→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
“Georgia on My Mind”: the spirit of Ray Charles returns to the south
Ray Charles, Hamburger Musikhalle, September 1971 © Heinrich Klaffs

“Georgia on My Mind”: the spirit of Ray Charles returns to the south

Each week during Black History month PAM will be celebrating by looking at a seminal piece of black American music that helps tell the story of the United States. Today its “Georgia on My Mind” by Ray Charles.

In 1960, when Ray Charles reprised this ballad, he put a totally new spin on the popular American song. He sang about the state of Georgia where he grew up, a segregationist state whose racist policies he was still subject to at the time. Sixty years later, in the midst of the American election campaign, the song he made famous still resonates in people’s minds…

60 years later, Georgia is still here

3rd November 2020 – the day of the American presidential elections in the state of Georgia, where interminable queues stretched out in front of the polling stations. Some voters had to wait almost 12 hours before posting their ballot in the box. This was no accident. In large cities like Atlanta – with largely African-American populations – the Republican state government had ensured that there were far fewer polling stations per capita in black neighbourhoods, in order to discourage voters who were more likely to cast their votes for the Democrats. But in the wake of this election, two world-renowned black figures have emerged from Georgia. There was always the immense Ray Charles, eternally associated with the song “Georgia on My Mind”, which he sang at every single one of his concerts (he must have sung it more than 10,000 times!), but since 2020, Georgia also has Stacey Abrahams, an energetic 46-year-old Democratic lawyer, who has been making headlines thanks to her years of pushing African-Americans to vote, enough to swing the election! She has definitely put Georgia on our minds, thanks to her long term work in this southern state of the United States, once the seat of a terrible segregation that still manages to rear its ugly head when it comes to electoral boundaries. Newly elected president Joe Biden and his vice-president Kamala Harris, an avowed fan of black music, paid tribute to Georgia and the state’s genius in their victory montage, directed by Lorraine O’Grady, a heroine of the Harlem parades. There are no images of the two winners, victorious in Washington, D.C. Instead there are average Americans appearing in a golden frame to the tune of “America The Beautiful”, performed by the legendary Ray Charles in a tribute to the country’s newfound unity. And it’s quite a symbol because Charles and his song “Georgia on My Mind” really were on everyone’s mind during the campaign. In the predominantly Republican state, the song could be heard everywhere during the campaign.

Ray Charles – Georgia on My Mind live 1960
On route to Georgia

I said, Georgia, oh, Georgia, no peace I find. Just an old, sweet song, keeps Georgia on my mind.” Although he didn’t write the song, it was Ray Charles who knew how to popularise it. With his unique style and his stunning, crooning voice, he turned it into an anthem about the ghosts that haunt those who’ve experienced the racism of the south and still have ‘no peace’. It was originally a jazzy song written in the 1930s by two white composers: Stuart Gorrel, (a banker from New York) and Hoagy Carmichael (a songwriter also known for “Stardust” and “Winter Moon”). But it was Ray Charles who gave it the political, melancholic, strange and deeper meaning that the song is known for today (even if others such as Louis Armstrong, Deep Purple, Billie Holiday and James Brown have also sung it). For Ray Charles’ version of “Georgia on My Mind”, it all began in 1960. The blind pianist and singer had already released a few hits, including “What I’d Say”, when he decided to take up this popular ballad and include it on the album The Genius Hits the Road, a ‘concept album’ paying tribute to different locations. The idea of singing “Georgia” came to him from his driver who heard the Genius humming the song all the time. In the end, far more than “New York My Home” or “Blue Hawaii”, which were expected to be the album’s hits, it was “Georgia on My Mind” that eclipsed all the other tracks, thanks to the power of its interpretation and the intense emotion Ray Charles puts into it. As we’re listening to it we can understand that what haunts his mind is his state and not, in fact, a girl named Georgia (which was perhaps the case in the original song because it was the first name of the sister of one of the authors).

The colour of political…feeling

A political event would propel Ray Charles’ version even further, barely a year after its release. In 1961, Ray Charles was due to play in Augusta, Georgia, in the midst of segregation. Activists warned him that the theatre was strictly reserved for a white-only audience. So Ray Charles decided not to play that night. Like Sam Cooke and others who refused to sing in front of all-white audiences, he was torn between his mainstream celebrity and his ‘inferior condition’ as a black man, kept in perpetual subjugation by segregationist laws. And, like the others, he juggled the contradictions of this shameful period in his country’s history where his style and his voice brought him fame beyond the African-American community, which was itself shocked by his perceived sexualisation of gospel music at the beginning of his career. After having refused to play the Augusta concert, the artist was fined $700 by the show’s producer. It would be years before he would play in Georgia again. But “Georgia on My Mind” became the symbol of his activism, and Ray Charles became a symbolic figure for the black American community and the struggle for civil rights. Despite risks to his career he got closer to Martin Luther King, and no longer accepted concerts performed in segregated theatres. In 1975, in the show Sounds Unlimited, he explained that he had suffered a lot from segregation: ‘It’s a very sad thing for a country like the United States. It’s the most abject thing I had to live with growing up in the South. The most terrible thing was not being able to go where I wanted to go, not being able to eat where I wanted to eat.’ As with all his concerts, (including the last one he gave in Paris in 2002), Ray Charles played “Georgia on My Mind” at the Salle Pleyel in Paris in 1970. A few years later, the song was to get yeat another fresh breath of political life. In 1979, fifteen years after the Jim Crow laws had been abolished, the state of Georgia apologised to the singer and chose his song as its official state anthem. In 2007, four years after Ray Charles’ death in Los Angeles, a bronze statue of him was unveiled in Albany, Georgia the city where he was born, in the middle of a brand new $2 million square named after him. Whether it had been his intention or not, Ray Charles had reconciled two worlds that for a long time could not exist side by side in Georgia: the white mass consumerist culture and the African-American gospel communities, the descendants of slaves who worked on Georgia’s plantations. Today, they all have the right to vote and…to consume.

Unavailable on streaming platforms for several years, the master recording of this iconic song is now realeased thanks to the Ray Charles Foundation, Exceleration Music, Tangerine Records and IDOL.

Ray Charles – Georgia on My Mind
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
« Georgia on My Mind » : l’esprit de Ray Charles revient en Géorgie
Ray Charles, Hamburger Musikhalle, Septembre 1971 © Heinrich Klaffs

« Georgia on My Mind » : l’esprit de Ray Charles revient en Géorgie

Pour célébrer le Black History month, chaque semaine, PAM revient sur un morceau phare de la musique noire américaine qui rencontre l’Histoire des États-Unis. Aujourd’hui, « Georgia on My Mind » par Ray Charles.

En 1960, quand il reprend cette ballade, Ray Charles offre une nouvelle lecture à cette chanson populaire américaine. Il chante l’état de Géorgie qui l’a vu grandir, un état ségrégationniste dont il subit alors encore la politique raciste. Soixante ans plus tard, en pleine campagne électorale américaine, la chanson qu’il a rendue célèbre résonnait encore dans les esprits…

60 ans plus tard, Georgia est toujours là 

3 novembre 2020, le jour des élections présidentielles américaines dans l’État de Géorgie, des files interminables s’étirent devant les bureaux de vote. Certains électeurs doivent patienter près de douze heures avant de glisser leur bulletin dans l’urne. Et ce n’est pas un accident. Dans les grandes villes comme Atlanta – largement afro-américaine —, le gouvernement républicain de l’état avait veillé à ce qu’il y ait beaucoup moins de lieux de vote par habitant dans les quartiers noirs, histoire de décourager les électeurs qui ont plutôt l’habitude de porter leurs suffrages vers le camp démocrate. Mais depuis cette élection, la Géorgie a désormais deux figures noires mondialement connues. Il y avait l’immense Ray Charles, éternellement associé à la chanson « Georgia on My Mind » qu’il chantait à chacun de ses concerts (il l’aurait chantée plus de 10 000 fois !), mais depuis 2020, la Géorgie a aussi Stacey Abrahams, une énergique avocate démocrate de 46 ans, qui a fait parler de son état en faisant basculer les élections, car depuis des années elle a poussé les Afro-Américains à voter ! Elle a définitivement mis Georgia on our minds, grâce son travail de longue haleine dans cet état du sud des États-Unis, autrefois siège d’une ségrégation terrible qui transparait encore dans les découpages électoraux. Le nouveau président élu Joe Biden et sa vice-présidente Kamala Harris, ouvertement fan de black music, ont d’ailleurs rendu hommage à la Géorgie et au Génius de cet état dans leur clip de victoire, réalisé par Lorraine O’Grady’s, héroïne des parades d’Harlem. On n’y voit aucune image des deux héros victorieux à Washington, mais uniquement des Américains moyens, qui apparaissaient dans un cadre doré, sur la chanson « America The Beautiful », interprétée par l’immense Ray Charles. Clin d’œil à l’unité retrouvée du pays. Et c’est tout un symbole car Ray Charles et sa chanson « Georgia on My Mind » ont vraiment été dans tous les esprits pendant cette campagne qui s’est en grande partie jouée dans cet état du sud, majoritairement républicain depuis des années.

Ray Charles – Georgia on My Mind live 1960
Sur la route de Georgia

« Géorgie, Géorgie, je n’ai pas trouvé la paix. C’est juste cette vieille chanson qui garde la Géorgie dans mon esprit » : c’est bien Ray Charles qui a su populariser ce refrain, même s’il n’en est pas l’auteur. Avec son style unique et sa voix renversante de crooner tranquille, il en a fait un hymne sur les fantômes qui hantent ceux qui ont connu le sud raciste des États-Unis « sans y trouver la paix ». À l’origine c’est une chanson jazzy qui a été écrite dans les années 30 par deux compositeurs blancs : Stuart Gorrel, (un banquier de New York) et Hoagy Carmichael (un songwriter à qui on doit aussi les titres « Startdust » et « Winter Moon »), mais c’est Ray Charles qui va lui donner la portée politique, mélancolique, étrange et si profonde qu’on lui connaît aujourd’hui (même si d’autres comme Louis Armstrong, Deep Purple, Billie Holiday ou James Brown l’ont aussi chantée). Pour le « Georgia on My Mind » de Ray Charles, tout commence en 1960. Le pianiste et chanteur aveugle a alors déjà signé quelques tubes, dont « What I’d Say », et il décide de reprendre cette ballade populaire pour l’intégrer à l’album The Genius Hits the Road qui est un « album concept » pour rendre hommage à différents lieux. L’idée de chanter la Géorgie lui aurait été soufflée par son chauffeur qui entendait le Genius fredonner ce morceau en permanence. Finalement, plus que « New York My Home » ou « Blue Hawaii » pressenti comme hit sur cet album, c’est « Georgia on My Mind » qui éclipse tous les autres morceaux par la puissance de son interprétation et l’émotion intense que Ray Charles y met. Quand on l’écoute, on comprend bien que ce qui hante son esprit, c’est son état, et pas une fille nommée Georgia (ce qui est peut-être le cas dans la chanson originale car c’était le prénom de la sœur d’un des auteurs). 

La couleur des sentiments… politiques

Un évènement politique va propulser la version de Ray Charles encore plus loin, à peine un an après sa sortie. En 1961, Ray Charles doit jouer à Augusta, en Géorgie, en pleine ère de ségrégation. Des militants le préviennent que la salle est strictement réservée à un public blanc. Ray Charles décide alors de ne pas jouer ce soir-là. Comme Sam Cooke et d’autres qui refusent de chanter devant un public uniquement composé de spectateur blancs, il est partagé entre sa célébrité mainstream et sa « condition inférieure » de noir que les lois ségrégationnistes maintiennent dans la relégation perpétuelle. Et comme eux, il jongle avec les contradictions d’une époque scandaleuse tout en conquérant un public charmé par son style et sa voix qui dépasse la communauté afro-américaine, qui, elle, est choquée par la sexualisation de son gospel à ses débuts. Après avoir refusé de faire le concert d’Augusta, l’artiste écope d’une amende de 700 dollars par le producteur du spectacle, et il ne jouera plus en Géorgie pendant des années. Mais cette chanson devient le symbole de son engagement, et Ray Charles devient une personnalité symbolique pour la communauté noire américaine et la lutte pour les droits civiques. Malgré les risques pour sa carrière, il se rapproche de Martin Luther King, et n’accepte plus de se produire dans les salles ségréguées. En 1975, dans l’émission Sounds Unlimited, il explique avoir beaucoup souffert de la ségrégation : « C’est quelque chose de très triste pour un pays comme les États-Unis. C’est la chose la plus abjecte avec laquelle j’ai dû vivre en grandissant dans le Sud. Le plus terrible c’était de ne pas pouvoir aller où je voulais, ni manger où je voulais. » Comme à tous ces concerts (y compris le dernier qu’il a donné à Paris en 2002), Ray Charles a joué « Georgia on My Mind » à la salle Pleyel à Paris en 1970. Quelques années plus tard, le titre va encore connaître une nouvelle vie politique. En 1979, alors que les lois Jim Crow ont déjà été abolies depuis quinze ans, la Géorgie présente ses excuses au chanteur et choisit cette chanson comme hymne officiel de l’état. En 2007, quatre ans après la mort de Ray Charles à Los Angeles, une statue de bronze à son effigie a été inaugurée en Géorgie, à Albany, la ville où il est né, sur une place flambant neuve à deux millions de dollars, qui porte son nom. Qu’il l’ait souhaité ou non, Ray Charles y réconcilie deux mondes qui ne pouvaient se côtoyer pendant longtemps en Géorgie : la culture consumériste blanche de masse et les communautés gospel afro-américaines des descendants d’esclaves qui travaillaient dans les plantations de Géorgie. Aujourd’hui, ils ont le droit de voter et… de consommer.

Introuvable durant plusieurs années, l’enregistrement original de cette chanson iconique est désormais disponible en streaming grâce à la Ray Charles Foundation, Exceleration Music, Tangerine Records et IDOL.

Ray Charles – Georgia on My Mind
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé