→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Sabrina Bellaouel signs to InFiné, shares new track "Nasser"

The French-Algerian singer and producer Sabrina Bellaouel announces the EP We Don’t Have To Be Enemies with the single “Nasser”, an experimental turn to the opposite of her first works launched on the tracks of modern RnB.

Since 2016, Sabrina Bellaouel has been developing her dreamlike universe in the shadows, keeping the cursor steady somewhere between neo-soul, trip-hop and delicate RnB. Since her EP Cheikh released in 2016, she gives her voice to artists of the Parisian scene such as Jazzy Bazz or Bonnie Banane, before her breakthrough in 2019 on her magnificent EP Illusions. She unfolds her bewitching vocals on a contemplative production, claiming influences from both punk and gospel music, which she learnt as a teenager.

Sabrina Bellaouel – Nasser

Always on the look-out for new talents, the label InFiné has detected a definite potential in her, which will end up in the hands of Mexican producer Cubenx for four new tracks that go against the style she was building. The Frenchwoman with Algerian roots draws inspiration from her visits to the Maghreb, Paris, London or Rotterdam to move away from stereotypes and propose an urban experimental music. The fight thus replaces seduction, like the dark and breathless techno faux-airs of “We Don’t Have To Be Enemies” which would happily find its place in a Berlin club. The experimental whispers of “Pulse” counterbalance the mid-tempo “Nasser” which weaves tortured arrangements around a statement by Gamal Abdel Nasser, Egypt’s second president.

Listen to Sabrina Bellaouel in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

The EP will be released on 4 September on the label InFiné, pre-order it here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 1 mois

Sabrina Bellaouel, parenthèse électronique

La chanteuse et productrice franco-algérienne Sabrina Bellaouel annonce l’EP We Don’t Need To Be Enemies avec le single « Nasser », virage expérimental aux antipodes de ses premiers travaux lancés sur les rails du RnB moderne.

Depuis 2016, Sabrina Bellaouel développe dans l’ombre son univers onirique en stabilisant le curseur quelque part entre neo-soul, trip-hop et RnB délicat. Depuis son EP Cheikh sorti en 2016, elle prête sa voix à des artistes de la scène parisienne comme Jazzy Bazz ou Bonnie Banane, pour transformer l’essai en 2019 sur son magnifique EP Illusions. Elle y déroule son chant envoûtant sur une production contemplative, revendiquant à la fois des influences pour la musique punk et le gospel, qu’elle a appris à l’adolescence.

Sabrina Bellaouel – Nasser

Toujours à l’affût de nouveaux talents, le label InFiné a détecté en elle un potentiel certain, qui atterrira dans les mains du producteur mexicain Cubenx le temps de quatre nouveaux titres qui prennent à contre-pied le style qu’elle était en train d’ériger. La Française aux racines algériennes s’inspire de ses passages au Maghreb, à Paris, Londres ou Rotterdam pour s’éloigner des stéréotypes et proposer une musique expérimentale urbaine, laissant cette fois flotter sa voix comme un léger voile sur ses productions obscures. La lutte remplace ainsi la séduction, à l’image des faux-airs de techno sombre et haletante de « We Don’t Need To Be Enemies » qui trouverait volontiers sa place dans un club berlinois au lever du soleil. Les chuchotements expérimentaux de « Pulse » contrebalancent le mid-tempo « Nasser » qui tisse des arrangements torturés autour d’une déclaration de Gamal Abdel Nasser, second président d’Egypte.

Écoutez Sabrina Bellaouel dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

L’EP sortira le 4 septembre sur le label InFiné, précommandez-le ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé