→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
dumama+kechou’s debut buffering juju is a menagerie of South African identity
Article
dumama+kechou’s debut buffering juju is a menagerie of South African identity

On their debut release titled buffering juju, out now on the Mushroom Hour label, the nomadic folk duo of dumama+kechou offer up takes, re-takes, fixes, and sedimentary reduxes to the sound otherwise known as electronic music.

Nasty C signs new deal with iconic Def Jam Recordings and shares ‘There They Go’
Nasty C signs new deal with iconic Def Jam Recordings and shares ‘There They Go'

  South African rapper Nasty C has been snapped up in an exclusive pact with Def Jam Recordings. He also put out ‘There They Go’ music video, extract from upcoming album. Nasty C has signed […]

Sibusile Xaba shatters the confines of maskandi genre on ‘Uyahlupha’
News
Sibusile Xaba shatters the confines of maskandi genre on 'Uyahlupha'

Charismatic guitar savant Sibusile Xaba reframes maskandi and the avant-garde into his own humanist manifesto on his sophomore album Ngiwu Shwabada. After the acclaimed release of Opened Letter to Adoniah in 2017, Sibusile’s second album Ngiwu […]

Sho Madjozi honors her roots on ‘Kona’ music video
Music Video
Sho Madjozi honors her roots on 'Kona' music video

Extract from her sensational album Limpopo Champions League released in 2018, Sho Madjozi shares colorful visuals for “Kona”. From her native Limpopo to the Hollywood panel on the heights of Los Angeles, the South African rapper wears the colors of […]

Laliboi: from the Eastern Cape, with raps
Article
Laliboi: from the Eastern Cape, with raps

“Laliboi has always been there. He was just silent. He was more of a school then, [and] is still a scholar [today].” — Siphosenkosi Nkondlwane (alias Laliboi) The music of Laliboi is a sonic tapestry of […]

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed
Gqom Oh! showcases the richness of gqom on Commando Mixtape
News
Gqom Oh! showcases the richness of gqom on Commando Mixtape

Commando Mixtape displays the fresh underground sounds coming out from Durban townships. Inspired by their official dancer Esi.J, underground collective Gqom Oh! named the mixtape ‘Commando’ a powerful dance move which sums up the compilation of hits […]

Muzi: flag bearer for the vanguard of South Africa’s electro scene
Discover
Muzi: flag bearer for the vanguard of South Africa's electro scene

From revelation to confirmation – the South African producer Muzi is back with Zeno, a real and uncompromising concentration of shining Zulu house. Gathering around him the new guard of the South African electro scene, […]

Bongeziwe Mabandla announces new album with single ‘Zange’
News
Bongeziwe Mabandla announces new album with single 'Zange'

The South African artist is back with a third afro-folk album, Zange, blending popular and traditional music in an unique way. After two nominations for the South African Music Awards in 2013 following the release of his […]

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Urban Zulu : l’album culte de Busi Mhlongo réédité pour la première fois
News
Urban Zulu : l'album culte de Busi Mhlongo réédité pour la première fois

Matsuli Music a annoncé la première sortie en vinyle du disque phare de Busi Mhlongo de 1999, Urban Zulu.

Buffering juju est un kaléidoscope d’identités sud-africaines, et le premier album de dumama+kechou
Article
Buffering juju est un kaléidoscope d'identités sud‑africaines, et le premier album de dumama+kechou

Sur son premier album, Buffering juju, le duo nomade folk dumama+kechou accumule les prises et les reprises, pratiquant l’art du bricolage et de la déconstruction d’un son que les esprits étriqués continuent d’appeler « musique électronique ».

Sandy B projette son kwaito dans le clip de ‘Qhum Qhaks’
Article
Sandy B projette son kwaito dans le clip de 'Qhum Qhaks'

L’iconique Sud-Africain Sandy B revient avec la vidéo de « Qhum Qhaks », titre issu de son dernier album du même nom. Véritable avant-gardiste de la scène musicale électronique sud-africaine, Sandy B est un pionnier du genre […]

Sibusile Xaba repousse les limites du mbaqanga avec ‘Uyahlupha’
News
Sibusile Xaba repousse les limites du mbaqanga avec 'Uyahlupha'

Le guitariste, chanteur et compositeur sud-africain Sibusile Xaba dévoile « Uyahlupha », épique morceau de mbaqanga, avant la sortie de son deuxième album début 2020. Après la sortie acclamée de Opened Letter to Adoniah en 2017, le second album de […]

Sho Madjozi affirme plus que jamais ses origines dans le clip de ‘Kona’
News
Sho Madjozi affirme plus que jamais ses origines dans le clip de 'Kona'

Tiré de son sensationnel album Limpopo Champions League sorti en 2018, Sho Madjozi honore ses racines dans le clip haut en couleur de « Kona ». De son Limpopo natal au panneau d’Hollywood sur les hauteurs de Los […]

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé
La fine fleur de la scène gqom de Durban réunie dans Commando Mixtape
News
La fine fleur de la scène gqom de Durban réunie dans Commando Mixtape

Le label Gqom Oh! condense vingt bangers made in Durban dans une mixtape regroupant les figures majeures du genre. Inspiré par la danceuse Esi.J du collectif underground Gqom Oh!, le titre « Commando » puise son origine d’un puissant mouvement […]

Muzi, prince de la zulu house, persiste et signe
Article
Muzi, prince de la zulu house, persiste et signe

Le producteur sud-africain Muzi est de retour avec Zeno, un véritable concentré de zulu house : solaire et sans compromis. En réunissant autour de lui la nouvelle garde de l’électro sud-africaine, il prouve à ceux qui […]

Bongeziwe Mabandla annonce un nouvel album avec le single ‘Zange’
News
Bongeziwe Mabandla annonce un nouvel album avec le single 'Zange'

L’artiste sud-africain est de retour avec un troisième album afro-folk, Zange, à l’intersection entre musique populaire et traditionnelle. Après deux nominations aux South African Music Awards en 2013 à la suite de son premier album Umlilo et […]