Taraab new star Siti Muharam unveils new song ‘Alaminadura’

Siti Muharam on the corner

Produced by Sam Jones, the first preview of Muharam’s upcoming album, titled Siti’s of Unguja (Romance Revolution On Zanzibar) has arrived.

Muharam’s golden timbre has been allowed to soar for the world to hear. On her song “Alaminadura” is carried the legacy, lyricism and odyssey of the ‘Mother of Taarab’, her Great Grandmother, Siti Binti Saad. Sam Jones’ production and studio overdubs have let Siti Muharam’s bright voice ensure the legacy of Swahili romance and music of her Great Grandmother live on. 

Siti Binti Saad is like a holy text for Zanzibari Taarab. Over the last fifty years, the music shifted back to more formal times. More recently, Bi Kidude worked to keep Siti Binti Saad’s legacy alive and, although musically different, she used some of her distinct scales. Bi Kidude connected with me because of the shared love for these scales.” says Sam Jones.

The project came about with the assistance of Fumba Town Development, a groundbreaking project that is providing sustainable homes to a new generation on Zanzibar built in line with the principles of permaculture.

Siti’s of Unguja (Romance Revolution On Zanzibar), out on February 28th via On The CornerDiscover the artwork below.

Siti Muharam

La nouvelle star du taraab Siti Muharam dévoile le morceau lyrique ‘Alaminadura’

Siti Muharam on the corner

Produit par Sam Jones, le premier aperçu du nouvel album de Siti Muharam intitulé Siti’s of Unguja (Romance Revolution On Zanzibar) est arrivé. 

Le timbre doré de Muharam s’envole pour que le monde entier l’entende. Sa chanson « Alaminadura » porte l’héritage, le lyrisme et l’odyssée de la « Mère du Taarab », qui se trouve être son arrière-grand-mère, Siti Binti Saad. La production de Sam Jones et les overdubs effectués en studio permettent à la voix brillante de Siti Muharam de faire vivre dignement l’héritage de la romance swahilie et de la musique de son arrière-grand-mère.

« Siti Binti Saad est comme un texte sacré pour le taarab de Zanzibar. Au cours des cinquante dernières années, la musique est revenue à une époque plus formelle. Plus récemment, Bi Kidude s’est efforcée de maintenir l’héritage de Siti Binti Saad en vie et, bien que musicalement différente, elle a utilisé certaines de ses gammes si reconnaissables. Bi Kidude est ensuite entré en contact avec moi en raison de notre passion commune pour ces gammes », a déclaré Sam Jones.

Le projet a pu voir le jour grâce à l’aide de Fumba Town Development, un projet novateur qui fournit des logements durables aux nouvelles générations sur Zanzibar, construits selon les principes de la permaculture.

Siti’s of Unguja (Romance Revolution On Zanzibar) sortie prévue le 28 février 2020. Découvrez la pochette ci-dessous.

Siti Muharam