→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Shabaka Hutchings, one on one with PAM
Photo credit: Pierrick Puidou

Shabaka Hutchings, one on one with PAM

Confined in his London home, jazzman Shabaka Hutchings speaks about his new album, how he spends his days under quarantine and what he sees for the future. 

The British-Barbadian jazz saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings is best known for his two previous works: Sons of Kemet and The Comet is Coming. Backed by his other band The Ancestors, Hutchings recently has put out a new album just before the lockdown announcement in the UK. In We Are Sent Here By History, the second album released along with this group, the Mercury Prize-nominated musician has been thinking about society as a whole, change, and endings. Conceptualized as a “sonic poem” with lyrics written by the Johannesburg-based artist and poet Siyabonga Mthembu, the record evokes traditions, colonization, western progress, species and the planet. A vibe that coincidentally resonates with our world’s current situation. PAM spoke with him about what changed in his life and career during this pandemic.

How are you and where are you holding up? 

I’m in London, at home. It has progressed since the beginning. There has been a feeling of confusion at first, two weeks ago, I wondered: « What do I do with all of this time at home? » That’s a big change that happened for everyone. So I guess the first week I wasn’t doing that much, I was just trying to keep a basic amount of practice and to listen to music. But now I have kind of got my flow. I get up in the morning, I go for a walk around the block to get some air. I have a schedule of things that needs to be done. I think that’s how I made it through the last weeks… By making definite plans of things I want to achieve throughout this time. I’m trying to make the most of this time even though it is a bad situation.

What are your days made of?

There’s a new Sons of Kemet album that we finished recording a few months ago that is now in the production stage. We’re going through the songs we have, figuring out which ones we want to keep and what points we need to edit. I’ve also got a commission from the London Sinfonietta to write a classical piece that needs to be finished by the end of the year. Then there’s the personal practice obviously. There’s areas of practice I couldn’t work on while on tour which I now can focus on. I did a solo performance for Boiler Room recently, so I’ve been working on that too. And then I’m reading a bit more on philosophy and spirituality with this book titled The Metu Meter. The book is huge, so I never had a chance to really read it. So I’ve been doing that and writing notes about it. Without this frame of working, with loads of things to do, I think I would fall into this kind of slump of not knowing what my days are about since there is no gigs and that is what has dominated my time in this last few years. 

So what are you listening to?

I’ve been listening to a lot of Sibusile Xaba, a guitar player from South Africa. In the same vein I’ve also been listening to Nduduzo Makhathini. Their latest release are very good. And also Alabaster dePlume… I’ve got lots of new music that I now take the time to listen to at loud volume and to process. It’s like I wanna recharge the music in my head. When you’re touring a lot you’re hearing so much loud sounds everyday, you just want to listen to the music you know, the one that makes you feel good but you don’t want to explore new music because you’re brain is exhausted. So I’m enjoying going through playlists and discovering the new things. 

Can you tell me a bit about the release of your new album right before the corona crisis?

It was planned before the crisis happened. Even in the UK, the government was still acting like there was no problem a week before putting us on quarantine. The release of the album was the day were the government policy switched. In a way I like the idea that the people have the time to listen to it and digest it, let it sit with them before we get to play it live. There’s always this situation were you release an album and you go straight on the road and people have heard the album but it still sounds fresh when you play it. Now, when things will go back to normal, the people interested in the music will have lived it for a while and we, as a band, will have too. It will be a more communal atmosphere in the venues. There’s a kind of vibe that you have when the people know the music intuitively. It’s the difference between playing at the start and the end of a tour when the music is being passed around in public. There’s always a different kind of response. 

Shabaka & the Ancestors
Do you think this crisis is gonna change the live experience?

It’s gonna a be a long time before it all goes back to normal… It’s probably going to take at least 6 months. And it’s gonna take more for the public to trust that they can go into gigs without being affected. Even if the government says it’s ok to go to gigs again. I think there’s gonna be a big difference considering the time during which we haven’t been able to play for people. Last year I did a gig every three days. Something like 130 gigs in 10 months… On the year before it was basically the same. All I know is gigging… And all the sudden I’m able to actually sit down, reflect on what I like about music and to listen to it on speakers more than on headphones, which is a different kind of taking in music to me. I’m able to listen to more artists and I know everyone else is doing the same. When we get back to playing live music there’s gonna be a shift because everyone would have had this period of reflexion about what it’s all about. I think it’s not just the music. This major shift will affect the society. Like: what’s the point of everything? The point of everything before all this was security. Take for example the cliché parents tell their kids: don’t be a musician, that’s not stable. That idea of stability got undercut, we realized that nothing is that stable. So that allows people to pursue the thing that gives them the most fulfillment and that can sustain them in a more wholesome way so that if something like this happens again at least they can say they’re doing what they love. No one can continue having the same attitude and the same jobs they had before. Also I think it’s gonna be a big shift out of the metropole cities because: why would you wanna come to London and be a slave with a low paid job that means that when there’s some kind of crisis you’re in an absolute destitute state. There’s gonna ba a shift to more provincial areas, away from the big centers. And that will probably affect where we tour and what our approach to playing to people is.

Can you tell me a bit about the changes about society that this new album suggests? 

There’s different changes throughout the album. That’s the reason we made it into different short poems, it’s almost like giving a snapshot, a direction to think and then space to consider. Hopefully everyone has their own narrative and that narrative can shift and everyone within the band has their own idea about the change it implies. To me, one of the changes is the way we look at western progress. The word « savage » has been used to talk about people who aren’t from the western world. It demeaned them. But if we think about it we can’t sustain ourselves within the western world. And those societies, communities that have been called uncivilized, they’re the one who would have lived in harmony with nature, who are sustainable. The progress is flawed. It’s time to go back to those ideas that have been disqualified before. 

Are you optimistic about the future?

I’m optimistic with the knowledge that there is a small and a bigger picture. Considering the time that we’re now in I’m pessimistic about the state of the music industry and even of society in the short term. But I’m optimistic about the bigger picture. I think we’re gonna find ways to move forward. 

Some say this is a warning of nature, what do you think?

I don’t think it’s a warning of nature, the virus spread because of human fuck ups. And that also has to do with the arrogance of the governors. If the Chinese had taken the warnings of doctors seriously and alerted the world at the beginning… We wouldn’t be here. If all the governments had been taking it seriously… We wouldn’t be here. I’ve been following this before it was perceived by the general public as a real threat. Anyone that was reading a tiny bit of international affairs at the time knew about it. It felt like this thing was coming to us but we were dumbasses… It’s a matter of man’s nature fulfilling its logical course. The arrogance from the western world comes from the colonial history. They seem to think that what affects the world doesn’t affect them because of some kind of superiority… Sure, it will be good for nature to have this chance to breathe a little bit. But it wouldn’t have to if we didn’t fuck it up in the first place. Let’s just see how this goes. 

What will you do first when this all is behind us?

Good question. Hard one actually… (Hesitating) The reason it’s so tough is that my life isn’t that different than if I was at home on a break and had all this work to do anyway. I’m just at home practicing, listening to music… I guess it’s just the gigs that I miss. Everything is as it would be except I’m not going back on tour next week. Also when I’m at home I practice really quietly, which is good technically speaking and I have neighbors but it’s gonna be so good to finally be able to blow my instrument as loud as possible. 

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Shabaka Hutchings, un solo pour PAM
Crédit photo : Pierrick Puidou

Shabaka Hutchings, un solo pour PAM

Confiné chez lui à Londres, le jazzman Shabaka Hutchings nous offre une performance solo et répond aux questions de PAM. Il raconte son quotidien, et ce qu'il voit venir demain.

Le saxophoniste britanno-barbadien Shabaka Hutchings sortait, juste avant le confinement au Royaume-Uni, un nouvel album baptisé We Are Sent Here By History dont PAM vous parlait ici. Dans ce disque, le second avec The Ancestors, une formation d’excellents musiciens sud-africains, le jazzman interroge les mutations de nos sociétés embarquées sur le chemin de leur effondrement. Une réflexion qui plonge dans le passé pour mieux inventer l’avenir, et se diffuse à travers les textes écrits par le poète sud-africain Siyabonga Mthembu. Ils évoquent les traditions, la colonisation, le progrès occidental, la terre et les espèces, et résonnent étrangement avec la situation actuelle. De chez lui, Shabaka nous a envoyé une performance solo… à la clarinette. PAM en a profité pour l’interroger sur ce que la pandémie a changé dans sa vie artistique, et dans sa vie tout court.

Où es-tu et comment se passe ce confinement pour toi ?

Je suis à Londres, à la maison. La situation a progressé depuis le début. J’avais un sentiment de confusion il y a deux semaines. Je me suis demandé : « que vais-je faire de tout ce temps passé à la maison ? » Je ne faisais pas grand-chose, j’essayais juste de garder un minimum de temps de pratique et d’écouter de la musique. Mais maintenant, j’ai en quelque sorte trouvé mon rythme. Je me lève le matin, je fais le tour du pâté de maisons pour prendre l’air. J’ai un planning précis de ce que je veux faire. Je pense que c’est comme ça que j’ai réussi à tenir ces dernières semaines… En faisant des plans concrets de ce que je souhaite réaliser. J’essaye de tirer le meilleur de tout ce temps malgré la situation actuelle.

À quoi ressemblent tes journées ?

Nous avons fini d’enregistrer il y a quelques mois avec Sons of Kemet. L’album est maintenant en phase de production. Nous passons en revue les chansons que nous avons, nous déterminons celles que nous voulons garder et les points que nous devons éditer. J’ai également reçu une commande du London Sinfonietta. Je dois achever d’écrire une pièce classique d’ici la fin de l’année. Et puis il y a la pratique personnelle, évidemment, où j’arrive à me concentrer sur des aspects que je n’avais pas le temps de travailler pendant la tournée. J’ai aussi enregistré une performance solo pour Boiler Room. Et puis je lis un peu plus de livres qui traitent de philosophie et de spiritualité, comme The Metu Meter. Vu qu’il est en 4 volumes, je n’ai jamais eu la chance de vraiment m’y mettre. J’essaye de me concentrer dessus et de prendre des notes. Sans ce cadre de travail, et sans toutes ces choses à faire, je pense que je tomberais dans une sorte de marasme, ne sachant pas quoi faire de mes journées vu qu’il n’y a plus de concerts. C’est quand même ce qui a dominé mon temps ces dernières années. 

Qu’y a-t-il dans tes playlists ?

J’écoute beaucoup Sibusile Xaba, un guitariste sud-africain. Dans la même veine, j’écoute aussi Nduduzo Makhathini. Leurs dernières sorties sont excellentes. Et puis Alabaster dePlume… J’ai fait beaucoup de découvertes musicales. J’aime prendre le temps de les écouter en montant le son. C’est comme si je voulais en profiter pour recharger la musique qui emplit ma tête. Quand on tourne beaucoup, on entend tellement de bruits tous les jours, qu’on écoute que la musique qu’on connaît déjà, celle qui nous fait du bien, sans vouloir explorer les nouveautés parce que notre cerveau est épuisé. Cette situation est un bon moment pour parcourir les playlists et écouter de nouvelles choses. 

Peux-tu me parler de cette sortie d’album juste avant la crise de corona ?

L’album était prévu avant que la crise ne survienne. Au Royaume-Uni, le gouvernement disait qu’il n’y avait pas de problème une semaine avant le confinement. La sortie de l’album a eu lieu le jour où la politique du gouvernement britannique a changé. J’aime l’idée que les gens aient le temps de l’écouter et de le digérer avant que nous puissions le jouer en live. Ce sera différent de ces fois où je suis parti en tournée pour jouer en concert un album qui venait de sortir. Quand les choses reviendront à la normale, les gens intéressés par notre musique l’auront écoutée, analysée, ressentie pendant un certain temps et nous, en tant que groupe, aussi. Il y a une sorte d’atmosphère qui se crée lorsque les gens connaissent la musique. C’est la différence entre jouer au début et à la fin d’une tournée. Il y a toujours une réaction différente. 

Shabaka Hutchings & The Ancestors
Penses-tu que cette crise va changer l’expérience des concerts ?

Cela va prendre beaucoup de temps avant que tout ne redevienne normal… Probablement plus de 6 mois. Et il en faudra bien plus pour que le public ait confiance et n’ait plus peur de s’enfermer dans une salle bondée. Et ce, même si le gouvernement dit que ce n’est plus un problème. Je pense qu’il y aura une grande différence au vu de la période pendant laquelle nous n’avons pas pu jouer pour les gens. L’année dernière, j’ai fait un concert tous les trois jours. Quelque chose comme 130 concerts en 10 mois… L’année précédente, c’était à peu près la même chose. Les concerts, c’est mon quotidien à longueur d’année. En ce moment, je peux m’asseoir, réfléchir à ce que j’aime dans la musique, l’écouter sur des haut-parleurs plutôt qu’avec un casque, ce qui change pour moi beaucoup la façon de l’appréhender. J’écoute plus d’artistes et je pense que tout le monde fait la même chose. Lorsque nous reviendrons aux concerts, il y aura un changement parce que tout le monde aura eu cette période de réflexion. Et pas seulement par rapport à la musique. Ce changement majeur va affecter toute la société. On verra le sens de la vie différemment. Avant la notion de sécurité était importante. Les parents disaient à leurs enfants : “ne deviens pas un musicien, ce n’est pas stable”. Cette idée de stabilité s’est effritée, nous nous sommes rendus compte que rien n’est aussi stable que ce que nous pensons. Cela va permettre aux gens de se concentrer sur ce qui leur donne le plus de satisfaction et qui peut les épanouir d’une manière plus saine, de sorte que si quelque chose de similaire arrive de nouveau, ils pourront au moins dire qu’ils font ce qu’ils aiment. Je ne pense pas qu’on pourra continuer à avoir la même attitude et les mêmes emplois qu’avant. Il risque d’y avoir un grand changement dans les métropoles aussi. Pourquoi voudrait-on vivre à Londres ? Être un esclave avec un travail mal payé ? Se retrouver face à une quelconque crise dans un état de dénuement absolu ? Il va sûrement y avoir un déplacement vers des zones plus provinciales, loin des grands centres. Et cela va probablement affecter les lieux de tournée et notre approche du jeu en public.

Peux-tu me parler des changements de la société que ton nouvel album suggère ? 

Des changements différents sont évoqués tout au long de l’album. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous l’avons imaginé en courts poèmes. Chacun a sa propre interprétation et sa propre idée mais pour moi, l’un des changements majeurs est la façon dont nous considérons le progrès occidental. Le mot « sauvage » a été utilisé pour désigner les gens qui ne font pas partie du monde occidental, et pour les rabaisser. Mais si nous y réfléchissons, nous ne pouvons pas vivre durablement sur ce système. Or ces sociétés, ces communautés que l’on a nommées “non civilisées”, sont celles qui auraient vécu en harmonie avec la nature, qui sont véritablement durables. Le progrès est imparfait. Il est temps de revenir à ces idées qui ont été disqualifiées et rabaissées auparavant. 

Es-tu optimiste quant à l’avenir ?

Je suis optimiste, compte tenu qu’il y a une petite et une grande échelle. Au vu de la période actuelle, je suis pessimiste quant à l’état de l’industrie musicale et même celui de la société à court terme. Mais je suis optimiste quant à la situation globale. Je pense que nous allons trouver des moyens pour aller de l’avant. 

Certains disent que tout ce qu’il se passe est un avertissement de la nature, tu en penses quoi ?

Je ne pense pas. Le virus s’est répandu à cause de la connerie humaine. Et cela a aussi à voir avec l’arrogance des gouvernants. Si le gouvernement chinois, puis tous les autres gouvernements avaient pris au sérieux les avertissements des médecins et avaient alerté les citoyens dès le début nous n’en serions pas là. J’ai suivi cette affaire avant qu’elle ne soit perçue par le grand public comme une réelle menace. Quiconque lisait un peu l’actualité internationale pouvait sentir que le virus arrivait, mais ils ont agi et réagi comme des imbéciles. C’est plutôt une question de nature humaine qui suit son cours logique. Il y a aussi l’arrogance de l’Occident qui lui vient de son passé colonial. Le monde occidental semble penser que ce qui affecte le reste du monde ne l’atteindra pas parce qu’il se sent supérieur. Evidemment, c’est une aubaine pour la nature de pouvoir respirer un peu. Mais elle n’aurait pas à le faire si nous ne l’avions pas foutue en l’air dès le départ. Nous verrons bien comment tout cela se poursuit…

Tu feras quoi en premier quand tout cela sera derrière nous ?

Bonne question. (Hésitant) Ma vie n’est pas si différente de celle que j’ai lorsque je suis en période de pause après une tournée. Je répète, j’écoute de la musique… Il ne manque que les concerts. Tout est comme d’habitude si ce n’est que je ne repartirai pas en tournée la semaine prochaine. Et puis quand je suis à la maison, je répète silencieusement car j’ai des voisins… C’est un bon exercice technique, mais ça va être un bonheur de pouvoir de nouveau souffler dans mon saxophone aussi fort que possible. 

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé