fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2023 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Voyageur, nine unreleased tracks from Ali Farka Touré in posthumous album
Credit: Dave Peabody
1 week ago

Voyageur, nine unreleased tracks from Ali Farka Touré in posthumous album

Nick Gold, World Circuit and Vieux Farka Touré unveil nine previously unreleased compositions by the great Ali Farka Touré with the album Voyageur, available March 10th.

In 2011, the posthumous album Ali & Toumani, a duet with Bamako korist Toumani Diabaté, won a Grammy. And seventeen years after the death of the great Malian master Ali Farka Touré, his label World Circuit delivers – sparingly – nine original tracks. Compiled in the album Voyageur, these compositions add to the impressive discography of Farka, international icon of Malian wallahidu. 

From his native Kanau village on the Niger River to Los Angeles, the late Ali Farka Touré planted the seeds of world music on every continent. Though in love with his lands, this farmer, and self-taught multi-instrumentalist, couldn’t resist the call of music for long. At the age of 37, after a ten-year career with the band La Troupe 117, he released his first solo album, soberly named Farka. The impact was unprecedented, and the tour that followed took him to Europe, the United States and Asia. But after several brilliant albums including Talking Timbuktu – in collaboration with the American guitarist Ry Cooder, and triumphant tours, the artist retired. Ali Farka Touré wished to devote himself to agriculture. However, he returned two years later with Niafunké, a blues gem recorded on his land. Until his death, the singer tried several times to break up with the recording studios, to no avail. Music remained at the heart of his life, and the album Voyageur retraces his last fifteen years of passion. 

Produced by Nick Gold, founder of World Circuit, and Vieux Farka Touré, son of the artist and renowned musician, Voyageur will be available on March 10. In anticipation, the single “Safari” offers a glimpse of the opus, driven by “the clean, haunting melodies of Ali’s signature Songhai, through the anthemic choruses of the fishermen and the pulsating rhythms of the hunters”. All in all, a majestic set of Sahelian blues, worthy of the musical legacy left by one of the greatest names in African music. 

Listen to “Safari” in our Songs of the Week playlist.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2023 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Voyageur, des titres inédits d’Ali Farka Touré dans un nouvel album posthume
Credit: Dave Peabody
Il y a 1 semaine

Voyageur, des titres inédits d’Ali Farka Touré dans un nouvel album posthume

Nick Gold, World Circuit et Vieux Farka Touré dévoilent neuf compositions inédites du grand Ali Farka Touré avec l’album Voyageur, disponible le 10 mars.

En 2011, l’album posthume Ali & Toumani, en duo avec le koriste de Bamako Toumani Diabaté remporte un Grammy. Dix-sept ans après le décès du grand maître malien Ali Farka Touré, son label World Circuit livre – avec parcimonie – neuf titres originaux. Compilées dans l’album Voyageur, ces compositions s’ajoutent à la discographie impressionnante de Farka, icône internationale du wallahidu malien. 

De son village natal Kanau au bord du fleuve Niger à Los Angeles, feu Ali Farka Touré a planté les graines de la world music sur tous les continents. Pourtant amoureux de ses terres, cet agriculteur et autodidacte multi-instrumentiste ne résistait jamais longtemps à l’appel de la musique. À 37 ans, après dix de carrière en groupe avec La Troupe 117, il publie son premier disque solo, sobrement nommé Farka. L’impact est sans précédent, et la tournée qui suit l’emmène en Europe, aux Etat-Unis et en Asie. Mais après plusieurs albums brillants dont Talking Timbuktu – en collaboration avec le guitariste américain Ry Cooder, et des tournées triomphantes, l’artiste se retire. Ali Farka Touré souhaite se consacrer à l’agriculture. Il revient cependant deux ans plus tard avec Niafunké, un joyau blues enregistré sur ses terres. Jusqu’à son décès, le chanteur tente à plusieurs reprises de rompre avec les studios d’enregistrement, sans succès. La musique reste au cœur de sa vie, et l’album Voyageur retrace ses quinze dernières années de passion. 

Produit par Nick Gold, fondateur de World Circuit, et Vieux Farka Touré, fils de l’artiste et musicien renommé, Voyageur sera disponible le 10 mars. Pour patienter, le single « Safari » livre un aperçu de l’opus, porté par « les mélodies épurées et envoûtantes du Songhaï signatures d’Ali, en passant par les refrains hymniques des pêcheurs et les rythmes palpitants des chasseurs ». Le tout dans un ensemble de blues sahélien majestueux, à la hauteur de l’héritage musical laissé par l’un des plus grands noms de la musique africaine. 

Écoutez « Safari » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé