Aziza Brahim: “Those who seek war have never known it”

With Sahari, a more electronic-music-oriented fifth album, the emblematic musician and activist of the Sahrawi culture sings the pain and hopes of the exiled.

In Hassaniya or Spanish, Aziza Brahim’s vivacious poetry carries the voices of refugees from the Western Sahara (an invisible, yet resistant and militant part of Africa) and more generally speaking, that of all exiles. A radiant presence and a voice that transcends all of the senses, Aziza Brahim was at the Fiesta des Suds festival in Marseille, France, when we met up with her. She explains her approach and the meaning behind the songs to PAM, from her latest album.


Songs like “Sahari” and “Mujayam” (“Camps”) refer explicitly to your own experiences. Others like “Lmanfa” (“Exile”) or “Hada Jil” (“This generation”) have more of a general understanding. With this album, did you intend to move towards expressing a more universal message?

My songs talk about my own experience of exile as a migrant: from the desert to the heart of the old continent [author’s note: Aziza Brahim was born in 1976 in a refugee camp in Southern Algeria, then spent much of her adolescence in Cuba and has lived in Barcelona for almost twenty years now].

My aim is to denounce the extreme living conditions that prevail in refugee camps and the great injustice that prevents Sahrawi refugees from returning home. I tried to capture the feeling of nostalgia my elders express for the land that was taken away from them.

The normalization of injustice is something that Sahrawis know too well, but we are not the only ones concerned, unfortunately: there are currently 70 million people forcefully displaced in the world, and 26 million of them are refugees. Inevitably, this situation has affected me and my writing has evolved accordingly

 


With Sahari you explore electronic sounds under the guidance of the Catalan female artist Amparo Sánchez, leader of the Amparanoia group. What was it like working together?

We’ve been friends for a long time and she’s an artist I deeply admire. It has been quite some time since we’ve wanted to collaborate and it was even more important for us as Amparo is a singer who advocates mixed-race relations in Spanish society.

She suggested introducing electronics and that meant working in a very different way. My musicians and I are used to recording everything live. This time, each of us recorded separately, and then we assembled the pieces of the puzzle.

For me, the key elements were guitars and vocals. Amparo dealt with the electronics, keyboards and saxophone. She helped me establish the dialogue I had in mind between the traditional Sahrawi percussion, the “tabal” drum, and the electronic percussion. And she allowed me to find balance between the past and present, between African and European music. The search for communion through music involves traveling across different territories: geographical and cultural, individual and collective, conscious and unconscious. And to find harmony at the crossroads.


“Cuatros Proverbios” (“Four proverbs”), the opening track, is very much stripped back: your voice supported only by percussion. What is the meaning behind this song?

It’s a song about the power of peace and the total rejection of war. Here is what I say:

“There are only two words: one is ‘war’, the other is ‘peace’.
Those who seek war have never known it.
The purpose of the dialogue is to conclude it.
Never play with peace.”

I chose this song as the opening track because it allows an opportunity to hear the roots of my music and to understand the blend that follows. I recorded two tabal drums to play the sounds of the desert. There is also an entire set of sabar and one djembe. It’s a combination of West African and my own culture since the tabal is the instrument of Sahrawi music. It is important for me to push the tabal to the fore, especially since it has been reserved solely for women to play for centuries

 


You generally compose your own lyrics. However, for Sahari you co-wrote a song with Amparo Sánchez (“Las Huellas”), and the song “Ard El Hub” was written by Zaim Alal. Who is he? And what does this song talk about?

Zaim Alal is a great Sahrawi poet, and I identify a lot with his work. Two years ago, the last time I went to visit refugee camps, we met and he wrote this poem for me to sing. “Ard el hub” means “land of love” and talks about the impossibility of us returning to our homeland. It’s a very important song to me, and it gives me a strong sense of belonging.

“My homeland, land of love,
cradle of my childhood.
For you desires rise
and kiss the sky.» 

 


You took the photographs that illustrate the album’s booklet, except that of the cover. Can you describe it and explain why you chose it?

In the foreground, you see a little Sahrawi girl named Aziza. She is wearing ballet shoes and a white tutu. Behind her there’s a tent and buildings of a refugee camp located in the south of Algeria. This picture was taken by a great female friend of mine who is also a great photographer, Ana Valino. For me that was the perfect image for the record because it is representative of Sahara’s musical context: it conveys the hope and courage of the people fighting for their future.

Next concerts:

15.11.2019 – CH – Fribourg – La Spirale
16.11.2019 – CH – Onex – Festival Les Créatives
17.11.2019 – CH – Martigny – Cave Du Manoir
21.11.2019 – CH – Basel – Kaserne
22.11.2019 – AT – Innsbruck – Treibhaus

Sahari, out on 15 November in digital and CD/LP via Glitterbeat Records.

Aziza Brahim : « Celui qui cherche la guerre, c’est celui qui ne l’a jamais connue »

Avec Sahari, un 5e album aux sonorités plus électroniques, la musicienne et activiste emblématique de la culture sahraouie chante la douleur et l’espoir des exilés. Interview.

En hassanya ou en espagnol, la poésie vivace d’Aziza Brahim porte la voix des réfugiés du Sahara occidental (cette Afrique invisible, pourtant résistante et militante) et plus largement celle de tous les exilés. Rencontre, à la Fiesta des Suds de Marseille, avec une artiste à la présence lumineuse dont la voix transcende les sens. Pour PAM, elle explique sa démarche et le sens des chansons qui constituent ce nouvel album.


Des titres comme « Sahari » et « Mujayam » (« Camps ») renvoient explicitement à votre parcours. D’autres comme « Lmanfa » (« Exil ») ou « Hada Jil » (« Cette génération ») peuvent être compris dans un sens plus général. Tendre vers un message plus universel, c’était votre objectif avec cet album ?

Mes chansons parlent de ma propre expérience de migrante et de l’exil : depuis le désert jusqu’au cœur du vieux continent [Aziza Brahim est née en 1976 dans un camp de réfugiés du Sud algérien, a passé une grande partie de son adolescence à Cuba et vit à Barcelone depuis presque vingt ans ; NDLR].

Mon but est de dénoncer les conditions de vie extrêmes qui règnent dans les camps et la grande injustice qui empêche les réfugiés sahraouis de rentrer chez eux. J’essaye de capturer le sentiment de nostalgie que mes aînés expriment pour la terre qui leur a été enlevée. 

La normalisation de l’injustice est quelque chose que les Sahraouis connaissent bien, mais malheureusement nous ne sommes pas les seuls concernés : il y a actuellement 70 millions de personnes déplacées de force dans le monde, 26 millions d’entre elles sont des réfugiés. Inévitablement, cette situation m’affecte et fait évoluer mon écriture. 
 


Avec
Sahari vous vous ouvrez à des sonorités électroniques sous la houlette de l’artiste catalane Amparo Sánchez, leader du groupe Amparanoia. Comment avez-vous travaillé ensemble ?

Nous sommes amies depuis longtemps et c’est une artiste que j’admire profondément. Cela fait des années que l’on souhaite collaborer et c’était d’autant plus important pour nous qu’Amparo est une chanteuse qui promeut le métissage dans la société espagnole. 

Elle a suggéré d’introduire l’électronique et cela signifiait travailler d’une manière différente. Avant, on enregistrait tout en live avec mes musiciens. Cette fois-ci, nous avons enregistré chacun séparément, puis nous avons assemblé les pièces du puzzle. 

Pour moi, la clef, c’était les guitares et les voix. Amparo a supervisé la partie électronique, les claviers et le saxophone. Elle m’a aidée à établir le dialogue que j’imaginais entre la percussion traditionnelle sahraouie, le tambour tabal, et les percussions électroniques. À trouver l’équilibre entre le passé et le présent, entre les musiques africaines et européennes. La recherche de la communion par la musique implique de voyager à travers différents territoires : géographiques et culturels, individuels et collectifs, conscients et inconscients. Et de trouver l’harmonie à la croisée des chemins.


« Cuatros Proverbios » (« Quatre proverbes »), le titre d’ouverture est lui très épuré : votre voix est uniquement soutenue par des percussions. Quelle est sa signification ?

C’est une chanson qui parle du pouvoir de la paix et du rejet complet de la guerre. Je dis ceci : 

« Il n’existe que deux mots : l’un est guerre, l’autre paix.
Celui qui cherche la guerre, c’est celui qui ne l’a jamais connue.
Le but du dialogue est de le conclure.
Ne jouez jamais avec la paix. »

Le disque s’ouvre avec cette chanson, car elle donne à entendre les racines de ma musique et permet de comprendre les mélanges qui vont suivre.

J’ai enregistré deux tambours tabal pour jouer avec les différents sons du désert. Il y a aussi un set entier de sabar et un djembé. C’est un mix de l’Afrique occidentale et de ma propre culture puisque le tabal est l’instrument de la musique sahraouie. C’est important pour moi de le mettre en avant, d’autant que depuis des siècles cet instrument est réservé aux seules femmes. 
 


Vous avez l’habitude de signer tous vos textes. Pour
Sahari, vous avez coécrit une chanson avec Amparo Sánchez (« Las Huellas ») et le titre « Ard El Hub » a été écrit par Zaim Alal. Qui est-ce ? Et que dit cette chanson ?

Zaim Alal est un grand poète sahraoui ; je me retrouve énormément dans son travail. Nous nous sommes vus la dernière fois que je suis allée dans les camps de réfugiés il y a deux ans et il a écrit ce poème pour que je le chante. « Ard el hub » signifie « terre d’amour » et parle de l’impossibilité pour nous de retourner dans notre patrie. C’est un morceau très important pour moi, il me procure un fort sentiment d’appartenance.

« Ma patrie, terre d’amour,
le berceau de mon enfance.
Pour toi les désirs se lèvent
qui embrassent le ciel. » 
 


Les photos qui illustrent le livret de l’album sont de vous, sauf celle de la pochette. Pouvez-vous nous la décrire et nous expliquer pourquoi vous l’avez choisie ?

Au premier plan, on voit une petite fille sahraouie qui s’appelle Aziza. Elle porte des chaussures de ballet et un tutu blanc. Derrière elle, on voit une tente et les bâtiments d’un camp de réfugiés situé dans le sud de l’Algérie. Cette photo a été prise par une très grande amie à moi qui est aussi une très grande photographe, Ana Valino.

Il me semblait qu’elle était parfaite pour le disque, car elle représente le contexte musical du Sahara : elle dit l’espoir et le courage de ces gens qui sont en train de lutter pour leur avenir.


Prochains concerts

15.11.2019 – CH – Fribourg – La Spirale
16.11.2019 – CH – Onex – Festival Les Créatives
17.11.2019 – CH – Martigny – Cave Du Manoir
21.11.2019 – CH – Basel – Kaserne
22.11.2019 – AT – Innsbruck – Treibhaus

Sahari, sortie le 15 novembre en digital et en CD/LP chez Glitterbeat Records.