Le Guess Who? Festival: the way forward

Both uncompromising and genre-defying, the highly influential Le Guess Who? festival celebrated its 13th edition between November 7th – 10th in Utrecht, Netherlands, under miraculous sunshine. We report from inside of the exemplary festival.

Embrace the unknown

Each year in November, in the charming city of Utrecht, dozens of question marks begin to pop up along the canals. This “?” is the emblem of “Le Guess Who?”, whose main intention is to bemuse both the audience and the artists with a free-spirited, international and unconventional lineup – cleverly avoiding the most common mistake festivals usually commit: a feeling of déjà-vu. “More and more, each year, people come to Le Guess Who? and say ‘I don’t know 90% of the bands but that’s why I am going’. People like to be challenged a little bit, they like to experience something that takes them slightly out of their comfort zones, confesses Barry Spooren, Head of Promotion of the festival that was founded by Bob van Heur (artistic director) and Johan Gijsen (general director). Two hundred artists, and 61 different nationalities to (re)discover over four days, even for those with refined ears – whose expectations are sometimes hard to please – who will also find satisfaction here. Among the 20,598 festival-goers, some come to see their record collection perform live, others to challenge their musical understanding. “Embrace the unknown” is the official mantra of the festival.

Arp Frique by Tim van Veen


In what has now become a tradition, Le Guess Who? gave artist-curators a carte blanche to share their musical universe without limitations. Among them, Patrick Higgins, Fatoumata Diawara and Moon Duo: a key feature of the festival that has broadened its horizon with each new edition. But the greatest strength of Le Guess Who? undoubtedly lies in its ability to break all music genre boundaries. In light of this, Chris Eckman – co-founder of Glitterbeat Records –, enthuses: Ustad Saami sitting next to Earth, why not? This is the way forward; we need to abandon genres. I start to see that Le Guess Who? is influencing other festivals.”

A highly influential player when it comes to this terrain, Le Guess Who? offers a refreshing experience by inviting artists for whom genre has never constituted a criteria in their production, such as Arp Frique and their improvised suites for analogue instruments; Holly Herndon’s traditional polyphonies remixed by an artificial intelligence device; and Angel Bat Dawid, the great syncretic oracle who gave some of this year’s best performances – in the street, perched with Makaya McCraven on a wobbly carriage; in a center for modern art; and on the Cloud 9 stage a few hours after Björk’s performance
 

Angel Bat Dawid by Rogier Boogaard



Synergy in the city

In harmony with the city, Le Guess Who? has continuously reinvented itself by expanding artistic ventures in no less than forty different spaces.The setting of Utrecht and the city itself, the atmosphere in the city is a really important fact for our visitors. We think it’s important to give back to the local community, continues Barry Spooren. It’s true Utrecht is a charming city, battered by November’s icy winds, filled with young people for whom cycling has become second nature. In the “Mini-Who” and the “Untitled” days, Le Guess Who? took over churches, cinemas, music clubs, art galleries, record stores, restaurants, art centers, clothing shops… and even volunteers’ living rooms in order to gather participants together for a good slice of Gouda [the Netherlands’ national cheese; author’s note].

ZONAL feat. Moor Mother & Nazamba


During a late afternoon detour we made to Kaapital – a trendy and relaxed “third place” where visitors hang around in between a conference-debate and a silkscreen workshop – we came across the American activist and poet Moor Mother in the midst of an improvisational performance with trumpet player Jaimie Branch; whilst in BAK, other festival-goers were participating in a meditation session in the center of a contemporary art exhibit. But the heart of Le Guess Who? is located in Tivoli-Vredenburg, an imposing, architecturally unique complex with six high-end concert venues, including the octagonal Grote Zaal space – usually dedicated to classical music concerts – which this year hosted the radiant riddims of the Japanese “mini” big band Minyo Crusaders and Dur Dur Band’s Somali funk, the latter offering a very underwhelming concert.


Representing the under-represented

One of the challenges that the Le Guess Who? team laid down to themselves, was to ensure that the audience is as mixed as the lineup, in other words, that members of the local diasporas attend the festival. This is one of the reasons why Le Guess Who? invited Ustad Saami, Dur Dur Band, the Indian icon Asha Puthli, Grupo Pilon’s electro-funaná and in particular Ayalew Mesfin, a legend of  Ethiopian funk and a great activist who had not performed for over 40 years. As early as the beginning of the ’70s, he and his band were selling out venues all over the country. When the Derg came to power in 1974, Ayalew Mesfin began his resistance against the dictatorship, through music of course, which led him to being imprisoned and placed under house arrest for thirteen years. “Everybody knows him, even the new generation!” exclaims a London-based Ethiopian fan, who came specially for the occasion, before adding, solemnly: ”He’s a true hero for us.” That evening, Ayalew Mesfin, to the point of tears, was triumphant, allowing himself to walk amongst the audience, dancing to the happiness of newfound sensations. The fight was won.

Ayalew Mesfin by Tim van Veen


“We tend to invite artists who have made an impact on a certain genre, sound, or musical development throughout history. A lot of the artists that we present at Le Guess Who? might not yet be very well known but [they] have a really rich history [that] deserves to be heard. If these types of forgotten stories are the specialty of a handful of labels such as Strut Records, Analog Africa or Ostinato Records, Le Guess Who? has closely been following their work: this year, for example, the festival invited Pakistani singer Ustad Saami and his sons to perform at Jacobikerk, a Protestant church in the city center of Utrecht. Where he’s been singing and teaching every day at his home in Karachi, the master only released his first record at 75 years old: the aptly-titled God Is Not a Terrorist (Glitterbeat Records, 2019), recorded with the help of North American producer-explorer Ian Brennan who tracked him down in Pakistan. Custodian to a very ancient musical heritage, Ustad Saami combines traditional Vedic songs and Sufi qawwalî through impressive improvised vocal arabesques, following a perfectly mastered 49-note microtonal system.

Le Guess Who? by By Melanie Marsman


We say to each other, ‘representing the under-represented’ is an important focus for us. I really try to stay close to those ideals. Even though we’re a growing festival, it’s really important for us to stay connected to ‘Why are we here? Why is Le Guess Who? on this planet?’, so to say,” continues Barry Spooren. So Le Guess Who? without compromise invites up-and-coming, emerging, old, unknown, unusual, non-standard and queer individuals and artists, some reluctant to the use of social networks. Among them: Portuguese label Príncipe Discos’ producers Marfox, Nídia (formerly known as Nídia Minaj) and Firmeza who set the tempo for the evening in Utrecht, through Basis club’s stroboscopic smoke. Although it was born in the ghettos of Lisbon, batida has become the sound signature of Príncipe Discos and has conquered, since then, city centers across the world: “In the ghettos of Lisbon, you have people from Sao Tomé, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Angola, Cape Verde, Portuguese people… I am no Portuguese, I am no African. I am from Lisbon. This music gives me this identity, and I feel love for this sound. It is our flag. This is the sound of the ex-colonized; this is the sound of the ghettos of Lisbon,” proudly concludes Marfox. Once again and up until the final concert on Sunday evening, the room is full, the audience in full communion with the music.

So, now get ready to buy your tickets! Le Guess Who?’s next edition will take place in Utrecht from 12 to 15 November 2020. Le Guess Who? is a must.

A few highly talked-about performances, that we regret to have missed: Mark Ernestus’ Ndagga Rhythm Force, Asha Puthli et Tengger.

 

Le Guess Who by Melanie Marsman
Bjork by Tim van Veen

Le Guess Who? Festival : l’exemple à suivre

Prescripteur, sans compromis et au-delà du genre, Le Guess Who? Festival célébrait sa 13e édition du 7 au 10 novembre dernier à Utrecht aux Pays-Bas sous un soleil miraculeux. Reportage au cœur d’un festival exemplaire.

Photo : Ayalew Mesfin by Tim van Veen


Se saisir de l’inconnu
 

Chaque année en novembre, la charmante ville d’Utrecht aux Pays-Bas voit fleurir des dizaines de points d’interrogation au détour de ses canaux. C’est l’emblème du festival « Le Guess Who? » dont la mission principale consiste à dérouter son public autant que ses artistes grâce à une programmation curieuse, internationale et hors norme — déjouant brillamment le pire virus qu’un festival puisse contracter : le déjà-vu. « Chaque année, de plus en plus de festivaliers nous disent, “je ne connais pas 90% des artistes et c’est pour ça que je viens au Guess Who?” Les gens aiment être mis au défi, faire l’expérience de choses qui les sortent un peu de leur zone de confort” confie Barry Spooren, à la tête des opérations avec le programmateur Bob van Heur. Deux cents artistes, 61 nationalités à (re)découvrir sur quatre jours : même les spécialistes — alias les pointus — dont les exigences sont parfois complexes à satisfaire trouvent ici de quoi se nourrir. Parmi les 20 598 festivaliers, certains viennent voir leur collection de disques en live, d’autres mettre à l’épreuve leurs certitudes. Se saisir de l’inconnu, voilà le mantra du festival.

Arp Frique by Tim van Veen


C’est une tradition, Le Guess Who? offre par ailleurs des cartes blanches à des artistes-curateurs afin qu’ils partagent sans aucune restriction ce qui compose leurs univers musicaux. Parmi eux, Patrick Higgins, Fatoumata Diawara ou encore Moon Duo : un atout majeur pour le festival qui élargit ainsi son propre horizon un peu plus à chaque nouvelle édition. Mais la grande force du Guess Who? Festival réside sans aucun doute dans sa capacité à s’affranchir de la question du genre musical. À ce sujet, Chris Eckman — cofondateur de Glitterbeat Records — s’enthousiasme : « Ustad Saami à côté de Earth : pourquoi pas ? C’est la voie à suivre, on doit abandonner les genres. Le Guess Who? commence à influencer d’autres festivals et c’est vraiment très important. »

Prescripteur en la matière, Le Guess Who? propose donc une expérience renouvelée en invitant des artistes qui ont eux-mêmes dépassé la question depuis longtemps, à l’image d’Arp Frique et ses suites improvisées pour instruments analogiques ; des polyphonies traditionnelles d’Holly Herndon remixées par une intelligence artificielle ; ou d’Angel Bat Dawid, grande oracle syncrétique qui aura offert au festival plusieurs de ses meilleurs concerts — dans la rue sur une carriole branlante avec Makaya McCraven, dans un centre d’art moderne, et sur la scène du Cloud 9 quelques heures après Björk.

Angel Bat Dawid by Rogier Boogaard



Quand la ville est une scène

En synergie avec la ville, Le Guess Who? ne cesse de se réinventer en multipliant les propositions artistiques dans pas moins de quarante lieux. « Le décor de la ville en elle-même, son atmosphère, est un facteur très important pour les festivaliers et cela l’est tout autant de rendre la pareille aux habitant.e.s, » poursuit Barry Spooren. Il est vrai qu’Utrecht est adorable dans le vent piquant de novembre, peuplée de jeunes gens pour qui pédaler semble être une seconde nature. Avec le « Mini-Who » et les journées « Untitled », Le Guess Who? investit églises, cinémas, clubs, galeries, disquaires, restaurants, centres d’art, boutiques de vêtements… jusqu’aux salons d’habitants volontaires pour favoriser les rencontres autour d’une bonne tartine de gouda [le fromage national ; NDLR].

ZONAL feat. Moor Mother & Nazamba


Lors d’un crochet par Kaapital, tiers-lieu branché pour zoner à la cool entre une conférence-discussion et un atelier de sérigraphie, on tombe au cœur de l’après-midi sur l’activiste et poète américaine Moor Mother en pleine session d’improvisation avec la trompettiste Jaimie Branch, tandis qu’à BAK, d’autres participent à une séance de méditation au milieu d’une exposition d’art contemporain. Mais le cœur du Guess Who? se situe au Tivoli-Vredenburg, un imposant complexe à l’architecture exceptionnelle doté de six salles de concert dernière génération, dont l’octogonale Grote Zaal — d’ordinaire dédiée à la musique classique — qui accueillait cette année notamment les riddims chaloupés du mini big band japonais Minyo Crusaders ou le funk somalien du Dur Dur Band pour un concert très décevant.


Représenter les non représentés

Un des défis que se donne par ailleurs le Guess Who? : faire en sorte que son public soit aussi métissé que sa programmation, c’est-à-dire que les membres des diasporas locales viennent au festival. Voilà donc en partie pour quoi Le Guess Who? invitait Ustad Saami, Dur Dur Band, l’icône indienne Asha Puthli, l’électro-funaná de Grupo Pilon mais surtout Ayalew Mesfin, légende du funk éthiopien et grand activiste qui n’était pas monté sur scène depuis plus de 40 ans. Dès le début des années 70, il tourne à guichets fermés avec son groupe dans tout le pays. Lorsque le Derg arrive au pouvoir en 1974, Ayalew Mesfin entre en résistance contre la dictature, en musique bien sûr, ce qui lui vaut d’être emprisonné puis placé en résidence surveillée pendant 13 ans. « Tout le monde le connaît, même la nouvelle génération ! » s’exclame un Éthiopien installé à Londres, venu exprès pour l’occasion, avant d’ajouter, solennel : « C’est un véritable héros pour nous. » Ce soir-là, Ayalew Mesfin ému aux larmes fait un triomphe, s’offrant des bains de foule, dansant dans le bonheur des sensations retrouvées. Pari gagné.

Ayalew Mesfin by Tim van Veen


« Nous tâchons d’inviter des artistes qui ont eu un impact sur un certain genre de musique, un son ou une discipline dans l’histoire des arts. Même si la majorité des artistes invités au Guess Who? ne sont pas très connus, la plupart d’entre eux ont une histoire vraiment riche… des histoires qui méritent d’être entendues »,
explique encore Barry Spooren. Si ces histoires oubliées sont devenues la spécialité de certains labels tels que Strut Records, Analog Africa ou Ostinato Records, Le Guess Who? suit leur travail de près et cette année, le festival invitait notamment le maître chanteur pakistanais Ustad Saami et ses fils à se produire à Jacobikerk, une église protestante du centre-ville d’Utrecht. S’il chante et enseigne tous les jours chez lui à Karachi, le maître n’a sorti son premier disque qu’à 75 ans : le bien nommé God Is Not A Terrorist (Glitterbeat Records, 2019), enregistré grâce au concours du producteur-explorateur américain Ian Brennan qui est allé le trouver au Pakistan. Dépositaire d’un patrimoine musical très ancien, Ustad Saami mêle chants védiques traditionnels et qawwalî soufi en d’impressionnantes arabesques vocales improvisées autour d’un système microtonal de 49 notes parfaitement maîtrisées.

Le Guess Who? by By Melanie Marsman


« Représenter les sous-représentés est un objectif très important et nous essayons d’être fidèles à cet idéal. C’est primordial pour nous de rester connectés à cette question : “quelle est notre raison d’être ? pourquoi Le Guess Who? est-il sur cette planète ?
” poursuit Barry Spooren. Ainsi Le Guess Who? Festival convie sans compromis les émergents, les vieux, les inconnus, les freaks, les sans réseaux sociaux, les hors-normes et les queer au cœur de sa programmation. Parmi eux : Marfox, Nídia et Firmeza du label portugais Príncipe Discos qui ont cadencé la nuit d’Utrecht dans la fumée stroboscopique du club Basis. Si elle est née en Angola avant de grandir dans les ghettos de Lisbonne, la batida (collision entre kuduro, kizomba, funana ou tarraxinha avec house et techno) est devenue la signature sonore de Principe Discos conquérant, depuis, des centres-ville dans le monde entier. « Dans les ghettos de Lisbonne, il y a des gens qui viennent de Sao Tomé-et Principe, de Guinée Bissau, du Mozambique, d’Angola, des Portugais, des Cap-Verdiens… Moi je ne suis ni vraiment portugais ni vraiment africain, je suis de Lisbonne. Cette musique me donne une identité, j’ai beaucoup d’amour pour elle, c’est notre drapeau. La batida, c’est le son des ex-colonisés, c’est le son des ghettos de Lisbonne », conclut fièrement Marfox. Encore une fois et jusqu’à l’ultime concert le dimanche soir, la salle est pleine, le public en communion.

Ainsi, préparez-vous à prendre vos billets pour la prochaine édition du Guess Who? Festival qui aura lieu à Utrecht du 12 au 15 novembre prochain car définitivement, Le Guess Who? est un must go.

Shows qu’on est tristes d’avoir ratés mais dont on a entendu beaucoup de bien : Mark Ernestus’ Ndagga Rhythm Force, Asha Puthli et Tengger.

Le Guess Who by Melanie Marsman
Bjork by Tim van Veen