fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
“Kinsiona”: when Franco cried over his great little brother
Bavon Marie-Marie (DR)

“Kinsiona”: when Franco cried over his great little brother

In August 1970, Franco’s younger brother, Bavon Marie-Marie, passed away under tragic circumstances. As an epitaph, the Grand Master paid tribute with one of his most beautiful songs, “Kinsiona” (Sorrow).

Bavon Marie-Marie Siongo traversed Congolese music history at full throttle. In the span of only twenty-six years a lot of things happened: he matured, made himself a name despite being in the shadow of a very famous elderly brother, and posthumously became a musical icon amongst the souls who lit up the skies in the 1970s. Yet, his story leaves a bitter taste as well as a feeling of incompleteness and total loss… Just over fifty years ago, the life of a talented boy came to a screeching halt.

Franco / Le TP OK Jazz – Kinsiona

“I am crying over my little brother
I am crying over Marie-Marie
They are in a meeting and waiting for me
What great sadness”

Franco

This comet-like life began in Kinshasa on May 27, 1944. After the death of his father, Marie-Marie was raised alone by his mother in the “Far West” neighborhood (today’s Ngiri-Ngiri municipality). His older brother François, hoping to spare him the hardships of life as a musician – seen as losers by the society –, sent him to study in Bas-Congo, today’s province of Kongo Central. But much more than books and notebooks, it was the guitar that would become the young man’s main companion, to the detriment of his studies. Snitched on to Franco by one of his cousins, he was immediately brought back to Kinshasa where the eldest interrogated him about what he would do with his life. His only response: to play the guitar, which he taught himself how to play. So when his authoritarian brother scolds him publicly and demands that he take a test to show what he can do, Marie-Marie takes up the challenge… The scene takes place at the Congo Bar, under the expert supervision of Simaro Lutumba, Franco’s second-in-command and conductor of the OK Jazz band. Marie-Marie’s “official” musical career begins. But not in the orchestra of his brother, instead he directs him to Negro Succès, the band founded by Leon Bombolo Bolhen – a former Ok Jazz member – who would soon record the hit “Bana 15 ans”.

Bavon Marie-Marie (DR)

And wham! Success instantly followed. From 1965 to 1968, Bavon Marie-Marie climbed to the top of the charts with “Maseke Ya Meme”, “Lucie Tozongana”, “Nellie Na Place Na Nga”, all huge hits! With the success, he would soon also become a pin-up for young girls. But his heart beat only for Marie José Simplice, whom he loved with a passion, to the point of then becoming a possessive and jealous partner.

One morning, he instigated a violent quarrel, suspecting her of having a lover. Who could he be suspecting? Youlou Mabiala, or Ndombe Opetum (both members of OK Jazz)? Or the footballer Jean Kembo (a member of the national team, “the Leopards of Zaire”)? It’s hard to guess… and nobody will ever know. However, as he was drunk driving his car, he crashed into a broken-down vehicle and died at the scene on August 5, 1970.

Franco TPOK – Kinsiona

“They are in a meeting waiting for me
While I am grieving, they are conspiring and waiting for me
What great sadness!
Such sadness. Where would they go for support?
Who would they tell?”

Franco

Rumors spread accusing Franco of having sacrificed his own brother (this was Kinshasa, and as elsewhere in Africa, accusations of witchcraft are quick to arise, especially against celebrity figures such as Luambo). His elder brother would pay him a vibrant tribute as only singers know how: in music. “Kinsiona”, a melancholic hit sung in Kikongo, became the perfect epitaph to bring a close to the musical epic of a life too short.

Source : Mbokamosika.com

“Kinsiona” lyrics in Kikongo (Kintandu) and loosely translated in English

Munu muntu n’leki amo ta dil
I am crying over my little brother

Bavon Marie ta ndile
I am crying over Bavon Marie-Marie

Bevwanda mu fongo mono kwani batabinge
Mono kuamu bata bonge

They are in a meeting waiting for me
While I am grieving, they are conspiring and waiting for me

Eh kinsiona
What great sadness [melancholy, hardship]

Eh kinsiona,belomba lusadisu yaye kue?Keti na batelamoe ?
Such sadness. Where would they* go for support?
Who would they* tell?

He dio kanda kala ye ngangu
You the family, be careful, be alert

Mbadi tata,kadi mama,kadi ngwa kansi,kadi nketo
Without father, mother, uncle or wife

Belomba lusadisu yaya kwe banani batelamo
Who would they* go to for help?
Who would they* confide in?

Kinzonzi ki bambuta,kala ye makutu,kala ye ngangu
During the assembly of the elders, open your ears and be wise

Bubagoga bawu, usiama ukola
When they speak it is so that you grow and mature

Djo gata mambu manunini
There are too many problems in this village; who could survive it?

Banani basala mo ?
Who could survive it?

* “They” refers to the immediate family of the deceased, as opposed to the extended family and the entire village who took part in the mourning discussions. If the deceased is an orphan, which elder could defend their relatives?

Thanks to Magloire Mpembi N’kosi for his invaluable help in the translation of the lyrics.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Kinsiona : quand Franco pleurait son génial petit-frère
Bavon Marie-Marie (DR)

Kinsiona : quand Franco pleurait son génial petit‑frère

En août 1970, Bavon Marie-Marie, le petit frère de Franco, décède dans des circonstances tragiques. En guise d’épitaphe, le Grand Maître lui dédie une de ses plus belles et chansons, « Kinsiona » (le chagrin).

Bavon Marie-Marie Siongo a traversé l’histoire de la musique congolaise comme un feu-follet. Vingt-six ans pour tout faire. Naître, grandir, se faire un nom propre malgré l’ombre de son célèbre grand frère, mourir et, à titre posthume, devenir une icône musicale parmi celles qui ont illuminé le ciel des années 70. Son histoire laisse un goût amer, un relent d’inachevé et une impression de gâchis… Il y a tout juste cinquante ans donc, la vie de ce talentueux garçon s’arrêtait net.

Franco / Le TP OK Jazz – Kinsiona

« Je suis en train de pleurer mon petit frère
Je suis en train de pleurer Marie-Marie
Ils sont en réunion en train de m’attendre
Quelle grande tristesse »

Franco

Cette vie de comète avait commencé à Kinshasa le 27 mai 1944. Après le décès de son père, il avait été élevé seul par sa mère au quartier Far West (actuelle commune de Ngiri-Ngiri). Son grand frère François voulant lui éviter les affres de la vie de musicien, considérés comme des ratés, il l’envoya étudier dans le Bas-Congo, actuelle province du Kongo central. Mais bien plus que les cahiers et les livres, c’est la guitare qui sera le principal compagnon du jeune homme, au détriment de ses études. Dénoncé à Franco par un de ses cousins, il est ramené manu-militari à Kinshasa où son frère le soumet à un interrogatoire en règle sur ce qu’il va faire de sa vie. Sa réponse : jouer de la guitare, qu’il a appris à maîtriser en parfait autodidacte. Du coup, lorsque son autoritaire de grand frère le tance en public et exige qu’il passe un test pour prouver ce dont il était capable, il relève le défi… cela se passe au Congo Bar, sous la supervision experte de Simaro Lutumba, second de Franco et chef d’orchestre de l’OK Jazz. Sa carrière musicale « officielle » peut commencer. Mais pas dans l’orchestre de son frère, qui l’oriente vers le Negro Succès Bana 15 ans de Leon Bombolo Bolhen, un ancien de l’Ok Jazz.

Bavon Marie-Marie (DR)

Et vlan ! La réussite est au rendez-vous. De 1965 à 1968, Bavon Marie-Marie caracole au firmament des hit-parades : « Maseke ya Meme », « Lucie Tozongana », « Nellie na place na nga », que des tubes ! Le succès aidant, monsieur devient la coqueluche des filles. Mais son cœur ne bat que pour Marie José Simplice, qu’il aime passionnément, au point d’en devenir possessif et jaloux. 

Un matin, il a une violente chamaillerie avec elle : il la soupçonne d’avoir un amant. Qui suspecte-t-il ? Youlou Mabiala, ou bien Ndombe Opetum (deux membres de l’OK Jazz) ? Ou encore le footballeur Jean Kembo (un membre de l’équipe nationale, « les léopards du Zaïre ») ? Difficile à deviner… et personne ne le saura. Toujours est-il qu’ivre au volant de sa voiture, il s’encastre dans un véhicule en panne et meurt sur le coup. Nous sommes le 5 août 1970. 

Franco TPOK – Kinsiona

« Ils sont en réunion en train de m’attendre
(pendant que je suis endeuillé, ils se mettent en réunion pour comploter contre moi)
Quelle grande tristesse !
Quelle tristesse, où iraient-ils chercher du soutien ?
À qui le diraient-ils ? »

Franco

La rumeur accusera Franco de l’avoir sacrifié (nous sommes à Kinshasa, et comme ailleurs en Afrique, les accusations de sorcellerie sont promptes à surgir, surtout lorsqu’on a la stature de Luambo). Le grand frère lui rendra un vibrant hommage comme seuls les chanteurs savent le faire, en musique. « Kinsiona », un tube mélancolique chanté en kikongo, est ainsi né comme une épitaphe pour clôturer l’épopée musicale de cette trop courte vie.

Source : Mbokamosika.com

Les paroles de la chanson Kinsiona en kikongo (kintandu) et leur traduction française

Munu muntu n’leki amo ta dil
Je suis en train de pleurer mon petit frère

Bavon Marie ta ndile
Je suis en train de pleurer (Bavon) Marie-Marie

Bevwanda mu fongo mono kwani batabinge
Mono kuamu bata bonge

Ils sont en réunion en train de m’attendre
Pendant que je suis endeuillé, ils se mettent en réunion pour comploter contre moi

Eh kinsiona
Quelle grande tristesse, mélancolie, déprime

Eh kinsiona,belomba lusadisu yaye kue?Keti na batelamoe ?
Quelle tristesse, où iraient-ils* chercher du soutien ?
À qui le diraient-ils ?

He dio kanda kala ye ngangu
Vous la famille, soyez prudent, soyez alertes

Mbadi tata,kadi mama,kadi ngwa kansi,kadi nketo
Sans père, ni mère, ni oncle, ni femme

Belomba lusadisu yaya kwe banani batelamo
À qui iraient-ils demander de l’aide
À qui pourraient-ils se confier ?

Kinzonzi ki bambuta,kala ye makutu,kala ye ngangu
Pendant l’assemblée des vieux, ouvre tes oreilles et sois sage

Bubagoga bawu, usiama ukola
Lorsqu’ils parlent c’est pour que tu grandisses et mûrisses

Djo gata mambu manunini
Il y a trop de problèmes dans ce village ; Qui pourrait y survivre ?

Banani basala mo ?
Qui pourrait y survivre ?

* « ils » désigne la famille proche du défunt, par opposition à la famille élargie et au village tout entier qui prennent part aux palabres de deuil. Si le défunt est orphelin, quel aîné pourra prendre la défense de ses proches ?

Merci à Magloire Mpembi N’kosi pour son aide précieuse dans la traduction.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé