→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Crystal Murray unveils her Twisted Bases

The young Parisian artist and entrepreneur has announced the release of her second EP, a dive into her rebellious and colourful universe. 

Born in a Spanish and Afro-American artistic family of a jazz saxophonist-father and a music manager-mother, Murray had a childhood soundtracked by the music of Sly and the Family Stone, Marvin Gaye, Minnie Ripperton and John Coltrane, rather than the teen-pop favoured by most of her peers. The newly 20 year old Parisian artist released her debut EP I Was Wrong in 2020, a jazz and pop-influenced R&B project; she is now preparing a new EP called Twisted Bases

Written in the summer of 2020 while in residency in Portugal and recorded in Paris with Sacha Rudy, Twisted Bases will offer a tantalising taster of Murray’s vast creative range. The artist has already unveiled two tracks from the EP: the bouncy and club-ready “Like It Nasty”, and “Too Much To Taste”, a euphoric dance-pop song to be discovered below.

60-year-old white people think [the industry] is still the same as 20 years ago,” she explains matter-of-factly, speaking from her apartment in the 20th arrondissement. “They have rules, and I think these rules need to have a little update. And I think we – people of colour, young people, people that know the community – I think we are the ones that need to start rewriting these rules, because we’re the ones making the music. And, unlike them, we know there’s no set recipe for a banger.”

Twisted Bases by Crystal Murray, out on February 11, 2022 via Spin Desire. 

Crystal Murray – Too Much to Taste (Official Video)
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Crystal Murray revient à ses bases avec Twisted Bases

La jeune artiste et entrepreneuse parisienne a annoncé la sortie de son deuxième EP, une plongée dans son univers rebelle et haut en couleur. 

Née dans une famille d’artistes espagnols et afro-américains d’un père saxophoniste de jazz et d’une mère manageuse, Crystal Murray a eu une enfance rythmée par la musique de Sly and the Family Stone, Marvin Gaye, Minnie Ripperton et John Coltrane, plutôt que par la pop adolescente de la plupart de ses pairs. L’artiste parisienne, âgée de 20 ans depuis peu, a sorti son premier EP I Was Wrong en 2020, un projet R&B influencé par le jazz et la pop ; elle prépare actuellement un nouvel EP intitulé Twisted Bases

Écrit durant l’été 2020 alors qu’elle était en résidence au Portugal et enregistré à Paris avec Sacha Rudy, Twisted Bases offrira un avant-goût alléchant de la vaste gamme créative de Murray. L’artiste a déjà dévoilé deux titres de l’EP : l’agité « Like It Nasty », calibré pour les clubs, et « Too Much To Taste », un titre dance-pop euphorique à découvrir ci-dessous.

« Les Blancs de 60 ans pensent que [l’industrie] est toujours la même qu’il y a 20 ans », explique-t-elle sans ambages, depuis son appartement du 20e arrondissement. « Ils ont des règles, et je pense que ces règles ont besoin d’une petite mise à jour. Et je pense que nous – les personnes de couleur, les jeunes, les personnes qui connaissent la communauté – je pense que c’est nous qui devons commencer à réécrire ces règles, parce que c’est nous qui faisons la musique. Et, contrairement à eux, nous savons qu’il n’y a pas de recette toute faite pour un hit. »

Twisted Bases de Crystal Murray, disponible le 11 février 2022 sur Spin Desire. 

Crystal Murray – Too Much to Taste (Official Video)
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé