Pantsula: 5 faces shaping the South African scene today

This week, PAM introduces you to the contemporary faces of pantsula, the emblematic dance of South Africa’s townships. Discover the dance that goes head to head with the harsh reality. Read on for a crash course to pantsula.

Soulistic Fusion, Soweto Skeleton Movers, Pantsula Intellectuals, Tembisa Revolution, Via Broom, Rozary Productions… Within the Joburg area alone, there are at least a hundred or so pantsula crews. The dancers of these crews count in the thousands, and that’s without including those based based in Durban, Cape Town, the Free State or Botswana… On every street corner, in every town, this dance, rooted in the everyday, has set the beat of daily life for the past couple of decades. The pantsula dancer can dismantle his body, or juggle his hat with the finesse of a footballer. Footwork always reigns supreme. Whistling is also one of the myriad modes of expression of this colorfully demonstrative dance.

Over the generations, the central theme of pantsula has remained the same: transform the smallest gestures of everyday life into choreography that’s both realistic and  theatrical. Everything from hiring a taxi, to playing dice, to watching out for and fleeing from police are all pretext for transforming the mundane and the demoralizing into beautiful movement. The transformation is so effective that one forgets just how much skill is needed to master the mechanics..

The history of the pantsula merges with that of Sophiatown. It’s a big, mixed neighborhood of Johannesburg, a hip spot, where writers, jive and jazz musicians and gangsters used to rub shoulders. When Sophiatown was razed to the ground in 1955 (to be renamed “Triumph” by the Apartheid regime, of all things…), blacks had to move to other neighborhoods.

“When pantsula was born it was more of a subculture that also had to do with fashion. It was young people in the 1960s and 1970s who put on British and American designer clothes, Italian shoes, and kept up with the trends in Sophiatown,” says Daniela Goeller, art historian and associate researcher at the University of Paris 1. While researching the subject, Goeller, who has travelled and researched extensively in South Africa, created “Impilo Mapantsula,” a platform that brings together choreographers and encourages a more just representation of pantsula amongst institutions. “It’s mostly a youth phenomenon,” explains Goeller. “It’s a movement that has been growing since the 1980s. Dance companies have been created and therefore so have choreographies, whereas before it was mainly a solo dance. For fifteen years, these companies and choreographies have exported themselves, most notably in France, where organizations that are ahead of the game in terms of trends, like Radio Nova, transmit and relay this urban dance.”
 

View of Tembisa, a township northeast of Johannesburg, from the Makhulong Stadium..

Half a century later, after Apartheid, the sartorial swagger of pantsula still holds its sway. Dancers display a style that is entirely South African; there are codes to respect. It’s reminiscent of the Zoot Suiters, the handsome Latino kids who were the talk of the town in the 1940s, on the US’s West Coast, and whose ultimate paragon was Kid Creole. Whether it’s a coincidence or not, the word “tsotsi,”  a local adaptation of the word “Zoot Suit,” means “little criminal” in slang, and tsotsitaal is a vernacular mixture of all the languages ​​that make up the townships. In this singularly diverse dance, Goeller suggests “a phenomenon of creolization based on South African identity.”

If the parallel with hip-hop, which has also had its own history in South Africa, is self-evident, the unique character of this dance is equally as obvious. (Editor’s note: the mixed genre of pantsula-hip hop is called isbhujwa, which phonetically is “is bourgeois.”) In its oeuvre, pantsula has integrated traces of tribal dances, like basotho, along with dance reminiscent of early twentieth-century cabarets, Harlem Renaissance’s cherished rendition of the lindy hop, the gumboot (a dance born at the bottom of the Gauteng mines), the sublime dance solos of 1950s Hollywood, and even kung-fu moves… The list of pantsula’s style influences is long, but it’s precisely what makes it so unique. Through all the artifice, pantsula tells the story of the continued harsh reality of South African townships today.
 

Choreographer Gregory Maqoma is one of the leading figures in South African contemporary dance today, pictured here in Rosebank, South Africa.

Greg Maqoma:

“Forget Your Harsh Existence”

“Pantsula is our pop culture. [It’s] just like hip-hop in the United States. Young people have developed a unique language with their bodies.” Before becoming a world-renowned postmodern choreographer, Gregory Maqoma was one of those kids. Born in Soweto in 1973, Maqoma affirms that, throughout the 1980s, he was influenced by both Michael Jackson and by different pantsula dances of surrounding townships. “There is a real humanity in this dance, which is rooted in forgetting the harsh reality and breaking free from the nightmare. There is also an aspect of the collective — how do we endure and bear the weight together? There is a strength; it’s a real movement.” Known for his social justice oriented choreographies, such as the formidable solo “Exit / Exist,” Maqoma draws inspiration from a powerful figure — his grandfather — who is none other than Chief Maqoma, a famous Xhosa leader who fought against the British settlers in the 1840s and was confined to the Robben Island prison, where he died in 1873. His recent choreography, entitled Via Kanana, questions power, how it corrupts and perverts the ability to think, and how it goes against the common good. Here, Maqoma refers to (former president) Zuma and similar figures.  “It is in the DNA of those who monopolize power. The black bourgeoisie has benefited from economic power… “

For this piece, boosted by the beats of the boombox (a mix of abstract kwaito and reformulated jive), Maqoma collaborated with the Via Katlehong company and its pantsula dancers. He quickly ascribes his creative juices to the dance company, the “breath of fresh air” they brought and their original ideas. “For me, the technique wasn’t the most important element. They have that down. It was about harnessing all this potential and energy, bringing it to the surface, and playing around with it. Each body carries a story. Each choreography must be able to transport and emancipate the human spirit.” Since then, the show has been touring the world. It was recently scheduled for the first time in Johannesburg on February 23, 2018, a few days after the resignation of Jacob Zuma, convicted of corruption. “I have the desire to tell the truth about our reality, the environment in which we live and what we have to say! The people who live in the townships can describe it best.” That’s why, along with the pantsula dancers, Greg Maqoma cast two members of his Newtown-based company with dancers who have a first-hand, lived experience of the harsh township reality. The anchoring in the real world is essential. “Leaving South Africa is off the table, no question about it. I am here to participate in democratic change and inspire the new generation to find new spaces for expression and to no longer be a spectator, but an actor in this process. This is what Via Kanana is about. Because it’s interpreted by the “born free” generation, those born after apartheid, it takes on an even more critical stance.”

 

Lenela Leballo’s dance company in Soweto..

Lenela Leballo:

“A Place For Girls”

We meet Lenela Leballo on a Sunday afternoon in a park at the edge of Naledi, the district of Soweto where she grew up. She’s surrounded by her crew, the Intellectuals Pantsula, a dance group she co-founded and directs. “Our style is different from the classic style that we see in the street. We’ve added more acrobatics and some breakbeat.”

At the young age of twenty-three, Leballo already has more than ten years of practice under her belt and is living proof that girls are now entering the pantsula dance arena. “Lee” began dancing in 2007 in an all-girl group. Today she stands by her statement that pursuing dance, and the arts in general, is not encouraged by society at large, or even by one’s own family. “In the black community, girls are more likely to pursue an education, with “professional” jobs, not a career in the arts. As a result, few girls make the leap to follow their dreams.” Leballo obtained her high school diploma, but did not have the means to go to university (her father works in construction, her mother is a housekeeper). She ended up going pro in 2013. Five years later, she is bringing it to the stage, even outside of her native country. To break into this scene dominated by men, and still very much imbued with macho references, she had to buckle down and get to work. “Pantsula was created by men, and it remains dominated by them. Even if girls join the group, many fizzle out. There’s a pervasive, false mentality that suggests that pantsula is too hard for us [girls]. It’s very physical, but I’m proof that it’s possible.”

Learn your pantsula dance moves here
 

At Katlehong’s cultural center, with the Via Katlehong dance crew.

Thato Qofela:

“Dance on to the Straight and Narrow Path”

Thato Qofela got into pantsula young.  At the age of five, he wanted to follow in the footsteps of his older brother Thabo “Masapo” Qofela, who was one of the founders of the dance company Via Katlehong. “His specialty was dancing like a disjointed puppet, and that’s where he got his nickname…Masapo means ‘bones’!” These days, his brother is more about music than dance, opting to produce kwaito, which, along with house, are the main music genres of pantsula. Thato, however, has continued to put his nose to the pantsula grindstone. At eleven, he had already held his own on stage with a group of older dancers.

By 2007, Thato was on his way to his first tour in France. It was a definitive sign of a successful path ahead, especially given his modest upbringing, with an unemployed mother and factory-worker father. At twenty-nine, Thato has not forgotten the struggle. 

“In Katlehong, there are far fewer riots and violence than when I was a kid. As a child, I would often cross corpses on the way to school. We had no therapy; we had to live with it. In other words, it was not easy to concentrate or to study. I do not wish on anyone the experience of growing up the way I did, in this criminalized environment. There was a lot of poverty, a lot of drugs, but that builds strength of character. In this context, dancing keeps you on the right path.

Like others in the pantsula scene, he has a predilection for certain brands of clothing:  Dickies trousers, Brain Wood t-shirts, Converse sneakers, Gucci caps… Qofela asserts that it’s still common practice for people to get arrested or to be subject to more controls simply by dressing this way. “Pantsula is still associated with the image of thugs, especially in white people’s minds. But even though pantsula was born and evolved in black neighborhoods, the dance is not defined by race: everyone is welcome!”

Ready for dance lesson part two? Learn more moves with Thebza Diphehlo, here

 

The Tembisa Revolution dance company at the township’s cultural center, east of Johannesburg, cofounded by member of Via Katlehong, choreographer Abel Vilakazi.

Abel Vilakazi:

“A culture of resistance”

They follow a series of choreographies, timed to perfection, in a small space that serves as a rehearsal room. It is in this community center, which faces the football stadium, that the Tembisa Revolution regularly meet in order to develop their show. Tembisa is a large township, halfway between Pretoria and Joburg, where Abel Vilakazi grew up. Today, the young thirty-something is at the head of this crew of eight dancers.

In 2003, at the time when the company was created, he already had been practicing pantsula for six years. Since then, he hasn’t stopped. “What was a hobby then is now a job, and we work hard. It’s also a source of income for one’s family, and most of the members of the crew still live with theirs. We have participated in TV shows, even on national TV, in ads and commercials too, but the main activity is the competitions between the different pantsula groups.” The big prize can be upwards of  25 000 rand (1,700 euros) if they win the first place…

“Pantsula probably speaks more to younger people than gumboot or other more traditional dances. [I think young people are attracted to] our attitude, the passion that we put on the stage, our way of dancing, and the music itself…”

While all dancers agree on pantsula’s parallels to hip hop, none forget to mention that pantsula came first. (It was born in the 1950s.) “This dance is a way of expressing oneself, a way of opposing apartheid, of affirming a culture … It’s a way of talking to each other without being understood by the cops, and it goes back to our grandparents. There was a political dimension. It was a form of resistance to the dominant culture. This is still the case today!”  It’s an art form as well as a social expression. It’s an expression of communities that continue to be forced to survive on the periphery of the system. The glass ceiling has yet to be shattered and the fight against prejudice is far from over in the land of the rainbow nation. “We transmit values ​​to the youth generation. Pantsula has an educational dimension. It leads the way and encourages others to follow suit. We are trying to create a revolution in the way we think, we are also focused on trying to prevent drugs — nyaopé is a strong temptation for many.”

As we wrap up, around 4pm, Vilakazi heads off to the primary school where he teaches several times a week, in between pantsula-ing. Education is power.
 

Choreographer Buru Mohlabane at Katlehong’s cultural center.

Buru Mohlabane:

“Taking apart the clichés”

“What makes me legit is the neighborhood I come from. Katlehong is a part of us, and I think we’re inspiring lots of kids here. We contribute a lot to our community and we’re here to change the image of this neighborhood — even to change the image of the country itself.” Behind Buru’s benevolent smile is a deep determination to change the status quo. It’s this desire for change which inspired the name of the dance company, Via Katlehong, in which he is one of two artistic directors. Prejudice still stings in this township south-east of Joburg, which was strongly associated with the violence during apartheid, particularly because of the tribalism that pitted the black communities against one another (Buthelezi’s Inkhata and the ANCs regularly clashed). It was in Katlehog, four years after the company was founded with four dancers in 1992, that Buru joined. The company was housed in a large arts center for the community. Buru rails against the stereotypes:”The pantsula culture was associated with gangsters, but not everyone was a gangster. Are all Italians part of the mafia?” All the meanwhile, Buru admits that dance saved his life.

Under his direction, Via Katlehong has toured the world, and has even performed in productions with illustrious jazz musicians, such as Archie Shepp or, most recently, Shabaka Hutchings. With twenty professional dancers, and several more young dancers in training, the company has become a symbol of success, and an example for all. “Nevertheless, there is still no official recognition of these dances. There is no school, no diploma, and therefore very few professional prospects. Thanks to our discipline and our our will, we were able to reach a level that allowed us to gain recognition abroad.” Their success is less known, however, in South Africa, where despite participation in big shows, such as the political and poetic musical Sophiatown, they still struggle to get financial backing. This is especially true in their hometown. “Township dwellers have the right to quality shows, but without the support of the government and the municipality, it’s impossible! It’s a shame that we can not show our last show, Via Kanana. We are talking about the corruption that spreads like  gangrene in this country, and how it starts with our neighborhoods. So, please, help us spread the word!”

Wrapping up the pantsula choreography with the last class, this time with Teboho Moloi, also from Katlehong.

Tembisa Revolution

In Katlehong’s cultural center, a dancer from the Via Katlehong is rehearsing a pantsula choreography.
Via Katlehong

Read Next: Ostinato Records: musical storytelling to rebuild ruined countries

Pantsula : portrait d’une danse contestataire en 5 rencontres

Découvrez les visages contemporains de la pantsula, cette danse emblématique des townships sud-africains, qui rend coup pour coup au dur quotidien. Reportage en Afrique du sud de Jacques Denis (texte) et Pierre Mérimée (photos).

Soulistic Fusion, Soweto Skeleton Movers, Intellectuals Pantsula, Tembisa Revolution, Via Broom, Rozary Productions… Dans la seule agglomération de Joburg, ils sont des milliers de danseurs qui gravitent autour de la bonne centaine de crews de pantsula. Sans compter ceux basés à Durban, au Cap, dans le Free State ou au Botswana… Au coin des rues de tous les townships, cette danse ancrée dans le quotidien rythme la vie depuis des décennies. Ils peuvent démantibuler leur corps, ou juste jongler avec un chapeau mou à la manière d’un footballeur. Le jeu de jambes est d’ailleurs l’une des spécialités de la pantsula. Tout comme les sifflements font partie de la panoplie des modes d’expression de cette danse haute en couleurs.

Au fil des générations, le principe actif de la pantsula est demeuré le même : transcender le moindre geste du quotidien en une chorégraphie tout à la fois théâtralisée et on ne peut plus réaliste. Héler un taxi, c’est un élan. Jouer aux dés, c’est un mouvement. Checker la police, ramasser la mise, déguerpir… Tout est prétexte à la beauté du geste. Tant et si bien que cette danse d’un naturel déconcertant vous fait vite oublier sa virtuosité. Et tous de vous dire : vas-y, c’est pas si difficile ! Faut voir…
 


L’histoire de la pantsula se confond avec celle de Sophiatown, grand quartier mixte de Johannesburg, le coin
hip où écrivains, musiciens de jive et de jazz mais aussi gangsters se côtoyaient. Quand Sophiatown fut rasé en 1955 (pour être rebaptisé Triumph par le régime d’Apartheid, tout un symbole !), les Noirs durent déménager vers d’autres quartiers. « La pantsula est née ainsi, c’était plutôt une subculture qui avait aussi à voir avec la mode. Des jeunes dans les années 1960/70 qui mettaient des vêtements de marques, plutôt anglaises et américaines, des chaussures italiennes, dans le droit fil de Sophiatown. », analyse Daniela Goeller, historienne de l’art et chercheuse associée à l’Université de Paris 1. Tout en accumulant des documents sur la question, cette universitaire qui a beaucoup pratiqué le terrain a créé Impilo Mapantsula, une plate-forme qui réunit plusieurs chorégraphes et vise à favoriser une juste reconnaissance de la pantsula auprès des institutions. « C’est surtout un vrai phénomène de jeunesse », reprend Daniela Goeller. Un mouvement qui enfle depuis les années 1980. Des compagnies se sont créées, et donc des chorégraphies, alors que jusque-là il s’agissait surtout de solos… Depuis quinze ans, elles se sont exportées, notamment en France qui s’est fait le relais de cette danse typiquement urbaine, avec Radio Nova, comme souvent, en éclaireur de tendances.
 

Tembisa, à l’est de Johannesbourg, depuis le Makhulong Stadium.


Un siècle plus tard, l’Appartheid est tombé, mais le culte de la sape tient encore le haut du pavé : les danseurs affichent un style, une classe toute sud-africaine, des codes à respecter. Cette attitude n’est pas sans rappeler celle des Zoot Suiters, les beaux gosses latinos qui défrayèrent la chronique dans les années 1940 sur la côte Ouest américaine et dont l’ultime parangon fut Kid Creole. Hasard ou pas, « tsotsi » – adaptation locale, paraît-il, du mot « Zoot Suit » – signifie « petit criminel » dans l’argot des ghettos, le tsotsitaal : un vernaculaire mélange de tous les langues qui composent les townships…

Daniela Goeller entrevoit d’ailleurs dans cette danse singulièrement multiple la résultante d’un « phénomène de créolisation qui renvoie aux réflexions de l’identité sud-africaine ». Si tous reconnaissent un cousinage avec le hip-hop, qui lui-même se développe en Afrique du Sud (un mix avec la pantsula s’intitule ainsi isbhujwa, texto « is bourgeois »), tous insistent sur le caractère unique de cette danse. Dans son corpus, la pantsula a intégré des traces des danses tribales, notamment basotho, les souvenirs des cabarets interlopes du début du vingtième siècle, des résurgences du lindy hop cher à la Harlem Renaissance, les lourds échos du gumboot, la danse née au fond des mines du Gauteng, les sublimes solos du Hollywood des années 1950, les films de kung-fu aussi… On ne saurait tout à fait énumérer tout ce qui compose la pantsula, qui pour se nourrir à de multiples sources n’en est pas moins en tout point singulière. Comme cette joyeuse ironie qui perce bien souvent au coin d’un sourire, tel un masque pour dire autrement la rude réalité qui perdure dans les townships sud-africains.
 

Rosebank, Afrique du Sud. Le chorégraphe Gregory Maqoma, un des hommes clef de la danse contemporaine en Afrique du Sud.

« La pantsula, c’est notre pop culture. Comme avec le hip-hop aux Etats-Unis, des jeunes ont développé leur propre langue avec leurs corps. » Avant de devenir le chorégraphe post-moderne célébré sur les scènes du monde entier, Gregory Maqoma fut un de ceux-là. « Toutes les danses du township des années 1980 m’ont énormément influencé. Comme Michael Jackson, à l’époque. », confirme le danseur né à Soweto en 1973. « Il y a une réelle humanité dans cette danse : oublier l’âpreté de la réalité, se libérer de ce cauchemar. Mais aussi, comment s’inscrire dans une histoire collective pour supporter tout ça. Il y a une réelle force d’ensemble : c’est un vrai mouvement. » Connu pour ses pièces souvent engagées contre tous les préjugés, comme le formidable solo Exit/Exist, le danseur pédagogue a de qui tenir : son aïeul n’est autre que Chief Maqoma, un illustre chef xhosa qui s’est battu contre les colons britanniques dans les années 1840 et fut enfermé au bagne de  Robben Island, où il mourra en 1873. Sa récente chorégraphie, intitulée Via Kanana, interroge ainsi la question du pouvoir : « Comment il corrompt et pervertit la capacité de pensée, pour ne plus se mettre au service du bien commun… entre les lignes, nous parlons de Zuma et des autres. C’est dans l’ADN de ceux qui accaparent le pouvoir. La black bourgeoisie qui a bénéficié du pouvoir économique… »

Pour cette pièce boostée par une bande-son made in ghetto blaster (entre kwaito abstrait et jive reformulé), il s’est associé à la compagnie Via Katlehong et d’autres danseurs de pantsula, dont il reconnaît volontiers, comme « un souffle d’idées originales », l’influence sur son écriture. « Pour moi le plus important, ce n’était pas de leur apporter de la technique, ils ont tout, mais d’être le catalyseur de toute cette énergie, tout ce potentiel, de le mettre à la surface et jouer avec. Chaque corps porte une histoire, chaque chorégraphie doit pouvoir porter une capacité d’émancipation des esprits. » Depuis, le spectacle tourne dans le monde entier, et il a même été pour la première fois programmé à Johannesburg le 23 février 2018. Enfin. Soit quelques jours après la démission de Jacob Zuma, convaincu de corruption. « J’avais aussi le désir de dire la vérité sur ce que nous vivons, l’environnement dans lequel nous sommes. Ce que nous avons à dire ! Ceux qui vivent dans les townships sont les mieux informés de la situation. » C’est pourquoi aux côtés des danseurs de pantsula, Greg Maqoma a casté deux membres de sa compagnie, basée à Newtown, l’une comme l’autre grandis eux aussi dans la réalité des townships. L’ancrage dans le terrain du réel demeure essentiel. « Pas question de partir du pays : je suis ici pour participer au changement démocratique et inspirer la nouvelle génération afin qu’elle trouve de nouveaux espaces d’expression. Ne plus être spectateur, mais acteur de ce processus. C’est le cas de Via Kanana, une proposition d’autant plus critique qu’elle est interprétée par des born free : ceux qui sont nés après l’Apartheid. »

À Soweto, la compagnie de danse de Lee Leballo, une des membre de Via Katlehong.

On la retrouve un dimanche après-midi dans un parc au fin fond de Naledi, un quartier de Soweto où elle a grandi. Lenela Leballo est à la manœuvre, entourée de son crew, les Intellectuals Pantsula qu’elle a cofondée et qu’elle dirige. « Notre style est différent du style classique, que l’on voit dans la rue. Nous avons intégré plus d’éléments acrobatiques, quelques éléments de breakbeat. »

Du haut de ses vingt-trois ans et de ses déjà plus de dix ans de pratique assidue, elle démontre que les filles entrent désormais dans la danse. D’ailleurs celle qu’on désigne d’un simple « Lee » a commencé en 2007 dans un groupe uniquement constitué de filles, mais reconnaît malgré tout que l’influence de la société et encore plus des parents n’aident pas à franchir le pas. « Dans la communauté noire, les filles sont plutôt poussées à poursuivre leurs études, pas à faire carrière dans les arts. Des jobs « plus professionnels », comme ils disent. Du coup, peu de filles font le pas de réaliser leurs rêves. » Son diplôme de secondaire en poche, mais n’ayant pas les moyens d’aller à l’université (son père travaille dans le bâtiment, sa mère est femme de ménage), la jeune femme d’ethnie Sotho est pourtant passée pro en 2013. Cinq ans plus tard, elle foule les scènes au-delà de son terroir natal. Il lui a fallu travailler, travailler et encore travailler pour s’affirmer dans cet univers aux références parfois « machistes ». « La pantsula a été créée par des hommes, et elle reste dominée par eux. Même si des filles intègrent le groupe, beaucoup font long feu. Cela tient à cette mentalité qui colporte que la pantsula est une danse trop dure pour que nous puissions y arriver. C’est très physique, mais je suis la preuve que c’est possible. »

Bonus, un petit cours de pantsula.
 

Au centre culturel de Katlehong, dans le fief de la compagnie de danse Via Katlehong.

La pantsula, Thato Qofela est tombé dedans quand il était haut comme trois mangues. À cinq ans, en s’inscrivant dans les traces de son grand frère, Thabo « Masapo » Qofela, qui fut un des fondateurs de la compagnie Via Katlehong. « Sa spécialité, c’était de danser comme un pantin très désarticulé, d’où son surnom : masapo signifie os ! » Depuis, si l’aîné ne danse plus, ayant opté pour la production de kwaito, qui est avec la house la bande-son de la pantsula, le cadet a quant à lui continué de creuser ce sillon. À onze ans, il était déjà sur scène comme les grands. « Comme un professionnel, même si ce n’était pas reconnu comme tel ! »

Quelques années plus tard, en 2007, il commencera à vraiment en vivre, à faire sa première tournée en France. Comme un signe ostensible d’une réussite pour celui dont la mère est au chômage et le père à l’usine. À vingt-neuf ans, le jeune homme n’a rien oublié des galères.

« À Katlehong, il y a bien moins d’émeutes, de violences que lorsque j’étais gamin. Ça m’arrivait souvent de croiser sur le chemin de l’école des cadavres. Nous n’avions aucune thérapie proposée, il nous fallait vivre avec. Autant dire que ce n’était pas facile de se concentrer, d’étudier. Je ne souhaite à personne de grandir dans cet environnement criminalisé, avec beaucoup de pauvreté, de drogues, mais cela forge une force de caractère. Et dans ce contexte, danser permet de rester dans le bon chemin. » Comme les autres, il affiche un goût pour les marques : pantalons Dickies, T-shirt Brain Wood, baskets converse, casquette siglée Gucci… le danseur affirme une vraie différence de style. « Il est encore courant que l’on se fasse arrêter et contrôler simplement parce qu’on affiche notre style. La pantsula reste associée à l’image des voyous, surtout dans la tête des blancs. Pourtant, même si l’histoire est associée aux quartiers noirs, cette danse n’est pas une affaire de race : tout le monde est bienvenu ! »

En bonus, la suite des leçons de Pantsula (par Thebza Diphehlo).
 

Au centre culturel de Tembisa, à l’Est de Johannesbourg : la compagnie de danse Tembisa Revolution, cofondée par un des membres de Via Katlehong, Abel Vilakazi.

Ils enchaînent des chorégraphies millimétrées, dans une pièce de quelques mètres carrés qui leur sert de salle de répétition. C’est dans ce centre communautaire, face au stade de foot, que les Tembisa Revolution se retrouvent régulièrement pour mettre au point leur show. Tembisa, c’est un vaste township, à mi-chemin entre Pretoria et Joburg, là où Abel Vilakazi a grandi. Aujourd’hui, le jeune trentenaire est à la tête de ce crew de huit danseurs, créé en 2003. À l’époque il avait déjà six ans de pantsula dans les pattes, et depuis il ne s’est jamais arrêté. « Ce qui n’était qu’un hobby est désormais un boulot pour lequel on travaille dur. » Et aussi une source de revenus pour la famille, avec laquelle la plupart vivent encore. « Nous avons participé à des shows TV, même à la TV nationale, à des pubs aussi, mais l’essentiel demeure les compétitions entre les différents groupes de pantsula… » Ils peuvent ainsi glaner 25 000 rands (1.700 euros) s’ils gagnent le premier prix.

« La pantsula parle sans doute plus à la jeunesse que le gumboot ou les danses plus traditionnelles. Par notre attitude, la passion que nous mettons sur scène, notre manière de danser, par la musique aussi… » Tous admettent une similarité avec le hip-hop, mais aucun ne manque de vous préciser l’antériorité de la pantsula, née dès les années 1950. « Cette danse, c’est une manière de s’exprimer par nous-mêmes, une façon de s’opposer à l’apartheid, d’affirmer une culture… une manière de se parler sans être compris par les flics, et cela remonte à nos grands-parents. Il y avait une dimension politique, une forme de résistance à la culture dominante. C’est encore le cas ! » Pour être artistique, la pantsula n’en est pas moins une expression sociale, celle de communautés qui doivent encore survivre à la périphérie du système. Plafond de verre et lutte contre les préjugés sont loin d’avoir cessé au pays de la nation arc-en-ciel. « Nous transmettons des valeurs aux plus jeunes. La pantsula a une dimension éducative, exemplaire pour suivre d’autres chemins. Nous essayons de produire une révolution dans les mentalités, notamment dans la prévention contre la drogue, le nyaopé que l’on fume, qui est une tentation forte. »

D’ailleurs, il est bientôt 16h, et déjà grand temps pour ce jeune Zulu d’aller dans l’école primaire où il donne des cours plusieurs fois par semaine. Entre deux pantsuleries.
 

Le chorégraphe Buru Mohlabane, au centre culturel de Katlehong.

« Ma légitimité vient de mon quartier. Katlehong est une part de nous-mêmes, et je crois que nous inspirons plein de gamins ici. Nous contribuons beaucoup pour notre communauté, tout comme nous servons à changer l’image de ce quartier. De notre pays lui-même. » Le sourire bienveillant de Buru ne doit pas masquer sa détermination à modifier cet état des lieux, d’où le nom de la compagnie de danse dont il est l’un des deux directeurs artistiques : Via Katlehong. « Une invitation à venir ici, malgré tout ce qu’on dit. » Les préjugés collent à la peau de ce township au sud-est de Joburg, qui fut très associé à la violence durant l’Apartheid, notamment à cause du tribalisme qui opposait les communautés noires (L’Inkhata de Buthelezi  et l’ANC s’y sont affrontées régulièrement). C’est ici qu’a été fondée en 1992 par quatre danseurs de rue cette compagnie de danse, qu’il a intégrée en 1996, et qui est hébergée dans un grand centre d’arts destiné à la communauté. « La culture pantsula a été associée aux gangsters, mais tout le monde ne l’était bien entendu pas. Tous les Italiens font-il partie de la mafia ? », insiste Buru, tout en admettant que la danse lui a sauvé la vie. Texto.

Sous sa direction, Via Katlehong a tourné dans le monde entier, s’est même produit dans des créations avec d’illustres jazzmen, comme Archie Shepp ou récemment encore Shabaka Hutchings. Fort d’une vingtaine de danseurs professionnels, sans compter les jeunes en formation, la compagnie est devenue un symbole de réussite, mais aussi un modèle de structuration pour tous les autres. « Néanmoins, il n’y a toujours aucune reconnaissance officielle de ces danses. Pas d’école, pas de diplôme, et donc peu de perspectives professionnelles. Grâce à notre discipline, notre volonté, nous avons pu atteindre un niveau qui nous a permis une reconnaissance à l’étranger. » Moins en Afrique du Sud, où même s’ils ont participé à de grands shows, comme récemment le musical Sophiatown, un programme politique et poétique, les bâilleurs peinent à miser sur ces danseurs 100% original stylee. Surtout quand il s’agit de proposer une chorégraphie dans leur ville d’origine. « Les habitants des townships ont le droit d’assister à des spectacles de qualité, mais sans soutien du gouvernement et de la municipalité, impossible ! C’est quand une honte que nous ne puissions pas y montrer notre dernier show, Via Kanana. Et pourtant, on y parle de la corruption qui gangrène ce pays, à commencer par nos quartiers. Donc aidez-nous, s’il vous plaît ! »

Bonus : et un dernier petit cours pour la route, cette fois-ci par Teboho Moloi (lui aussi de originaire de Katlehong).
 

Tembisa Revolution

Au centre culturel de Katlehong, un danseur de la compagnie Via Katlehong répète une sequence de Pantsula.
Via Katlehong

Lire ensuite : Quand le Roukaskas casse la baraque…