→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 new albums you should listen to this week

This week seems deeply marked by Fela Kuti with a tribute by his son and grandson, Femi and Made Kuti, on their two respective albums that are brought together in the Legacy + box set. David Walters also refers to the pioneer of afrobeat in his album Nocturne. As for Joeboy and Black Coffee, these two trailblazers never fail to thrill on infectious, unbridled rhythms. Elsewhere, the dazzling, politicized tones of Archie Shepp and Jason Moran give a boost to the jazz landscape alongside Voilaaa and KOKOKO!, who have delivered the wild and fresh sounds of modern pan-Africanism.

Stop the Hate
Femi Kuti

Femi Kuti‘s album, Stop the Hate, is a tribute to his father Fela Kuti, the legendary creator of Afrobeat. Indeed, in “Pà Pá Pà,” the artist criticizes the powers that be: “We must face the government.” He also adds: “They can’t give us electricity, they can’t give us good health care, they can’t give us clean water to drink.” Moreover, he defines his song, “As We Struggle Everyday,” as follows: “It’s about those who work hard every day to make ends meet and are reduced to voting for corrupt politicians who belong in jail.” Pleased to play alongside his son, Made Kuti, Femi is especially happy that their two albums are released on the same day, together in a box set entitled Legacy +, via the label Partisan Records: “It’s spiritually soothing and exciting to live this new chapter with my son.”

Listen here

For(e)ward
Made Kuti

Playing all the instruments on his album For(e)ward, Made’s new project is a true ode to freedom, perfectly illustrated by the title “Free Your Mind” or “Your Enemy,” in which he denounces “police brutality.” Made Kuti, as well as his father, have been very present within the #EndSARS movement against police violence. Made explains: “I learned a lot from my father – politically, socially, philosophically and musically – and I know that this is only the beginning of a new common adventure.” His album and his father’s are included in the Legacy + box set, a tribute to Fela Kuti’s soul and political engagement.

Listen here

Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic
Joeboy

Mr Eazi’s protégé is amazing listeners via his debut album Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic, a true ode to love. This master of Afrobeats and R&B often shows himself madly in love in visuals, as in the video for “Lonely,” in which he is overwhelmed by loneliness in the absence of his loved one. He also proves how attached he is to African traditions in the festive and beautifully colorful video for “Celebration,” where we see beautiful outfits from Yoruba culture. Joeboy said it himself: “I wanted to pay tribute to my origins.” But there are also new features on this album, like the Spanish guitar in “Runaway” and the afro-house in “Oh.” It marks a real breath of fresh air in these difficult Covid-19 times.

Listen here

Nocturne
David Walters

David Walters has released a fantastic new project, Nocturne, in the company of Vincent Ségal on cello, Ballaké Sissoko on kora and Roger Raspail on percussion. This album is the fruit of the singer-guitarist’s meditations during the lockdown. The singer’s voice has never been so sensitive, a result of his not wanting to disturb his family at home, and it reflects his inner journey as a man and artist. Walters also delivers a deeply intimate message in favor of freedom of expression on “Freedom,” a track he composed in the wake of the demonstrations against police violence. He refers to Fela Kuti: “Music is a weapon.” The name of this album is also a tribute to the eminent composer, Chopin.

Listen here

Let My People Go
Archie Shepp & Jason Moran

Both Archie Shepp and Jason Moran have concocted a real gem with their album Let my people go, a project reminiscent of the lightning success of “Go Down Moses,” a track interpreted by Louis Armstrong in his time, and a real symbol within the African-American music landscape. The eighty-three-year-old saxophonist Archie Shepp has never ceased fighting racism in an incredibly poetic way. A central figure in the Black Arts Movement, he dazzles on this splendid new album, which is bolstered by the pianist Jason Moran and influenced by jazz, classical music and hip-hop. Two generations unite in a grandiose musical symbiosis.

Listen here

Subconsciously
Black Coffee

There are some pleasant surprises to be found in Subconsciously, the new album by this South African DJ. This master of house defines his objective as follows: “That’s what music should do, it should divide barriers and unite us under this one universal language.” As usual, the DJ injects a mix of different types of music. He begins on a dance piste via the frantic rhythms of “Wish You Were Here,” sublimated by the sweet voice of the South African singer Msaki. The vibes continue on “Drive,” which is composed alongside the famous French DJ David Guetta and the young British singer Delilah Montagu. The presence of Celeste, a new queen of English soul, also unspools a soothing soundscape on “Ready for You.” The album is enhanced, too, by contributions from Pharell Williams and Usher.

Listen here

Voiciii
Voilaaa

These geniuses of afro-funk and disco have released a dazzling new project with their album Voiciii. It is defined as follows: “That’s how Voilaaa makes its albums: with sand in the machinery and imperfections greeted with honors.” Following a tour in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ghana and Nigeria, the group has been inspired by funk, highlife and makossa, connecting with funaná rhythms from the Cape Verdean diaspora in Senegal. They commented: “Voilààà had contacted the brass spirit of the Lion of Cameroon.” Always discreet, the group also added: “Sarcastic lyrics with a barely hidden meaning in English, French, Creole, Bambara or Frafra seep out from the turntable undetected to regions stifled by political and military censorship.” This is a resolutely pan-African new release.

Listen here

Fongola (Instrumentals)
KOKOKO!

The Congolese collective KOKOKO! has released the betwitching album Fongola (Instrumentals). Recorded in Kinshasa during a neighborhood party, the collective brings together Makara Bianko, better known under the nickname of “Lingwala devil,” musicians from the Ngwaka neighborhood and dancers from the Lingwala neighborhood. A truly innovative project, this collective creates its own contemporary sound aesthetics using recycled materials such as metal, cans and plastic found in the streets of Africa’s third largest capital city. These musicians thrill us with their fast rhythms, forming a melodic illustration of their difficult daily life in Kinshasa, as government-imposed power cuts interrupt life’s fun and joy.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 8 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine semble profondément marquée par Fela Kuti, auquel son fils ainsi que son petit-fils, Femi et Made Kuti, rendent hommage, par le biais de leurs deux albums respectifs, réunis au sein du coffret Legacy +. David Walters se réfère également au pionnier de l’afrobeat, au sein de son album Nocturne. Quant à Joeboy et à Black Coffee, ils ne cessent de nous faire vibrer sur leurs rythmes effrénés. Tandis qu’Archie Shepp et Jason Moran nous séduisent avec leur jazz politique, Voilaaa et KOKOKO! nous font réfléchir sur le panafricanisme avec des sonorités endiablées.

Stop the Hate
Femi Kuti

L’album de Femi Kuti, Stop the Hate, constitue un véritable hommage à son père Fela Kuti, créateur légendaire de l’afrobeat. En effet, dans le titre « Pà Pá Pà », l’artiste n’hésite pas à critiquer le pouvoir, lançant : « Nous devons faire face au gouvernement. » Il ajoute : « Ils ne peuvent pas nous donner d’électricité, ils ne peuvent pas nous accorder de bons soins de santé, ils ne peuvent pas nous fournir d’eau potable à boire. » En outre, il définit ainsi son titre « As We Struggle Everyday » : « Ce titre parle de ceux qui travaillent dur tous les jours pour joindre les deux bouts et qui en sont réduits à voter pour des politiciens corrompus dont la place est en prison. » Ravi de jouer aux côtés de son fils, Femi Kuti est avant tout comblé par le fait que leurs deux albums sortent le même jour, réunis dans un coffret intitulé Legacy +, via le label Partisan Records : « C’est apaisant sur le plan spirituel et excitant de vivre ce nouveau chapitre avec mon fils. »

Écoutez ici

For(e)ward
Made Kuti

Jouant tous les instruments présents sur son album For(e)ward, ce dernier constitue une véritable ode à la liberté, parfaitement illustrée par le titre « Free Your Mind » ou encore « Your Enemy », dans lequel il dénonce la brutalité policière. Made Kuti ainsi que son père ont d’ailleurs été très présents au sein du mouvement #EndSARS, contre les violences de policiers. Made Kuti affirme ainsi : « J’ai énormément appris auprès de mon père – sur les plans politique, social, philosophique et musical et je sais que ce n’est que le début d’une nouvelle aventure commune. » Son album ainsi que celui de son père sont d’ailleurs réunis au sein du coffret Legacy +, un véritable hommage à l’âme engagée de Fela Kuti.

Écoutez ici

Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic
Joeboy

Le protégé de Mr Eazi nous émerveille avec son premier album Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic, constituant une véritable ode à l’amour. Ce maître de l’afrobeats et du R&B se montre souvent éperdument amoureux dans ses clips, comme dans celui de « Lonely », dans lequel il est accablé par la solitude, en l’absence de l’être aimé. Il prouve aussi à quel point il est attaché aux traditions africaines dans le clip festif et joliment coloré de « Celebration », où nous voyons de magnifiques tenues de la culture yoruba. Joeboy lui-même avait déclaré : « Je souhaitais rendre hommage à mes origines. » Nous remarquons également certaines nouveautés au sein de cet album, à l’instar de la guitare espagnole dans « Runaway » ou encore de l’afro-house au sein du titre « Oh ». Une véritable bouffée d’oxygène en ces temps moroses, envahis par la Covid-19.

Écoutez ici

Nocturne
David Walters

David Walters nous éblouit avec son album Nocturne, en compagnie de Vincent Ségal au violoncelle, de Ballaké Sissoko à la kora mais aussi de Roger Raspail aux percussions. Cet album est le fruit des méditations du chanteur-guitariste, durant le confinement. Veillant à ne pas déranger ses proches à la maison, la voix du chanteur n’a jamais été aussi sensible, à l’image de son voyage intérieur. Profondément intime, David Walters nous livre également un message en faveur de la liberté d’expression, dans son titre « Freedom », qu’il a composé suite aux manifestations embrasant le monde entier, contre les violences policières, faisant ainsi référence à Fela Kuti : « La musique est une arme. » Le nom de son album constitue également un hommage à Chopin.

Écoutez ici

Let My People Go
Archie Shepp & Jason Moran

Archie Shepp ainsi que Jason Moran nous ont concocté une véritable pépite, avec leur album Let my people go, nous rappelant le succès foudroyant du titre « Go Down Moses », interprété par Louis Armstrong en son temps, qui est devenu un véritable symbole au sein de la musique afro-américaine. Saxophoniste âgé de quatre-vingt-trois ans, Archie Shepp ne cesse de lutter contre le racisme, d’une façon incroyablement poétique. Principale figure musicale du Black Arts Movement, il nous éblouit avec cet album splendide, magnifié par le pianiste Jason Moran dont l’inspiration doit autant au jazz, qu’à la musique classique, ou au hip-hop. Deux générations pour une symbiose musicale grandiose.

Écoutez ici

Subconsciously
Black Coffee

L’album Subconsciously du DJ sud-africain est une agréable surprise. Ce maître de la musique house définit ainsi l’objectif de son album : « Ce que la musique devrait faire, ce serait de franchir les barrières et de nous unir autour de cette langue unique et universelle. » Comme à son habitude, le DJ nous surprend en mêlant différents types de musique. Il nous fait danser sur le rythme effréné du titre « Wish You Were Here », sublimé par la douce voix de la chanteuse sud-africaine Msaki, mais aussi sur « Drive », composé avec le fameux DJ français David Guetta, en compagnie de la jeune chanteuse britannique Delilah Montagu. La participation de Celeste, reine de la soul anglaise, nous apaise également dans le titre « Ready for You ». Pharrell Williams ainsi qu’Usher permettent aussi de sublimer cet album.

Écoutez ici

Voiciii
Voilaaa

Ces génies de l’afro-funk et de la disco nous éblouissent une nouvelle fois avec leur album Voiciii. Ils définissent ainsi leur nouveau projet : « Voici la façon dont Voilaaa effectue ses albums : avec du sable dans les machines et des imperfections saluées avec honneur.» Suite à une tournée au Burkina Faso, au Cameroun, au Ghana ainsi qu’au Nigéria, le groupe affirme avoir été inspiré par la funk, le highlife ainsi que le makossa, reprenant aussi des rythmes funaná de la diaspora du Cap-Vert au Sénégal. Ils affirment même : « Voilaaa a imploré l’esprit des cuivres du Lion du Cameroun. » Toujours très discret, le groupe ajoute également : « Des paroles sarcastiques, dont le sens est à peine caché, en anglais, français, créole, bambara ou frafra, s’échappent de la platine sans être détectées dans des régions étouffées par la censure politique et militaire. » Ce nouvel album est donc résolument panafricain.

Écoutez ici

Fongola (Instrumentals)
KOKOKO!

Le collectif congolais KOKOKO! nous envoûte avec son album Fongola (Instrumentals). Après avoir été créé à Kinshasa, lors d’une fête de quartier, le collectif réunit Makara Bianko, plus connu sous le surnom de « diable Lingwala », des musiciens du quartier de Ngwaka ou encore des danseurs du quartier de Lingwala. Véritablement novateur, ce collectif a créé sa propre esthétique contemporaine, en ayant notamment recours au recyclage de matériaux tels que le métal, les boîtes de conserve ou encore le plastique, trouvés dans les rues de la troisième plus grande capitale d’Afrique. Ces musiciens nous font donc vibrer avec leurs rythmes rapides, racontant crûment – mais avec quel entrain- le quotidien difficile à Kinshasa, où les coupures d’électricité ont branché les artistes sur courant alternatif.

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé