Group Doueh VS Cheveu: a hellish anti-world music odyssey

Dakhla Sahara Session is the unvarnished anti-world musical account of a rough, complex and laborious encounter between two very different bands: Group Doueh and Cheveu.

They’re different because the latter travel along the routes of the European punk, the French prisons and the rehearsal basements of Paris’ suburbs, while the former travels in the Mauritanian desert, the Sahrawi weddings and the music room of the family house. From the beginning, this very encounter was meant to give a hard time to the producer of the album, JB, whose label Born Bad is more used to releasing pop-formatted records, though generally sounding very punk, post punk or unclassifiable – as Cheveu are.

This album takes the listener right into a 10-day human epic odyssey, passing through its attempts, its failures and its moments of grace. This album speaks for the musicians and says: we spilled our guts out, we reached complete exhaustion and total freedom in this illogical, unprepared and expectation-free encounter. This album says: we made it, both happy and tired, and we provide as evidence this 42-minute long musical trance, free of pretension but full of emotion.

One year after the recording of the album, we met two members of the trio Cheveu in Paris: David Lemoine (vocals) and Étienne Nicolas (guitar).

Pan African Music (PAM) : Dakhla Sahara Sessions was released the 10th of February. When was the last time you listened to the record?
David Lemoine (D) : Last week, while preparing for the interviews. And you know what? I found it really good.
Étienne Nicolas (E) : So did I. I listened to it last week, when the video clip for “Moto 2 Places” was published. I really enjoyed it, and I even think it sounds better on vinyl. And I always put the song “Charaa” on repeat. This song is a true miracle! For our previous albums, we would spend a lot of time re-recording demo versions of the same track, and we’d try 15 different mixes… and in the end we’d just lose the will to listen to the record once released. Our listening pleasure feels very different with this album.

PAM : A 10-day session abroad, and then back home to France : you surely weren’t used to this kind of experience, were you?
E and D : For sure: we had only 10 days to give our best, and not two years, as usual.
D : And that’s no easy task when your own producer [Born Bad’s boss JB] puts pressure so he has enough material release an album at the end of the 10 days.

PAM : In the album’s booklet, journalist Jacques Denis [who works for Libération and Le Monde Diplo, amongst other medias] explains how difficult the first days of the sessions were. You’re not trying to embellish the encounter with Group Doueh and turn it into a magical and easy creative moment.
E : Well, in fact we’ve been pretty productive from the first day, and we even kept some of the songs the way we recorded them at that moment. Thus we felt reassured and encouraged from the beginning. But halfway through the sessions, doubts started to appear. We realized we still had not properly met Group Doueh’s members: we had to have tea with them, and share each others’ music, culture and customs. That’s what we eventually did on the third day only.

PAM : I guess this is typical of when people coming from two very different cultures meet. Did you know anything about the Sahrawi culture before going to Dakhla?
E : Not at all. We only knew it was a very matriarchal culture, and you really can see that: women have a real power in social life, and in music too. It’s half women, half men in their bands. This sure is a good thing.
D : There are way more women in the Sahrawi bands than in the French bands!

PAM : So I guess they must have been surprised to see this all-men crew show up at their home: the three members of Cheveu, your producer and journalist Jacques Denis…
D : We were even more people! More than a soccer team, I guess! The three of us, sound engineer Laurent [de Boisgisson], our producer JB, Jacques [Denis], José [Kamal, Moroccan producer and promotor who initiated this musical encounter], Arnaud Contreras [photographer, and author of the book Sahara Rocks!], a friend of his, and a 4-piece TV film crew… We were 13, maybe 14 guys, only men! And we clearly invaded their intimacy without any kind of refinement. We even brought a whole studio in their house!

PAM : Wait… There was no recording equipment in Group Doueh’s music room?
D : No! We had to bring One Two Pass It studio’s equipment from Montreuil [next to Paris] to Dakhla. And we had an amazing sound engineer, Laurent, who is used to all kinds of situations, and really helped us there. People know him as the sound tech for the speeches of the African governments.
E : He played such a decisive part so we would succeed in playing all together. Several times we felt lost, because of this unlikely mix between their off-beat rhythms and ours, rather binary – even if we sometimes fancy using ternary beats. As Laurent is a professionally trained drummer, and is fond of funk and hip hop, he knows how the groove works and could make the whole thing sound good. In fact, he’s the one who directed the sessions.
D : He also helped a lot with the human side of things. When 15 people enter your house, set up their whole stuff, play standing, while you play seated… this tended to make us show more self-restraint. Well, this is what I felt until Laurent helped us let go.

PAM : In the booklet, again, Jacques Denis explains that things started to get smoother when Cheveu did a punk-noise version of “Azawan”, one of Group Doueh’s songs.
E : This is true, and that was one of the two moments that made us feel reassured. Group Doueh are used to playing “Azawan” on a slow tempo, and we came up with idea of doing a binary, rough and punk version with a distorted guitar intro à la Stooges’ “Search & Destroy”. It’s Doueh himself on the guitar! The other decisive moment is the song “Charaa”. It’s based on one of or ideas: we launched a ternary stuff on the drum machine, like a waltz, and all of a sudden, Group Doueh started to play one of their songs on top of it. They ended up covering Olivier’s rhythm box, and he even decided to lower its volume [author’s note: you can hear it at 1m57s]! Then they added all their percussions and Doueh’s electrified tidinit [author’s note: a Mauritanian luth played by men only] … The whole thing leads you to an amazing trance feeling.
D : When we listened to “Charaa” again, we felt this song was a true miracle.

PAM : Actually, I really wanted to interview you guys, because while listening to the album, I felt I was able to hear the musical account of a really difficult human and cultural encounter. The record has some flaws, and doesn’t seem to have been polished. I think it’s an audacious commercial gesture to release this album. Did you have a discussion with the label regarding the tracklist?
D : We did not have much choice. We released almost everything we had recorded during the sessions, except for one song.
E : We had to exclude one song because there was not enough room on the vinyl.
D : It’s true that the album kind of sounds uneven and not completed, but I guess its spontaneity and freshness compensate. You have to see it as a holiday snapshot. And I think you’ve got to have balls to release it this way.

PAM : The way you compose music is very different from Group Doueh’s?
D : It’s a bit difficult to understand because, I guess, they don’t compose very often. They permanently recycle old melodies, rhythms and lyrics that they keep on updating. In fact, they improvise inside timeless and musical presets, like the quarter-tone scale and other specific stuff… So every time we’d propose the basis for a new track, Group Doueh would just play an already completed song on top of it… and we’d add our own layer over it, and so on and so forth.

PAM : Would you say this confrontation worked well?
D : I think so. You could have imagined the result to be some kind of “world music fusion”, but in fact the album sounds like two bands who don’t know very well how to understand each other, and decided to pile songs on top of other songs. I think that’s what make the music so rich.


AND JUST WHEN YOU’D THINK THE ROCK BAND WOULD EAT THE TRADITIONAL MUSIC GROUP REGARDING ENERGY… IT WAS THE OTHER WAY AROUND! WE DID HAVE TO TURN UP THE VOLUME ON OUR AMPS!


PAM : You say it was more a confrontation than a fusion. How so?
E : We come from two very opposite worlds, but we both follow a DIY spirit, and we both have the same intensity while playing, always very loud. And here you have the confrontation: it was a matter of who’d play the loudest, who’d outdo the other. And you really can hear it on the album.
D : And just when you’d think the rock band would eat the traditional music group regarding energy… it was the other way around! We even have to turn up the volume on our amps!

PAM : More generally, once the sessions were completed, what do you think you had been able to keep from their culture? And what’s left, one year later?
D : It reassured us in our habit to play at full volume!
E : True that! Paradoxically, we were not left with a sensation of peace, on the contrary. There was a very strong energy, coming from the fact they play songs for a very long time, so that the music runs out of control. And if I got it right, as Group Doueh is a wedding band, they’re very business-oriented. First, they receive a big fee from the wedding hosts. Then, during the ceremony, while they play under a big tent, the guests put loads of money in their djellabah’s pockets. So the crazier the concert, the more money they get from the guests.


Fête de l’Humanité, La Courneuve, September 2016 : Group Doueh enthusiastically discovers the final mix of the album – here, the song “Bord de mer”.

PAM : Now that you’ve experienced this very rough and live experience, do you reconsider the way you play music in Cheveu?
D : Well it just brought us back to our love for the ghetto punk sounding shows we used to play in the past, where we’d let the song go for a long while…
E : …and where we’d be looking for repetition that leads to trance. This is the way Group Doueh play on stage. They’re not at all interested in three-minute pop songs. It’s a wedding band, and they won’t stop playing as long as people dance! This is the direction we’re gonna take when we play shows with them in the near future.

PAM : So you took the responsibility of the “director’s cut” of the session’s recordings? With Group Doueh’s approval?
D :  Yes we did: we cut, pasted, erased… except for some moments of grace, that we left untouched. Like for “Charaa”, where layers of music come on top of each other, with no need for further editing. And when we did edit, we obviously paid much attention. But anyway, you could feel that, for Group Doueh, the final production and its quality were not really their priority, even if they had already released four albums on Sublime Frequencies. It’s a live band: no need to rehearse ; no audience, no show ; don’t stop till people get enough… There’s a fundamental difference with the way we consider music.
E : And while we edited the songs, we took great care that the meaning of their lyrics remains respected. When they eventually listened to our final mix, at the Fête de l’Humanité [September 2016 at La Courneuve, France], they said they liked it.


EL WAAR IS A 20-YEAR OLD GENIUS WHO SOUNDS LIKE DR. DRE AND DROPS SOME AMAZING STUFF WITH HIS KEYBOARD!



PAM : Are there gonna be future developments in Cheveu/Group Doueh collaboration?
D : Yes, we plan to do shows together next spring and summer. We did one in Rabat, Morocco, and we were not that satisfied, so we surely have some interesting work to do here.
E : Also, in Group Doueh there’s this guy who really impressed us on the synthesizer: El Waar. He’s Doueh’s son. This guy is a 20-year old genius who sounds like Dr. Dre and drops some amazing stuff with a keyboard, that even includes quarter-tones! I guess we shouldn’t have too much difficulty having him come over here.

PAM : Did he get the reference to Dr. Dre?
D : Not at all! Their cultural reference points are completely stranger to Western pop music: they don’t know The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, or Beyoncé…
E : Only Dire Straits and Jimi Hendrix!
D : Their whole musical culture comes from Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Persian Gulf… The Lebanese TV is turned on all day long.

PAM : This makes me think of Somali TV in the ’90s, where they’d broadcast 3-hour long theater shows, where a band or an orchestra would perform amazingly great songs and back amazingly talented singers. But there is no discographic account of it, only VHS recordings made by people in their homes, and later uploaded on YouTube [for example, here with the amazing female singer Kinsi Haji Aadan]. You can easily imagine the audio quality of the stuff… But at last it’s not lost forever and anybody can listen to it today.
D : Amazing story! Actually, the album we did with Group Doueh is only the first step of a more global project, initiated by José Kamal, the guy who welcomed us in Dakhla. He aims to record around 20 bands of the Hassani culture, so he can preserve and promote local music. He also published a guide to Moroccan festivals. And when you know the tension there is in the region at the moment [since 1975 the land has been a disputed territory between the Moroccan government and the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic], I think it’s very important to promote this culture.

PAM : Were you already interested in African music before collaborating with Group Doueh?
E : Yes. I had spent a month in Mali, some time ago. I had been impressed by many street musicians, that I recorded on my MiniDisc.

PAM : Well, now you can launch your own field recordings label, like Sublime Frequencies, Group Doueh’s label!
E : Well no… The problem is that I can’t seem to find the discs. I rummaged through my flat ten times and I still haven’t found them back…


IT WAS BOTH TOO HOT AND TOO COLD IN THE ROOM, THE TEA WAS TOO STRONG, WE DIDN’T GET ANYTHING OF GROUPE DOUEH’S COMPLEX RHYTHMS… THERE WAS NOTHING EXOTIC OR IDYLLIC THERE. TO ME, DAKHLA SAHARA SESSION IS AN ANTI-WORLD MUSIC ALBUM!


PAM : What about your link to African music, David?
D : I’m not gonna answer your question at all [laughs] but it reminded me that I wanted to talk about the whole stuff around “world” or “fusion”… We would be Westerners facing an exotic culture, etc. Obviously, there’s some of this idea in this project and the album. But we tend to be suspicious of this very idea, and for Dakhla Sahara Session we prefer to stress on the reality of a simple encounter between two bands. And I can assure you it was not a pure moment of naive delight. Far from that. We went through hell: it was both too hot and too cold in the room, the tea was too strong, we didn’t get anything of Group Doueh’s complex rhythms… You see: there was nothing exotic or idyllic there. To me, Dakhla Sahara Session is an anti-world music album.


IT’S NOT A FUSION : IT’S A MUSICAL SUPERPOSITION, OR JUXTAPOSITION OF MUSICS. AND WE LIKE IT THIS WAY.


PAM : I agree this is an anti-world music album, and this is what I felt when I first listened to it. It’s rough, rugged and raw, and is not made to please the Westerners’ ears. This is just just an encounter between two cultures.
D : This is it. And if you listen carefully to the album, Cheveu never tried to play an “afro” riff, and Group Doueh never played a rock’n’roll stuff.
E : Everyone at its right musical place.
D : It’s not a fusion : it’s a musical superposition, or juxtaposition of musics. And we like it that way.

PAM : What’s next for Cheveu?
D : Something pretty different: we wrote an opera about the Italian racing cyclist Marco Pantani. We’ll perform it at the théâtre des Amandiers in Nanterre, 25th of February.
E : It’s with the three of us – Cheveu – six lead singers, around 40 choristers. The string arrangement were written by Maya Dunietz [an Israeli musician, who already wrote the strings arrangement for 1000, the band’s previous album].

All pictures by Arnaud Contreras

Group Doueh VS Cheveu : une belle galère anti-world music

Dakhla Sahara Sessions est un témoignage musical sans fard et anti-world music d’une rencontre brute, complexe et laborieuse entre deux groupes fondamentalement différents : Cheveu et Group Doueh.

Différents parce que l’un sillonne les routes du punk européen, les prisons franciliennes et les caves de répétition de banlieue, et que l’autre sillonne les sentiers du désert mauritanien, les mariages sahraoui et le salon de la maison familiale en guise de studio de musique. La rencontre promettait de donner du fil à retordre au producteur du disque, JB de Born Bad, habitué aux sorties discographiques format pop, bien que punk, post-punk ou chanson déglinguée dans le fond.

C’est un disque qui emporte l’auditeur dans une grande galère humaine de 10 jours, avec ses tentatives, ses échecs et ses moments de grâce. C’est un disque qui dit, à la place de tous les musiciens qu’on y entend : on a foutu nos tripes, notre fatigue et notre liberté dans une rencontre qui n’avait rien de logique, rien de préparé, et rien d’attendu. C’est un disque qui dit : on s’en est sortis, le sourire aux lèvres et les cernes aux yeux, et voici pour témoin une transe musicale de 42 minutes sans prétention mais pleine d’émotion brute.

Rencontre à Paris avec deux membres du trio Cheveu, David Lemoine (chant) et Étienne Nicolas (guitare), un an après l’enregistrement de l’album.

Pan African Music (PAM) : Dakhla Sahara Sessions est sorti le 10 février. Quand avez-vous écouté le disque pour la dernière fois ?
David Lemoine (D) : La semaine dernière, en préparant les interviews, et j’ai trouvé ça hyper bien !
Étienne Nicolas (E) : Moi aussi, la semaine dernière, lorsque le clip est sorti. C’est un vrai plaisir de le réécouter, et je trouve qu’en vinyle il sonne vraiment bien, très rond. Je m’arrête toujours sur « Charaa », et je la réécoute plusieurs fois. Cette chanson est un vrai miracle ! Pour nos précédents albums, on passait beaucoup de temps à ré-enregistrer des démos de la même chanson, à faire quinze mixes différents… et au final on n’avait plus du tout envie de réécouter l’album après sa sortie. Pour celui-ci, le plaisir est vraiment différent.

PAM : Dix jours de sessions, puis retour en France : ce doit être une expérience très différente de d’habitude pour vous ?
E et D : C’est certain : on a 10 jours pour donner le meilleur, et non plus deux ans.
D : Pas si facile quand ton producteur [JB de Born Bad], te met la pression pour qu’un disque sorte à la fin de la session.

PAM : D’après les notes de pochette, les premiers jours ont été assez compliqués pour vous familiariser avec Group Doueh, et vous ne cherchez pas du tout à mythifier la rencontre comme étant un moment de création magique et facile.
E : En fait, on a été assez productifs sur les premiers jours, et certains morceaux sont même restés tels qu’on les a enregistrés, ce qui nous a rassurés et encouragés dès le début. C’est au milieu de la session qu’on a commencé à douter. On a réalisé qu’on n’avait pas vraiment rencontré les Doueh, qu’il fallait qu’on prenne le thé avec eux, qu’on écoute nos musiques respectives, et qu’on partage nos univers respectifs et leurs coutumes. On l’a fait au bout de deux jours.

PAM : C’est assez typique des rencontres entre deux modes de vie différents, je pense. Vous connaissiez déjà la culture sahraouie ?
E : Pas du tout, non. On savait juste que c’était une société matriarcale. Et on s’en est rendus compte de suite : les femmes ont un réel pouvoir sur la vie sociale, et jusque dans les groupes de musique, où il y a autant de mecs que de filles. C’est une très bonne chose.
D : Il y a beaucoup plus de femmes dans les groupes sahraouis que dans les groupes français !

PAM : Ils ont donc dû être étonnés de voir débarquer une équipe masculine, entre vous trois, les Cheveu, votre producteur et le journaliste Jacques Denis (journaliste pour Libération et Le Monde Diplo, entre autres publications), qui vous accompagnait ?
D : On était encore plus nombreux… Je me demande si on était pas plus qu’une équipe de foot ! Les trois Cheveu, l’ingé son Laurent [de Boisgisson], JB notre producteur, Jacques [Denis], José [Kamal, producteur et promoteur marocain à l’origine de la rencontre des deux groupes], Arnaud Contreras [photographe, et auteur du livre Sahara Rocks!] et un ami à lui, et les quatre de l’équipe télé… On devait être 13 ou 14 mecs ! Et on les a clairement envahis comme des gros bourrins, en apportant tout le matos pour construire un studio dans la maison !

PAM : Il n’y avait aucun matériel d’enregistrement sur place ?
D : Non ! On a apporté le matos du studio One Two Pass It de Montreuil. Et Laurent est un ingé son tout terrain qui nous a bien aidés. Là-bas, il est connu pour sonoriser les discours des chefs d’état en Afrique !
E : Il a joué un rôle crucial pour nous faire jouer tous ensemble. On s’est sentis perdus à plusieurs moments, avec ce mélange improbable entre leurs rythmes à contretemps et nos rythmes plutôt binaires – même si parfois on aime aussi utiliser du ternaire. Laurent est batteur de formation, et il a fait en sorte que tout s’imbrique. Il adore le funk et le hip hop, il avait donc une bonne vision du groove. En fait, c’est lui qui dirigeait les sessions.
D : Et il a aussi beaucoup aidé au niveau humain. Quand tu as 15 personnes qui débarquent chez les gens, qui installent tout leur matos, qui jouent debout pendant que les autres jouent assis… ça crée une situation un peu bizarre, et tu as tendance à être dans la retenue. En tout cas, c’est ce que j’ai ressenti jusqu’à ce que Laurent nous débloque.

PAM : Dans les notes de livret, Jacques Denis explique que les choses sont devenues plus fluides quand Cheveu a fait une reprise punk noise de « Azawan », une chanson de Group Doueh.
E : Oui, c’est un des deux éléments déclencheurs qui nous ont rassurés. Ils ont l’habitude de jouer « Azawan » sur un tempo lent, et on a eu l’idée d’en faire un truc binaire, bourrin et punk avec une intro de guitare disto à la « Search & Destroy » des Stooges, que Doueh a jouée lui-même. L’autre moment spécial, c’est sur « Charaa », une chanson basée sur une de nos idées : on lance un morceau ternaire sur notre boîte à rythmes, genre valse à trois temps. Et là, les Doueh jouent un morceau de leur répertoire par-dessus, et ils bouffent la boîte à rythmes qu’Olivier finit même par atténuer [NdA : on l’entend clairement à 1m57s] ! Puis tu as leurs percus dans tous les sens et la tidinit électrifiée [NdA : un luth mauritanien réservé aux hommes] de Doueh, et ça t’amène à un état de transe incroyable.
D : En le réécoutant, on s’est dits que ce morceau était un miracle.

PAM : Justement, je voulais absolument discuter avec vous parce qu’en écoutant l’album, j’avais l’impression d’entendre en musique l’histoire d’une grosse galère humaine et culturelle. Le disque a des défauts, il n’a pas l’air d’avoir été peaufiné et c’est courageux de le sortir comme ça. Est-ce que le choix des morceaux a donné lieu à une discussion avec le label ?
D : On n’avait pas vraiment le choix. On a mis quasiment tout ce qu’on a enregistré lors des sessions, sauf un morceau.
E : Il fallait en mettre un de côté parce qu’on n’avait plus de place sur le vinyle.
D : C’est vrai que l’album est inégal et pas vraiment fini, mais c’est compensé par sa fraîcheur. Il faut le voir comme une photo de vacances. Et c’est vrai que c’est assez couillu de l’avoir sorti tel quel.

PAM : Vous aviez deux façons bien différentes de composer, c’est ça ?
D : C’est un peu difficile à comprendre, parce qu’eux ne composent pas, je crois. Ils recyclent en permanence des vieilles mélodies, des rythmiques et des paroles remises au goût du jour. J’ai l’impression qu’ils ne composent que très rarement. En fait, ils improvisent au sein de cadres intemporels et pré-écrits, avec notamment le quart de ton, des gammes spéciales… Donc dès qu’on proposait un début de morceau ou une idée musicale, les Doueh y collaient une composition déjà toute prête et finie… sur laquelle on empilait une nouvelle couche, et ainsi de suite.

PAM : Et ce face-à-face a bien fonctionné, selon vous ?
D : Je pense que oui. On aurait pu imaginer que ça donne une espèce de « fusion world », mais en réalité cet album sonne comme deux groupes qui ne savaient pas très bien comment s’entendre, et qui ont décidé d’empiler un morceau par-dessus l’autre. Et je pense que c’est ça qui rend la musique très riche.


ON POURRAIT IMAGINER QUE C’EST LE GROUPE DE ROCK QUI VA BOUFFER LE GROUPE DE MUSIQUE TRADITIONNELLE EN TERME D’ÉNERGIE… MAIS C’EST TOUT L’INVERSE ! IL A FALLU QU’ON MONTE LE VOLUME DE NOS AMPLIS !


PAM : C’était donc une confrontation plutôt qu’une fusion ?
E : On vient de deux univers complètement différents, mais on se retrouve à fond dans le côté DIY [Do It Yourself], et dans l’intensité, le fait de jouer très fort. Et à ce niveau-là, c’était clairement une confrontation. C’était à qui jouerait le plus fort, à qui réussirait à bouffer l’autre. Et ça s’entend bien sur le disque.
D : C’est ça qui est surprenant : on pourrait se dire que le groupe de rock va bouffer le groupe de musique traditionnelle en terme d’énergie… mais c’est tout l’inverse ! Il a fallu qu’on monte le volume de nos amplis !

PAM : Et de manière générale, qu’est-ce que vous avez gardé de leur culture, une fois le projet fini ? Qu’est-ce qui s’est infiltré chez vous, un an plus tard ?
D : Ça nous a confortés dans l’idée de pousser le volume à fond !
E : Exact ! Paradoxalement, on n’a pas eu de sensation d’apaisement, au contraire. C’est une énergie très forte, avec des morceaux joués pendant très longtemps, pour mieux les laisser déraper. Et si j’ai bien compris, ils ont un objectif mercantile, parce que c’est avant tout un groupe de mariages. Évidemment, ils touchent un gros cachet pour venir jouer, mais pendant la cérémonie, alors qu’ils sont au centre d’une énorme tente, tous les invités du mariage viennent leur filer des biftons en les glissant dans une grande poche spéciale cousue dans leurs djellabas. Donc il faut que ce soit la folie quand ils jouent.


Fête de l’Humanité, La Courneuve, septembre 2016 : Group Doueh découvre avec enthousiasme le mix de l’album – ici, la chanson « Bord de mer »

PAM : Est-ce que cette façon de travailler avec une énergie très brute, très live, vous fait aujourd’hui reconsidérer la façon de faire de la musique dans Cheveu ?
D : Ça nous a ramenés à nos vieilles amours des concerts avec un son bien ghetto, où on laissait dérouler les morceaux…
E : …en cherchant la répétition qui crée une transe. Et c’est comme ça que joue Group Doueh sur scène. Ils ne sont pas du tout intéressés par le format pop d’une chanson. C’est un groupe qui joue dans les mariages, donc tant que les gens dansent, ils continuent ! Pour les lives qu’on va faire ensemble, on va donc aller dans leur sens.

PAM : C’est vous, Cheveu, qui avez fait le « director’s cut » des enregistrements des sessions ? Avec l’avis de Group Doueh ?
D : Oui, c’est nous qui avons taillé et découpé dans les sessions, sauf pour les moments qui te semblent miraculeux : et bien c’était vraiment miraculeux ! Comme sur « Charaa », où les couches de musique se superposent, sans qu’on ait eu besoin de faire de découpage. Mais on était évidemment hyper consciencieux sur la façon de le faire. De toute façon, on sentait que l’enregistrement et sa qualité n’étaient pas forcément leur priorité. Ils n’ont pas la culture du disque enregistré, même s’ils ont sorti quatre albums sur Sublime Frequencies. C’est un groupe de live : pour eux, ça ne sert à rien de répéter ; on ne joue pas tant qu’il n’y a pas de public ; on ne s’arrête pas tant que les gens dansent… C’est fondamentalement différent de notre façon de considérer la musique.
E : On a fait attention de respecter la cohérence et le sens des paroles, par exemple, en évitant de les découper n’importe où. Et quand on leur a fait écouter notre version finale du mix en France, à la Fête de l’Humanité [en septembre 2016 à La Courneuve], ils nous ont dit que ça leur plaisait.


EL WAAR EST UN PETIT GÉNIE DE 20 ANS QUI SONNE COMME DR DRE ET QUI SORT DES TRUCS GÉNIAUX AVEC SON CLAVIER-ORCHESTRE.


PAM : Il y aura une suite à cette collaboration Cheveu/Group Doueh ?
D : Oui, l’objectif est de faire des concerts ensemble au printemps et à l’été. On en a fait un à Rabbat récemment, et on n’était pas très satisfaits, donc il y a un travail intéressant à faire sur ce projet.
E : Dans Group Doueh, il y a ce mec qu’on aime vraiment beaucoup au synthé, El Waar, le fils de Doueh. C’est un petit génie de 20 ans qui sonne comme Dr Dre et qui sort des trucs géniaux avec son clavier-orchestre, une machine qui inclut même les quarts de ton. Et on devrait pouvoir facilement l’inviter sur des projets à l’étranger.

PAM : La référence à Dr Dre, ça lui parle ?
D : Non, pas du tout, justement. Ils ont des points de référence culturels complètement hermétiques à la musique pop occidentale : ils ne connaissent pas les Beatles, les Rolling Stones, Madonna, ou Beyoncé…
E : Uniquement Dire Straits et Jimi Hendrix !
D : Toute leur culture musicale vient du Liban, d’Arabie Saoudite, du Golfe Persique. La télé libanaise est branchée en permanence, toute la journée.

PAM : Ça me fait penser à la télévision somalienne des années 80 et 90 qui diffusait des pièces de théâtre fleuves, qui duraient jusqu’à trois heures, avec un orchestre ou un groupe qui jouait des chansons géniales, et des chanteurs et chanteuses au talent incroyable. ll n’y a aucune trace discographique de tout ça, mais seulement des enregistrements sur VHS que des téléspectateurs ont fait chez eux à l’époque, et ont mis en ligne sur Youtube (comme ici, avec la géniale chanteuse Kinsi Haji Aadan). Je ne vous raconte même pas la qualité audio du truc… Mais au moins, ce n’est pas perdu, et on peut quand même l’écouter encore aujourd’hui.
D : Justement, ce disque avec Group Doueh est la première étape d’un plus gros projet, géré par José Kamal, le mec qui nous a accueillis à Dakhla. Il compte enregistrer une vingtaine de groupes de la culture hassani, pour sauvegarder ces musiques régionales. Il édite aussi un guide des festivals marocains. Et vu le contexte tendu en ce moment dans la région, je crois que c’est très important de mettre en avant cette culture.

PAM : Et avant cette collaboration, vous étiez déjà intéressés par la musique africaine ?
E : Oui. J’ai passé un mois à Mali, il y a quelque temps déjà. J’ai été impressionné par beaucoup de musiciens de rue, que j’ai enregistrés sur mon MiniDisc.

PAM : Tu as donc de quoi lancer ton label de field recordings, comme Sublime Frequencies, le label de Group Doueh !
E : Non… Le souci, c’est que je ne retrouve pas les disquettes. J’ai retourné mon appartement quinze fois et je ne les ai jamais retrouvées…


IL FAISAIT CHAUD ET FROID À LA FOIS, LE THÉ ÉTAIT TROP FORT, ON NE COMPRENAIT RIEN AUX RYTHMIQUES COMPLIQUÉES DE GROUP DOUEH… RIEN D’EXOTIQUE OU D’IDYLLIQUE. POUR MOI, DAKHLA SAHARA SESSION EST UN PROJET ANTI-WORLD.


PAM : Et toi, David, tu avais déjà un attrait pour la musique africaine ?
D : Je vais dire un truc qui ne répond pas du tout à ta question [rires] mais ça me rappelle que j’avais envie de parler de tout ce délire « world » ou « fusion » : on serait des Occidentaux confrontés à une culture exotique, etc… C’est évident qu’il y a un peu de ça dans ce projet de disque. Mais on se méfie de cette idée, et on essaie plutôt d’insister sur la réalité d’une rencontre entre deux groupes. Et je peux te dire que ce n’était pas un moment noyé dans une brume de bonheur. Loin de là. On en a chié ! Il faisait chaud et froid à la fois, le thé était trop fort, on ne comprenait rien aux rythmiques compliquées de Group Doueh… Rien d’exotique ou d’idyllique là-dedans. Pour moi, Dakhla Sahara Session est un projet anti-world.


C’EST UNE SUPERPOSITION, UNE JUXTAPOSITION DE MUSIQUES. ON N’EST JAMAIS ARRIVÉS À UNE FUSION. ET C’EST MIEUX COMME ÇA.


PAM : C’est un projet anti-world, je suis d’accord, et c’est d’ailleurs ce que j’ai senti à l’écoute. C’est brut et ce n’est pas pensé pour satisfaire les oreilles des Occidentaux. C’est une rencontre entre deux cultures, tout simplement.
D : Oui, et quand tu écoutes bien, il n’y a aucun moment caricatural où on ferait un riff africanisant pendant qu’ils envoient un truc rock’n’roll.
E : Chacun est resté sur son terrain musical.
D : C’est une superposition, une juxtaposition de musiques, et on n’est jamais arrivés à une fusion. Et c’est mieux comme ça, je trouve.

PAM : La suite pour Cheveu ?
D : On fait un opéra sur la vie du coureur cycliste de Marco Pantani, qu’on présente au théâtre des Amandiers le 25 février. Rien à voir !
E : C’est avec nous, les trois membres de Cheveu, six chanteurs leads, une quarantaine de choristes, et les arrangements de cordes de Maya Dunietz [musicienne israélienne, déjà responsable des arrangements de cordes sur 1000, le précédent album du groupe].

Toutes les photos sont de Arnaud Contreras