→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Deejay Veiga, the new hope of Lisbon batida

Portuguese rookie Deejay Veiga releases Evolution pt.2, eight batida tracks that would hold their own against the masters of the genre. Listen to “Tudo é no Gueto” on PAM.

Deejay Veiga was a true Soundcloud discovery, making a name for himself on the preferred platform for batida producers who set international dancefloors alight in both Lisbon and their different places of exile. With bangers like “Traz a Vodka” and “Clone 2,” the precocious producer has the pedal to the metal when it comes to handling micro-grooves, tribal percussion and incisive vocals, influenced by his favorite styles, like kizomba and tarraxo. While he doesn’t yet belong to any particular crew, Carlos Veiga is inspired by the geniuses of the genre, such as Vanyfox and Danifox. As its name indicates, Evolutions pt.2 is a key step in the career of an artist who only needs a spark to ignite. Read the interview below.

What is your musical background and how did you arrive on the batida scene?

I’ve been a DJ for three years and a producer for a year and a half and I’ve always been a fan and connected to people who work with music. Me alongside a partner and a great friend Dj Nunocoox started to play as a duo and we always went to mix batida. This genre is something I’ve started to enjoy over time because I’ve always been more of a kizomba guy. I started listening to several other producers such as Integrantes Da TMP, A CDM, among others, and my taste for the batida has been growing until today.

Deejay Veiga – Tudo é no Gueto

Who are your mentors, your main inspirations, and why?

At the beginning when I started playing I received great support from a lot of people. But the artists I can really call mentors are the Rs Prod who were the ones who put me in the world of music, especially DJ GameOver who, until this day, never let me go and always supported me. My biggest inspirations are DJ Lycox, Vanyfox and Rs Prod because they are people that I see with an incredible ability to give a name to the “ghetto” style and I would like to contribute as much as they do.

What is your composition process?

I use FL Studio to create my tracks. Having ideas to produce or not having them is indifferent because I’m always there to explore to be able to discover the most of the software, to help me more with my productions.

What kind of feelings did you want to express with this EP? What do these tunes represent to you?

All of my tracks represent a little bit of me, or either I do, or I try to do, what I would like to hear and spread to the people. I’m a person of various tastes, so I always release something different whether it’s afro ghetto, tarraxo, kizomba etc… It’s a good way to catch a bigger audience because if a person doesn’t like a certain style, he can try another track, and he will hear something different. This is my thought and I would like to convey it to my listeners

What can we expect from DJ Veiga in the near future?

A lot of work, effort, and dedication on my part to be able to bring better tracks to my listeners.

Deejay Veiga was a guest on episode 28 of PAM Sound System, listen below!

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #28 – Special Guest : DEEJAY VEIGA

Evolutions pt.2 will be available on October 25 via the artist’s Soundcloud page.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Deejay Veiga, espoir de la batida lisboète

Le jour de son 21e anniversaire, le rookie Deejay Veiga sortira Evolution pt.2, 8 titres de batida qui n’ont rien à envier aux maîtres du genre. PAM vous invite à écouter le morceau « Tudo é no Gueto » en avant-première.

On est tombé par hasard sur Deejay Veiga sur Soundcloud, plateforme préférée des producteurs de batida qui, depuis Lisbonne et leurs lieux d’exil, enflamment les dancefloors internationaux depuis quelques années. Avec des petites bombes comme « Traz a Vodka » ou « Clone 2 », le producteur précoce montre qu’il en a sous la pédale en maniant les micro-grooves, les percussions tribales et les vocaux incisifs, influencé par ses styles de prédilection que sont la kizomba ou le tarraxo. Même s’il n’appartient (encore) à aucun crew, Carlos Veiga s’inspire des génies du genre que sont Vanyfox ou Danifox pour les côtoyer d’un peu plus près. Comme l’indique son nom, Evolutions pt.2 est donc une nouvelle étape clé dans la carrière de l’artiste qui n’a besoin que d’une étincelle pour s’enflammer. Interview.

Quel est ton parcours musical et comment as-tu atterri sur la scène batida ?

Je suis DJ depuis trois ans et producteur depuis un an et demi et j’ai toujours été fan et connecté aux gens qui travaillent autour de la musique. Moi et mon partenaire et grand ami DJ Nunocoox avons commencé à jouer en duo et nous mixions toujours de la batida. Ce genre est quelque chose que j’ai commencé à apprécier au fil du temps, étant à l’origine attiré par la kizomba. J’ai commencé à écouter plusieurs autres producteurs tels que Integrantes Da TMP ou A CDM, entre autres, et mon goût pour la batida a grandi jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Deejay Veiga – Tudo é no Gueto

Qui sont tes mentors, tes principales inspirations, et pourquoi ?

Au début, quand j’ai commencé à jouer, j’ai reçu directement du soutien de nombreux artistes. Mais ceux que je devrais vraiment appeler mentors sont ceux du crew Rs Prod qui m’ont propulsé dans le monde de la musique, en particulier DJ GameOver qui, jusqu’à ce jour, ne m’a jamais laissé tomber et continue de me supporter. Mes plus grandes inspirations sont DJ Lycox, Vanyfox et Rs Prod car ce sont des gens qui ont un immense potentiel et la capacité de donner un nom au style du « ghetto » et j’aimerais y contribuer autant qu’eux.

Quel est ton processus de composition ?

J’utilise FL Studio pour créer mes sons. Que j’aie des idées ou non m’est égal, car je suis toujours là pour explorer et découvrir au mieux le logiciel, pour m’aider davantage dans mes productions.

Quel genre de sentiments tentes-tu exprimer avec cet EP ? Que représentent ces morceaux pour toi ?

Tous mes morceaux représentent une partie de moi. J’essaie de faire ce que j’aimerais entendre et le diffuser au monde. Je suis quelqu’un qui a des goûts variés donc je sors toujours quelque chose de différent que ce soit de l’afro ghetto, du tarraxo, de la kizomba etc… C’est un bon moyen d’attirer une plus grande audience car si une personne ne n’aime pas un certain style, il peut essayer un autre morceau, et il entendra déjà quelque chose de différent. C’est ma pensée et je voudrais la transmettre à mes auditeurs

Que peut-on attendre de Deejay Veiga dans un futur proche ?

Beaucoup de travail, d’efforts et de dévouement pour pouvoir offrir de meilleurs morceaux à mes auditeurs !

Deejay Veiga était l’invité de l’épisode 28 du PAM Sound System, à écouter ci-dessous !

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #28 – Special Guest : DEEJAY VEIGA

Evolutions pt.2 sera disponible dès le 25 octobre sur la page Soundcloud de l’artiste.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé