→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 albums you should listen to this week

This week, MHD and Laylow represent French rap, while Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble reflect on the future of a country in crisis. Elsewhere, Enny and Willow Smith sing about personal evolution and Mariah The Scientist takes time  to heal her wounds. Finally, DJ Manny lovingly blends footwork with R&B and Durban Gogo explores amapiano with Unlimited Soul.

L’étrange histoire de Mr. Anderson
Laylow

The French rapper has released a collaboration with Alpha Wann, Damso, Foushée, Hamza, Nekfeu, Slowthai and Wit. On it, he advises us to be attentive, active listeners,, saying: “It’s a second album, yes, but I did not try to talk to everyone… I wanted to speak to those who have dreams, who feel stuck in the tunnel and struggle to see the light at the bottom.”

Listen here

Under Twenty Five
Enny

The up-and-coming Enny, who has already drawn comparisons to Jorja Smith, has released her first EP consisting of her hit singles “Same Old,” “I Want” and “Peng Black Girls.” Enny defines the project, which was born during the most confusing period of her 20s, as follows: “The songs reflect not only my journey into quitting my job to do music but also everyone involved in bringing this to life from meeting PAYA who nurtured and produced the tracks to just connecting with some really amazing people at Root73.”

Listen here

Mansa
MHD

For his third album, the rapper gets deep, evoking both his success, his life in the ends and prison. Always faithful to his singular trap style, he surrounds himself with artists who fit the bill, namely Tiakola, Naira Marley and Adekunle Gold. His track “Afro Trap Part. 11” has already reached 23 million views.

Listen here

Signals In My Head
DJ Manny

On his new album, the producer navigates between R&B melodies and footworks beats. This project marks a turning point in his career: “[it’s] something that no one has ever done before, that is to say an album with R&B love, while remaining in the style footwork, juke, house, techno, with some breaks. I just want people to know that there’s love out there.” By immersing us in classic 90s Chicago house, DJ Manny’s new music is also reminiscent of  the golden age of Detroit techno music. He navigates between different styles and shocases the growth that is bearing fruit following a long artistic journey: “It’s not a problem to be discreet with your music, when you’re trying to improve yourself and your sound.”

Listen here

Ry Ry World
Mariah the Scientist

The artist exposes all her vulnerability on this new project. Built on a sample from “Cry Me a River,” the track “Revenge” perfectly embodies the R&B singer’s intentions: “I want to encourage my fans to tell it like it is, because it helps define your character. If you’re going to be the bad guy, own it.”

Listen here

lately I feel EVERYTHING
Willow

The 20-year-old artist dedicates this new project to her long artistic journey. Having worked on the album since the beginning of the pandemic, she is exercising deep introspection through a symbiosis of alternative rock, pop-punk and emo, with touches of Avril Lavigne, My Chemical Romance and Paramore. Willow explains: “I thought it was a great way to express the new energy I wanted to bring to my music.”

Listen here

Na Zala Zala
Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble

Nyege Nyege Tapes has released Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble’s debut album. The founder of Hakuna Kulala, a sub-label of the Ugandan collective, Rey Sapienz is a key rapper in Congo scene, although he now lives in Uganda due to the civil war raging his native country. The album features traditional percussionist Papalas Palata and rapper Fresh Dougis, with whom he formed The Congo Techno Ensemble. This initiative’s goal is to evoke the Democratic Republic of Congo’s past, present and future through radioactive techno-dancehall rhythms with “open and radical rhymes” that reflect their concerns about their native country’s future as well as a hope for peace.

Listen here

Break Through
Unlimited Soul & Durban Gogo

Two South African artists explore amapiano. In particular, the DJ draws on her diverse influences, from Durban to Pretoria, where she once lived, mixing house and gqom. This is a project for which she is excited to bring a dose of femininity, saying: “We need more women. Men are boring. Women have a better work ethic. Men get away with doing the same thing all the time. We don’t have that luxury.”

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

8 albums à découvrir cette semaine

MHD et Laylow représentent le rap français, pendant que Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble réfléchissent au futur de leur pays en guerre. Enny et Willow Smith chantent sur leur évolution, tandis que Mariah The Scientist tente de guérir de ses blessures. Enfin, DJ Manny explore le footwork, qu’il associe à du R&B amoureux, tout comme Durban Gogo ainsi qu’Unlimited Soul exploitent autrement l’amapiano.

L’étrange histoire de Mr. Anderson
Laylow

Le rappeur français collabore avec Alpha Wann, Damso, Foushée, Hamza, Nekfeu, Slowthai ou encore Wit. Il nous conseille d’être très attentif, en n’écoutant pas ce projet de façon aléatoire, affirmant : « C’est un deuxième album oui, mais je n’ai pas essayé de parler à tout le monde… J’ai voulu parler à ceux qui ont des rêves, qui se sentent bloqués dans le tunnel et qui peinent à voir la lumière au fond. »

Écoutez ici

Under Twenty Five
Enny

La protégée de Jorja Smith, originaire du sud-est de Londres, dévoile son tout premier EP, également constitué par ses singles Same Old, I Want et Peng Black Girls, qui ont contribué à son succès. Enny définit ainsi ce projet, né durant la période la plus confuse de sa vingtaine : « Les chansons reflètent non seulement mon parcours, qui m’a amené à quitter mon travail pour faire de la musique, mais aussi toutes les personnes impliquées dans la réalisation de ce projet, de la rencontre avec PAYA, qui a nourri et produit les morceaux, jusqu’à la rencontre avec des personnes vraiment extraordinaires chez Root73. »

Écoutez ici

Mansa
MHD

Pour son troisième album, le rappeur se confie beaucoup plus, évoquant à la fois son succès, sa vie au quartier, mais aussi la prison. Toujours fidèle à sa trap si singulière, il s’entoure d’artistes qui lui ressemblent, à savoir Tiakola, Naira Marley ainsi qu’Adekunle Gold. Son titre « Afro Trap Part. 11 » a déjà réuni 23 millions de vues.

Écoutez ici

Signals In My Head
DJ Manny

Dans son nouvel album, le producteur navigue entre les styles mélange, entre mélodies R&B et beats footworks. Ce projet marque un tournant dans sa carrière. Il le définit ainsi : « Quelque chose que personne n’avait jamais fait auparavant, c’est-à-dire un album de type R&B amoureux, tout en restant dans le style footwork, juke, house, techno, avec quelques breaks. Je veux juste que les gens sachent qu’il y a de l’amour dehors. » En nous plongeant dans la house classique de Chicago des années 90, DJ Manny parvient également à nous rappeler l’âge d’or de la musique techno de Detroit. Il navigue entre différents styles, nous faisant ressentir son épanouissement, dû à un long cheminement artistique : « Ce n’est pas un problème d’être discret avec sa musique, quand on essaie de s’améliorer et d’améliorer son son. »

Écoutez ici

Ry Ry World
Mariah the Scientist

L’artiste expose toute sa vulnérabilité dans ce nouveau projet, utilisant un sample de « Cry Me a River » dans le morceau « Revenge », symbolisant parfaitement les intentions de la chanteuse de R&B. « Je veux inciter mes fans à dire les choses telles qu’elles sont, car cela aide à définir votre personnage. Si vous devez être le méchant, assumez-le. »

Écoutez ici

lately I feel EVERYTHING
Willow

La jeune artiste, âgée de 20 ans, dédie ce nouveau projet à son long cheminement artistique. Travaillant sur cet album dès le début de la pandémie, elle s’attèle à une profonde introspection, avec une symbiose entre le rock alternatif, le pop-punk et le style emo, très inspirée par Avril Lavigne, My Chemical Romance ou encore Paramore. Willow explique : « J’ai pensé que c’était un excellent moyen d’exprimer la nouvelle énergie que je voulais apporter à ma musique»

Écoutez ici

Na Zala Zala
Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble

Nyege Nyege Tapes sort le premier album de Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble. Fondateur de Hakuna Kulala, sous-label du collectif ougandais, Rey Sapienz est un rappeur incontournable au Congo, bien qu’il vive désormais en Ouganda, en raison de la guerre civile dans son pays natal. Son album accueille le percussionniste traditionnel Papalas Palata ainsi que le rappeur Fresh Dougis, avec lesquels il a formé The Congo Techno Ensemble. L’objectif de cette initiative est d’évoquer de façon artistique le passé, le présent ainsi que l’avenir de la République Démocratique du Congo, par le biais de rythmes techno-dancehall radioactifs avec « des rimes ouvertes et radicales », à l’image de leurs inquiétudes quant à l’avenir de leur pays natal et de leur espoir concernant la paix.

Écoutez ici

Break Through
Unlimited Soul & Durban Gogo

Les deux artistes sud-africains explorent ensemble l’amapiano. La DJ se nourrit notamment de ses influences diverses, de Durban à Pretoria, où elle a vécu, mélangeant house et gqom. Elle est ravie d’apporter de la féminité dans ce nouveau, projet, déclarant : « Nous avons besoin de plus de femmes. Les hommes sont ennuyeux. Les femmes ont une meilleure éthique de travail. Les hommes s’en sortent en faisant toujours la même chose. Nous n’avons pas ce privilège.  »

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé