→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

'Regard sur le passé': when Bembeya Jazz sang Samory Touré's epic anthem of resistance

On October 2, 1958, Guinea became independent. Ten years later, the country paid tribute to the towering figure of Samory Touré, a hero of the anti-colonial struggle, in a masterful work, crafted by the Bembeya Jazz National.

Today Guinea celebrates the 62nd anniversary of its independence. An opportunity for PAM to revisit the amazing Regard sur le passé (“Looking back at the past”), which tells the story of Samory Touré; the last great West African resistance fighter against French colonial invasion. Only Bembeya Jazz could put such a story into music, in the great griot tradition. The album; published in 1969, would go on to inspire many more orchestras including Rail Band, Super Mama Djombo and many more.

The history of this record begins in September 1968, with the anniversary of the country’s independence on the horizon.

Bembeya Jazz National – Regard sur le passé

Sékou Touré; the Guinean president, arranged with Gabon the repatriation of the body of the Emperor of Wassoulou, who had long resisted the French colonial troops. Eventually captured in 1898, Samory was deported to a Gabonese island and would die there on June 2, 1900, following a battle with pneumonia. The remains of the one whom Sékou Touré made a national hero returned to Guinea, just like those of Alpha Yaya Diallo (another resistance fighter, King of Labé, deported and died in Mauritania). The Guinean president, who invested massively – in the name of the State – in culture and in particular in orchestras, launched a national “tribute song” competition, which was intended as “a tribute to the heroes and their fight against the colonial invaders.”

Sékou Touré

The Bembeya Jazz; appointed as national orchestra three years earlier, took on the challenge. The extensive rehearsals were attended by the president himself, in the company of Aboubacar Kanté; boss of the State-run label Syliphone. A few griots; masters of tradition, were consulted as well as ideologists of the (singular) party, because Regard sur le passé, Bembeya Jazz’s masterpiece, had to also serve the causes current to the regime. Finally, on October 2 (Independence Day), the Bembeya orchestra performed the track for the first time at Conakry’s People’s Palace. As Justin Morel Jr. and Souleymane Keita recount in the book they wrote about the orchestra*, star singer Aboubacar Demba Camara appeared on stage dressed in the attire worn by Samory Touré’s sofas (cavalrymen).

This epic poem put to music made its impresion. It begins with a long melodic descent on the balafon and then mirrored on the guitar by Sékou “Diamond Fingers” Diabaté. A sonic illustration of modernity rooted in tradition, or better yet, as Sékou Touré put it, “proof of authenticity”. The rest of the orchestra then swings into action and sets the stage for Demba Camara’s crisp vocals.

Sékou “Le Growl” Camara takes a hold of the lead vocals in French and tells us the story:

“The melody you hear is a composition in honor of the Emperor of Wassoulou, Almamy Samory Touré, whose anti-colonialist struggle gave birth to Africa’s finest chansons de geste [songs of heroic deeds].

Listen! Listen, sons of Africa! Listen, women of Africa! Listen, too, young people of Africa — tomorrow’s hope, will become a page from a glorious African history.”

Samory Touré

Thus this epic poem, which is sung in Malinke, with its spoken parts recited in French, was understood by all Guineans, and well beyond the borders of the country. Composed of storytelling parts, chants and grand instrumental voyages; the song is a true musical legend, beyond the story it tells.

The Bembeya came first in the national song competition and following some edits requested by Sékou Touré himself, went on to record the album Regard sur le passé. The 17th take (the bands used to record live without any break) turned out to be the right one. A piece of history was cut onto wax forever, divided into two parts, one for each side of the 33 rpm disc.

Bembeya Jazz also performed the song a few months later, at Algiers’ Pan-African Festival where they would win the silver medal. Most importantly however, is that this ambitious endeavor set the bar high for African music and would then go on to inspire hundreds of artists to come from West Africa.

“There are men who, although physically absent, continue and will continue to live eternally in the hearts of their fellow men. Colonialism, in order to justify its domination, portrayed them as bloodthirsty and savage kings. But, crossing the dawn of time, their story has come down to us in all its glory.”

Empire du Wassoulou à la fin du 19è siècle
The Wassoulou Empire at the end of the 19th century

The ending of this story is a sad and portentous one, owed to the treachery of French colonial troops and the capture of Samory; his place of exile and his death alongside his faithful companion Mory Tidiane Diabaté.Regard sur le passé aimed to provide an updated – African take – on the continent’s history, through the illuminative life experiences of one of its great leaders. The challenge; after more than a century of colonialism, was to restore pride in Guineans so as to allow them to forge their own history and heritage.

“On September 29, 1958, the Revolution triumphed, avenging us definitively on another September 29th, this time in 1898; the date of the arrest of the Emperor of Wassoulou, the almamy Samory Touré.”

Regard sur le passé was therefore a way of strengthening the legitimacy of Sekou Touré, continuing the work of Samory’s. Nevertheless, the leader of the Revolution, a fervent Pan-Africanist, eventually became a tyrant within his own country. And the arts; once a means of emancipation, became a privileged tool for his own propaganda and that of his party: the PDG (Democratic Party of Guinea). A few months later in 1971, the Bembeya Jazz took things further with the lengthy “Chemin du P.D.G.” (“The PDG’s path”).

Becoming obsessed with the conspiracies; Sékou Touré sent many of his opponents – real ones or alleged – to die in the cells of the Boiro camp. Emile Condé, one of the very first promoters of Bembeya Jazz (then the “Beyla Orchestra”) was taken there in 1971 before like so many others; being assassinated. Just like Fodeba Keita, founder of African Ballet and first Minister of Culture for independent Guinea. The Revolution had given birth to magnificent music, but little by little it also began to devour its own young. And no one has yet come to sing their requiem.

Bembeya Jazz National – Chemin du P.D.G
*Bembeya Jazz : cinquante ans après la légende continue [“Bembeya Jazz: fifty years on, the legend continues”], L’Harmattan editions, 2011
Aboubacar Demba Camara
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

Regard sur le passé : Quand le Bembeya Jazz chantait l’épopée du résistant Samory Touré

Le 28 septembre 1958, la Guinée Conakry votait massivement NON au référendum proposé par le Général de Gaulle et devenait indépendante dans la foulée. Dix ans plus tard, elle rendait hommage à Samory Touré, héros de la lutte anti-coloniale, dans une oeuvre magistrale, signée du Bembeya Jazz.

Le 2 octobre, la Guinée Conakry fêtera son indépendance (59 ème anniversaire). C’était l’occasion pour nous de revenir sur ce disque extraordinaire : Regard sur le passé, qui raconte l’épopée de Samory Touré, dernier grand résistant ouest-africain à l’invasion coloniale française. Il n’y avait que le Bembeya Jazz pour mettre en musique un tel récit, dans la grande tradition des griots. Regard sur le passé, paru en 1969, allait inspirer bien d’autres orchestres (Rail Band, le Super Mama djombo, etc…).

L’histoire de ce disque commence en septembre 1968, à l’approche du dixième anniversaire de l’indépendance du pays.

1

Sékou Touré, le président guinéen, a négocié avec le Gabon le rapatriement de la dépouille de l’empereur du Wassoulou qui resista longtemps aux troupes coloniales françaises. Capturé en 1898, il fut déporté sur une île gabonaise et trouva la mort sur place, le 02 juin 1900.  Les restes de celui dont Sékou Touré ferait un héros national rentrent donc en Guinée, comme ceux d’Alpha Yaya Diallo (autre résistant, roi de Labé, déporté et décédé en Mauritanie). Le président guinéen, qui a investi massivement – au nom de l’Etat – dans la culture et notamment dans les orchestres, lance un concours national de chant-mémorial, qui soit « une dédicace aux héros pour leur lutte contre l’envahisseur colonial ».

2Le Bembeya Jazz, devenu orchestre national trois ans plus tôt, relève le gant. Les longues répétitions sont suivies par le président lui-même, via Aboubacar Kanté, le patron du label d’état Syliphone. Des griots, maîtres de la tradition, sont consultés, tout comme des idéologues du parti (unique), car Regard sur le passé, Grand Œuvre du Bembeya, doit aussi servir le présent et la cause du régime. Finalement, le 02 octobre, jour de la fête d’indépendance, le Bembeya joue pour la pemière fois ce morceau inédit au Palais du Peuple de Conakry. Comme le racontent Justin Morel junior et Souleymane Keita dans leur ouvrage consacré à l’orchestre*, le chanteur vedette Aboubacar Demba Camara apparaît sur scène revêtu des atours que portaient les sofas (cavaliers) de Samory Touré.

L’épopée fait mouche. Elle débute sur une longue descente de ballafon, reprise à l’identique par la guitare de Sékou Diabaté alias Diamond Fingers. Modernité enracinée dans la tradition, ou mieux,  comme l’aurait dit Sékou Touré, « authenticité ». Puis, le reste de l’orchestre se met en branle et ouvre la voie au chant clair de Demba Camara.

Sékou « le Growl » Camara s’occupe du récit en français :

« L’air que vous entendez est une composition en l’honneur de l’ empereur du Wassoulou, l’Almamy Samory Touré, dont la lutte anti-colonialiste a donné naissance aux plus belles chansons de geste d’Afrique.
Ecoutez, écoutez fils d’Afrique, écoutez femmes d’Afrique, écoutez aussi jeunes d’Afrique – espoir de demain, une page de la glorieuse histoire africaine. »

Ainsi l’épopée, chantée en malinké mais racontée en français, sera-t-elle comprise par tous les Guinéens, et bien au delà des frontières de la Guinée. Récit, chant, grandes envolées instrumentales se succèdent et font de la chanson, par-delà de l’histoire qu’elle raconte, une épopée musicale.

Le Bembeya se classe premier, et, après quelques retouches voulues par Sékou Touré lui-même, enregistre dans les jours suivant Regard sur le passé. La 17ème prise (on jouait alors sans s’interrompre et tous ensemble) est la bonne. Un morceau d’histoire était gravé dans la cire à jamais, divisé en deux parties, une pour chaque face.

Le Bembeya allait aussi le jouer, quelques mois plus tard, au Festival Panafricain d’Alger, où il obtient la médaille d’argent. Mais surtout, cette entreprise plus qu’ambitieuse allait mettre la barre très haut, et inspirer des centaines d’artistes d’Afrique de l’ouest.

« Il est des hommes qui, bien que physiquement absents, continuent et continueront à vivre éternellement dans le cœur de leurs semblables. Le colonialisme pour justifier sa domination les a dépeint sous les traits de rois sanguinaires et sauvages. Mais, traversant la nuit des temps, leur histoire nous est parvenue dans toute sa gloire. »

Empire du Wassoulou à la fin du 19è siècle
Empire du Wassoulou à la fin du 19è siècle

La fin du récit, triste et solennelle, évoque la traîtrise des troupes coloniales françaises et la capture de Samory, puis son exil et sa fin au côté de son fidèle compagnon Mory Tidiane Diabaté.

A travers Regard sur le passé, il s’agit bien de donner une nouvelle version, africaine celle-là, de l’histoire du continent, à travers le récit édifiant de la vie d’un de ses grands souverains. L’enjeu, après plus d’un siècle de colonisation, c’est de redonner fierté aux guinéens, de leur permettre de se forger une histoire et un patrimoine.
Mais il ne faut pas perdre de vue non plus que les louanges de Samory servent en même temps à conforter Sékou Touré dans son pouvoir. D’abord, parce qu’il revendiquait Samory comme son aïeul. Ensuite, parce que comme Samory, Sékou Touré avait été l’homme qui avait dit Non à de Gaulle et à son référendum, non à la France qui proposait une « indépendance » à responsabilité limitée, en gardant le contrôle sur les secteurs stratégiques de l’Etat. Avec Sékou Touré, c’est la Guinée toute entière qui avait voté non. Et elle l’avait payée cher, puisque le Général de Gaulle(qui avait fait campagne pour le Oui), vexé, fit rapatrier hommes, machines et capitaux :

« Le 29 septembre 1958, la Révolution triompha, nous vengeant définitivement de cet autre 29 septembre 1898, date de l’arrestation de l’empereur du Wassoulou, l’almamy Samory Touré. »

Regard sur le passé était donc une manière de raffermir la légitimité de Sekou Touré, continuateur de l’œuvre de Samory. Mais le guide la la Révolution, panafricaniste convaincu, n’en devint pas moins, à l’intérieur du pays, un tyran. Et la culture, de moyen d’émancipation, devint le lieu privilégié de sa propagande, et de celle de son parti, le PDG (Parti Démocratique de Guinée). Quelques mois plus tard d’ailleurs, en 1971, le Bembeya enfonçait le clou avec le long titre « Chemin du P.D.G. »

Omnubilé par les complots, Sékou Touré enverra nombre de ses opposants, réels ou supposés, mourir dans les geôles du camp Boiro. Emile Condé, l’un des tous premiers promoteurs du Bembeya Jazz (qui s’appelait alors l’Orchestre de Beyla) y fut emmené en 1971, avant d’être, comme tant d’autres, exécuté. Tout comme Fodeba Keita, fondateurs des Ballets africains et premier ministre de la culture de la Guinée indépendante. La Révolution avait accouché de musiques magnifiques, mais peu à peu, elle se mit aussi à dévorer ses enfants. Personne n’a encore chanté leur requiem.

*Bembeya Jazz :  cinquante ans après la légende continue, l’Harmattan 2011

Article publié pour la première fois le 28 septembre 2016.