→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Ibaaku: Pioneer of Senegalese electro
© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Ibaaku: Pioneer of Senegalese electro

The futuristic Senegalese artist continues his exploration of the worlds from the capital city in constant mutation, which he named "Neo Dakar". For PAM, he breaks down his approach and tells us about his love of all things fusion. Interview.

Nourished by jazz classics and West African music, the young Ibaaku Bassene made his first steps as an artist in the world of 90’s hip-hop under the Staz moniker. At the beginning of the 2000s, he left to live in Bamako for a year, where he threw himself wholeheartedly into music, juggling between live radio freestyle sessions, setting up a band and taking part in the first Malirap mixtape. Upon his return to Dakar, he joined the Lyrikal Zone 3 collective, a sort of West African Wu-Tang: a crew of fifteen guys who set stages across the region on fire.

But the curiosity and thirst for innovation of this tireless explorer led him to discover other worlds, both sonic and visual. First, through the I-Science band, quickly known as a musical UFO on the Senegalese scene. He also joined the Petites Pierres collective, where he rubbed shoulders with other creatives such as the stylist Selly Raby Kane, with whom he produced the soundtrack of the Alien Cartoon collection, during the 2014 Dak’Art Biennale. This was a foundational moment during which Staz became known as Ibaaku, a sonic poet whose futuristic universe is defined by the fusion of influences as diverse as possible. This mutation brought him international acclaim and visibility, with tours and the release of his first solo album in 2016, on the Akwaaba label. Since then, he’s been alternating big stages like Rennes’ Transmusicales or the Bushfire, with more underground projects like the Waï Faï Spirit band.

His music draws bridges between past, present and future, and encourages his audience, whom he affectionately calls “my hybrids”, to explore worlds of diversity. His latest project, Neo Dakar, pays homage to the actors of the new dakarois artistic scene and is a witness to the profound changes that the city is undergoing. Come meet Ibaaku, pioneer of the Senegalese electro scene.

IBAAKU – Mystere des Affaires Étranges (Vizionizer)

First of all, can you tell us about the musicians who influenced you?  

Basically, I grew up listening to a ton of African music and jazz, taken from my father’s huge vinyl discotheque. He had deep Afro-American music crates, like Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, Miles Davis and of course all the West African classics with Youssou Ndour, Salif Keita, Waziz Diop, Xalam, Meiway and many more… well, the list is almost endless. I loved the music, of course, but beyond that, I devoured books about the musicians themselves. I wanted to understand their state of mind, their lifestyle, their way of working.

Later on, like most kids my generation, I fell deep into hip-hop, and was particularly drawn to RZA from Wu Tang. I was also doing martial arts at the time and that helped me penetrate his universe. Of course, there are many other cats whom I liked and influenced me, like J-Dilla, Timbaland, and Swizz Beatz in particular. That’s how I discovered the funk and soul samples and the mix of musical and cinematographic cultures. 

In the end, what did you learn from these readings? 

I’ve always been interested in the story behind the curtains, you know, beyond the music itself. Understanding characters and life trajectories. Miles Davis’s bio, for example, is super powerful: the rebellious side, the intensity of his music, his words, his life choices.

The truth is that being an artist is much more than a career. It’s a whole path, a whole learning process, filled with experiences and encounters that shape one’s way of life. I always had this model in mind: the jazzman who plays until his last breath, who releases timeless albums, who renews himself, crosses eras, and remains edgy and current, while bringing something fresh and new. There is also this idea of staying up to date, even technologically, like when synthesizers arrived, it triggered a whole psychedelic wave in jazz, it also allowed us to explore new fusions, with rock for example. In this sense, the album Back On The Block by Quincy Jones is one of those that have marked me the most. It’s crazy, you have jazz legends like Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan with rappers like Ice T and Big Daddy Kane on the same record. It’s so beautiful, and shows that in music, there are really no limits!

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Breaking the boundaries between genres, drawing on the most diverse influences… I don’t know if there’s a connection but is that why you use the term “hybrid” in all sorts of ways? 

(Laughs). It’s true, it’s a term that I use in almost everything I do… In fact, this idea of “hybrid” really represents how I grew up and the diverse influences I received. It’s a way to speak to an audience that is similar to me, with a background that is not stuck in one culture. It evokes people who dig deep, who have gone to find very different inspirations to shape their views. I have been lucky enough to be confronted with many different lifestyles. Moreover, in the universe of Alien Cartoon, Ibaaku has an Alien mother and a Human father: that makes him a hybrid.

There is wealth in diversity, although these days, not everyone seems to think so. This is something that has always frustrated me in Senegalese hip-hop: there was always this debate about what is real hip-hop and what isn’t. It’s just so sterile, and really, if you know the history of hip-hop, you can’t even have that kind of debate. I mean we are talking about a movement that has drawn from so many different sources and origins. Music is a continuum and it’s in constant evolution. For me, it’s beautiful to see different worlds merging, giving something new, providing an alternative. I realize that many people find themselves in such a vision.

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Your latest project is called Neo Dakar, what is it about?

I think of Neo Dakar – or the New Dakar – as a cultural and artistic movement, which covers architecture, music, design, cinema, literature, dance, etc. For each discipline, there are different artists who make things happen. At the beginning, the movement was alternative, on the margins, but its popularity is now on the rise, with Selly Raby Kane (stylist, designer), Alibeta (musician), Omar Victor Diop (photographer), Sahad (musician), and the dance company La Mer Noire. There is also the writer Felwine Sarr and a new literary wave… many new profiles are emerging in Dakar, while also reaching an international audience. In parallel, there is also what we can observe every day: the city itself is changing – not necessarily in the right direction – but it is a fact, all this construction, all this effervescence. It’s mutating and evolving. It’s this whole phenomenon that I call Neo Dakar.

I got there by projecting myself into the future and putting myself in the shoes of an art historian, wondering what I would call this period. The name came from this exercise. I had a show on Vibe Radio whose ambition was to give a platform to new artists. Especially with the advent of electronic music in Senegal, with Guiss Guiss Bou Bess, ElectrAfrique, and others… The scene is bubbling with energy, electronic music events are growing, club DJs are starting to play sounds like amapiano and afro house regularly… Ten years ago, there was nowhere you could hear this kind of music in Dakar.

Musically, Neo Dakar is also my way of connecting with the Senegalese audience and to put Dakar on the world map of electronic music. I see this project as playing a kind of ambassador role for innovations that take place at home, and that the world doesn’t necessarily get to hear about. Last year I launched Neo Dakar Vol. 1, which I see as the manifesto of Dakar’s creative scene as it moves into the future. Volume 2 of the series has just been released, in a similar aesthetic.

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Although oriented towards novelty, Neo Dakar starts by going back in time, revisiting classics like Coumba Gawlo or Youssou Ndour. Can you tell us more?

In terms of aesthetics and inspiration, I am a big fan of vaporwave (see artists like ONeohtrix Point Never or Macintosh Plus). These producers have been drawing from the past of capitalist and technological culture. There is a nostalgic side of the 80s/90s which is in fact very current. This approach speaks to me a lot, and I tried to affirm it more in my musical production. There is also a more conceptual dimension, the idea of not running too fast towards the future. You have to draw from the past, from your heritage. You have to understand where you come from in order to know where you are going. Finally, a third element is the big emotional charge that I feel in relation to these pieces and these artists, who shaped our universe.

I think we are living in a time of transition. We are in the future that thinkers and artists have always prophesied. With the economic, social and health crisis and the digital revolution, our generation is living in a pivotal period that simultaNeously brings us back to history and projects us towards the future. But what’s next? As artists, we must take a stand on these questions, because culture has always had this capacity to anticipate things.

For Neo Dakar Vol. 1 and 2, I wanted to draw from classic tracks that many Senegalese people will identify with immediately. You see, an album like Wommat (editor’s note: by Youssou Ndour), from which I sampled the song “Dem”. Unless I’m mistaken, it was Senegal’s first gold record, thanks to the worldwide hit “Seven Seconds”. For us, it was the first album that mixed mbalax, hip-hop and soul for example. In Neo Dakar, I reinterpret this kind of fusion.

The series will continue, this time with a more futuristic tone. In fact, the first two volumes contain a lot of sounds that I have produced a long time ago. Some of them even ten years ago. At the time, I felt that they didn’t really fit with the state of the scene in Senegal. Maybe it was too experimental or avant-garde. I was waiting for the right moment…  Now that it’s out, I can turn the page and look to the future. Volume 3 is due out before the summer, with more vocals on the beats, because yes, I love to sing (big smile).

Find Ibaaku in our playlist afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Neo Dakar Vol. 1 et 2, out now via Bandcamp.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Ibaaku : fer de lance de l’électro sénégalaise
© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Ibaaku : fer de lance de l’électro sénégalaise

L’artiste futuriste sénégalais poursuit son exploration des mondes en train de naître dans la capitale mutante qu’il a baptisée « Neo Dakar ». Pour PAM, il revient sur sa démarche et dit son amour de toutes les fusions. Interview.

Nourri au biberon des classiques de jazz et de musiques ouest-africaines, le jeune Ibaaku Bassene fait ses premières armes d’artiste dans le monde du hip-hop des 90s sous le pseudonyme de Staz. Début 2000, il part vivre à Bamako où il se lance à fond dans la musique, multiplie les freestyles à la radio, monte un groupe et participe à la première mixtape Malirap. A son retour à Dakar, il intègre le collectif Lyrikal Zone 3, sorte de Wu-Tang ouest-africain : une quinzaine de mecs qui mettent le feu sur les scènes de la sous-région.

Mais la curiosité et la soif d’innovation de cet inlassable explorateur l’emmènent à la découverte d’autres univers tant sonores que visuels. Au travers du groupe I-Science, d’abord, vite qualifié d’ovni musical sur la scène sénégalaise. Il rejoint également le collectif des Petites Pierres, où il côtoie d’autres créatifs comme la styliste Selly Raby Kane, avec qui il produit la bande son de la collection Alien Cartoon, lors de la Biennale de Dak’Art 2014. C’est un moment fondateur au cours duquel Staz devient Ibaaku, un poète sonique dont l’univers futuriste se définit par la fusion d’influences aussi diverses que possibles. Cette mutation lui apportera un rayonnement international, avec tournées et sortie d’un premier album solo en 2016, sur le label Akwaaba. Depuis lors, il alterne grandes scènes comme les Transmusicales ou le Bushfire et les projets plus underground comme le groupe Waï Faï Spirit.

Sa musique trace des ponts entre passé, présent et futur, et encourage son public, qu’il surnomme affectueusement « mes hybrides », à explorer des mondes de diversité. Son dernier projet, Neo Dakar, rend hommage aux acteurs de la nouvelle scène artistique dakaroise et se veut témoin des mutations profondes que subit la ville. Rencontre avec Ibaaku, fer de lance de l’électro sénégalaise.

IBAAKU – Mystere des Affaires Étranges (Vizionizer)

Pour commencer, peux-tu nous parler des musiciens qui t’ont influencé?  

A la base, beaucoup de musique africaine et de jazz, tirés de l’énorme discothèque de mon père. Il avait plein de musiques noires américaines, genre Duke Ellington, Quincy Jones, Miles Davis et bien sûr tous les classiques ouest-africains avec Youssou Ndour, Salif Keïta, Waziz Diop, Xalam, Meiway… bref, la liste est quasi infinie. Je kiffais la musique, évidemment, mais au-delà de ça, je dévorais les bouquins sur les musiciens eux-mêmes. Je voulais comprendre leur état d’esprit, leur style de vie, leur manière de travailler aussi.

Dans le hip-hop c’est surtout RZA du Wu Tang qui m’a parlé, quand j’ai compris son délire – je faisais aussi des arts martiaux à l’époque et ça m’a aidé à rentrer dans son univers – et aussi J-Dilla, Timbaland, et Swizz Beatz notamment. J’ai découvert comme ça les sample de funk, de soul et le mélange des cultures musicale et cinématographique.

Au final, quels enseignements retiens-tu de ces lectures ? 

En fait, j’ai toujours été intéressé par l’envers du décor, au-delà de la musique elle-même. Comprendre les personnages et les trajectoires de vie. La bio de Miles Davis, par exemple : ce côté rebelle, l’intensité de sa musique, son propos, ses choix de vie.

La vérité, être artiste, c’est bien plus qu’une carrière. C’est tout un cheminement, tout un apprentissage, des expériences, des rencontres qui façonnent un mode de vie. J’ai toujours eu ce modèle en tête : le jazzman qui joue jusqu’à son dernier souffle, qui sort des albums hors du temps. Qui se renouvelle, traverse les époques, et reste dans l’air du temps, tout en apportant du neuf, du frais. Il y a aussi cette idée de se maintenir à niveau, même technologiquement. Comme quand les synthés ont débarqué, ça a déclenché toute une vague psyché dans le jazz, ça a aussi permis d’explorer de nouvelles fusions, avec le rock par exemple.

Dans ce sens-là, l’album Back On The Block de Quincy Jones est l’un de ceux qui m’ont le plus marqués. Plusieurs générations s’y retrouvent et il en fait quelque chose de cohérent… C’est assez dingue, tu as des légendes du jazz comme Ella Fitzgerald et Sarah Vaughan avec des rappeurs comme Ice T et Big Daddy Kane sur le même disque. C’est trop beau, il n’y a vraiment pas de limites !

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Briser les limites entre les genres, s’appuyer sur les influences les plus diverses… je ne sais pas s’il y a un lien mais est-ce pour cela que tu utilises le terme « hybride » à toutes les sauces? 

(Rires). C’est vrai, on retrouve ce terme dans presque toutes mes interventions… En fait, cette idée « d’hybride » représente vraiment comment j’ai grandi et les influences diverses que j’ai reçues. C’est une manière de parler à un public qui me ressemble, avec un parcours qui n’est pas figé dans une seule culture. Ça évoque des gens qui creusent, qui sont allés chercher des inspirations très différentes et qui les ont forgées. J’ai eu cette chance d’être confronté à de nombreux styles de vie. D’ailleurs, dans l’univers d’Alien Cartoon, Ibaaku a une mère Alien et un père Humain : ça fait de lui un hybride.

La diversité est une richesse, et d’ailleurs c’est quelque chose qui m’a toujours frustré dans le hip-hop au Sénégal : il y avait toujours ce débat autour de ce qui est vraiment hip-hop et ce qui ne l’est pas. C’est stérile, et en vrai, si tu connais l’histoire du hip-hop, tu ne peux pas tenir ce discours. C’est un mouvement qui s’inspire de tellement de sources différentes, il y a un continuum dans la musique, une constante évolution. Pour moi, différents mondes qui fusionnent, qui donnent quelque chose de nouveau, une alternative, c’est magnifique et je me rends compte que beaucoup de gens se retrouvent dans une telle vision.

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Ton dernier projet s’appelle Neo Dakar, de quoi s’agit-il?

Neo Dakar, moi je le conceptualise comme un courant culturel et artistique, qui couvre architecture, musique, design, cinéma, littérature, danse, etc. Pour chaque discipline, il y a différents artistes qui font avancer les choses. Au départ, c’était un courant assez alternatif, qui commence à se populariser, avec des Selly Raby Kane (styliste, designer), Alibeta (musicien), Omar Victor Diop (photographe), Sahad (musicien), la compagnie de danse La Mer Noire, il y a aussi l’écrivain Felwine Sarr et une nouvelle vague littéraire… beaucoup de nouveaux profils qui se manifestent sur Dakar, et qui ont un rayonnement international. En parallèle, il y a aussi ce qu’on peut observer tous les jours : la ville est en train de muter – pas forcément dans le bon sens d’ailleurs – mais c’est un fait, toutes ces constructions, toute cette effervescence. C’est tout ça que j’appelle le Neo Dakar.

En fait, je me suis projeté dans le futur en me disant : si j’étais historien de l’art, comment est-ce que j’appellerais cette période ? Le nom est parti de là. J’avais une émission sur Vibe Radio dont l’ambition était justement de donner une plateforme aux nouveaux artistes. Notamment avec l’avènement des musiques électroniques au Sénégal : Guiss Guiss Bou Bess, ElectrAfrique, et d’autres… Il y a un vrai bouillonnement : les soirées électro qui prennent de l’ampleur, les DJs de clubs commencent à passer de l’amapiano et de l’afro house régulièrement dans leurs sets. Il y a dix ans on n’avait pas cette matière-là sur Dakar.

Musicalement, Neo Dakar c’est aussi ma manière de plus connecter avec le public sénégalais et de placer Dakar sur la carte de l’électro mondiale. Une forme de rôle d’ambassadeur pour l’innovation qui a lieu à la maison, et dont on n’entend pas forcément parler à l’international.

L’année passée j’ai lancé Neo Dakar Vol. 1, que j’envisage comme le manifeste de la scène créative dakaroise en pleine mutation vers le futur. Le volume 2 de la série vient de sortir, d’ailleurs, dans une esthétique similaire.

© Jean-Baptiste Joire

Bien qu’orienté vers la nouveauté, Neo Dakar commence par un retour en arrière, en revisitant des classiques comme Coumba Gawlo ou Youssou Ndour. Tu peux nous en dire plus ?

Au niveau esthétique et inspiration, je suis un gros fan de vapor wave (voir des artistes comme Oneohtrix Point Never ou Macintosh Plus). Ces producteurs sont allés puiser dans le passé de la culture capitaliste et technologique. Il y a un côté nostalgique des 80s/90s qui est en fait très actuel. Cette démarche me parle beaucoup, et j’ai cherché à plus l’affirmer dans ma production musicale. Il y a une dimension aussi plus conceptuelle, l’idée de ne pas courir trop vite vers le futur. On ne peut pas y aller sans bagage. Il faut avant ça puiser dans le passé, dans l’héritage. Comprendre d’où on vient pour savoir où on va. Enfin, un troisième élément c’est la grosse charge émotionnelle que je ressens par rapport à ces morceaux et ces artistes, qui ont façonné notre univers.

 Je pense qu’on est dans un moment de transition. On est dans le futur que penseurs et artistes ont toujours prophétisé. Avec la crise économique, sociale, sanitaire. La révolution numérique. Notre génération est en train de vivre une période charnière qui simultanément nous ramène à l’histoire et nous projette vers la suite. Mais qu’est-ce qui nous attend ? En tant qu’artistes on doit se positionner sur ces questions, parce que la culture a toujours eu cette capacité d’anticiper les choses.

Pour Neo Dakar Vol. 1 et 2, j’ai voulu puiser dans des morceaux classiques qui rappellent forcément quelque chose à beaucoup de Sénégalais. Tu vois, un album comme Wommat (de Youssou Ndour, NDLR), d’où j’ai samplé le morceau Dem. Sauf erreur, c’est le premier disque d’or sénégalais, grâce notamment au hit planétaire « Seven Seconds ». Pour nous, c’était le premier album qui mélangeait mbalax, hip-hop et soul par exemple. Dans Neo Dakar, on réinterprète ce genre de fusion.

La série va continuer, en mode cette fois plus futuriste. En fait, ces deux premiers volumes contiennent pas mal de sons que j’avais produit il y a longtemps. Certains même une dizaine d’années. A l’époque, j’avais l’impression qu’ils ne collaient pas vraiment avec l’état de la scène au Sénégal. C’était peut-être trop expérimental ou avant-gardiste. J’attendais le bon moment…  Maintenant que c’est sorti, je peux tourner la page et regarder vers le futur. Le Volume 3 doit paraître avant l’été, avec en prime plus de voix sur les beats, parce que oui, je kiffe chanter (grand sourire).

Retrouvez Ibaaku dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

Neo Dakar Vol. 1 et 2, disponible via Bandcamp.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé