fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

PAM presents: Molotof, plugged-in to Cairo’s flame

In Cairo, between post-revolutionary disillusionment and the unbridled creativity of its music scene, young electronic producer Molotof tells his story in a film directed by Arthur Larie and Bastien Massa. A must-see PAM documentary!

I was already listening to Molotof before I met him,” confides Arthur Larie, one of the two directors of this documentary film and the first episode of a collection of portraits produced by PAM and titled “Off the Map“. “I loved his rap music productions, which were much more complex than the usual Mahraganat music, with his more personal vibe, acid and electronic.  We had wanted to meet him for a long time, in order to showcase his music here in France.  We tracked him down in the studio he had just built in Cairo.  From there, things went very quickly. And, above all, naturally.

Cairo, a breeding ground for sounds

Molotof’s music is massive in Egypt and his videos have been seen millions of times on Youtube,” explains Bastien Massa. “But he’s a regular guy, and accessible.” To understand the music the person who signed beats for the trappers Marwan Pablo or Wegz before evolving into electro music, one has to soak up the sounds of Cairo, a global city full of deafening sounds where blaring car horns clash with the infra-bass of the faulty motors of diesel trucks. As the young producer himself says at the beginning of the documentary : “When I started to understand the relationship between music and society, I started to see everything differently.

Molotof © Arthur Larie

It’s simple” adds Arthur. “In Cairo, if you stand on a busy street and listen closely, only a few things are needed to be added to create a Mahraganat.” A Mahraganat (literally “festival” in Arabic), is a deluge of frenetic beats and auto-tuned harangues, which has become the soundtrack of an entire generation, the same one that demonstrated at Place Tahrir and other places in the 2010s. “Mahraganat is an energy, an impetus, forceful lyrics, relentlessly jerky rhythms,” explains Bastien. “Cairo is a city well-known for its very, very high decibels“, emphasizes Arthur. “You can fall into a trance on a street corner, in a market, hypnotized by the rhythms and the traffic jams, the street sellers and their loudspeakers. The city center is perpetually blaring and thundering. This bedlam can literally entrance you, trust me. It’s crazy, believe me, it’s happened to us.

Mahraganat, or the soundtrack to the streets of Cairo? Present in the capital’s popular neighborhoods before the revolution, this music was the background to the social uprising. Even if Molotof literally grew up to the sounds of this highly flammable music, “Molotof is a melting pot of various influences,” explain the two directors. “He was born in an industrial and polluted suburb of Cairo. He is a huge soccer fan and an ‘ultra’. But at the same time he comes from a spiritual, literary background. His grandfather was a writer and his mother is also a writer (as seen in a touching sequence of the film). This gives an idea of the setting and the surrounding environment. But in order to really understand Molotof and his music, there is a third crucial aspect, which is the social context.

Molotof and his mother © Arthur Larie
After the Spring, an Egyptian winter

We’ll briefly summarize the political events that have marked the country over the past ten years: in 2011, the Egyptian revolution provoked the fall of Hosni Mubarak. In 2012, Mohamed Morsi, a member of the Muslim Brotherhood was – democratically – elected president. He was then overthrown by a military coup led by general Abdel Fattah al-Sissi. Between massive speedy trails and numerous death sentences, Al-Sissi has run the country with an iron fist ever since. Community activists, alternative politics, journalists… The slightest attempts to oppose the regime are violently put down with complete impunity. Ever since his seizure of power, non-governmental organizations the world over, including the UN, continue to denounce these human rights violations perpetuated by the Egyptian authorities. It is now a simple fact that the Egyptian people did not triumph at Place Tahrir. The French philosopher Alain Badiou has made this conclusion about the the experience of Egypt’s revolution : “A political victory cannot just be defined by the defeat of the enemy. It must have a specific content.“* In Egypt, one dictator simply replaced another. The true winner? The dictatorial regime, which remained in power. And on the autocratical level, nothing has changed at all. On the contrary, keep in mind that Al-Sissi was the former director of military intelligence under deposed president Mubara.

Molotof grew up during these historically depressing times. This deeply effected him psychologically, confirms Bastien. “The revolution had a very strong impact on him. The period that followed put him in a depressive state. During the uprising he was constantly out in the streets, in discussions with people, living unforgettable moments of freedom, demonstrations, celebrations,” adds Arthur. “And suddenly it all came to an end. To meet with people in groups became dangerous, the streets were violent. People were forced to remain cloistered at home… And the hopes of a better world disappeared. As the country collapsed, the country’s youth became profoundly dejected. Molotof’s depression is explained through his testimony, and it was courageous for him to do so, but it must be said that most Egypians also suffer, in silence, because of this morose atmosphere.

Cairo © Arthur Larie

Despite his emotional state, Molotof has never stopped working in his studio. The musician has now stopped working on the rap productions of his early days, concentrating on technoid electronic productions whose abstractions, less loquacious, are more in harmony with his current state of mind and with the numerous influences he has ingested, along with the direction his life is currently taking. “Egypt’s youth, as well as an entire creative generation, participated in a social uprising,” states Arthur Larie. Even if the political situation was not transformed, it was at least experienced. This can be sensed, and felt, in the discussions between Molotof and his friends that are seen in the film.

Can anyone say that a revolution is over for good? For Bastien Massa, “It is too early to bury the uprising. No one knows what has really changed and what undercurrent is now taking place in the country. Things have shifted. Something new could emerge.” And perhaps Molotof’s music will provide the soundtrack for it. Take a look for yourself on PAM’s Youtube channel.

*Listen and watch “Comment vivre et penser en un temps d’absolue désorientation ?” (How to think and live in a period of complete disorientation? A seminar headed by Alain Badiou in the municipality of Aubervilliers (session on Monday February 8, 2022).

by Théophile Pillaut, April 7th 2022

© Arthur Larie
© Arthur Larie
© Arthur Larie
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

PAM présente : Molotof, branché sur l’énergie du Caire

Au Caire, entre désillusions post-révolutionnaires et créativité musicale débridée, le jeune producteur électronique Molotof se raconte dans un film, réalisé par Arthur Larie et Bastien Massa. Un documentaire PAM, à voir absolument.

« Molotof, j’écoutais ce qu’il faisait avant de faire sa connaissance », confie Arthur Larie, un des deux réalisateurs de ce film documentaire consacré à Molotof, premier épisode de la collection de portraits produite par PAM, et baptisée « Off the Map ». « J’adorais sa production musicale rap, qui dépassait largement la musique mahraganat habituelle, avec sa vibe plus personnelle, acide, électronique. On voulait le rencontrer depuis pas mal de temps, pour mettre en lumière son travail, ici en France. On a tracé au Caire pour le rencontrer dans le studio où il venait de s’installer. Là, les choses se sont faites très vite. Et naturellement surtout. »

Le Caire, nid de sons

« Molotof, sa musique cartonne en Égypte et il fait des millions de vues sur YouTube », explique Bastien Massa. « Mais c’est un mec comme nous, posé, accessible. » Comprendre la musique de celui qui signait des beats pour les trappers Marwan Pablo ou Wegz avant de partir dans l’électro, c’est plonger dans le ventre du Caire, ville-monde assourdissante de cris, où les aigus des klaxons et des sonneries jouent aux côtés des infrabasses de moteurs diesels déréglés. Le jeune producteur l’explique lui-même en introduction du documentaire : « quand j’ai commencé à comprendre la relation entre la musique et la société, j’ai commencé à tout voir différemment ».

Molotof © Arthur Larie

« C’est simple », ajoute Arthur. « Au Caire, si tu te poses dans une rue bondée et que tu tends l’oreille, il faut ajouter peu de choses pour obtenir du mahraganat. » Le mahraganat (littéralement « festival » en arabe) est un déluge de beats effrénés et de paroles harangueuses autotunées, devenu la caisse de résonance de toute une génération populaire, la même qui se réunissait entre autres Place Tahrir, au début des années 10. « Le mahragan, c’est une énergie, un souffle, des rythmes hyper saccadés, des lyrics puissants », explique Bastien. « Le Caire est une cité réputée pour avoir de très très gros décibels », précise Arthur. « Tu peux tomber en transe au coin d’une rue, sur un marché, porté par le rythme des embouteillages, des vendeurs ambulants et de leurs hauts-parleurs. Le ventre de la ville hurle. Tout ce bordel sonore peut te faire partir en transe. C’est dingue mais crois-moi, ça nous est déjà arrivés. »

Le mahraganat ou la bande-originale d’une virée au Caire. Présent dans les quartiers populaires de la capitale avant la révolution, le genre a porté le soulèvement social. Bien que biberonné à cette musique hautement inflammable, Molotof « n’en reste pas moins un artiste au creuset d’influences assez variées », expliquent en choeur les deux réalisateurs. « Il est né dans une banlieue du Caire, industrielle et polluée. C’est un gros supporter de foot et un ultra. Mais, en même temps, il est issu d’un milieu spirituel, lettré, avec un grand-père auteur, ainsi qu’une mère qui écrit elle-aussi (on la  découvre dans une très belle séquence du film, NDLR) . Ça, c’est pour le lieu et l’environnement proche. Mais pour vraiment comprendre Molotof et sa musique, il faut ajouter un troisième volet déterminant, qui est le contexte social. »

Molotof et sa mère © Arthur Larie
Après le printemps, l’hiver égyptien

Ici, on ne peut faire l’économie d’un petit rappel des faits politiques qui ont jalonné les dix dernières années du pays : en 2011, la révolution égyptienne provoque la chute de Hosni Moubarak. En 2012, Mohamed Morsi, issu de la Société des Frères musulmans est – démocratiquement – élu président. En 2013, il est renversé par un coup d’État militaire, mené par le maréchal Abdel Fattah al-Sissi. Entre procès de masse expéditifs et nombreuses condamnations à mort, Al-Sissi dirige depuis l’Égypte d’une main de fer. Militants associatifs, alternative politique ou journalistes… La moindre tentative d’opposition y est violemment réprimée, en toute impunité. Depuis sa prise de pouvoir, des organisations non gouvernementales du monde entier – jusqu’à l’ONU –, dénoncent des violations des droits humains, perpétrées par les autorités égyptiennes. On sait désormais que le peuple égyptien n’a pas triomphé Place Tahrir. Le philosophe Alain Badiou concluait ainsi l’expérience révolutionnaire égyptienne : « une victoire politique ne peut pas être seulement définie par la défaite de l’ennemi. Elle doit avoir un contenu propre.* » En Égypte, un dictateur en a simplement remplacé un autre. Le vrai gagnant ? Le régime dictatorial, qui s’est contenté de changer d’hôte. Le niveau d’autocratie, lui, n’a pas scillé. Au contraire. Après tout, n’oublions pas qu’Al-Sissi n’est autre que l’ancien directeur des services de renseignements militaires… du président déchu Moubarak.

Molotof a grandi au cœur de cette dépression historique. Jusqu’à développer la sienne, confirme Bastien : « la révolution a eu un impact très fort sur lui. La période qui a suivi l’a traîné dans une phase de dépression. » « Durant le soulèvement, il était constamment dans la rue, à échanger, à vivre des moments hypers fort de liberté, d’échange, de rassemblement, de fête », ajoute Arthur. « Et d’un coup, tout s’arrête. Se réunir devient dangereux, les rues deviennent violentes. Il faut rester cloîtré chez soi… Et les projections d’un avenir meilleur s’effacent. Alors que le pays sombre, la jeunesse déprime. La dépression de Molotof, elle est exprimée dans le film à travers son témoignage, et c’est d’ailleurs courageux de sa part de se livrer ainsi, mais il faut savoir qu’une large partie de la société égyptienne souffre également, en silence, de cette morosité ambiante. »

Le Caire © Arthur Larie

Malgré ses failles, Molotof n’a jamais quitté le chemin du studio. Le musicien, affranchi des productions rap de ses débuts, compose désormais des productions électroniques, technoïdes, dont les abstractions, moins bavardes, semblent plus en adéquation avec une sensibilité à fleur de peau et un parcours de vie et des influences plurielles. « La jeunesse égyptienne, ainsi que toute une génération créative ont assisté à un bouleversement social », commente Arthur Larie. « L’expérience politique, même si elle n’a pas été transformée, a néanmoins été vécue. » On le sent d’ailleurs dans les discussions, les complicités amicales de Molotof que le film dévoile.

« Peut-on dire d’une révolution qu’elle est perdue à jamais ? » Pour Bastien Massa, « il est trop tôt pour enterrer le soulèvement. On ignore ce qui a vraiment changé et quelle lame de fond travaille réellement le pays. Des lignes ont bougé. Quelque chose pourrait jaillir, à nouveau. » La musique de Molotof, qui sait, en fournira peut-être la bande son ? Pour vous en faire une idée, PAM vous donne rendez-vous avec lui sur Youtube.

* écouter et voir « Comment vivre et penser en un temps d’absolue désorientation ? » séminaire dirigé par Alain Badiou à La Commune d’Aubervilliers (Session du lundi 7 février 2022).

par Théophile Pillaut, 7 avril 2022

© Arthur Larie
© Arthur Larie
© Arthur Larie
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé