→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg counterfeits
Gainsbourg with some records, in 1964 : The Atomic Mr. Basie, Belafonte Sings the Blues, a jazz compilation, Duke Ellington’s version of The Nutcracker Suite…

Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg counterfeits

Was the French writer and composer out of ideas? Looking for a second wind? His sixth album, the avant-gardiste Gainsbourg Percussions, was largely “borrowed” from African artists whom he did not credit. 

Serge Gainsbourg was on intimate terms with Western classical music: so intimate that his melodies were regularly inspired by them. But, in 1964, in the ground-breaking Gainsbourg Percussions, the French songwriter and singer did not borrow just from Brahms (among other composers), but from Miriam Makeba and especially from Babatunde Olatunji, who were both very much alive.  Through the indirect route of a pop album, the two African artists joined the repertoire of French songs without knowing it.  

On January 1965, invited on the popular music TV show Discorama, Gainsbourg declared: “I’ve heard a lot of guys who are still on the rive gauche (the intellectual singers and songwriters of the Latin Quarter in Paris, editor’s note), and who are going to starve that way. They’re not with it anymore.” His attempt to be “with it” was Gainsbourg Percussions, released three months earlier, the last of a series of six albums that were critical but not commercial successes. Gainsbourg was not yet the star he would become in the 1970’s and 1980’s. In fact, he was a middle-aged singer at a time when the audience to conquer was young people with their own music. France had surrendered to the rock coming from Liverpool, and listeners had become accustomed to the sound of drumbeats and the rawness of electric guitars. The record companies adapted to this: singers Johnny Hallyday, France Gall, Sylvie Vartan – who weren’t even twenty yet – were in fashion; they were nicknamed the “yéyés”.

Since Gainsbourg couldn’t pretend to be young in order to look like them, he became a songwriter for the young female “yéyé” singers on the record company he was signed to, Philips.  But in order to be “with it”, he had a strategy, and in the summer of 1964, when the big hit on the radio was France Gall’s “N’écoute pas les idoles” (music and lyrics, Serge Gainsbourg), he convinced Philips to produce a sixth album with a surprising concept: an “African” album. 

Drums of Passion

An album recorded by the Nigerian percussionist Babatunde Olatunji had given him the idea. Born in 1927 in Adijo, near Lagos, Olantunji had moved to the United States in 1957, where he soon was playing in clubs in New York with his percussion ensemble. He quickly became a success in New York’s black community, thanks in part to the political context: to listen to the music of Nigeria, and through it the music of the continent, was for certain militants a way to lay down the foundations of a shared Afro-descendent culture. Signed by Columbia Records, Babatunde Olatunji released his first album, Drums of Passion, in 1960.

The album features a selection of traditional Nigerian songs along with several original compositions. Four percussionists do the singing and the orchestration, in call and responses with a chorus of ten female singers. The quality of the playing, the reaction of the black American public, and the spectacular production in stereo made it a considerable success; and a notable milestone for black jazzmen as well. In 1962, as an homage to his friend, Coltrane wrote and recorded “Tunji” for Babatunde.

Babatunde Olatunji – Jin-Go-Lo-Ba

It was on a trip to New York that the French singer Guy Béart discovered Drums of Passion – through his friend Harry Belafonte. He took a copy back to France, where the album wasn’t distributed, and therefore still little-known. In Paris, he offered it to Claude Dejacques, the artistic director at Philips… who then gave the album to Serge Gainsbourg.

“The resulting logic of modern jazz”

Babatunde Olatunji’s percussion sounds had a huge effect on Gainsbourg. He knew that French popular songs were essentially based on melodies, to the detriment of rhythm. But by then percussion had barged in through imported music such as jazz and rock. The drums now imposed their rhythms once and for all. Through all these transformations Serge was looking for a new way to please the public. Drums of Passion could represent this third way in modern music: neither jazz nor rock, but “African”. As he put it on a radio show on France Inter at the time: “I’m not disoriented, I’m very Africanized.”

“I felt that it was the resulting logic of modern jazz”, headded, since Drums of Passion is an essentially rhythmic album, where the singing accompanies the percussion rather than the other way around. 

When he saw Claude Dejacques again, Serge pitched his idea to acclimatize the French public to this African “avant-gardism”. He had been compiling a rich corpus of references based on the curiosity initially kindled by Drums of Passion, starting with Miriam Makeba, whose albums were distributed in France. And he was well aware that in America black jazz musicians were focusing more and more on Africa: Louis Armstrong had done a tour there. Duke Ellington hadn’t yet, but he had already composed “Fleurette Africaine”; and Cannonball Adderly had written African Waltz (which Serge learnedly played on the piano on a TV show in 1965). 

On the same TV show, a song by Xavier Cugat, the guru of American mambo, was featured, which inspired Serge to explore Caribbean rhythms. Harry Belafonte had also caught his attention: he translated the lyric “Once again now” from the song “Matilda” on the last track of Gainsbourg Percussions.

This eclecticism was in fact not unusual at the time. Contacted by PAM, Michel Portal, who played alto on the album, insists on the enthusiasm of French jazz musicians for all the music that arrived in Paris from America of course, but also from Africa. “There was a lot of African music that was coming from all over. We were very well aware of what music was coming from Senegal or from the Central African Republic. We listened to everything, there was so much incredible music everywhere.” In the microcosm of Parisian jazz, the Gainsbourg Percussions project and its eclectic references were not uncommon, especially since studio musicians were accustomed to playing in various styles. “When we played at recording sessions, remembers Portal, “We were often asked to play a song in this style or in that style…. In this context, the musicians had to adapt to the references Gainsbourg brought to the studio. “I already knew Makeba’s music and others”, states Portal. “So I said to myself , ‘Hey, if we’re doing this with Gainsbourg, we can’t just do anything’.”

So, with the support of Dejacques, and with a renewed credibility after his recent hits as a songwriter (but not as a singer), Gainsbourg was given a decent budget by Philips, and a week of recording sessions at the Studio Blanqui in Paris.

Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg counterfeits

On October 5, 1964, Serge arrived at 94 boulevard Blanqui, in Paris’s thirteenth arrondissement. It was the first day of recording sessions for the instrumental tracks in Gainsbourg Percussions. All his songs were ready, he had the whole album in his head, and he had written some of the melodies, such as “Couleur Café”; the pianist Alain Goraguer, the second architect of the product, had written the arrangements. They hired a choir, several jazzmen, and for the rhythms Serge hired a musician from Lyon, André Arpino, who played drums at the Lido. It was Arpino who was in charge of the percussion section, the cornerstone of the album. As for the musicians involved, Gainsbourg later stated: “I could bluff and say that they’re black, as people might believe, but it’s not true.”

In the studio, Goraguer and Gainsbourg shared a secret, some of the songs weren’t composed by Serge. Three of them came directly from Drums of Passion. As for the arrangements, Goraguer basically copied as closely as possible the original recordings, just as Gainsbourg did to set the metrics for his lyrics. Goraguer also used “Umqokozo” by Miriam Makeba, whose guitar riff is reproduced in “Pauvre Lola. In addition to these four plagiarisms, the album also included three original songs also inspired by Gainsbourg’s research, where Afro-Cuban percussions replaced the drums, as well as several bossa, samba and jazz tunes in which the drums are sometimes enhanced with percussion. 

According to Arpino (cited in Le Gainsbook, dir. Sébastien Merlet, Seghers 2019), only the trio Gainsbourg-Goraguer-Dejacques, and perhaps the recording engineer at the Studios Blanqui, knew about this. The musicians weren’t aware of the plagiarized albums, that the copied rhythms were first transcribed by hand, then put on paper for the percussionists recruited by Arpino to play. In other words, Gainsbourg and Goraguer knew they were plagiarizing and were hiding it. When promoting the album when it was released, Gainsbourg never mentioned Olatunji, instead evoking – with an unfortunate and rather typical confusion for the time – “rhythms from Nigerien folklore”, or “African records, Nigerien folklore, Kenya, all that…” (sic). He mentioned Makeba once, during an interview on France Inter. But for the accounting records of the SACEM all the credits – at the time – went to Serge Gainsbourg. 

 “Marabout”, plagiarism of  “Jin-Go-Lo-Ba”
“Life’s natural pulses”

On the back cover of the album, released on October 26, 1964 is this quote from Claude Dejacques:

First, it’s the rhythm of fingertips on the edge of an Empire table. Ideas, images emerge. Soon, Serge is no longer sleeping without these pulses, without a cluster of beats merging with life’s natural pulses.

A curious way to describe the abundant nature of life and all that is thrilling about it. The fantasized Africa of sensual, ahistorical and colonial imagery is found paradoxically on the back cover of an album whose ambition was to demonstrate the cutting-edge modernity of African music to the French public. In fact, Gainsbourg had nothing to do with the album art. Philips, worried about the overly avant-garde aspects of the album, tried to make it look more commercial with irrelevant artwork and a questionable quote that the general public, used to a certain vision of Africa, would understand. 

And yet throughout the album Gainsbourg’s lyrics alternate bizarrely between daring avant-gardist touches and the use of the same old tired colonial fantasies. The track “New-York USA” (which plagiarizes “Akiwowo” by Olatunji), whose lyrics include a surprising list of buildings in New York, is already a manifesto for a new type of French song. On the other hand, in songs like “Là-bas c’est naturel” (“Over there it’s natural”), Gainsbourg forgets his intellectual audacity and modulates instead towards the supposed sensuality of African women. 

Over there it’s natural                                                                                                           
Over there in Kenya                                                                                                                         
For all the natives it’s OK [Kenya was chosen only for the play on words]
All the women wearing a two-piece minus one
Everyone in this black paradise, in a monokini.

 “Là-bas c’est naturel

Did Gainsbourg realize his ambitions with Percussions? The public said no, the record did not sell. Which isn’t a surprise, since the album was so unusual for the time. And yet the avant-gardist stance behind the project was not followed through rigorously. The artist was walking a fine line between a true appreciation for African rhythms and the lazy meanderings of exotica. On some of the songs he lapses into kitsch, to the detriment of his credibility. And the plagiarization of the songs that punctuate the album don’t help either. 

For Michel Portal, Gainsbourg, obsessed with rock, demonstrated during the sessions for Gainsbourg Percussions an evident artistic indecisiveness. “We wondered if Gainsbourg wasn’t already going in other musical directions that were appearing at the time. All the music he later recorded that I listened to – Jane Birkin, etc – I said to myself: ‘But what were we doing at the time?’ We felt it in the studio.” As if Serge had admitted to himself that his African escapade had been nothing but a whim. “I heard him playing the piano. He wasn’t in Africa anymore, he was somewhere else…”

Indeed, the next album was resolutely rock and had no African references. Initials B.B.,made the singer a star four years later. Gainsbourg Percussions became a hit when it was reissued years later, after Gainsbourg had become a huge star and his entire back catalog was seen in a new light. Inevitably, Columbia Records confronted Philips about the plagiarism issue in the 1980’s. An agreement was reached at the time. Olatunji is now credited as the composer (or the arranger, some of the themes are traditional Nigerian songs) of three stolen songs. As for Makeba, she never claimed her rights. 

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg contrefaçons
Gainsbourg et quelques disques, en 1964. On peut identifier The Atomic Mr Basie, Belafonte Sings the Blues, un best-of de jazz, et The Nutcracker Suite dans sa version Duke Ellington.

Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg contrefaçons

L’auteur et compositeur français était-il en mal d’inspiration ? de second souffle ? Son sixième album, l’avant-gardiste Gainsbourg Percussions, est en grande partie « emprunté » à des artistes africains… qu’il n’a pas crédités.

Serge Gainsbourg était intime avec la musique classique occidentale : si intime, que ses mélodies s’en inspirèrent régulièrement. Or en 1964, dans l’étonnant Gainsbourg Percussions, ce n’est plus (seulement) Brahms que reprend l’interprète et compositeur français, mais plutôt Miriam Makeba, et surtout Babatunde Olatunji, eux bien vivants. Par la voie détournée d’un album de variété qui ne mentionna pas l’utilisation de leurs compositions, les deux artistes allaient rejoindre le répertoire de la chanson française, sans le savoir.

Le 3 janvier 1965, invité de l’émission de variétés musicales Discorama, Gainsbourg déclarait : « J’ai entendu pas mal de gars qui en sont restés à la rive gauche [la chanson intellectuelle du quartier latin à Paris, NDA] et qui crèveront comme ça. Ils sont plus dans le coup. » Sa tentative à lui pour « être dans le coup », c’est Gainsbourg Percussions, sorti trois mois plus tôt, le dernier d’une série de six albums au succès plus critique que public : Gainsbourg n’était pas encore la vedette qu’il allait devenir dans les années 1970 et 1980. En fait de vedette, c’est un chanteur entre deux âges, à l’heure où le public à conquérir, ce sont les jeunes, avec leur musique bien à eux. La France a succombé au rock venu de Liverpool, et les oreilles se sont accoutumées au rythme de la batterie, à l’âpreté des guitares électriques. Les maisons de disque se sont adaptées : Johnny Hallyday, France Gall, Sylvie Vartan – qui n’ont même pas vingt ans – sont en vogue ; on les appelle les « yéyés ».

Gainsbourg ne pouvant se grimer en gamin pour leur ressembler, il se fait plutôt parolier pour les jeunes chanteuses yéyé de sa maison de disques, Philips. Mais pour « être dans le coup », il a un plan et, à l’été 1964, alors que la radio passe en boucle « N’écoute pas les idoles » (paroles et musique, Serge Gainsbourg), il convainc Philips de lui produire un sixième album, au concept surprenant : un album « africain ».

Drums of Passion

Un disque signé du percussionniste nigérian Babatunde Olatunji avait fait naître cette idée. Né en 1927 à Adijo, près de Lagos, installé aux États-Unis, Olatunji se produisait depuis 1957 dans les clubs de New York avec son groupe de percussionnistes. Assez rapidement, il fait fureur dans le milieu noir-américain de New York, en partie grâce au contexte politique : entendre la musique du Nigéria, et par raccourci la musique du continent, c’était, pour certains militants, poser les jalons d’une culture afro-descendante commune. Signé par Columbia Records, Babatunde Olatunji sort son premier disque, Drums of Passion, en 1960.

Il se présente comme une compilation de thèmes traditionnels nigérians assortis de quelques compositions originales. L’orchestration et le chant sont assurés par quatre percussionnistes, auxquels répondent une dizaine de femmes choristes. La qualité du jeu, l’engouement du public noir-américain et la maîtrise spectaculaire de la prise de son stéréo en ont fait un important succès, et un jalon notable pour les jazzmen noirs – en 1962, par amitié, Coltrane composera un hommage à Babatunde.

Babatunde Olatunji – Jin-Go-Lo-Ba

C’est lors d’un voyage à New York, que le chanteur français Guy Béart découvre Drums of Passion – par le truchement de Harry Belafonte. Il décide de le rapporter en France, où le disque n’est pas distribué, et donc largement inconnu. À Paris, il l’offre à Claude Dejacques, directeur artistique chez Philips… qui confie le disque à Serge Gainsbourg.

« La résultante logique du jazz moderne »

En lui, les percussions de Babatunde Olatunji eurent une résonance particulière. Pour Gainsbourg, la chanson française était essentiellement basée sur la recherche des mélodies au détriment du rythme ; puis les percussions y avaient fait irruption par le biais de musiques importées comme le jazz et le rock. La batterie a imposé son rythme pour de bon ; au milieu de ces transformations, Serge cherche une nouvelle manière de plaire au public. Drums of Passion pouvait représenter cette troisième voie de la modernité musicale : ni jazz, ni rock, mais « africaine ». Il déclara en ce sens à l’antenne de France Inter : « Je suis pas déboussolé, je suis très africanisé. »

« J’ai trouvé que c’était la résultante logique du jazz moderne », ajoute-t-il, puisque Drums of Passion est un disque essentiellement rythmique, où le chant accompagne les percussions plutôt que l’inverse.

Lorsqu’il revient voir Claude Dejacques, qui lui avait confié le disque d’Olatunji, Serge lui expose son idée d’acclimater pour la France cet « avant-gardisme » africain. Il a constitué un riche corpus de références à partir de la curiosité suscitée initialement par Drums of Passion, à commencer par Makeba – distribuée, elle, en France. Surtout, il ne peut ignorer qu’en Amérique, les jazzmen noirs regardent de plus en plus l’Afrique : Louis Armstrong s’y est rendu, Duke Ellington, pas encore ; mais il a déjà composé « Fleurette Africaine » ; et Cannonball Adderley lui, African Waltz (savamment exposé sur le piano de Serge dans un reportage TV de 1965).

Dans le même reportage, on retrouve un disque de Xavier Cugat, le gourou du mambo à l’américaine, qui tire plutôt Serge vers les Caraïbes. Harry Belafonte, aussi, a tapé dans son oreille : il allait d’ailleurs reprendre en le traduisant le « Once again now » de « Matilda » dans la dernière piste de Percussions.

Cet éclectisme n’a en fait rien d’unique pour l’époque. Contacté par PAM, Michel Portal, saxophone alto sur l’album, insiste sur l’enthousiasme des jazzeux d’alors pour toute la musique qui parvenait à Paris, d’Amérique bien sûr, mais aussi d’Afrique. « Il y avait pas mal de musique africaine qui arrivait d’un peu partout. On savait très bien ce qui se jouait au Sénégal, ou en Centrafrique. On écoutait tout, on avait des tas de musiques incroyables. » Dans le microcosme jazz parisien, le projet Gainsbourg Percussions et ses références éclectiques ne paraissait donc pas si décalé, et ce d’autant moins que les musiciens de studio sont habitués à se fondre dans un style donné. « Quand on faisait des séances, rappelle le saxophoniste, on nous demandait souvent de jouer un morceau ‘dans le style de ceci’, ‘dans le style de cela’… ». Il s’agissait donc de s’adapter aux références adoptées par Gainsbourg. « Je connaissais déjà la musique de Makeba et d’autres, indique Portal. Donc je me suis dit : tiens, si on fait ça avec Gainsbourg, on peut pas faire n’importe quoi. »

Ainsi, avec le soutien de Dejacques, et recrédibilisé par ses récents succès comme auteur-compositeur (mais non interprète), Gainsbourg obtint de Philips un budget décent, et une semaine de résidence au studio Blanqui de Paris.

Gainsbourg Percussions, Gainsbourg contrefaçons

Le 5 octobre 1964, Serge se présente au 94 boulevard Blanqui, Paris XIIIe. C’est le premier jour des sessions d’enregistrement des pistes instrumentales de Gainsbourg Percussions. Il a ses textes prêts, même tout l’album en tête, et a composé un certain nombre de mélodies, comme celle de « Couleur Café » ; Alain Goraguer, deuxième architecte du projet, a imaginé les arrangements. Ils ont dégoté un chœur, quelques jazzmen, et côté rythme, Serge a recruté un Lyonnais, André Arpino, batteur au Lido. C’est Arpino qui a été chargé de réunir le pupitre de percussions, clef de voûte de l’album – au sujet de ses musiciens, Gainsbourg prévient : « Je pourrais bluffer et dire que ce sont des Noirs comme les gens pourraient le croire, mais ce n’est pas vrai. »

En studio, Goraguer et Gainsbourg partagent un secret : certains titres n’ont pas été composés par Serge. Trois d’entre eux sont repris directement de Drums of Passion. Au niveau des arrangements, Goraguer a essentiellement prévu de reproduire, au plus près, l’enregistrement original – ainsi que Gainsbourg l’a fait pour régler la métrique de ses textes. Goraguer a aussi retenu « Umqokozo » de Miriam Makeba, dont le riff de guitare est reproduit dans « Pauvre Lola ». En sus des quatre plagiats, l’album allait comprendre trois compositions originales également inspirées par les recherches de Gainsbourg, où les percussions afro-cubaines remplacent la batterie, et encore quelques titres bossa, samba, et jazz dans lesquels la batterie est parfois rehaussée de percussions.

D’après Arpino (cité dans Le Gainsbook, dir. Sébastien Merlet, Seghers 2019), seul le trio Gainsbourg-Goraguer-Dejacques, et éventuellement l’ingénieur du son des studios Blanqui, auraient trempé dans la combine. Puisque les musiciens n’ont pas eu connaissance des disques-référence, les rythmes copiés auraient donc été transcrits à la main, puis transmis sur papier aux percussionnistes recrutés par Arpino. Autrement dit, Gainsbourg et Goraguer se savaient plagieurs, et ont voulu le maquiller. Lors de la promotion du disque, Gainsbourg ne cite jamais Olatunji, évoquant plutôt – avec une confusion malheureuse et assez courante à l’époque – « des rythmes du folklore nigérien », ou encore « des disques africains, du folklore nigérien, Kenya, tout ça… » (sic). Une fois, il a cité Makeba lors d’une interview sur France Inter. Mais dans les registres de la SACEM, tout crédit revient – à l’époque – à Serge Gainsbourg.

« Marabout », plagiat de « Jin-Go-Lo-Ba »
« Les pulsations naturelles de la vie »

Au verso du disque finalement paru le 26 octobre 1964, on trouve cette citation de Claude Dejacques :

« Au début, c’est un rythme de doigts sur le bord d’une table de bois Empire. Des idées, des images naissent. Bientôt, Serge ne dort plus sans battement, sans une touffe de battements où se mêlent les pulsations naturelles de la vie. »

Étrange champ lexical de la nature foisonnante et du vivant dans ce qu’il a de palpitant, au sens du cœur. L’Afrique fantasmée de l’imagier colonial, sensuelle et anhistorique, se retrouve paradoxalement inscrite au verso d’un disque dont l’ambition était de manifester la modernité de pointe des musiques d’Afrique auprès du public français. En fait, Gainsbourg n’eût pas la main sur la pochette du disque. C’est bien la maison Philips qui, effrayée par la facture trop avant-gardiste de l’album, a tenté un sauvetage commercial avec une pochette hors-sujet et une citation de goût douteux, mais intelligible pour le grand public – habitué à une certaine vision de l’Afrique.

Pourtant, au fil de l’album, les textes de Gainsbourg alternent bizarrement entre audaces formelles avant-gardistes, et remuement du vieil imaginaire colonial. Il y a « New-York USA » (plagiat d’« Akiwowo » par Olatunji), dont le texte, une surprenante liste des buildings de New York, est déjà un manifeste pour une nouvelle chanson française. Et d’un autre côté, dans certains titres comme « Là-bas c’est naturel », Gainsbourg perd son élan intellectuel et se met à moduler sur le thème de la sensualité supposée des femmes africaines.

Là-bas c’est naturel
Là-bas Au Kenya
Pour tous les naturels c’est O.K. [le Kenya est choisi uniquement pour le jeu de mot]
Chacune est en deux pièces moins une
Chacun dans ce noir paradis, en monokini

 « Là-bas c’est naturel »

Gainsbourg a-t-il réalisé ses ambitions à travers Percussions ? Le public lui dit non : les ventes n’ont nullement décollé. Rien d’étonnant, considérée l’étrangeté du disque dans son époque. Et en même temps, la posture avant-gardiste qui présidait au projet n’est pas rigoureusement tenue : l’artiste jouait sur une ligne délicate entre vraie estime des rythmes africains et louvoiements de l’exotisme ; or en plusieurs occasions, il succombe à la facilité au détriment de sa crédibilité. Les plagiats qui ponctuent l’album n’arrangent rien.

Pour Michel Portal, Gainsbourg, toujours taraudé par le rock, trahissait dès l’enregistrement de Percussions une certaine irrésolution artistique. « On se demandait si Gainsbourg n’allait pas aller dans d’autres musiques qui arrivaient. Tout le répertoire que j’ai écouté après – Jane Birkin, etc. –, on s’est dit : ‘mais qu’est ce qu’on a fait ?’ On a eu cette sensation. » Comme si Serge s’était avoué que son évasion africaine n’était qu’un caprice. « Je l’ai entendu jouer du clavier. Il était sorti de l’Afrique, il allait ailleurs… »

Et en effet, c’est un album dénué de toute référence africaine et résolument rock, Initials B.B., qui porta le chanteur au sommet quatre ans plus tard. Gainsbourg Percussions connut surtout le succès en réédition, après que Gainsbourg fut devenu la grande star que l’on connaît et que son œuvre fut réévaluée en considération. Évidemment, Columbia Records finit par mettre à jour le plagiat dans les années 1980. Un accord à l’amiable fut alors trouvé ; aujourd’hui, Olatunji est crédité comme compositeur (ou parfois arrangeur, certains thèmes étant issus du répertoire traditionnel nigérian) des trois chansons volées. Makeba, elle, n’a jamais réclamé ses droits.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé