugu – Stay One side

Né à Lagos, Magugu vit aujourd’hui à Londres où il a modelé son rap acéré en pidgin, amplifié par le brouillard UK bass qui plane au-dessus de la planète club. Au rythme d’un morceau par mois minimum, le rappeur sort ses productions dans l’ombre et nous régale une fois de plus de son flow grave et charismatique sur ce « Stay One Side » qui surfe sur l’énergie du grime. Bouillant.

DJ Lycox – Ve So

Qui dit afro club dit batida, et qui dit batida dit forcément DJ Lycox, véritable machine à tube lisboète qui n’en finit plus de lâcher des tueries sur sa page Soundcloud. Percus au cordeau, mélodie arrogante et paroles crapuleuses font de « Ve So » un pur produit du ghetto. La légende raconte que ce titre serait annonciateur d’un album à venir…

RS Produções – YAH

A quelques rues de là, le crew RS Produções lance l’alerte avec un dangereux titre de batida extrait de leur EP Dar é Dar. Dans une formule plus poisseuse, la team emmenée par DJ Narciso explore les profondeurs de la batida sur « YAH », avec une recette aussi malsaine que groovy.

Lijay – Hotline fuck

Dans le sillon de Natoxie, l’autre Martiniquais Lijay signe le morceau le plus pornographique de cette liste. Aux prises avec la prod shatta ralentie de Jeskobeat, Lijay affiche son humeur nymphomane sur ce « Hotline Fuck » complètement obsédant.

Florentino x BAMBII x KD One – Constrictor

Depuis l’underground mancunien, Florentino livre un single dembow sali au reggaeton sur la grande maison XL Recordings. Imbibé de l’ambiance des rues de Bogotá et des clubs barcelonais, Florentino convoque Bambii et KD One sur un « Constrictor » aussi sexy que grimey. 

Slikback – XP44

Avec plus d’un EP par mois en moyenne — toujours en prix libre sur Bandcamp — Slikback conjugue abondance et générosité sans jamais relâcher la tension. Avec le puissant « XP44 », le Kényan prend le contrôle de ses machines pour en sortir des sons presque gores et propulser le gqom en orbite. Assurément le roi de la musique expérimentale africaine.

Bun Xapa – Amsterdam 
Le poulain de DJ Satelite se voit pousser des ailes avec cet hymne afro-tech qui entame son dernier EP GAS GAS GAS. Avec sa mélodie trance et ses percus qui résonnent fort, l’hypnotique « Amsterdam » confirme la montée en puissance du Sud-africain Bun Xapa au sein du label référence Seres Produções.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé