fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

PAM presents: Sitos, on alert in Kinshasa

This second installment from our documentary series Off the Map takes us to Kinshasa (CDR), the birthplace of zagué, an indescribable style celebrated by Sitos – a laborer by day and singer by night – among others. Movie by Florent de La Tullaye.

A man runs alone, on the 30 Juin boulevard. He looks at us straight on with a frank look and addresses us: “Here in Kinshasa, if you want to stay healthy, you have to exercise. Many young people are dying, and I don’t know if it’s because of witchcraft or lack of money. (…) We are Kinshasans, so we are fighters.” What better way to be welcomed to the urban jungle of Kinshasa than with this introduction in Sitos,Kinshasa sur le qui-vive[“Sitos, on alert in Kinshasa”], shot and directed in the Congolese capital by Florent de La Tullaye.

This man knows the city well, a place he has explored from top to bottom with his fellow work colleague Renaud Barret since 2004. Together, they have made several films, including La danse de Jupiter and Benda Bilili, both focusing on human stories that help to understand life in Kin through all of its music, and, vice versa, showcasing the city’s music from those who make it happen. So when PAM heard that the film director was held in Kinshasa during one of the European Covid lockdowns, we asked him to share with us one of his many stories – with sound and images, of course.

It came along at just the right time, when Florent had been gravitating for some time around the recording studio Timbela Ba Timbela Yo (“Be awake in order to be lucid”), a place where numerous musicians have been accompanied by the golden-fingered producer and arranger David Levi Ekofo. It was David who introduced Florent to the productions of Sitos, a former gang member, who retrained as a laborer by day and as a studio artist by night. “I already knew Sitos, he’s part of the studio’s inner circle and he works just around the corner, at the Zando market. David Levi Ekofo would make me listen to his productions, and as I asked them about these tracks, they told me everything about how music is distributed in Kinshasa – and that’s what got me interested in the first place, even before the music.”

© Florent de la Tullaye
Zagué style

Without a moment’s thought, Florent de la Tullaye offered to pay for Sitos to record a track and to document its evolution, from the vocal takes to the production and to the distribution, right up until it reached the ears of the Kinshasans. Which is what this 10-minute movie recounts, a documentary that uncovers the realities of the Zagué style. The term “Zagué” is a shortened form of the French expression “[être] aux aguets” – “[to be] on the lookout”; portraying the attitude of bandits, watchmen, pickpockets and henchmen who hold down the territory controlled by their gang, and listen to its soundtrack. “From one neighborhood to another, the director explains, ‘zagué’ music changes, and all its variations are linked to gangs, who each control their own territory. Sitos came from the ‘red army’ gang, a once very famous group.” In the movie, you see him chanting in the studio after a hard day’s work, inhabited by a great inner fire: “Papa te maman te, na moko” (“No father, no mother, I am alone”). Continuing with a list of the ten plagues of Kinshasa – not of Egypt: you need money to feed the kids, to send them to school, to pay for the studio… and when you see the life of Sitos, you can only admire his burning desire to speak, to sing, and to get by.

Of course, like so many of his friends, he could have been killed: whether in pitched battles between gangs – there’s a short sequence filmed by Florent de la Tullaye a few years ago that will give you an idea – or in the raids that police have been carrying out in neighborhoods since the end of the 2000s to clear them of gangsters and other kuluna (bandits)… although this policy didn’t always differentiate from the street people. Many of their members were chased out or rounded up, fled, ended up in Brazza, in jail or even dead” tells the director. “Sitos, on the other hand, was saved by his own music.” It was, indeed, at the same time that he started to produce music, and even received moderate success with one of his first songs. From then, the police considered him an artist rather than a machete-carrying man.

Sitos © Florent de la Tullaye
Kinshasa music marketing

But as the Kinshasan rappers Bawuta Kin once sang, “life in Kinshasa is like playing a ping pong match against King Kong on the skyscrapers of Hong Kong.” You can tell, it’s not easy to live in this jungle, and even less so, to make a living out of music. Especially as Sitos has to take care of it all: pay for the studio for the recording and the production, pay all the younger DJs located on every street corner, every market, so that they play his new track delivered to them on a USB stick. Then this marketing campaign needs to continue in the clubs, in the hope that the song takes off: “and if it goes well, continues Florent, the Indian boss of the nightclub will perhaps ask him to perform a live show. And that’s when he could earn between 200 to 300 dollars.”

A self made artist and self made producer. Never far from the depravity of his old times, never far from grace. A grace he owes to the studio’s main arranger: “David Levi, he doesn’t drink, he doesn’t smoke: he’s a kind of monk who found himself in the middle of all these gangsters and he knows how to make them understand that there’s no point in trying to impress him if you want him to do good work”, explains Florent. And this has even become his specialty: “finding a balance between the creative side and the delinquent side” of those who come to him, says Levi in the film. Hoping, as Sitos does, that one day they will make the headlines and, above all, be recognized as artists more than thugs. In any case, as fighters. Discover the movie Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive on PAM’s Youtube channel, and soon an EP, marking Sitos’ first international release.

Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive has been selected by the Paris International Music Film Festival (FAME 2022).

A PAM production with the support of the CNC/Talent.

Listen to “Pasi Oyo” in our our afro + club playlist.

par Vladimir Cognolari, 16 juin 2022

Sitos © Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

PAM présente : Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive

Ce second numéro de la collection documentaire Off the Map vous emmène à Kinshasa, dans l’antre du zagué, un style non répertorié dont Sitos, manœuvre le jour et chanteur la nuit, est l’un des représentants. Un film de Florent de La Tullaye.

Un homme court, seul, sur le boulevard du 30 juin. Il regarde droit devant lui et, l’oeil franc, s’adresse à nous : « Ici à Kinshasa, pour garder la santé il faut faire du sport. Beaucoup de jeunes meurent, je ne sais pas si c’est la sorcellerie ou le manque d’argent (…) Nous sommes des Kinois, nous sommes des combattants ». On ne saurait mieux entrer dans la jungle urbaine kinoise qu’avec cette introduction du film Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive tourné et réalisé dans la capitale congolaise par Florent de La Tullaye.

L’homme connaît bien cette ville, qu’il arpente avec son compère Renaud Barret depuis 2004. Ensemble, ils ont ainsi réalisé plusieurs films dont La danse de Jupiter, ou Benda Bilili qui, s’attachant à des histoires humaines, font comprendre la vie à Kin à travers ses musiques, et les musiques kinoises à travers celles et ceux qui leur donnent vie. Autant vous dire que quand nous avons su, chez PAM, qu’il était à Kinshasa pendant l’un des confinements européens, nous lui avons demandé de nous raconter une de ses histoires en image et en sons.

Ça tombait bien, car Florent gravitait depuis un moment autour d’un studio, le Timbela Ba timbela yo (littéralement « sois éveillé pour être lucide »), où défilent nombre de musiciens guidés par un producteur et arrangeur aux doigts d’or, David Lévi Ekofo. C’est lui qui fit découvrir à Florent les productions de Sitos, autrefois membre d’un gang, et reconverti le jour comme manœuvre portant les marchandises, et le soir comme artiste en studio. « Je connaissais Sitos, il est dans l’entourage du studio et c’est dans ce coin, au marché Zando, qu’il travaille. David Levi Ekofo me faisait écouter ses productions. Et quand je leur ai demandé le destin de ces morceaux : ils m’ont raconté comment on distribue la musique à Kinshasa – et c’est ça au départ, avant même la musique, qui m’a intéressé. » 

© Florent de la Tullaye
Zagué style

Ni une ni deux, Florent de la Tullaye propose à Sitos de financer l’enregistrement d’un titre et de suivre son devenir, de la prise de voix à la production en passant par la distribution, jusqu’aux oreilles des Kinois. C’est ce que raconte ce film de 10mn, où l’on appréhende au passage les réalités que chante le style zagué. Zagué, comme « aux aguets », l’attitude des bandits, guetteurs, voleurs à la tire et hommes de main qui tiennent le territoire tenu par leur gang, et écoutent sa bande son. « D’un quartier à l’autre, explique le réalisateur, les musiques “zagué” changent, et elles sont liées aux gangs, qui ont chacun leur territoire. Sitos, lui, venait du gang “armée rouge” qui était très connu autrefois. » On le découvre, une fois sa dure journée de labeur terminée, en train de psalmodier en studio, avec un feu intérieur fou : « Papa te maman te, na moko » (pas de père, pas de mère, je suis seul). Et de poursuivre par le catalogue, non des plaies d’´Égypte, mais des plaies kinoises : il faut de l’argent pour nourrir les gosses, pour les envoyer à l’école, pour payer le studio… et quand on voit la vie de Sitos, on ne peut qu’admirer la rage de dire, la rage de chanter, la rage de s’en sortir.

Car comme tant d’autres, il aurait pu y passer : que ce soit dans les batailles rangées entre gangs – dont une courte séquence filmée il y a quelques années par Florent de la Tullaye donne une idée – ou bien dans les rafles que mènent la police dans les quartiers depuis la fin des années 2000 pour les nettoyer des gangsters et autres kuluna (bandits). Quitte à s’en prendre à tous ceux qui vivent dans la rue. « Pourchassés ou raflés, beaucoup ont alors fui, raconte le réalisateur, se sont retrouvés à Brazza, en prison ou sont morts. Sitos, c’est la musique qui l’a sauvé. » Car c’est à la même période qu’il se met à la musique, et fait même un petit succès avec l’un des ses premiers titres. De quoi être considéré par la police comme un artiste plutôt que comme un porteur de machettes.

Sitos © Florent de la Tullaye
Marketing musical kinois

Mais comme le disait autrefois une chanson des rappeurs Bawuta Kin, « la vie à Kinshasa c’est comme un match de ping pong face à King Kong sur les gratte-ciels de Hong-Kong. » On le comprend, pas facile de vivre dans cette jungle, et encore moins de sa musique. D’autant que Sitos doit s’occuper de tout : payer le studio pour la prise et la production, payer tous les petits DJ installés au coin des rues, au cœur des marchés, pour qu’ils jouent son nouveau titre livré sur clef USB. Ensuite, poursuivre cette campagne marketing dans les clubs, dans l’espoir que la chanson prenne : « et si ça marche bien, poursuit Florent, le patron indien de la boîte de nuit va peut-être lui demander de faire un live. Et c’est là qu’il peut gagner 200 à 300 dollars. »

Self made artist, self made producer. Jamais loin des turpitudes d’autrefois, jamais loin de la grâce. On le doit aussi à l’arrangeur en titre du studio : « David Levi, il boit pas, il fume pas, c’est une sorte de moine qui se retrouve au milieu des gangsters et qui sait leur faire comprendre que rien ne sert de l’impressionner si on veut qu’il travaille, » explique Florent. Et c’est devenu sa spécialité : « trouver un équilibre entre le côté créatif » de ceux qui viennent chez lui, et « leur côté délinquant, » raconte Levi dans le film. En espérant, comme le fait Sitos, qu’un jour ils feront la une et surtout, seront davantage reconnus comme des artistes que comme des voyous. Dans tous les cas, comme des combattants. À vous de faire votre idée : découvrez Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive sur la chaîne Youtube de PAM, et bientôt un EP, le premier de Sitos distribué à l’international.

Sitos, Kinshasa sur le qui-vive a été sélectionné au Festival International des Films sur la Musique de Paris (FAME 2022) ainsi qu’à la Foire internationale de Kinshasa (FIKIN 2022). Une production PAM avec le soutien du CNC/Talent.

Écoutez le morceau « Pasi Oyo » de Sitos dans notre playlist afro + club.

par Vladimir Cognolari, 16 juin 2022

Sitos © Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
© Florent de la Tullaye
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé