→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Awori and Twani, at the service of her majesty Ranavalona III
Awori - © Nesma Merhoum

Awori and Twani, at the service of her majesty Ranavalona III

Alternating between sumptuous melodies and driving, impactful rap, Awori has joined forces with Twani, a beatmaker from Lyon, for an album as politically-engaged as it is sensitive. Ranavalona, pays tribute to the last Malagasy queen, and establishes her place in the pan-African pantheon of defiant women.

Awori grew up in Uganda with her music-loving grandfather. Influenced by the music her parents listened to, from Miriam Makeba to Angelique Kidjo to Koffi Olomidé, she began singing at the age of eight, writing songs with her childhood best friend. Leaving her native country for Switzerland at the age of eleven, she began dabbling in poetry, before rapping her lines in order to entertain her older brothers, who introduced her to the lyrics of Notorious B.I.G., Tupac Shakur and Jay-Z. Awori’s love of hip hop led to an admiration of female hip hop artists such as Aaliyah and Erykah Badu. Once in high school she formed a blues-rock band with friends, and navigated the independent scene in Geneva, singing at street festivals as well as in school projects. Little by little, Awori forged a place for herself as a backing singer with professional artists.

As for Twani, his French upbringing was marked by new metal and punk rock until he discovered, completely by chance, the album Do You Want More?!!!??! by The Roots at his sister’s house. He then turned to hip hop, dove into J Dilla and D’Angelo before starting to buy equipment in 2007 and train himself in the noble art of production… As a technician within the radio program Métisphère, the producer slowly grew more and more interested in afro music, in all its diversity, until his ex-colleague, the journalist Mathieu Girod, introduced him to Awori. By 2019 and the Galant Records label got them involved in the Seeds project, which combines a singer and/or rapper with a producer for one dedicated track. Recorded in just one day, their first single “Cortex Iuxta” was released on November 27, 2019. Awori defines the chemistry as follows: “This experience was perfect in my eyes.” Twani also explains: “I was immediately hooked by Awori’s voice, her charisma.” Faced with so much enthusiasm, the label proposed that they make an album together, which has just been released: Ranavalona. Hear about it in their own words below.

Awori & Twani – © Joao Gabriel

Why did you choose to dedicate this album to the Malagasy queen, Ranavalona III?

Awori: I came across her story when researching African women who had participated in the anti-colonial struggles. I was looking for female figures in particular because the legacy of Pan-Africanism is usually focused on male figures, such as Thomas Sankara, Kwame Nkrumah, Amílcar Cabral… We sometimes forget the women who participated in this movement. They were women who fought physically, as well as intellectually.

I discovered Ranavalona III in the course of this research. She was the last queen of Madagascar. When the French arrived, she resisted them for several days. The Malagasy army tried to counter this invasion, in vain. France seized the castle, deposed the queen from her throne, and sent her to Reunion Island with her family in 1897. She was exiled yet France was still worried about her proximity to her home country, fearing a rebellion of the people.

So she was sent to Algiers. The local population knew that she was the queen of Madagascar and that France had seized her property. The Algerians were very sympathetic to her and tried to put pressure on the French authorities to grant her more resources as she was living in rather precarious conditions during her exile. She later went to Fontainebleau, where fashion houses offered her dresses. In 1917, she died in Algiers and twenty years later, her body was repatriated to Madagascar. In November 2020, France returned her crown, temporarily. She has held it for 123 years.

I think this queen fought in her own way, trying to preserve her culture and her people. I think that even though the story doesn’t have a happy ending, it’s okay, the struggle is also worth celebrating.

Do the struggles of this queen echo those in our own time?

Awori: Yes! It is true that today, there are many states that find themselves forced to make agreements, whether economic or political, especially in Africa, but also in other formerly colonized countries. These are arrangements that keep them in a perpetual domination and prevent them from truly emancipating themselves. People often talk about the poverty of Africa, but it is Africa that has been impoverished. It is precisely because it is not poor that it finds itself in this situation, because of goods such as gold, cobalt… If everyone has a smartphone today, it is thanks to the minerals of the Congo, where people perish because of the war. We must remember this. Our presidents stay in power for a long time by stealing money, thus depriving the population of international aid. Maybe the people would like the roads to be in better condition, to have enough food for everyone, to have free education… So yes, I think her story still echoes current struggles.

Is this album about promoting a kind of pan-African feminism?

Awori: I don’t know… I don’t know what to call it… Does it make it feminist because it has a woman on it? Pan-African anyway, I hope so, because it was my desire to touch on this history of Madagascar, which inspired me to find my own strength. I hope that it will make people who listen to the album want to learn about the history of this continent and all the women who contributed to pan-Africanism, like Bibi Titi Mohammed, Yaa Asantewaa and Titina Silà. I hope it is a pan-African project, or at least a project that makes people interested in Pan-Africanism.

The last Queen of Madagascar, Ranavalona III

Can we promote Pan-Africanism while living outside of Africa?

Awori: Oh yes! It is very important because Pan-Africanism is a movement that was born in the African and Afro-descendant diasporas, outside of Africa, in fact! In the Caribbean, in London too, with Pan-African commissions. In the UK, there is a large Caribbean community – many people used to get together regularly for sort of pan-African conferences. The diasporas really gave birth to this movement, the aim was to create solidarity outside the continent, but also political awareness in relation to Africa and the lands of origin. Pan-Africanism is not only about Africa. The goal is really to understand how we can still have a role to play, even if we aren’t living in the country of origin. 

For example, in my country, Uganda, the President of the Republic, Yoweri Musevini, has been in power since 1986. This is a very long time and he uses considerable repressive policies, mobilizing the army and the police in order to censor the voices of the opposition. This is not a unique case. During the last presidential election, last January, social networks were completely blocked. You could not use Instagram, Whatsapp, or Twitter. Why? Because these are channels that the population uses in order to spread information about what is happening and to criticize, as well. What helped during this internet blackout, which is still very limited today, were the Ugandan diasporas around the world. Using Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, to say: “Hey there’s something going on back home, we can’t speak freely.” 

International solidarity is a very valuable weapon because our leaders, whether they like it or not, need to look good to the rest of the world, so as to not have the UN knocking on the door and saying: “Hey, human rights are not being respected.” So you can affect real power relations, no matter where you are. You always have to be careful about your own safety, for example by remaining anonymous. Someone like Twani, for example, if he broadcasts what’s going on in Uganda to his own network, that helps a lot. He can help me in this process. So yes, you can be pan-African, no matter where you live, as long as you believe in the economic and political emancipation of Africa.

Awori, we know how politically-engaged you are. Do you draw links between this aspect of your life, and your music?

Awori: Yes, but a really personal link. Madagascar is the East Coast, it’s East Africa and within this part of the continent, all the way to the south, we are very linked in our cultures, our languages, our food, our habits… This is also a part of pan-Africanism: to ignore the borders that have been drawn because, in the end, we did not create them. My approach is to make people understand that our destinies are linked. If we are able to do something here, it is because someone else has to pay the price. The story of Ranavalona III illustrates the importance of individual, but also collective, duties to unite and take care of each other. As long as one part of us is not free, no one is free. We must also apply this to our daily lives, keep this critical sense in everything we do. It’s very personal, maybe it links a little bit with politics. But I’m not in a feminist association anymore, even if I support a lot of initiatives coming from this movement. My song “Viscera” evokes the collective struggle and the duty to fight together for the liberation of everyone.

Awori & Twani – Viscera

Twani, is it also important for you to evoke all these fights?

Twani: I am very sensitive to Awori’s speech, to what she represents and to what she can pass on as a message, and have been since the beginning. It was a motivating factor in doing this album with her. It’s true that I don’t experience racism on a daily basis, there are many things that I don’t experience.

But one thing is sure (he addresses Awori): all the fights you engage in are really worth going above and beyond for. In this album, I wanted to set up an environment that would be conducive to the appreciation of your message, to make it accessible to the public, that’s why I went into grime, dub, reggae, because I believe the rhythms and tempos are danceable as well as deeply meditative. When I see Sound System and that it is gone, that we all dance at the same time, in the same rhythm, we are all together, in the same atmosphere, everything is arranged for peace and engagement and as such, we can escape and concentrate on the MC’s message.

Awori: It allows for sublimation, yes yes.

“Hold Me” is a track with real vulnerability. Were you inspired by your own experiences in love?

Awori: The lyrics are inspired by my own experiences with vulnerability. I was raised by a woman who told me since I was a child that you have to be independent, to not depend on any man. When you hear that and you get into a relationship, for example, you keep a notion of: “Yes, we are in a relationship but don’t worry, I can manage myself.” It’s: “You’re here but I don’t need you.” It was quite an exercise to question what my mother had taught me, following her own experiences and difficulties in love. We don’t necessarily experience the same things.

At the end of the day, being independent in love leads us to place distances between ourselves and others, to not show our faults or ask for help… We cannot live like that, we are social beings and we need others to exist, we need to be helped because there are moments when we are just lost. We don’t know what to do and others have that knowledge. You need these exchanges to be vulnerable.

For me, vulnerability is really a strength, because it requires courage to go towards the other person, not being afraid of his or her judgement, well, perhaps being afraid of his or her judgement, but nevertheless showing ourselves as we are and saying: “Never mind.” For me, it is from moments of vulnerability that we build things because we can say to another person: “I need you.” And they will say: “Okay, I’m here.

Awori & Twani – Hold Me

What do you think, Twani?

Twani: I don’t see it any differently in a relationship. If you don’t give yourself away completely, you can’t trust completely either.

Awori: Yes, and in all relationships, whether they are romantic or friendly.

Awori and Twani’s album was released on March 5, via Galant Records.

Check out the duo on our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify et Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Awori et Twani, au service de sa majesté Ranavalona
Awori - © Nesma Merhoum

Awori et Twani, au service de sa majesté Ranavalona

Alternant chants somptueux et rap puissant, Awori s’associe à Twani, beatmaker lyonnais, pour un album aussi engagé que sensible. Son titre, « Ranavalona », rend hommage à la dernière reine malgache, et lui fait une place au panthéon panafricain des résistantes.

Awori a grandi en Ouganda, auprès de son grand-père mélomane. Marquée par la musique que ses parents écoutaient, de Miriam Makeba à Angélique Kidjo, en passant par Koffi Olomidé, elle commence à chanter à huit ans, en écrivant des chansons avec sa meilleure amie d’enfance. Quittant son pays natal pour la Suisse à onze ans, la jeune fille commence à écrire de la poésie, avant de rapper pour amuser ses grands frères, qui lui apprennent les paroles de Notorious B.I.G., de Tupac Shakur ou encore de Jay-Z. Amoureuse du hip hop, Awori admire notamment les femmes de ce milieu, à l’instar d’Aaliyah et d’Erykah Badu. Au lycée, l’artiste en herbe forme un groupe de blues rock avec des amis, et navigue sur la scène indépendante de Genève, chantant aussi bien dans les festivals de rue que les projets scolaires. Peu à peu, elle se forge une place de choriste auprès d’artistes professionnels.

Quant à Twani, son adolescence française a été marquée par le new metal ainsi que le punk rock jusqu’à ce qu’il découvre par hasard l’album Do You Want More?!!!??! du groupe The Roots chez sa soeur. Il vire alors vers le hip hop, avale J Dilla ou encore D’Angelo et commence dès 2007 à se former seul en achetant du matériel pour produire de la musique. Technicien au sein de l’émission de radio Métisphère, le producteur finit de plus en plus par s’intéresser à la musique afro, dans toute sa diversité, jusqu’à ce que son ex-collègue de radio, le journaliste Mathieu Girod, lui présente Awori. Nous sommes en 2019 et le label Galant Records leur permet de participer au projet Seeds, associant un chanteur et/ou un rappeur à un producteur, le temps d’une chanson. Enregistré en une journée seulement, leur premier single « Cortex Iuxta » sort le 27 novembre 2019. Awori définit ainsi cette alchimie : « Cette expérience était parfaite à mes yeux. » Twani explique également : « J’ai tout de suite accroché à la voix d’Awori, à son charisme. » Face à tant enthousiasme, le label leur a proposé de se lancer ensemble dans un album, qui vient de paraître. Il s’intitule « Ranavalona » . Interview.

Awori & Twani – © Joao Gabriel

Pourquoi avoir choisi de dédier cet album à la reine malgache Ranavalona III ?

Awori : Je suis tombée sur son histoire parce que j’effectuais des recherches sur les femmes africaines qui avaient participé aux luttes anticoloniales. Je cherchais des figures féminines parce que l’héritage du panafricanisme est généralement porté sur les figures masculines, comme Thomas Sankara, Kwame Nkrumah, Amílcar Cabral…. On oublie parfois les femmes qui ont participé à ce mouvement. Ce sont des femmes qui se sont battues physiquement.

J’ai découvert Ranavalona III dans le cadre de cette recherche. Il s’agit de la dernière reine de Madagascar. Lorsque les Français sont arrivés, elle leur a tenu tête pendant plusieurs jours. L’armée malgache a essayé de contrer cette invasion, en vain. La France a saisi son château, destitué la reine de son trône, avant de l’envoyer à l’île de la Réunion avec sa famille en 1897. Elle était exilée et la France s’inquiétait de la proximité avec son pays, craignant une rébellion du peuple.

Elle a donc été envoyée à Alger. La population locale savait qu’elle était la reine de Madagascar et que la France avait saisi ses biens. Les Algériens se montraient très bienveillants à son égard, tentant de mettre la pression sur les autorités françaises pour lui accorder davantage de ressources, parce qu’elle vivait dans des conditions assez précaires, durant son exil. Elle s’est rendue à Fontainebleau, où des maisons de mode lui offraient des robes. En 1917, elle décède à Alger et vingt ans plus tard, son corps a été rapatrié à Madagascar. En novembre 2020, la France a rendu sa couronne, de façon temporaire. Cela fait 123 ans qu’elle la détient.

Je trouve que cette reine a lutté à sa façon, en essayant de préserver sa culture et son peuple. Je pense que même lorsque ça ne se termine pas en happy end, ce n’est pas grave, la lutte mérite aussi d’être célébrée.

Est-ce que les combats de cette reine font écho à tes yeux à ceux de notre époque ?

Awori : Oui ! Oui ! C’est vrai qu’aujourd’hui, il y a beaucoup d’Etats qui se retrouvent contraints à effectuer des accords, que ce soit économique ou politique, notamment en Afrique, mais aussi également au sein d’autres contrées anciennement colonisées. Ce sont des dispositions qui les maintiennent dans une domination perpétuelle et qui les empêchent d’être vraiment émancipés.

On évoque souvent la pauvreté de l’Afrique, mais l’Afrique a été appauvrie. C’est justement parce qu’elle n’est pas pauvre qu’elle se retrouve dans cette situation là, en raison de biens comme l’or, le cobalt… Si tout le monde détient un smartphone aujourd’hui, c’est grâce aux minerais du Congo, dans lequel de nombreux individus périssent à cause de la guerre. Il faut le rappeler. Nos présidents restent longtemps au pouvoir en volant de l’argent, privant ainsi la population des aides internationales. Le peuple aimerait peut-être que les routes soient en meilleure condition, qu’il y ait assez de nourriture pour tout le monde, qu’on rende l’éducation gratuite… Donc oui, je pense que son histoire fait toujours écho aux luttes actuelles.

Est-ce que cet album vise à promouvoir une sorte de féminisme panafricain ?

Awori : Je ne sais pas… Je ne sais pas comment le qualifier… Est-ce que c’est parce qu’il y a une femme que ça le rend féministe ? Panafricain en tout cas, je l’espère, parce que c’était mon désir de toucher à cette histoire de Madagascar, qui m’a inspirée pour trouver de la force. J’espère que ça donnera envie aux personnes qui écoutent l’album de se renseigner sur l’Histoire de ce continent et sur toutes les femmes qui ont contribué au panafricanisme, comme Bibi Titi Mohammed, Yaa Asantewaa ou encore Titina Silà. J’espère que c’est un projet panafricain ou qui donne au moins envie de s’intéresser au panafricanisme.

La dernière reine de Madagascar, Ranavalona III

Est-ce que tu penses que l’on peut tout à fait agir en faveur du panafricanisme tout en vivant en dehors de l’Afrique ?

Awori : Ah oui ! C’est très important parce que le panafricanisme est un mouvement qui est né dans les diasporas africaines et afro-descendantes, en dehors de l’Afrique en fait ! Dans les Caraïbes, à Londres aussi, avec des commissions panafricaines. Au Royaume-Uni, il existe une grande communauté caraïbéenne, plusieurs personnes se rejoignaient régulièrement pour des espèces de conférences panafricaines. Les diasporas ont vraiment donné naissance à ce mouvement, le but était de créer une solidarité en dehors du continent, mais aussi une sensibilisation politique par rapport à l’Afrique et aux terres d’origine. Le panafricanisme ne concerne pas uniquement l’Afrique. Le but est vraiment de comprendre comment depuis sa position, même si on ne vit pas dans le pays d’origine, on peut quand même avoir un rôle à jouer.

Par exemple, dans mon pays, l’Ouganda, le président de la République, Yoweri Musevini, est au pouvoir depuis 1986. C’est très long et il a recours à une politique répressive considérable, qui mobilise l’armée et la police, afin de censurer les voix de l’opposition. Ce n’est pas un cas unique. Lors de la dernière élection présidentielle, en janvier dernier, les réseaux sociaux étaient complètement bloqués. On ne pouvait ni utiliser Instagram, ni Whatsapp, ni Twitter. Pourquoi ? Parce que ce sont des canaux d’information que la population utilise afin de diffuser ce qui se passe et de critiquer aussi. Ce qui a aidé pendant cette coupure d’Internet, dont l’accès demeure encore aujourd’hui très limité, ce sont les diasporas ougandaises dans le monde entier. En utilisant Facebook, Instagram et Twitter, pour dire : « Eh il se passe un truc chez nous, on ne peut pas parler librement. » 

La solidarité internationale est une arme très précieuse, parce que nos dirigeants, qu’ils le veuillent ou non, ont besoin d’être bien vus par le reste du monde, de ne pas avoir l’ONU qui toque à la porte pour dire : « Eh, les droits de l’Homme ne sont pas respectés. » On peut donc créer de véritables rapports de force, quel que soit l’endroit où l’on se trouve. Il faut toujours faire attention à sa propre sécurité, en restant anonyme par exemple. Une personne comme Twani, s’il diffuse ce qui se passe en Ouganda vers son propre réseau, ça aide énormément. Il peut m’aider dans cette démarche là. Donc oui, on peut être panafricain, quel que soit le lieu où l’on vit, tant que l’on croit en l’émancipation économique et politique de l’Afrique.

Awori, on te sait très engagée. Est-ce qu’il y a un lien entre ta musique et tes engagements politiques ?

Oui, mais un lien vraiment personnel. Madagascar, c’est la Côte Est, c’est l’Afrique de l’Est et au sein de cette partie du continent, jusqu’au sud, nous sommes très liés dans nos cultures, nos langues, notre nourriture, nos habitudes… C’est ça aussi le panafricanisme : c’est ignorer les frontières qui ont été dessinées parce qu’au final, nous n’en sommes pas à l’origine.

Ma démarche consiste à faire comprendre que nos destins sont liés. Si on est capable de faire quelque chose ici, c’est parce qu’ailleurs une personne doit en payer le prix. L’histoire de Ranavalona III illustre l’importance des devoirs individuels, mais aussi collectifs, à s’unir et à prendre soin des uns et des autres. Tant qu’une partie d’entre nous n’est pas libre, personne ne l’est. Il faut aussi appliquer cela au quotidien, garder ce sens critique dans tout ce que l’on fait.

C’est très personnel, peut-être que ça lie un peu la politique. Mais je ne suis plus dans une association féministe aujourd’hui, même si je soutiens énormément de démarches issues de ce mouvement. Mon morceau « Viscera » évoque justement la lutte collective et le devoir de lutter ensemble pour la libération de tout le monde.

Awori & Twani – Viscera

Twani, est-ce également important pour toi d’évoquer tous ces combats ?

Twani : Je suis très sensible au discours d’Awori, à ce qu’elle représente et à ce qu’elle peut faire passer comme message et ça, depuis le début. C’était une motivation pour moi, de faire cet album avec elle. C’est vrai que je n’ai pas l’expérience du racisme au quotidien, il y a plein de choses que je ne vis pas.

Mais une chose est sûre (il s’adresse à Awori) : tous les combats que tu mènes valent vraiment le coup d’être menés, à 200 %. Dans cet album, je voulais installer un environnement propice à l’appréciation de ton message, pour le rendre disponible auprès du public, c’est pour ça que je suis parti dans du grime, du dub, du reggae, parce que je crois que ce genre de rythmiques donne du tempo en étant très dansant, mais aussi profondément méditatif. Quand je vais en Sound System et que c’est parti, qu’on danse tous en même temps, dans le même rythme, on est tous ensemble, dans la même ambiance, tout est installé pour que tout soit ok et là, on peut s’évader et se concentrer sur le message du MC.

Awori : Ça permet de sublimer, oui oui.

Il émane de votre single « Hold Me » une grande vulnérabilité. Est-ce que vous vous êtes inspirés de vos propres expériences amoureuses ?

Awori : Le texte est inspiré par mes propres expériences avec la vulnérabilité. J’ai été élevée par une femme qui me disait, depuis mon enfance, qu’il faut être indépendante, ne dépendre d’aucun homme. Quand tu entends ça et que tu te mets en couple par exemple, tu gardes une notion de : « Oui on est en couple mais t’inquiète, je me gère. » C’est : « Tu es là mais j’ai pas besoin de toi. » C’était tout un exercice de remettre en question ce que ma mère m’avait enseigné, suite à ses propres expériences et difficultés en amour. Nous ne vivons pas forcément les mêmes choses.

En amour, finalement, être indépendant, ça incite à mettre des distances entre soi-même et les autres, à ne pas montrer nos failles, à ne pas demander de l’aide… On ne peut pas vivre comme ça, nous sommes des êtres sociaux et nous avons besoin des autres pour exister, on a besoin d’être aidé parce qu’il y a des moments où on est juste paumé. On ne sait pas quoi faire tandis que les autres disposent de savoirs. On a besoin de ces échanges, de se montrer vulnérable.

Pour moi, la vulnérabilité est vraiment une force, parce que ça demande du courage d’aller vers l’autre en n’ayant pas peur de son jugement et peut-être, en ayant peur justement de son jugement, mais en se montrant tel que l’on est et en se disant tant pis. Pour moi, c’est à partir des moments de vulnérabilité que l’on construit des choses parce qu’on peut dire à une autre personne: « J’ai besoin de toi. » Et elle, elle dira : « Ok je suis là. »

Awori & Twani – Hold Me

Qu’en penses-tu, Twani ?

Twani : Dans le cadre d’une relation amoureuse, je ne vois pas les choses autrement. Si on ne se livre pas totalement, on ne peut pas non plus totalement faire confiance.

Awori : Oui et dans toutes les relations, qu’elles soient amoureuses ou amicales.

L’album d’Awori et de Twani est sorti le 5 mars, via Galant Records.

Retrouvez le duo dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé