→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
3 weeks ago

José Carlos Schwarz, the decolonial legend from Guinea‑Bissau

Hot Mule Records is reissuing vinyl editions of some of the most famous records by José Carlos Schwartz, the great poet and musician from Guinea-Bissau. Lua ki di nos (“The moon is ours”) will be released on April 9.

He is one of the most famous Bissau-Guinean poets and musicians of the 20th century. Yet José Carlos Schwarz, whose works and actions have inspired generations of musicians, remains little known beyond the borders of his country. The Hot Mule label aims to change this with the reissue of his most famous works. PAM takes this opportunity to take a look at his remarkable career.

Youth of a resistance fighter

José Carlos Hans Schwarz, of German, Cape Verdean and Guinean origin, was born in Bissau in 1949. A well-to-do upbringing meant that he received an excellent education in Dakar and then in Cape Verde. Finally finding himself in Lisbon, he returned to his hometown to pursue art, despite his father’s desire that he follow a more ‘serious’ career path. The young artist became passionate about music alongside the Castro Fernandes brothers, his childhood friends, and soon created his own group Sweet Fenda, which was inspired by Brazilian and American artists. The Portuguese authorities, impressed by the poet’s charisma, attempted to recruit him for the colonial regime’s propaganda office. But the heart of the young Guinean remained loyal to notions of independence inspired by Filinto Barros, major figure of the African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC), and friend to the famous Amílcar Cabral. From then on, art would be inseparable from politics forJosé Carlos Schwarz.

Alongside the struggle against the colonization of his native country, the young independence fighter devoted himself to music, which coincided with the completion of his military service in the early 1970s. His art became necessarily political: he was interested in Guinean musical traditions, such as the gumbé, rather than by foreign music influence of the Sweet Fenda era. Guinean Creole became his preferred language for writing and singing. He founded Cobiana Djazz at this time, alongside Aliu Bari and Mamadu Bá e Samakê, which quickly became the most influential group in Guinea-Bissau. The poet sang about the independence revolution, as in “Na Kolonia,” representing the cry of an artist in exile thinking about the fate of his friends back home.

An immediate success with the various Guinean cultural groups, Cobiana Djazz incited the youth to join the armed struggle that was, by that point, sweeping the country. The group also paid tribute to the women in the struggle, as well as to the mothers of Guinean soldiers who disappeared during the independence resistance, especially on “Mindjeris Di Panu Pretu,” a song that remains very important in Guinea-Bissau even today. José Carlos Schwarz was also directly involved in resistance activities against the colonial power, participating in urban guerrilla actions or sabotage operations. His song “Ke Ki Mininu Na Tchora” has also stood the test of time: it tells of the fratricidal split between the independentists and their colonized brothers who supported the colonial authorities.

José Carlos Schwarz – Mindjeris De Panu Pretu
Djiu di Galinha

His resistance efforts eventually led to imprisonment for José Carlos, while the poet Aliu Bari and his childhood friend, Ducko Castro Fernandes, were tortured by the International Police and Defense of the Portuguese State (PIDE: Polícia Internacional e de Defesa do Estado). The song “Djiu Di Galinha” (named after the island where political prisoners were deported) testifies to his two-year experience behind bars. Once released in 1974, it was in Portugal that he saw, in April of that year, the Carnation Revolution (Revolução dos Cravos) led by young officers who refused to fight in the colonies. Their movement – strongly supported by the population – led to the fall of the Salazarist dictatorship in Portugal, and at the same time precipitated the end of the colonial wars, sounding the death knell of the Portuguese hold on Cape Verde, Angola, Sao Tome and Mozambique. As for Guinea-Bissau, it managed to defeat the Portuguese thanks to the maquis (resistance group) led by Amilcar Cabral.

José Carlos Schwarz – Djiu Di Galinha

José Carlos Schwarz was very active during the early days of independent state building. The political leaders fed off the singer’s considerable popularity among the Guinean population. However, this did not prevent the artist, guided by a desire for social justice, from criticizing the government following independence. Appointed Director of the Department of Arts and Culture, he quickly embarrassed the authorities who promptly dismissed him to a diplomatic post in Cuba. This also meant the end of his work with Cobiana Djazz and a new creation in the form of “Kumpô,” which he played with when not consumed by political activities. Nevertheless, he continued to write poems, denouncing the new rulers, whom he considers traitors to the independence ideals.

José Carlos died suddenly in a plane crash near Havana on May 27, 1977, at the age of 27, like many artists of the famous “Club of 27”, (Amy Winehouse, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Kurt Cobain), he left the world countless poems and three albums, José Carlos Schwarz And The Cobiana Jazz – Vol. 1. Guinea Bissau and José Carlos Schwarz And The Cobiana Jazz – Vol. 2. Guinea Bissau, but also of course Djiu Di Galinha. The latter was recorded with the pan-African singer Miriam Makeba in New York (it is also rumored that they were lovers). It was later released posthumously. On June 1, 1977, at his home in Guinea, a huge funeral procession accompanied the poet’s remains, paying tribute to the symbol he embodied, and to the immense void he left in the world of Guinean culture and politics.

Lua Ki Di Nos by José Carlos Hans Schwarz and Cobiana Djazz is out now digitally — the vinyl will be available on April 9 via Hot Mule.

Listen to José Carlos Schwarz & Le Cobiana Djazz in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

José Carlos Schwarz, la légende décoloniale de Guinée‑Bissau

Le label Hot Mule Records réédite en vinyle quelques-uns des plus fameux morceaux de José-Carlos Schwartz, le grand poète et musicien engagé de Guinée-Bissau. Lua ki di nos, « La lune est à nous », paraîtra le 9 avril.

C’est l’un des poètes et musiciens bissau-guinéens les plus célèbres du XXème siècle. Pourtant José Carlos Schwarz, dont les oeuvres et l’engagement auront inspiré des générations de musiciens, demeure trop méconnu hors de son pays. Le label Hot Mule lui rend justice, avec la réédition sur vinyle de ses œuvres les plus fameuses. L’occasion pour PAM de revenir brièvement sur son parcours.

Jeunesse d’un résistant

José Carlos Hans Schwarz, d’origine allemande, cap-verdienne et guinéenne, naît à Bissau en 1949. Issu d’un milieu aisé, le jeune homme bénéficie d’une excellente éducation à Dakar puis au Cap-Vert. Se retrouvant finalement à Lisbonne, il revient dans sa ville natale pour y exercer son art, malgré les ambitions de son père, qui rêvait d’une carrière plus « sérieuse » pour son fils. Le jeune artiste en herbe se passionne ainsi pour la musique en compagnie des frères Castro Fernandes, ses amis d’enfance, avant de créer son propre groupe, Sweet Fenda, s’inspirant des musiques brésiliennes ainsi qu’états-uniennes. Les autorités portugaises, séduites par le charisme du poète, tentent ainsi de le recruter au service de la propagande du régime colonial. Mais le coeur du jeune Guinéen ne bat que pour les idéaux indépendantistes, très inspiré par Filinto Barros, figure majeure du Parti Africain pour l’Indépendance de la Guinée et du Cap-Vert (PAIGC), et compagnon du fameux Amílcar Cabral. Dès lors, l’art ainsi que l’engagement politique de José Carlos Schwarz seraient indissociables.

Accompagnant la lutte de décolonisation de son pays natal, le jeune indépendantiste se consacre pleinement à la musique, ce qui coïncide avec l’accomplissement de son service militaire au début des années 70. Son art devient politique : il s’intéresse aux traditions musicales guinéennes, à l’instar du gumbé, plutôt qu’aux musiques étrangères, contrairement à l’époque de Sweet Fenda. Le créole guinéen finit par s’imposer comme sa langue de prédilection pour écrire, et chanter. Il fonde d’ailleurs Le Cobiana Djazz à cette époque, aux côtés d’Aliu Bari ainsi que de Mamadu Bá e Samakê, qui devient rapidement le groupe le plus influent de la Guinée-Bissau. Le poète y chantait la révolution indépendantiste, comme avec « Na Kolonia », le cri d’un artiste en exil songeant au sort de ses amis restés au pays.

Connaissant un succès immédiat auprès des différents groupes culturels guinéens, Le Cobiana Djazz incitait la jeunesse à rejoindre la lutte armée qui embrasait alors l’ensemble du pays. Il rendait d’ailleurs hommage aux femmes en lutte, ainsi qu’aux mères de soldats guinéens ayant disparu durant la résistance indépendantiste, au sein de « Mindjeris Di Panu Pretu », un titre aujourd’hui encore très important en Guinée-Bissau. José Carlos Schwarz lui-même était impliqué au sein d’activités de résistance contre le pouvoir colonial, participant aux actions de guerilla urbaine ou aux opérations de sabotage. Sa chanson « Ke Ki Mininu Na Tchora », elle aussi, est restée : elle relatait la scission fratricide entre les indépendantistes et leurs frères colonisés qui soutenaient les autorités coloniales.

José Carlos Schwarz – Mindjeris De Panu Pretu
Djiu di Galinha

Le poète Aliu Bari ainsi que Ducko Castro Fernandes finirent arrêtés et torturés par la Police Internationale et de Défense de l’État portugais (PIDE : Polícia Internacional e de Defesa do Estado). José Carlos, quant à lui, sera incarcéré durant près de deux ans. Il témoigne ainsi de cette expérience dans la chanson « Djiu Di Galinha » (du nom de l’île où étaient déportés les détenus politiques). Libéré en 1974, c’est au Portugal qu’il connaît, en avril de cette année-là, la révolution des Oeillets (Revolução dos Cravos) menée par des jeunes officiers qui refusent d’aller se battre dans les colonies. Leur mouvement -largement soutenu par la population- entraîne la chute de la dictature salazariste au Portugal, et du même coup précipite la fin des guerres coloniales, sonnait le glas de l’emprise portugaise sur le Cap-Vert, l’Angola, Sao Tomé et le Mozambique.  Quant à la Guinée-Bissau, elle était parvenue de fait à mettre en échec les Portugais grâce au maquis dirigé par Amílcar Cabral.

José Carlos Schwarz – Djiu Di Galinha

José Carlos Schwarz se montre très actif durant les débuts de l’édification d’un État indépendant. Les dirigeants politiques se nourrissaient de la popularité considérable du chanteur auprès de la population guinéenne. Cela n’empêche pas pour autant cet artiste, guidé par un désir de justice sociale, de critiquer le pouvoir suite à l’indépendance. Nommé Directeur du Département des Arts et de la Culture, il gêne rapidement les autorités, qui décident de l’écarter, en lui accordant une place de diplomate à Cuba. Le poète s’éloigne également du Cobiana Djazz, avant de créer sa propre formation, le « Kumpô », avec lequel il est peu actif en raison de ses activités politiques chronophages. Il continue néanmoins d’écrire des poèmes, dénonçant les nouveaux gouvernants, qu’il considère comme des traîtres aux idéaux indépendantistes.

L’artiste périt soudainement dans un accident d’avion près de La Havane le 27 mai 1977, à 27 ans, comme de nombreux artistes du fameux « Club des 27 », (Amy Winehouse, Janis Joplin, Jimmy Hendrix ou encore Kurt Cobain). Il quitte donc ce monde en nous laissant d’innombrables poèmes ainsi que trois albums, José Carlos Schwarz Et Le Cobiana Jazz – Vol. 1. Guinée Bissau et José Carlos Schwarz Et Le Cobiana Jazz – Vol. 2. Guinée Bissau, mais aussi bien sûr Djiu Di Galinha. Ce dernier a été enregistré avec la chanteuse panafricaine Miriam Makeba (il se murmure qu’ils furent amants), à New York. Il a été commercialisé à titre posthume. Le 1er juin 1977, chez lui en Guinée, un immense cortège funèbre accompagna la dépouille du poète, rendant hommage au symbole qu’il incarnait, et à l’immense vide qu’il laissait dans le monde de la culture et de la politique guinéennes.

Lua Ki Di Nos de José Carlos Hans Schwarz et du Cobiana Djazz est disponible en digital et sortira en physique le 9 avril 2021 via Hot Mule.

Écoutez José Carlos Schwarz & Le Cobiana Djazz dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé