→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Genesis Owusu shines… without wearing chains
© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

Genesis Owusu shines… without wearing chains

In early March the Australian artist of Ghanian descent released an amazing first album, created from the foundations of a telluric jam-session. Portrait of a man who likes plunging into chaos.

The depth of  Kendrick Lamar, the musicality of Prince,  the fluency of  Miles Davis… (yes indeed !)  The essence of Genesis Owusu : an eclectic artist who composes with his feelings and who is driven to innovate.  His mother is the leader of a gospel choir, his father listens to everything, and his older brother, the hip-hop artist Citizen Kay, was into rock music before turning to rap in his teen years. “I was born in Ghana and I came to Australia very young”, says Genesis Owusu. “And I went back with my family in 2014 and really you know re-experienced the culture ‘cause most of my family is still back in Ghana, and I wanted to go back like in 2020 before Covid happened, but yeah, my relationship with Ghana is very innate, like it’s very much subconscious in my soul I guess, where it influences things that I don’t necessarily think about.”

Genesis Owusu – The Other Black Dog
Young, Gifted and Black in Canberra

Growing up in a country where most of the population is white, it is through the writings of authors committed to civil rights such as Gil Scott-Heron, Maya Angelou  and Langston Hughes, that Genesis Owusu developed his personality in the face of endemic racism. He also started writing at an early age, creating fantasy stories which were a therapeutic tool to express his frustrations, as reflected on his album Smiling with No Teeth.  “The album’s title comes from a poem I wrote a year ago”, explains Genesis Owusu, « and the last lines of the poem were :

First kiss was a fist,
first love was a leech,
crying with no tears and smiling with no teeth

“Smilling with No Teeth”

From punk to funk and hip hop, the album is proof of the artist’s musical diversity.  A child of the internet, he has a wide-ranging musical culture while influenced by figures such Kayne West, Pharrell Williams, André 3000… Artists who opened up new horizons for him after the unavoidable presence of gangstas like 50 Cent or comedian Eddie Murphy, the only two black stars who were truly famous in Canberra in the early 2000’s.

“When you see the arab man, it’s the bombs and flares
When you see the asian man, its the yellow scare
When you see the black man, its riots and terror
But when I talk about slavery, you weren’t there, how convenient”

“I Don’t See Colour”

Fascinated with visual arts, Genesis Owusu is a fanatic of mangas and video games,, particularly Jet Set Radio Future, which he considers his biggest musical influence!  The music tracklist for  the game –  which is a fusion of skates, graffiti tags, and confrontations with police and rival gangs police – is unusually eclectic. “Yeah, I definitely want to do that, 100 %. I want to make my own games, first I want to get like a Fifa soundtrack or something first… there’s actually a new Jet Set Radio Future video game coming out, which is crazy, I’d like to get my music on that !

Genesis Owusu has already experimented with music and video, in “Good Time” (2019). A funky song that comes with a shortlived video game inspired by Temple Run, where a gamer could play with a member of the Goons : “The Goons, everyone does something different so, like while we all design clothes, so like me, I just draw up the design and stuff like that with an actual designer who draws with a pen and another producer who like produced stuff I do, one of them is a photographer who takes all my photos, so it’s like a creative hub and we all help each other in certain ways that we ourselves can’t do alone.” In particular for the clothing label “Pur” launched by the collective, and which is an extension of Genesis Owusu’s philosophy : “When I say ‘pure’ it just means what I want to do without influences like outside, voices telling me I need to make it more marketable for radio or like turn down what I’m talking about, like when I talk about making it pure for me it’s just like straight from my heart and my brain, without a radio station or a label or something like that to tell me what to do.

© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

Perhaps because it sometimes approaches this notion of purity, Japanese animation and its capacity  to deeply question human nature captivates Genesis Owusu : “My favourite movie is an animé movie called The Perfect Blue, and it’s all about this actress who changes professions, this pop singer who changes profession to be an actress, and instead of changing careers, she becomes crazy and sees the difference between the dreams, the reality and the scenes that she’s acting in her movies and since she is the narrator, we can’t tell the difference either and it’s just like this perception VS reality, like figuring out what’s real and what’s not

Smiling with No Teeth

In a different register, Smiling with No Teeth, the young artist’s first album, uses fiction to depict reality, and vice versa. Through the symbol of “Black Dog” the Ghanian-Australian musician addresses subjects such as mental health and racism, depicting them through two Black Dog characters. “It depends which black dog you’re talking about. Definitely for the concept of racism, it’s the violence. And the other is depression and it has to deal with the outside world, evil all the time, it’s about the outside and the reacts on the inside.

If “black dog” is a term signifying depression since Greco-Roman Antiquity and philosophers such as Horace, it is also used on the album because one day Genesis Owusu was insulted and called  “Black Dog”. He decided to create a character based on it to challenge racism, and also to assert his identity,  as Césaire and other writers had in the past through the concept of Negritude. “Definitely, it was a way to reappropriate it, take the control back, yeah like the N-word and yeah take it back from those people and retwist it in my own way.

“She gave her lies
He gave his life
He gave his life
Paid the price
In flashing lights
To gain his rights”

“Easy”

Musically rich, the album is also so through the depth of its subject matter, such as “Easy”, one of the two songs (the other is  “Black Dogs”) that weren’t recorded with the live band. A personification of Australia as a woman both fearsome and destructive. “The History of indigenous people of Australia versus the colonizers has been a brutal violent history that, you know, in school, they don’t really teach us about, it started like very very recently. They have like completely swept so many things under the rug, things that have been happening like in the 90s, you know so it’s quite recent. But at the same time, they do all these stuff and then say to the public like : you know we love the indigenous people, you guys are equal. So yeah the song was definitely pointing out that, like the hypocrisy of that and like how these two points are navigating each other.

Despite the gloomy subject matter, the album is flamboyant and ends with a message of hope : society and its codes create “black dogs” that slow people down. But moving forward is always possible. If you can’t forget your demons, you can learn to live with them, and to smile from ear to ear. Even  without teeth. 

Genesis Owusu – Gold Chains

Nevertheless, to smile with a bandaged face (as on the cover of Genesis Owusu’s new album) and sport gold teeth, since one is toothless otherwise, to show off fancy rings while feeling broken inside, is fate as well. That of a life sentence for those who are afraid of becoming outcasts if they don’t present their best face. The album extends this concept musically as well, hiding dark stories under an explosive and exhilarating musicality. 

Chaos As Genesis

Festive, voluptuous and sometimes rough-edged, Genesis Owusu’s album features  a fusion of funk, punk and rap on the track “The Other Black Dog”, raw, driving and slightly psyché-rock on “Drown” (the only song with a featuring : the Australian rock guitar star Kirin J. Callinan), or flirting between rock, soul and gospel on the irresistible “Smiling with No Teeth”… The artist easily switches  between styles, his voice going smoothing from high to low notes with an accuracy and a flair worthy of the greats, resulting in an album that is both unpredictable and lavish.

Genesis Owosu has had the help of exceptional musicians he had never met before (other than the founder of the Ourness label, his manager Andrew Kippel), locking themselves inside a recording studio for six days.  This short-lived and eclectic band included  guitarist Kirin J. Callinan, the House producer Touch Sensitive on bass, the World Champion duo’s Julian Sudek on drums, and his manager on keyboards. “So, it was me and the band and we got this very trendy studio for 6 days and just played music for about 10 hours a day. They all had their own instruments and I was in the middle, with vocal melodies.

I feel like the chaos is exciting, is fun, it becomes boring when you know what’s gonna happen next so I was just trying to keep it exciting as possible, for everyone, including myself. It’s just why I like driving into the chaos and everything. The whole time, just because of how chaotic it was, I had no idea what anything was going to sound like, what anything was going to turn out to be like.  I never predict that the album would end up sounding what it sounded, which is why I wanted, but yeah like, everyone in the band was like crazy, they were crazy musicians, just like very eccentric wild people.

© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

When most artists dream today of playing before audiences, the young man who performed his first festival date at the age of 15 with his older brother Citizen Kay, played a sold-out 23-date Australian tour in April and May this year.  Still only 22 years old, Genesis Owusu cultivates his curiosity and his creative freedom, wasting no time on boredom. Has he found the means to shine without chains ? 

Whatever the case, it’s better to follow his lead rather than to be caught by his “Black Dogs” and no longer be able to differentiate between the dog and its master.

A tale of black dogs with golden leashes
Broken stories told facetious

Who’s the pet and who’s the teacher?

“The Other Black Dog “

Smiling with No Teeth, on all platforms.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Genesis Owusu brille… sans porter de chaînes
© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

Genesis Owusu brille… sans porter de chaînes

Début mars, l’artiste australien d’origine ghanéenne a publié un premier album renversant, né sur les fondations d’une jam-session tellurique. Portrait d’un homme qui aime plonger dans le chaos.

La profondeur d’un Kendrick Lamar, la musicalité d’un Prince, l’aisance d’un Miles Davis… (rien que ça !) Et bien plus encore. Voici l’essence de Genesis Owusu : un artiste éclectique qui compose à l’émotion et carbure à l’innovation. Sa mère est leader d’une chorale gospel, son père écoute à peu près tout ce qui lui tombe sous la main, et son frère aîné, l’artiste Citizen Kay, a commencé par pratiquer le rock avant de se lancer dans le rap à l’adolescence. « Je suis né au Ghana et je suis arrivé en Australie à l’âge de deux ans », raconte Genesis Owusu. « J’y suis retourné avec ma famille en 2014, je me suis plongé dans la culture et j’y ai rencontré la plupart de ma famille. Ma relation avec le Ghana est innée, comme si ça relevait du subconscient et de mon âme. Elle influence des choses auxquelles je ne pense pas vraiment. »

Genesis Owusu – The Other Black Dog
Young, gifted and black à Canberra

Évoluant dans un pays majoritairement blanc, c’est à travers les écrits d’auteurs engagés pour la cause noire comme Gil Scott-Heron, Maya Angelou ou Langston Hughes que Genesis Owusu se construit face au racisme ambiant. En parallèle, l’écriture qu’il affectionne depuis son plus jeune âge, lorsqu’il écrivait des histoires fantastiques, devient un outil thérapeutique pour exprimer ses frustrations, à l’image de son album Smiling with No Teeth (sourire sans dents). « Le titre de l’album vient des dernières lignes d’un poème que j’ai écrit il y a quelques années, explique Genesis Owusu :

« Le premier baiser fut un coup de poing,
Le premier amour une sangsue,
Pleurer sans larmes, sourire sans dents »

First kiss was a fist,
first love was a leech,
crying with no tears and smiling with no teeth

« Smilling with No Teeth »

Du funk au punk, en passant bien évidemment par le hip-hop, ce projet témoigne de la diversité musicale qu’affectionne l’artiste. Cet enfant d’internet s’est bâti une culture riche tout en trouvant ses références parmi les figures que sont Kanye West, Pharrell Williams, André 3000… De quoi lui ouvrir d’autres voies que celles tracées par les images du gangster à la 50 Cent ou du comique de service à la Eddie Murphy, les deux seuls noirs vraiment connus à Canberra dans les années 2000.

« Quand tu vois un Arabe, ce sont les bombes et les fusées éclairantes
Quand tu vois un Asiatique, c’est la peur du jaune
Quand tu vois un noir, ce sont les émeutes et la terreur
Mais quand je parle d’esclavage, tu n’est pas là, comme c’est pratique
»

« I Don’t See Colour »

Fasciné par les arts visuels, Genesis Owusu s’abreuve de mangas et jeux vidéos, notamment Jet Set Radio Future qu’il considère comme sa plus grande influence… musicale ! La tracklist de ce jeu qui mélange roller, tags et affrontements avec la police ou des bandes rivales, est d’un éclectisme hors du commun. « J’aimerais faire mon propre jeu confie Genesis Owusu. Déjà, j’aimerais avoir un son dans la tracklist d’un jeu comme FIFA… L’année prochaine, un nouveau Jet Set Radio Future devrait arriver, j’adorerais placer un morceau dessus. »

Une fusion artistique que Genesis Owusu avait déjà expérimentée avec « Good Time » (2019). Un morceau funky accompagné d’un jeu vidéo éphémère, inspiré par Temple Run où l’on joue avec un membre des Goons : « The Goons c’est notre collectif créatif : il y a un producteur, un photographe/vidéaste, un qui dessine des vêtements et un autre qui les fabrique… on s’entraide. » Notamment pour la marque Pur lancée par le collectif et qui prolonge la philosophie de Genesis Owusu : « Être pur, pour moi, ça signifie simplement faire ce que j’ai envie de faire. Que ça vienne directement de mon cœur et mon cerveau, sans influences ou voix extérieures qui me disent que je dois rendre ma musique plus commerciale pour la radio ou modifier le contenu de mes paroles… »

© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

Peut-être parce qu’elle s’approche parfois de cette notion de pureté, l’animation japonaise et sa capacité à questionner la nature humaine en profondeur captive Genesis Owusu : « Mon film préféré est l’animé Perfect Blue. Il raconte l’histoire d’une chanteuse pop qui change de carrière pour devenir actrice. Et à travers ce changement, elle tombe peu à peu dans la folie : elle ne voit plus la différence entre les rêves, la réalité, et les scènes qu’elle joue dans son propre film. Ca questionne la perception de la réalité, sans même que nous puissions faire la différence. »

Smiling with No Teeth

Dans un autre registre, Smiling with No Teeth, le premier album de ce jeune artiste, se sert de la fiction pour dépeindre la réalité et inversement. En reprenant la figure du « Black Dog », l’artiste ghanéo australien aborde les questions de santé mentale et du racisme en les représentant à travers deux personnages : « Le Black Dog, qui représente le racisme, est le produit de la violence et de l’incompréhension de la société », explique Genesis Owusu. « Et ça alimente l’autre Black Dog, qui représente la dépression. Ça parle de nos rapports avec le monde extérieur et nos démons en montrant la façon dont on réagit à l’intérieur de soi. »

Si le concept de « chien noir » désigne la dépression depuis l’antiquité romaine et des auteurs comme Horace, c’est aussi parce qu’un jour quelqu’un l’a insulté, en le traitant de « Black Dog », que Genesis Owusu a décidé d’en faire un personnage pour aborder la question du racisme, et surtout, s’affirmer, comme pouvaient le faire Césaire et ses comparses à travers le concept de Négritude : « Comme le N word (Negro en anglais, NDLR), c’était un moyen de me le réapproprier et de reprendre le contrôle », explique Genesis Owusu.

« Elle lui a offert des mensonges
Il lui a offert sa vie
Dans la lumière aveuglante
Pour gagner ses droits »

« Easy »

Riche musicalement, l’album l’est également dans la profondeur des sujets abordés, comme en témoigne « Easy », l’un des deux morceaux (avec « Black Dogs ») qui n’ont pas été produits avec le live band. Une personnification de l’Australie en une femme aussi redoutable que destructrice : « L’histoire des indigènes d’Australie contre les colons a été brutale et violente. Mais à l’école, ils n’en parlent pas vraiment. Ce n’est que récemment qu’ils ont commencé d’en parler. Et ils ont balayé énormément d’atrocités commises par les colons. D’un côté ils disent en public “nous aimons les indigènes, vous êtes nos égaux”, mais leurs actions ne suivent pas leurs paroles. Donc la chanson pointe cette hypocrisie, et comment les deux parties naviguent l’une vis-à-vis de l’autre. »

Malgré la morosité des sujets abordés, l’album est haut en couleur et se conclut sur une touche d’espoir : la société et ses codes créent des « black dogs » qui nous ralentissent. Mais avancer est toujours possible. Si on ne peut oublier ses démons, on peut apprendre à vivre avec, et avoir le sourire jusqu’aux oreilles. Même édenté.

Genesis Owusu – Gold Chains

Néanmoins, sourire le visage bandé (à l’image de la pochette du nouvel album de Genesis Owusu) avec des dents en or, à défaut d’en avoir de vraies, et arborer fièrement de brillantes bagues, alors qu’à l’intérieur tout est brisé, relève aussi de la fatalité. Celle d’une condamnation à vie pour ceux qui craignent d’être désocialisés, s’ils ne se montrent pas sous leur meilleur jour. Musicalement aussi, l’album prolonge ce concept en cachant des thèmes dramatiques sous une musicalité explosive et vivifiante.

Le chaos comme genèse

Pétillant, voluptueux et parfois rugueux, l’album de Genesis Owusu fusionne funk, punk et rap sur « The Other Black Dog », donne dans le rock brut et entraînant, légèrement psyché sur « Drown » (l’unique featuring, aux côtés de la star du rock australien Kirin J. Callinan) ou flirte entre soul, funk et gospel sur l’irrésistible « Smiling with No Teeth »… L’artiste change de registre, passe avec aisance des aigus aux graves avec une justesse et une prestance digne des plus grands, et révèle un projet aussi imprévisible que somptueux.

Genesis Owosu s’est appuyé sur des musiciens de génie qu’il n’avait jamais rencontrés (à part le fondateur du label Ourness, son manager Andrew Kippel) avant de s’enfermer six jours durant avec eux en studio. Dans ce band aussi éphémère qu’inédit, il y avait Kirin J. Callinan à la guitare, le producteur de house Touch Sensitive à la basse, le champion du monde Julian Sudek à la batterie et enfin son manager au clavier : « Nous sommes allés dans un home studio exigu pendant six jours en jouant environ 10 heures par jour. Juste à transpirer et faire de la musique. Chacun avait son instrument, j’étais au milieu à faire des mélodies vocales et trouver des paroles. »

© Sarah Chin (The Annex)

« J’aime plonger dans le chaos, c’est excitant et amusant », confie Genesis Owusu. « Mais ça devient ennuyant de savoir ce qui arrive ensuite. Donc je veux que ça reste aussi excitant que possible pour tous, y compris moi-même. Tout du long, je n’avais aucune idée de la façon dont les choses allaient sonner. Et c’est ce que je voulais. Dans le groupe, tous les musiciens sont fous et excentriques.. » En résulte — après un an pour le parfaire — un projet époustouflant, de la pochette à la musicalité, en passant par le scénario, les textes et l’interprétation : « Avant ça, je ne faisais que des singles. Ça a été libérateur de faire cet album. C’est le seul format avec lequel j’ai eu la sensation de me représenter entièrement. »

Alors que la majeure partie des artistes rêvent de jouer devant leur public, celui qui a fait son premier festival à l’âge de 15 ans aux côtés de son frère Citizen Kay, entame une tournée de 23 dates, à guichets fermés, à partir du 9 avril. À seulement 22 ans, Genesis Owusu cultive sa curiosité et sa liberté de création tout en fuyant l’ennui. Aurait-il trouvé le moyen de briller sans chaînes ? Quoi qu’il en soit, mieux vaut le suivre, avant d’être rattrapé par ses « Black Dogs » au point de ne plus différencier l’animal de compagnie du maître.

« Une récit de chiens noirs avec des laisses en or
Des destins brisées racontées avec facétie
Qui est l’animal de compagnie et qui est le maître ?
 »

« The Other Black Dog »

Smiling with No Teeth, disponible sur toutes les plateformes.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé