→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
3 weeks ago

Moussolou, the album that unearthed the Malian diva Oumou Sangaré

When it comes to African classics, Oumou Sangaré’s debut album Moussolou, stands far out from the rest. She presents herself on the album as the same rebellious and troublemaking diva we know today, singing about the plight of women.

“I didn’t even want to record an album at the time,” said Oumou Sangaré about Moussolou, her debut studio she recorded in 1989. Yet, thirty years and ten albums later, the singer shines on as a crucial voice for Mali, both as an African icon and an international star, as well as an accomplished businesswoman – she owns a hotel, a pioneering farm, a car company and a taxi company – and a freedom fighter, whose integrity, perseverance and outspokenness remains highly respected. A woman standing tall and a pivotal artist.

“The first time I heard Oumou, it was on a cassette tape version of Moussolou that Ali Farka Touré gave me,” recalls Nick Gold, head of the World Circuit label, in an interview he gave to the French newspaper Le Monde. “For months I have listened to it on loop. When I traveled through Mali, I would hear it everywhere. There was no way I could have escaped this music!” The truth is, Sangaré’s sounds caused a sensation and the cassette, initially released in 1990 by Syllart Records, sold over 250,000 copies, an absolute record-breaker for the time. “The day the album was released, people were lining up to buy it. And from there, it literally took off,” Oumou Sangaré recounts in the booklet included in Moussolou‘s 2016 reissue on World Circuit. But the secret behind its success however may be down to, of all things… a car!

When Oumou Sangaré opened the doors to the fundamental JBZ studios in Abidjan to record the six tracks of Moussolou, the young woman was far from naive: at 21, she had already toured Europe with the Djoliba Percussions ensemble alongside Toumani Diabaté, and had already secured full financial autonomy, earning her living by singing at weddings and baptisms in Bamako. “The producer Samassa had already invited me several times to record an album, but I always refused, because I thought if it didn’t work out I would feel ashamed. But he kept coming after me, and even ended up offering his own car to me as a gift and at that point I said to myself: ‘Oumou, you’re riding a Yamaha motorcycle. Now look, a car is a much better option!’ And I accepted the offer!” she explained. This anecdote may well make you smile, but it also reveals a strong personality trait.

In the studio, Oumou Sangaré stood up to producers who criticized her music for being too traditional sounding, and stayed firmly reluctant in accepting the use of the drum machine which they tried to impose on her. It is primarily through the lyrics in her songs however that Oumou Sangaré truly affirms her rebellious nature: challenging taboo’s against the weight of a conservative society, the singer stood by the side of African women (“Moussolou”), celebrated sensual loving (“Diaraby Nene”) as well as sincere loving (“Ah Ndiya”), and did not hesitate to oppose forced and arranged marriages (“Diya Gneba”). Unambiguously titled and containing openly feminist lyrics, Moussolou (“women”) of course, caused a scandal upon its release. “It really upset a lot of people, but I feel it was necessary,” reckons Sangaré. “It was majorly criticized by the press. It was a complete disaster. It was a revolutionary moment and, strangely, I enjoyed it at the same time. It was so empowering! You couldn’t ignore it. It was just huge.” It paved the way for a new generation of artists who dared to express themselves by following in her footsteps. Oumou Sangaré then without realizing it, became celebrated as a feminist icon, responding to the concerns of thousands of women whose plight she has never let go of since.

An amazon of Africa, Oumou Sangaré is also a true ambassador for the Wassoulou region, the lungs of southwestern Mali, whose economy she has supported by orchestrating in particular the ambitious FIWA, International Wassulu Festival, since 2017. The Wassoulou is also the region of her mother, “a fighter” to whom she paid homage to on Moussolou by choosing to sing in Wassoulou n’ke [the dialect of Wassoulou; author’s note] and by using the rhythms of the region, inherited, in part, by the hunters’ ancestral rituals.

In order to modernize the sounds of Wassoulou whilst respecting the traditions, Oumou Sangaré called on Amadou Ba Guindo – then a member of the prestigious Mali-based National Badema orchestra – whose minimalist arrangements undoubtedly contributed to the success of her first opus, a timeless masterpiece, revealing from early on, the huge hit-making potential the singer had. Bass and guitar unify the virtuously played kamalé ngoni (harp-lute) and karignan (a scrape-styled percussion instrument) whilst an unexpected violin adds unique nuances to the fold. Flexible, powerful and untamable, Oumou Sangaré’s voice eventually transcends this landmark record in her discography – the starting point of a majestic career. This was made evident on her recent afro-house collaboration with the duo Synapson, and on her latest album, Mogoya (2017, No Format), whose music is enriched by synth-leads and psychedelic guitars that share the beat with rhythms performed by the late Tony Allen. Oumou Sangaré is a woman of her time who has remained loyal to her roots – to which she overtly pays homage to on Acoustic, an album recorded in two days without any of the usual accompanying safety nets, set to be released on June 19, 2020.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Moussolou d’Oumou Sangaré : l’album qui a révélé la diva du Mali

Au chapitre des classiques africains, on ne pouvait oublier Moussolou, le tout premier album d’Oumou Sangaré. On y découvre déjà la diva frondeuse et rebelle, qui chante la condition des femmes.

Je ne voulais même pas enregistrer un album” dira Oumou Sangaré au sujet de Moussolou, son premier enregistrement studio en 1989. Pourtant, trente ans et dix disques plus tard, la chanteuse rayonne comme une voix cardinale du Mali, une icône africaine, une star internationale, une femme d’affaires accomplie —  un hôtel, une ferme pilote, une marque de voitures, une société de taxis — une sœur de luttes dont l’intégrité, la constance et la liberté de ton demeurent éminemment respectées. Une femme debout, une artiste majeure.

« La première fois que j’ai entendu Oumou, c’était à travers une cassette de Moussolou, que m’avait remise Ali Farka Touré” se souvient Nick Gold, le patron du label World Circuit, dans un article du Monde. ”Pendant des mois je l’ai écoutée. Quand j’ai voyagé au Mali, on l’entendait partout. Impossible d’y échapper ! » De fait, sa musique fait sensation et la cassette, publiée en 1990 chez Syllart Records, se vend à plus de 250000 exemplaires, un record absolu pour l’époque. “Le jour de la sortie de l’album, les gens faisaient la queue pour l’acheter. Et de là, ça a décollé !” rembobine Oumou Sangaré dans le livret qui accompagne la réédition de Moussolou en 2016 chez World Circuit. Mais quel est le secret d’un tel succès dont le destin s’est peut-être joué… à une voiture près ? 

Lorsqu’Oumou Sangaré pousse la porte de l’incontournable studio JBZ à Abidjan pour enregistrer les six titres de Moussolou, la jeune femme n’a rien d’une naïve : à 21 ans, elle a déjà tourné en Europe avec l’ensemble Djoliba Percussions aux côtés de Toumani Diabaté tandis qu’elle gagne sa vie, en toute autonomie, en chantant dans les cérémonies de baptême et de mariage à Bamako. ”Le producteur Samassa m’avait déjà contactée plusieurs fois pour faire un album mais j’avais toujours refusé, car je me disais que si ça ne marchait pas ce serait la honte pour moi. Mais il est revenu plusieurs fois à la charge, et a fini par m’offrir sa voiture en cadeau et je me suis dit : Oumou, tu roules en moto Yamaha, mais attend, là c’est quand même mieux une voiture… J’accepte !” raconte-t-elle encore. Si l’anecdote prête à sourire, elle révèle aussi une forte personnalité. 

En studio, Oumou Sangaré tient tête aux producteurs qui reprochent à sa musique son caractère trop traditionnel et refuse fermement la boîte à rythme qu’ils tentent de lui imposer. Mais c’est surtout par les paroles de ses chansons qu’Oumou Sangaré affirme véritablement son âme frondeuse : à rebours des tabous d’une société conservatrice, la chanteuse prend le parti des femmes africaines (“Moussolou”), célèbre l’amour sensuel (“Diaraby Nene”) et l’amour sincère (“Ah Ndiya”), n’hésite pas à s’opposer aux mariages forcés ou arrangés dans (“Diya Gneba”). Sans équivoque du titre aux textes, Moussolou (les femmes) fait évidemment scandale à sa sortie. “Cela a vraiment vexé beaucoup de gens, mais c’était nécessaire” juge Oumou Sangaré. “Il a été critiqué dans la presse. C’était une catastrophe. C’était révolutionnaire et, bizarrement, ça faisait plaisir en même temps. Et combien émancipateur ! On ne pouvait pas l’ignorer. C’était immense.” Ouvrant la voie à une nouvelle génération d’artistes qui dans ses pas oseront s’exprimer, Oumou Sangaré s’impose alors en pionnière féministe répondant, sans s’y attendre, aux préoccupations de milliers de femmes dont elle n’a depuis jamais lâché la cause. 

Amazone d’Afrique, Oumou Sangaré est aussi une véritable ambassadrice pour le Wassoulou, poumon forestier du sud-ouest du Mali, dont elle soutient l’économie en y orchestrant notamment l’ambitieux FIWA, Festival International du Wassulu, depuis 2017. Le Wassoulou, c’est aussi la région de sa mère, “une battante” à laquelle elle rend hommage sur Moussolou en s’exprimant en wassoulou n’ke (le dialecte du wassoulou, ndlr) et en chantant les rythmes de la région, hérités pour partie des rituels ancestraux des chasseurs. 

Pour moderniser les sonorités traditionnelles du Wassoulou sans les dénaturer, Oumou Sangaré fait donc appel à Amadou Ba Guindo — membre alors du prestigieux orchestre National Badema du Mali — dont les arrangements minimalistes participent indiscutablement au succès de son premier opus, chef d’œuvre intemporel révélant déjà l’énorme potentiel tubesque de la chanteuse. Basse et guitare sous-tendent le jeu virtuose du kamalé ngoni (harpe-luth) et du karignan (percussion raclée) quand un violon inattendu nuance le tout. Souple, puissante, indomptable, la voix d’Oumou Sangaré transcende enfin ce disque-signature, à la source d’une carrière majestueuse. Comme le prouvent encore sa collaboration afro-house avec le duo Synapson ou son dernier disque, Mogoya (2017, No Format), enrichi en synthés pop et guitares psychédéliques croisant le beat avec les rythmes du regretté Tony Allen. Oumou Sangaré est une femme de son temps qui ne trahit jamais ses fondations — auxquelles elle revient très franchement dans Acoustic, un disque enregistré en deux jours sans filet de sécurité, à paraître le 19 juin 2020.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé