→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Debut album by Lex Amor, the urban grace

The British rapper with Nigerian roots releases stunningly mature, home-recorded debut album. There is power in simplicity.

When Lex Amor performs, the rest stay quiet. The walls fall and suddenly, a certain vulnerability sets in. Somewhere between rap and poetry, the Londoner takes stock of her life by whispering introspective verses on the nine songs that make up her first album, Government Tropicana. “It’s a 100% DIY album,” she explains, surprisingly. “Most of the songs were recorded in my bedroom and produced by my friends. There was no kind of external help or assistance, it’s very homegrown, and I think it’s representative of this time.” Despite the rudimentary aspect of its genesis, Government Tropicana sounds like one of the best hip-hop albums of the year.

Lex Amor – Plant Your Feet (P.Y.F)

A member of the cast within the collaborative project Extra Soul Perception — which PAM got to know  here — Lex Amor considers this band of ephemeral artists as a “family, a community with collective reason and creativity.” ESP has left positive after-effects on the artist, freeing her from her chains: “ESP is an open plan,” she continues, “with these different voices and experiences, the music needed to be given space to be able to flourish, it was very impactful for me.” Traveling from one home studio to another while writing lyrics on the road, Lex Amor is finally ready to deliver a slice of her musical journey and her current state of mind. Floating on the music thanks to her disarming  charisma, she has surrounded herself with talented friends and family on a few verses, and enhanced the flow with smooth production. “One thing I do love about music is the community, the family who supports me,” she says. “I mean, it was not even a case of choosing people, these are people I make music with, people I’m around. We were in the studio, we made songs and it happens that these songs are in this project, it was me and my friends, organic vibes and music. These are people I respect highly, friends first, but I am also a fan of their work, collectively and individually.”

Behind the sensitive UK garage vibe of “Moesh,” the poignant “Plant Your Feet” or the shiver-inducing, magnificent “100 Angels,” lies her life story, which she relates through an early generation of black workers that came to work in London. “The first thing that comes to my mind is the multiplicity of communities I was surrounded by while I was growing up,” she says. “That kind of exposure determined how I speak, how I think, and how I navigate my own journey. I feel very blessed that I grew up around many different cultures and it formed a lot of what I’ve become and is now exploding in this project.” Lex Amor surveils her own evolution in a cosmopolitan capital, far from her roots, which she sometimes honors by singing in Igbo, the language and dialect of eastern Nigeria. An absolute revelation, Government Tropicana is a 30-minute masterpiece that resounds with confidence, disarming the listener while pulling them in … 

The album has been available since September 18 on the artist’s Bandcamp page.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Lex Amor, la grâce urbaine

La rappeuse britannique aux racines nigérianes sort un premier album enregistré à la maison et bluffant de maturité. Discussion avec une artiste bouleversante de simplicité.

Quand Lex Amor rappe, on se tait. Les boucliers tombent et brusquement, une certaine vulnérabilité s’installe. Entre rap et poésie, la Londonienne fait le bilan de sa vie en chuchotant des vers introspectifs sur les neuf chansons qui composent son premier album Government Tropicana. « C’est un album 100% DIY », explique-t-elle à notre grande surprise. « la majorité des titres ont été enregistrés dans ma chambre et produit par des potes. Nous n’avons demandé aucune aide, c’est vraiment du fait-maison, et je pense que c’est représentatif de cette période. » Malgré le côté rudimentaire de sa genèse, Government Tropicana sonne pourtant comme l’un des meilleurs albums de hip-hop entendus cette année.

Lex Amor – Plant Your Feet (P.Y.F)

Membre du casting au sein du projet collaboratif Extra Soul Perception – que nous avions dépeint ici – Lex Amor considère aujourd’hui ce collectif d’artistes éphémère comme une « famille, une communauté où règne la raison et la créativité collective ». ESP a donc laissé des séquelles positives chez l’artiste, la libérant alors de ses chaînes. « ESP était dénué de cloisons », continue-telle, « la musique avait besoin d’espace pour s’épanouir à travers ces différentes voix, ce qui m’a fortement impactée ». Voyageant d’un home-studio à l’autre tout en écrivant des paroles sur la route, Lex Amor est enfin prête à encapsuler une tranche de son parcours musical et de son état d’esprit du moment. Flottant sur la musique grâce à ce charisme déconcertant qu’elle dégage, Lex Amor s’est entourée de proches talentueux le temps de quelques couplets, ou pour enjoliver son flow avec des productions léchées. « Ce que j’adore dans la musique, c’est cet esprit de communauté, de famille qui m’encourage », dit-elle. « Je n’ai même pas eu à choisir ces collaborateurs, c’était comme faire de la musique avec ces potes que je respecte, dans une atmosphère très organique. Ce sont avant tout des amis, mais je suis aussi fan de leur travail, individuellement et collectivement. »

Derrière la délicate vibe UK garage de « Moesh », le poignant « Plant Your Feet » ou les frissons causés par le magnifique « 100 Angels » se cachent l’histoire de sa vie, qu’elle tente de raconter à travers celle de la première génération d’ouvriers noirs venus travailler à Londres. « La première chose qui me vient à l’esprit est la multiplicité des communautés qui m’entouraient », raconte-t-elle. « Cette exposition a conditionné ma façon de parler, de penser, et de naviguer dans ma vie. Je me sens chanceuse d’avoir grandi autour de tant de cultures différentes, c’est ce qui m’a formée et qui explose aujourd’hui dans ce projet. » Lex Amor survole sa propre évolution au sein d’une capitale cosmopolite, loin de ses racines qu’elle honore en chantant de temps à autre en igbo, langue et dialecte de l’est du Nigéria. Véritable révélation, Government Tropicana est un petit chef d’œuvre de 30 minutes qui désarme en résonnant comme une confidence…

L’album est disponible depuis le 18 septembre sur la page Bandcamp de l’artiste.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé