→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

Kibrom Birhane revisits Ethiopian jazz with an American blend

Los Angeles-based label Flying Carpet Records announces the release of Here and There, Kibrom Birhane’s third album in which the Ethiopian jazzman experiments with the ancient deep jazz roots of his native Ethiopia.

Since his childhood, Kibrom Birhane has had an interest in Ethiopian musical traditions as he studied Ethiopian orthodox chanting and traditional instruments at a monastery, later focusing on Ethiopian Jazz artists from the 1970s. His spiritual sensibility is imbued in all his work and prompted him to join the Ethio-Cali Los Angeles-based jazz ensemble whose members included the likes of Kamasi Washington, Dexter Story and Mark De-Clive Lowe.

For the purpose of this album, Birhane drew on his taste for modern Ethio-jazz and knowledge of thousand-year-old musical histories to experiment with Ethiopian jazz motifs, East-African funk, spiritual jazz, soul and psychedelic music. Here and There is an innovative blend of different influences ranging from the sacred and profane, and from ancient musical traditions to the work of Birhane’s contemporaries.

The album opens with “Merkato” and its upbeat groove. The track “Weleta” melds Afro-Latin soul with 1960’s West Coast cool jazz influences. The Ethiopian musician also explores family-related themes in “Mender” and “Enate” which features a sax solo by Randal Fisher.

The album was recorded with a prestigious roster of LA-based session players, including previously mentioned tenor saxophone player Randal Fisher, drummer Kahlil Cummings and grammy nominated trumpet player Glenn Holdaway under the direction of producer Kamal de Iruretagoyena Humphrey during an intimate live studio session at Flying Carpet Studios. “These musicians are all special. They help me fuse my understanding of Ethiopian music and interpret current sounds, but it still has all the vibe”, Kibrom said of the album.

Here and There out June 24th via Flying Carpet Records.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Kibrom Birhane modernise l’Ethio‑jazz dans Here and There

Flying Carpets Records, le label basé à Los Angeles, annonce la sortie de Here and There, le troisième album de Kibrom Birhane, dans lequel le jazzman éthiopien, membre du collectif Ethio Cali, expérimente avec l’éthio-jazz.

Depuis l’enfance, Kibrom Birhane s’intéresse aux traditions musicales de son pays. Il a notamment étudié le chant orthodoxe éthiopien et appris à jouer des instruments traditionnels dans un monastère, développant un intérêt tout particulier pour les artistes de jazz éthiopiens des années 1970. C’est cette sensibilité spirituelle qui imprègne aujourd’hui son travail et qui l’a incité à rejoindre l’ensemble de jazz Ethio-Cali basé à Los Angeles, qui comptait parmi ses membres Kamasi Washington, Dexter Story et Mark De-Clive Lowe.

Pour les besoins de cet album, Kibrom Birhane a puisé dans son goût pour l’éthio-jazz et dans sa connaissance des anciennes traditions musicales de son pays pour expérimenter avec différents courants musicaux tels que le funk de l’Est de l’Afrique, le spiritual jazz, la soul et la musique psychédélique. Here and There est un mélange novateur d’influences sacrées et profanes, d’anciennes traditions musicales et de musique contemporaine.

L’album s’ouvre avec le groove enjoué de “Merkato”. Le morceau « Weleta » mêle la soul afro-latine au cool jazz de la Côte ouest des années 1960. Dans l’album, le musicien éthiopien aborde différents thèmes dont celui de la famille dans  « Mender » et « Enate » (avec un solo de saxophone signé Randal Fisher).

L’album a été enregistré avec un groupe de musiciens basés à Los Angeles, dont le saxophoniste Randal Fisher, le batteur Kahlil Cummings et le trompettiste Glenn Holdaway, sous la direction du producteur Kamal de Iruretagoyena Humphrey, dans un cadre intimiste lors d’une session d’enregistrement aux Flying Carpet Studios. « Ces musiciens sont tous uniques. Ils m’aident à élargir mes connaissances en matière de musique éthiopienne et à interpréter les sons actuels, tout en conservant la même atmosphère« , explique Kibrom Birhane.

Here and There sort le 24 juin via Flying Carpet Records.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé