→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Liam Bailey announces new album on Big Crown Records

Six years after his debut album the British singer Liam Bailey announces Ekundayo to be released on November 13th on the New York based record label Big Crown.

Nottingham-based singer, songwriter and composer Liam Bailey is back with a second album entirely produced by prolific New Yorker Leon Michels (Lana Del Rey, Lee Fields, Sharon-Jones & The Dap-Kings…), producer and co-founder of Big Crown Records in Brooklyn.

With an inimitable style that oscillates between reggae, soul and r&b, subtly alternating between retro textures and contemporary sounds, the British artist has collaborated with renowned producers such as Salaam Remi, signed to the Lioness Records label of the late Amy Winehouse before moving on to major label (Sony Music) for Definitely Now, his debut album released in 2014.

Ekundayo in Yoruba (a language spoken mainly in West Africa) translates as “sorrow becomes joy”. The authentic title “White light” announces the album and is part of the reggae tradition, with riddims with both retro and modern textures.

Ekundayo will be available on November 13th on Big Crown Records.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Liam Bailey de retour avec un album sur le label Big Crown

Six ans après la sortie de son premier album, le Britannique Liam Bailey annonce Ekundayo, un second opus produit par Leon Michels co-fondateur du label new-yorkais Big Crown Records.

Natif de Nottingham en Angleterre, Liam Bailey est le fils d’une mère anglaise et d’un père jamaïcain qu’il n’a pas connu. Il doit ses premières influences musicales à la collection de disques de sa mère : Bob Marley, Dillinger, Stevie Wonder, The Supremes, The Beatles et Jimi Hendrix ont forgé l’identité artistique de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète britannique. 

Après un passage par le label d’Amy Winehouse puis un premier long format en major en 2014, Liam Bailey est de retour avec un deuxième album entièrement produit par le prolifique new-yorkais Leon Michels (Lana Del Rey, Lee Fields, Sharon-Jones & The Dap-Kings…). Une rencontre qui vient auréoler le style inimitable du Britannique, entre reggae, soul et r&b, le tout alternant subtilement entre textures rétros et sonorités contemporaines.

Ekundayo en yoruba se traduit par « le chagrin devient joie ». Après la sortie du premier extrait  « Champion » Bailey sort « White Light « , un titre solaire qui s’inscrit dans cette lignée solidement ancrée dans la tradition reggae, avec des riddims aux textures tantôt rétros, tantôt modernes.

L’album Ekundayo sera disponible le 13 novembre sur le label Big Crown Records.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé