→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Toxicated Keys - "Zaka Zaka" (feat. SoulMusiQ SA x Danger De Talented x Dyy)

Toxicated Keys: the young duo sowing amapiano seeds

The duo Toxicated Keys releases “Zaka Zaka” today, a promising first single that comes straight from the townships of Pretoria. It offers a taster of their rough amapiano style, and of a forthcoming EP.

Mokwele and Thaban Makhafola, two producers from Mamelodi (a township in Pretoria), aged 17 and 19 respectively, make up the group Toxicated Keys. Describing their music as “rough amapiano”, they offer a more raw version of this style of music that is currently setting South Africa on fire, as well as being exported internationally. Their first single, “Zaka Zaka” featuring Danger De Talented and Dyy, along with its accompanying music video, bears witness to the lifestyle that matches the music.

“Zaka Zaka” means ‘money, money’ in Tsotsitaal – a mixture of Afrikaans, Setswana, Isizulu and several other South African languages. This vernacular was originally spoken by gangsters to ensure secrecy, but it has become widely spoken as slang in the townships. Composed with beatmaker SoulMusiQ SA, the track features the incisive flows of Danger De Talented and Dyy, rapping about their thirst for zaka: “The message of the track is simple: we love to make money and we love to have money. It’s our dream to end the hunger in our homes,” explain Mokwele and Thaban Makhafola.  

A mix of deep house, jazz, and lounge music, amapiano is characterised by the presence of synths, airy pads, and percussive bass lines. With their rough amapiano, Toxicated Keys replace the soulful ambience and warm layers of the original style with harder beats and darker bass lines.

“Zaka Zaka” will be followed up with an 8-track EP, FROM THUTLWANE TO THE WORLD, released on PSSNGR. This new label, founded by Jess (a DJ, producer, drummer and beatmaker based in Paris), focuses on the electro and dance scenes that abound in Africa. With this project, Toxicated Keys plans to get people dancing to deep, massive tracks, topped off with hypnotic voices. Reminiscent of South African Bacardi house or Robert Owens’ dark house of the 1990s, their rough amapiano is surprising for its variety of rhythms and loops that is guaranteed to cause unstoppable head nodding. As for the two young producers, they are certain that amapiano isn’t just a passing fad: ‘it’s here to stay and to change lives’ they’ll tell anyone who’ll listen. So, let’s hear it…

Listen to Toxicated Keys in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Toxicated Keys : le jeune duo sème sa graine dans l’amapiano

Le duo Toxicated Keys sort aujourd’hui « Zaka Zaka », premier extrait prometteur qui arrive tout droit des townships de Pretoria. Un avant-goût de leur style « rough amapiano », et d’un EP à paraître bientôt.

Composé de Mokwele et Thaban Makhafola, respectivement 17 et 19 ans, Toxicated Keys est un duo de producteurs originaires de Mamelodi (un township de Pretoria). Qualifiant leur musique de « rough amapiano », ils proposent une version plus brute de l’amapiano, le style de musique qui enflamme l’Afrique du Sud et s’exporte à l’international. En témoigne leur premier single, accompagné d’un clip qui montre le lifestyle de cette musique, « Zaka Zaka », featuring Danger de Talented & Diy.

« Zaka Zaka » signifie « argent, argent » en tsotitaal (un mélange d’afrikaans, de setswana, d’isizulu et d’autres langues suds-africaines), langue initialement parlée par les voyous pour garantir le secret de leurs paroles mais qui s’est imposée comme l’argot des townships. Composé avec le beatmaker SoulMusiQ SA, le morceau accueille les flows incisifs de Danger de Talented & Dyy qui rappent leur soif de zaka : « Le message du morceau est simple : on adore faire de l’argent et on adore avoir de l’argent, c’est notre rêve pour mettre fin à la famine dans nos foyers », expliquent Mokwele et Thaban Makhafola.  

Mélange de deep house, de jazz et de lounge music, l’amapiano se caractérise par la présence de synthés, de pads aériens et de lignes de basses percutantes. Avec le rough amapiano, Toxicated Keys remplace les ambiances soulful et nappes chaleureuses du style originel par des beats plus durs et des basses sombres à souhait.

« Zaka Zaka » sera suivi d’un EP 8 titres, FROM THUTLWANE TO THE WORLD, qui sortira chez PSSNGR. Un nouveau label, fondé par Jess (DJ, producteur, batteur et digger basé à Paris) qui fait la part belle aux scènes électroniques et dance qui foisonnent en Afrique. Avec ce projet, Toxicated Keys compte faire danser le public sur des bangers deep et massifs, coiffés de voix hypnotiques. Rappelant la Bacardi house sud-africaine ou la dark house de Robert Owens dans les 1990s, leur rough amapiano surprend en variant les rythmes et les boucles, et rend le hochement de tête imparable. Quand aux deux jeunes producteurs, ils en sont persuadés, l’amapiano « n’est pas qu’une mode, il est là pour durer, et pour changer la vie de ceux qui l’écoutent. » À bon entendeur… 

Écouter Toxicated Keys sur notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé