→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
“In search of pop, and it’s disappearance”
Bashar Suleiman

“In search of pop, and it’s disappearance”

After a first release in 2019 entitled “Cipher” which took codes and data encryption is its theme, the latest compilation from the label C.A.N.V.A.S. brings together a range of musicians, this time taking on the theme of the apocope. Read ahead for further details.

An apocope is the abbreviation of a complete word where only the first syllables are kept. Teen, tele, ad… As far as we’re concerned, the apocope in question is pop. “Apocope, brings together tracks that all come close to their goal without reaching it. Where each track comes to grief is in its search for pop and its disappearance”, Lugh, Olan Monk and Elvin Brandhi, all participating musicians and curators of C.A.N.V.A.S, explain in chorus. C.A.N.V.A.S became a label in its own right in April 2018 and alongside artists such as Alpha Maid, Bashar Suleiman and the Egyptian Nadah El Shazly, the project will release their second compilation on February 12th.

“The idea for this compilation is to dig into pop. The result may be cynical, disoriented, sometimes provocative, sometimes full of hope, but it must be able to create a breathing space for a time that seems out of breath”, explains the collective. “In the same way that an apocope truncates a word, this compilation carves up pop.”

In fact, pop music only features lightly on Apocope, the whole project taking great care to bypass even the slightest nod to the musical industrial complex. The result is rather floaty, sometimes anxiety-inducing, progressive and experimental. It also brings to light the noise scene, as well as the complex post-electro scene. Look to Amman with Bashar Suleiman and Cairo with Nadah El Shazly, who recorded a noise and dance selection called Egyptian Leather Pavilion for the latest incarnation of the Nyege Nyege Festival.

Apocope, out on 12 February 2021 via C.A.N.V.A.S..

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
« On cherche dans la pop et sa disparition »
Bashar Suleiman

« On cherche dans la pop et sa disparition »

Après une première sortie en 2019 placée sous le thème du code et du chiffrement de données – intitulée « Cipher » –, la nouvelle compilation du label C.A.N.V.A.S. réunit en 2021 une palette de musiciens sous l’étendard cette fois-ci de l’apocope. Explications. 

Une apocope est l’abréviation d’un mot complet, en gardant uniquement ses premières syllabes. Par exemple ado, clim… Ou en ce qui nous concerne ici, pop, apocope de popular music. « Apocope, réunie des morceaux qui s’approchent tous de leur but sans l’atteindre. Le point de chute de toutes ces compositions pourrait être à chercher dans la pop et sa disparition », expliquent en chœur Lugh, Olan Monk et Elvin Brandhi, musiciens participants et curateurs de ce nouveau projet étiqueté C.A.N.V.A.S, devenu label à part entière en avril 2018. Aux côtés d’artistes comme Alpha Maid, Bashar Suleiman ou de l’Égyptienne Nadah El Shazly, ils sortiront leur seconde compilation le 12 février.

« L’idée de la compilation est de creuser dans la pop. Le résultat peut-être résigné, désorienté, provocant parfois ou plein d’espoir, mais se doit de pouvoir créer un espace de respiration pour une époque à bout de souffle », explique le collectif. « De la même façon qu’une apocope tronque un mot, cette compilation vient tailler dans la pop. »

La pop qui ne subsiste dans Apocope que dans une portion extrêmement congrue, l’ensemble du projet prenant bien le soin de passer à la moulinette industrielle la moindre évidence mélodique. Le résultat est assez planant, anxiogène parfois, progressif et expérimental. Il met aussi en lumière une scène noise et post-électronique très prolixe, à découvrir à Amman du côté de Bashar Suleiman ou du Caire en la personne de Nadah El Shazly, qui signait pour la dernière édition du Nyege Nyege Festival une sélection bruitiste et dansante baptisée « Egyptian Leather Pavillon ».

Apocope, sortie le 12 février chez C.A.N.V.A.S..

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé