→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

From Tema to L.A., Yaw Appiah’s Afro house echoes

California-based Ghanaian artist Yaw Appiah released the Nangu EP last month, three intense and atmospheric tracks that put him on the Afro house map. Interview.

Based in Los Angeles, Yaw Appiah has been nesting for a year on the local and international scene, releasing percussive singles bordering Afro house and Afro tech. Born in Tema, Ghana, he has made it his mission to show the world under-represented African music by drawing on his roots, creating his own musical space of infectious melodies, hypnotic polyrhythms and killer kicks. After obtaining a degree in electronic engineering and telecommunications, Yaw Appiah turned to music, determined to preach the good word through his productions and DJ sets. He proved it in a guest mix that he offered to our PAM Sound System radio show (to be discovered below), reflecting the cleanliness and dynamism of his productions.   

Yaw Appiah – Nangu

How did you get into Afro house? 

I was first exposed to the sound of Afro house back in Ghana. Now people would ask Ghana? Knowing that I was born and raised in Tema, where rap was the prime focus, and I would answer – yes! Back in the days, I would always look for new music browsing the internet at internet cafes for mixes I would create for friends and one day when I was doing that, I stumbled upon the South African radio station YFM. There, I listened to a different sound which at that time I couldn’t categorize, artists like Vinny Da Vinci and Christos to name a few were some of the first I listened to and that was the beginning of me digging the sound of Afro house.

Which artists influence you the most and why?

I must say Jay-Z, Meek Mill, and Obrafo Hammer of the Last 2 are my top 3 artist influences. Even though they are not related to the Afro house genre, these have been key artists I am inspired by because of how they present their art to the world and how they’ve all found ways to transform their life stories to something bigger than just music.

How do you deal with your Ghanaian roots through electronic production?

Ghanaian music is rhythmic and includes a lot of drums and percussions, if you think about it, even the sounds of the streets are buzzing and constantly exposing car honks, street sellers shouting for their best offers, and different corner stores blasting their radio stations to the max volume. All of that are influences in my day-to-day production. It’s what’s in me an instinct you can say when producing.

On the other hand, how does the Los Angeles scene feed your music? 

LA is the melting pot of different cultures and its diversity, which has exposed me to different experiences of various cultures and their music. LA is also the land of dreams. LA LA land – I ask myself, what do dreams sound like? And that question helps me create. 

We are discovering your work today through Nangu. How did your music/style evolve since day one, and how would you define this EP in terms of sounds and emotions?

I released my first single “Moonlight” in 2020. I must say my journey of production has really reflected my life’s journey in the past year, the sound evolved from an amapiano sound to a true Afro house sound. Nangu is my second Afro house release and a true representation of many more releases to come. The deep tribal, tech house sound allows for so much room for creativity and I enjoy the space of expression the compositions of melodies and beat expose. 

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #33 – Special Guest : YAW APPIAH

Nangu by Yaw Appiah, still available.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

De Tema à L.A., les échos afro house de Yaw Appiah

Le Ghanéen installé en Californie Yaw Appiah sortait le mois dernier l’EP Nangu, trois titres intenses et atmosphériques qui le propulsent définitivement sur la mappemonde de l’afro-house. Interview.

Basé à Los Angeles, Yaw Appiah fait son nid depuis un an sur la scène locale et internationale, sortant au compte-gouttes des singles percussifs aux frontières de l’afro house et de l’afro tech. Né à Tema au Ghana, il se donne pour mission de montrer au monde les musiques africaines sous représentées en se nourrissant de ses racines, créant alors son propre espace musical fait de mélodies infectieuses, polyrythmies hypnotiques et kicks assassins. Après l’obtention d’un diplôme en ingénierie électronique et télécommunications, Yaw Appiah se tourne vers la musique, bien décidé à prêcher la bonne parole à travers ses productions et ses DJ sets. Il le prouvait dans un guest mix qu’il nous proposait dans notre PAM Sound System radio show -en écoute en bas d’article- à l’image de la propreté et du dynamisme de ses productions.   

Yaw Appiah – Nangu

Comment es-tu tombé dans l’univers de l’afro house?

J’ai d’abord été exposé au son de l’afro house au Ghana. En sachant que je suis né et que j’ai grandi à Tema où le rap prime, les gens demanderaient « au Ghana ? » Et je leur répondrais : oui ! À l’époque, je cherchais toujours de la nouvelle musique en cherchant sur internet dans les cybercafés, pour faire des mix pour mes amis. Un jour, alors que je faisais mes recherches, je suis tombé sur la station de radio sud-africaine YFM. J’y ai trouvé un son différent que je ne pouvais pas classer à l’époque, avec des artistes comme Vinny Da Vinci et Christos pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Ils ont été parmi les premiers que j’ai écoutés et ce fut le début de ma rencontre avec le son afro house.

Quels artistes t’influencent le plus et pourquoi ?

Je dois dire que Jay-Z, Meek Mill et Obrafo Hammer of the Last 2 sont mes trois influences artistiques majeures. Même s’ils ne sont pas liés au genre afro house, ce sont des artistes clés qui m’inspirent en raison de la façon dont ils présentent leur art au monde et de la façon dont ils ont tous trouvé des moyens de transformer les histoires de leur vie en quelque chose de plus grand que la musique.

Comment ressens-tu tes racines ghanéennes à travers la production électronique ?

La musique ghanéenne est rythmée et comprend beaucoup de tambours et de percussions. Si on y pense, même les bruits des rues résonnent et on y entend constamment des klaxons de voiture, des vendeurs ambulants en train de crier et différents magasins faisant exploser leur radio au volume maximum. Tout cela m’influence dans ma production quotidienne, c’est ce qui est en moi, un instinct quand je produis.

A l’inverse, comment la scène de Los Angeles nourrit-elle ta musique ?

LA est un melting-pot de différentes cultures et de diversité, ce qui m’a exposé à différentes expériences musicales. LA est aussi le pays des rêves. LA LA land – Je me demande souvent, à quoi ressemblent les rêves ? Et cette question m’aide à créer.

Nous découvrons ton travail aujourd’hui à travers Nangu. Comment ton style a-t-il évolué depuis le premier jour, et comment définirais-tu cet EP en termes de sons et d’émotions ? 

J’ai sorti mon premier single « Moonlight » en 2020, je dois dire que mon parcours de producteur a vraiment reflété le parcours de ma vie cette dernière année. Ma musique a évolué de l’amapiano vers le véritable son afro house. Nangu est ma deuxième sortie afro house et une vraie représentation de nombreuses autres sorties à venir. Le son deep, tribal, et tech house laisse tellement de place à la créativité et j’apprécie l’espace d’expression qu’offrent ces compositions de rythmes et de mélodies.

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #33 – Special Guest : YAW APPIAH

L’EP Nangu est disponible depuis le 21 octobre.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé