fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Wally Badarou: Echoes (1984)

The prolific studio musician, producer and songwriter has inspired and collaborated with multiple generations of artists, from Fela Kuti to Massive Attack. We dive into the French born Badarou’s most well known 1984 classic Echoes for a closer look at the sounds of Wally’s world.

Wally Badarou is a French born musician with ancestry in Benin, West Africa. His work as a producer, keyboardist and with the synthesizer was massively influential to some of the 70s and 80s most important stars, and his solo work has been re-imagined by modern creatives who discovered his genius. His smooth sounds and unique technique allowed for a wide variety of genres and artists to take inspiration from the many elements of his work in each of his roles. 

The de-facto fifth member of the British band Level 42 who penned some hits throughout England, Wally Badarou was also a prolific studio musician and songwriter. A close associate of Island Records Chris Blackwell and a part of the Compass Point Studios recording team, Wally Badarou recorded a series of albums throughout the 1980s by Grace Jones, Tom Tom Club, Joe Cocker, Mick Jagger, Black Uhuru, Gwen Guthrie, Jimmy Cliff and Gregory Isaacs and more. Badarou also played keyboard on albums by Herbie Hancock, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango and Miriam Makeba. He also produced Fela Kuti’s Teacher Don’t Teach Me Nonsense, Salif Keita’s 1995 Folon… the past

Hi-Life (Echoes)

On Wally’s 1984 cult classic Echoes we hear the concentrated resonance that Wally imbued on his colleagues and counterparts over his career. The ambiance is wavy and dreamlike, leaning heavily on the synth, and bringing in surprising melodies and rhythms for the neo-pop/new age aesthetic. Tracks include the super funky, deep-house “Chief Inspector”, “Mambo” (sampled by Massive Attack on “Daydreaming” off their Blue Lines album), and the highlife inspired “Hi-Life” music. 

The beauty in music – instrumental music especially – is, there is no limit in how it can be interpreted,” Wally explained to Vinyl Factory when speaking about Echoes. “It can be quite flattering to realize Echoes is being viewed as a classic, whatever genre fans believe it belongs to. My gut feeling is, it belongs to none, and never pretended to belong to – nor pioneer – any. The primary motivations were never to set a cornerstone in forthcoming dance, acid, cool, Balearic or the likes. As with the rest of my instrumental work, it had more to do with a soundtrack of an imaginary movie really.”

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Echoes de Wally Badarou : la bande originale d’un film imaginaire

Le prolifique musicien de studio, producteur et auteur-compositeur a inspiré et collaboré avec plusieurs générations d’artistes, de Fela Kuti à Massive Attack. Plongez dans Echoes, un de ses classiques sorti en 1984, pour en savoir plus sur l’univers sonore de Wally Badarou.

Wally Badarou est un musicien français d’origine béninoise. Son travail en tant que réalisateur, claviériste (notamment au synthétiseur) a eu une influence massive sur certaines des stars les plus importantes des années 70 et 80 tandis que sa musique solo continue, encore aujourd’hui, d’être réinterprétée. Ses douces mélodies ou son savoir-faire si singulier ont permis à une grande variété de genres et d’artistes de s’inspirer de nombreux éléments de son travail, tous rôles confondus.

Cinquième membre du groupe britannique Level 42 qui signa quelques tubes en Angleterre, Wally Badarou était également un musicien de studio prolifique et un auteur-compositeur. Proche associé de Island Records Chris Blackwell et membre du Compass Point Studios, Wally Badarou a enregistré une pléthore d’albums tout au long des années 1980, avec Grace Jones, Tom Tom Club, Joe Cocker, Mick Jagger, Black Uhuru, Gwen Guthrie, Jimmy Cliff et Gregory Isaacs et plus encore. Badarou a également joué du clavier sur des albums de Herbie Hancock, Talking Heads, Foreigner, Manu Dibango et Miriam Makeba. En 1995, il a également produit Teacher Don’t Teach Me Nonsense de Fela Kuti’s ou Folon… the past de Salif Keïta.

Hi-Life (Echoes)

Sur son album culte Echoes sorti en 1984, on peut entendre les fondamentaux du son Badarou, et du même coup l’influence qu‘il aura tout au long de sa carrière sur ses collègues et homologues musiciens. L’ambiance est ondulante et onirique, s’appuyant fortement sur le synthé, avec des mélodies et des rythmes surprenants pour l’esthétique néo-pop/new age. On y retrouve par exemple le génial « Chief Inspector », le super funky « Mambo » qui frôle la deep house (samplé par Massive Attack sur « Daydreaming »), et « Hi-Life » inspirée du highlife ghanéen. 

« La beauté de la musique – en particulier de la musique instrumentale – est qu’il n’y a pas de limite à la façon dont elle peut être interprétée », a expliqué Wally à Vinyl Factory en parlant d’Echoes. « Ça peut être assez flatteur de réaliser qu’Echoes est considéré comme un classique, quel que soit le genre auquel les fans croient qu’il appartient. Mon ressenti est qu’il n’appartient à personne et n’a jamais prétendu appartenir à un quelconque genre, ni être pionnier. Poser des fondations pour la dance music, l’acid, la balearic, etc. n’a jamais été une motivation. Comme pour le reste de mon travail instrumental, cela avait plus à voir avec la création d’une bande originale d’un film imaginaire. »

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé