→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

With “True Story”, Show Dem Camp joins forces with Burna Boy to export the Palmwine

Show Dem Camp continues to bring their Palmwine Express album to life with new music video of “True Story”, featuring Burna Boy.

In December 2019, after starting the year by releasing their fourth mixtape, Clone Wars Vol. IV “These Buhari Times”, the Nigerian rapping duo Show Dem Camp completed the decade with Palmwine Express. An album that the band continues to bring new visuals to their songs. Today, it’s their featuring with the African giant Burna Boy, “True Story”, which receives a new boost thanks to a futuristic 3D animation where we follow the protagonists in full export of Palmwine.

Inherited from a Liberian people, the Kru, palmwine music historically mixes local melodies, played with guitars imported by Portuguese sailors, with rhythms from the calypso. Literally “palm wine”, this name was given to it in reference to the public who drank palm wine during the gatherings where the artists played. Although Show Dem Camp’s album is far from the foundations of Palmwine, it takes up the process by mixing calypso and Yoruba music with more contemporary influences (hip hop, afrobeats, R&B).

This delightful mix of textures offers a great musical richness to their album, between tradition and innovation. On “True Story”, we easily switch from the almost conventional and incredibly efficient flow of rappers Tec and Ghost to the bewitching R&B of Burna Boy. All this on an afrobeat production, with a ballad look, which rocks us with piano and synthetic melodies.

Also creators of the Palmwine festival, founded in 2017 in Lagos, Show Dem Camp haven’t finished recounting their stories and exporting their music as intoxicating as palm wine. So grab your tickets for the Palmwine Express and don’t waste a drop.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Avec « True Story », Show Dem Camp s’allie à Burna Boy pour exporter le Palmwine

Show Dem Camp continue de faire vivre leur album Palmwine Express en mettant en image « True Story », en featuring avec Burna Boy.

En décembre 2019, après avoir démarré l’année en publiant leur quatrième mixtape, Clone Wars Vol. IV « These Buhari Times« , le duo de rappeurs nigérian Show Dem Camp a conclu la décennie avec Palmwine Express. Un album que le groupe continue de faire vivre en apportant de nouveaux visuels à ses morceaux. Aujourd’hui, c’est leur featuring avec l’immense Burna Boy, « True Story », qui se voit offrir un second souffle grâce à une animation 3D futuriste où l’on suit les protagonistes en pleine exportation de Palmwine.

Héritée d’un peuple Libérien, les Kru, la musique palmwine mélange historiquement des mélodies locales, jouées avec des guitares importées par des marins portugais, à des rythmiques issues de la calypso. Littéralement “vin de palme”, ce nom lui a été donné en référence au public qui buvait du vin de palme lors des rassemblements où les artistes jouaient. Si l’album de Show Dem Camp est éloigné des fondements de la Palmwine, il en reprend le procédé en mélangeant musique Calypso et Yoruba à des influences plus contemporaines (hip hop, afrobeats, R&B).

Ce savant et savoureux mélange de textures offre une grande richesse musicale à leur album, entre tradition et innovation. Sur « True Story », on passe aisément du flow presque conventionnel, et terriblement efficace, des rappeurs Tec et Ghost au R&B envoûtant de Burna Boy. Le tout sur une production afrobeat, aux allures de ballade, qui nous berce à coups de piano et mélodies synthétiques.

Également fondateurs du festival Palmwine, né en 2017 à Lagos, les protagonistes de Show Dem Camp n’ont pas fini de conter leurs histoires et d’exporter leur musique aussi enivrante que le vin de palme. N’en perdez pas une goutte, embarquez pour le Palmwine Express.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé