→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 new albums you should listen to this week

This week’s selection was difficult to choose considering the wealth of incredible new releases. Whether touching on love, pan-Africanism, spirituality or politics, it has something for everyone.

The American Negro
Adrian Younge

Adrian Younge embarks on what he considers the most important project of his career with the album The American Negro: “The American Negro dissects the hidden mechanisms of a form of blind racism, using music as a medium to restore the dignity and self-esteem of African Americans like me.” He continues: “Music is one of the most important weapons we have. It is something timeless and delivers a message of harmony. People digest music differently: some people refuse to listen or read about politics, but keep their minds and hearts open to the sound. Music is the key.

Listen here

Made in the Pyrex
Digga D

Considered one of the pioneers of drill in the UK, Digga D was raised on Jamaican reggae and dancehall. After the release of his single “Woi” in July 2020, which earned him a nomination for “Song of the Year” at the MOBO Awards, Digga D is back with his mixtape Made in the Pyrex, whose tracks are full of important messages, notably, “Clout is killing my people.”

Listen here

Kaba
Pamela Badjogo

The Gabonese singer makes her return just a few days before the International Women’s Rights Day to deliver a feminist message on a bed of afro pop background. She remains as engaged as ever, with tracks like “Respectez-nous” (respect us) demonstrating her message: “Hey baby, we’re going to respect each other, you and me on an equal footing.” Her multi-lingual album reflects her migratory journey, having lived in Gabon, and then Mali, before settling in France.

Listen here

Red Wine Conversations
Jay Cliff

Jay Cliff has released a sensual EP, which he likens to “red wine conversations.” This project perfectly illustrates the honesty that can accompany drunkenness, allowing for a boundless lyricism. Jay Cliff is accompanied by several artists on the EP including Kaygee ADN, a star of Sierra Leone and the Canadian Töme. The velvet voice of the Ghanaian artist Efya is also present, captivating listeners on “No Time”. It is an album that vibrates with love.

Listen here

Sounds of Africa
Soa Mattrix

Soa Mattrix honors Africa through his new album, Sounds of Africa, following the release of “Uthando” in 2020, which can be found on  the album, this time featuring a guitar overlay. For this resolutely pan-African album, Soa Mattrix has brought together several artists, such as Soulful G, Hulumeni and Thalitha. A true ode to the continent.

Listen here

Rhythm Spirit
Ink Project

Based in Brighton, the producer Jez Lloyd leads the Ink Project in collaboration with several artists, including the singers Coreysan, FiFi Rong, Yazmyn Hendrix and Melanie Dymond. The collective continues its exploration of different musical genres with the album Rhythm Spirit, mixing dub, electronic music, pop and soul. Jez Lloyd is also behind the Blind Colour label, whose name chimes with this cosmopolitan album.

Listen here

Yaral Sa Doom
Wau Wau Collectif

Yaral Sa Doom is the debut from this collective, mixing dub, Sufi praise songs and spiritual jazz. These avant-garde artists are rejuvenating the Senegalese music scene, while remaining very attached to West African traditions. Electronic rhythm, percussion and children’s voices form a surprising harmony.

Listen here

Africa Represented
Salatiel

Salatiel is launching a new album entitled Africa Represented. Following the success of the single “Water,” in the company of Beyoncé, this Cameroonian singer was able to gain international traction, particularly through his work on the soundtrack for  The Lion King. This piece, entitled “Africa Represented,” pays tribute to “Mama Africa,” emphasising how he remains  “black to the bone.” He is a reminder of how Africa is increasingly present throughout the music of the world.

Listen here

& Baga Man
Scratcha DVA

Scratcha DVA continues his collaborations following the release of the Drmtrk EP last November. His new EP, & Baga Man, aims to highlight producers influenced by afro house and dancehall. Scratchclart and Razzler Man have gotten involved, concocting “Razzclart,” a track with singular rhythm, mixing both brass instruments influenced by amapiano, grime, gqom with funky percussion: a symbiosis between afro house and British gqom.

Listen here

Drill FR
Gazo

Following collaborations with Hamza, Jul and Kaaris, Gazo is imposing himself more and more on the scene with his new album Drill FR. With the BSB label since 2019, this artist intends to make his mark on French rap scene, drawing on inspiration from his friends, his “gazos,” from Saint-Denis. The lyrics in “Inhumain” pay homage to his roots: “Solid, I’m under mafé, plantain banana, I want to be a boss.”

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 10 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Difficile d’établir une sélection cette semaine, extrêmement riche en découvertes. Qu’il s’agisse d’albums traitant d’amour, de panafricanisme ou de spiritualité, tout le monde peut être charmé.

The American Negro
Adrian Younge

Adrian Younge se lance dans ce qu’il considère comme le projet le plus important de sa carrière avec l’album The American Negro : « The American Negro dissèque les mécanismes cachés d’une forme de racisme aveugle, utilisant la musique comme un médium capable de restaurer la dignité et l’estime de soi des Afro-Américains comme moi. » Pour cela, Adrian Younge veille à ce que soul, jazz, funk et gospel forment une véritable symbiose, en l’honneur des différentes cultures musicales afro-américaines. Il estime ainsi :  « La musique est l’une des armes les plus importantes dont nous disposons. C’est quelque chose d’intemporel et qui délivre un message d’harmonie. Les gens digèrent la musique différemment : certains refusent d’écouter ou de lire sur la politique, mais gardent leur esprit et leur cœur ouverts au son. La musique est la clé. »

Écoutez ici

Made in the Pyrex
Digga D

Considéré comme l’un des pionniers de la drill au Royaume-Uni, Digga D a été bercé dès son plus jeune âge par le reggae jamaïcain et le dancehall. Après la sortie de son single « Woi » en juillet 2020, qui lui a valu une nomination pour la Chanson de l’Année aux MOBO Awards, Digga D effectue son grand retour avec sa mixtape Made in the Pyrex, aux titres toujours engagés, à l’instar de « Clout is killing my people ».

Écoutez ici

Kaba
Pamela Badjogo

La chanteuse gabonaise revient quelques jours avant la Journée Internationale pour les Droits des Femmes pour délivrer son message féministe sur un agréable fond sonore d’afro pop. Elle demeure toujours aussi engagée, comme l’illustre parfaitement son titre « Respectez-nous » : « Eh bébé, on va se respecter, toi et moi sur un pied d’égalité. » Son album, dans lequel elle chante en plusieurs langues, est à l’image de son parcours de migration, ayant vécu au Gabon, puis au Mali, avant de s’installer dans l’Hexagone.

Écoutez ici

Red Wine Conversations
Jay Cliff

Jay Cliff se lance dans un EP particulièrement sensuel, qu’il assimile à des « conversations autour d’un vin rouge ». Ce projet semble parfaitement illustrer l’honnêteté pouvant accompagner l’ivresse, permettant un certain lyrisme. Jay Cliff est d’ailleurs accompagné par plusieurs artistes au sein de cet EP, à l’instar de Kaygee ADN, star du Sierra Leone ou encore du Canadien Töme. La voix de velours de l’artiste ghanéenne Efya est également captivante, dans le titre « No Time ». Cet album illustre ainsi à quel point les vibrations demeurent essentielles en amour.

Écoutez ici

Sounds of Africa
Soa Mattrix

Soa Mattrix met à l’honneur l’Afrique au sein de son nouvel album intitulé Sounds of Africa. Suite à la sortie de son single Uthando en 2020, ce titre se retrouve dans Sounds of Africa, sublimé cette fois-ci par les sonorités d’une guitare. Pour cet album résolument panafricain, Soa Mattrix a su réunir plusieurs artistes, à l’instar de Soulful G, de Hulumeni ou encore de Thalitha. Une véritable ode au continent.

Écoutez ici

Rhythm Spirit
Ink Project

Basé à Brighton, le producteur Jez Lloyd mène le projet Ink Project, en collaboration avec plusieurs artistes, à l’instar des chanteurs Coreysan, FiFi Rong, Yazmyn Hendrix ou encore Melanie Dymond. Le collectif poursuit donc son exploration de différents genres musicaux avec l’album Rhythm Spirit, mêlant dub, musique électronique, pop et soul. Jez Lloyd est également derrière le label Blind Colour, à l’image de cet album cosmopolite.

Écoutez ici

Yaral Sa Doom
Wau Wau Collectif

Ce collectif se lance dans son premier album, intitulé Yaral Sa Doom et mêlant dub, chants de louange soufis et jazz spirituel. Ces artistes avant-gardistes renouvellent ainsi la scène musicale sénégalaise, tout en demeurant très attachés aux traditions ouest-africaines. Rythmes électroniques, percussions et voix d’enfants y forment une harmonie surprenante.

Écoutez ici

Africa Represented
Salatiel

Salatiel se lance dans un nouvel album, intitulé Africa Represented. Suite au succès du single « Water », en compagnie de Beyoncé, ce chanteur camerounais a pu acquérir une notoriété internationale, notamment par sa participation à la bande originale du film Le Roi Lion. Son titre « Africa Represented » permet de rendre hommage à Mama Africa, tout en rappelant qu’il demeure « noir jusqu’aux os », en rappelant à quel point l’Afrique est présente dans le monde entier.

Écoutez ici

& Baga Man
Scratcha DVA

Scratcha DVA poursuit ses collaborations, suite à la sortie de son EP Drmtrk, en novembre dernier. Son nouvel EP, & Baga Man, vise à mettre en lumière les producteurs influencés par l’afro house et le dancehall. Scratchclart et Razzler Man nous ont ainsi concocté « Razzclart », au rythme particulièrement singulier, mêlant à la fois des cuivres influencées par l’amapiano, le grime, le gqom, mais aussi des percussions funky : une symbiose entre l’afro house et la gqom britannique.

Écoutez ici

Drill FR
Gazo

Après avoir collaboré avec Hamza, Jul et Kaaris, Gazo s’impose de plus en plus, intitulant tout simplement son nouvel album Drill FR. Derrière le label BSB depuis 2019, cet artiste compte bien laisser une trace au sein du rap de l’Hexagone, inspiré par ses amis, ses « gazos » de Saint-Denis. Rendant hommage à ses racines, il rappe dans « Inhumain » : « Solide, je suis sous mafé, banane plantain, je veux être patron. »

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé