Ifriqiyya Électrique: Trance-Europe-Express on the road of the Tunisian Banga ritual

Afro-Tunisian ritual trance meets nomadic Western post-industrial punk.

Convulsed children’s bodies, their faces turned towards the sky and their eyes rolling back, people chanting until exhaustion, their feet beating the ground… loud percussions, sometimes slow, sometimes frantic… The electric guitar then enters, with heavy saturation that evokes extreme feelings of pain or pleasure, then the bass guitar that hits the gut. Spirits of Black Africa meet those of Maghreb and Occident.


THE AIM OF THE RITUAL IS NOT TO EXPEL THESE SPIRITS – THE RÛWÂHÎNES – BUT TO MAKE THEM ENTER THE PERSON’S BODY AND MIND SO THEY ARE POSSESSED, AND TO SATISFY THEM BY THE TRANCE.


This is the Banga, a therapeutic ritual practice that the black communities of South Tunisia have kept alive through generations. Their members, all descendents of haoussas Black slaves, have always lived in the Djerid, a semi-desertic region that was the heart of the melting-pot between Berbers, Muslim Arabs and black African slaves. The ritual, that mixes dance, music and ceremonies, is the Tunisian cousin of gnawa from Morocco. They share the same origin, and they are easily confused with exorcism, whereas they are adorcist practices linked to spirits called rûwâhînes. The aim of the ritual is not to expel these spirits, but to make them enter the person’s body and mind so they are possessed, and to satisfy them by the trance.


WHAT DO THESE PROJECT HAVE IN COMMON? THEY ALL DECIDED TO IGNORE THE “WORLD MUSIC” LABEL, EVEN BEFORE STARTING THEIR COLLABORATIONS.


There was Ethiopian saxophonist Gétatchew Mékurya and punk Dutch band The Ex ; Sarahoui wedding band Group Doueh and French proto-punk trio Cheveu ; or Congotronics VS Rockers: Konono No1 and Kasai Allstars from Congo who composed music with the members of Deerhoof and Skeletons (USA), Juana Molina (Argentina) and Wildbirds & Peacedrums (Sweden). We now must add Ifriqiyya Électrique to the list.

What do these project have in common? They all decided to ignore the “world music” label, even before starting their collaborations. Ignore rather than refuse, because they never were projects aimed to satisfy Westerners listeners (or any other listener) or to fill up White producers’ wallets. They were lucky human encounters that put side by side artists with totally opposed ethnic and geographical realities.

So when Tunisia-based musicians of a sufi ritual share their art with international nomadic musicians accustomed to punk basements and sonic experiments squats, but also field recording sessions in Asian and Oriental territories, we have to keep our ears wide open. Especially when the project was initiated by French artist François Cambuzat, who we’ve already seen performing with Enfance Rouge at the beginning of the 2000s. This band is Cambuzat’s experimentation laboratory for noise and modern music [musique contemporaine], with no artistic or geographical settlement, and that already included collaborations with Tunisian musicians.


MY WORK IS DRIVEN TOWARDS ELEVATION, SWEAT, BLOOD, POETRY AND TEARS – NOT TO SOME PRETTY COLOUR POSTCARD.


Initiator of Ifriqiyya Électrique project, Cambuzat discovered the Banga ritual during one of his many travels to Mediterranean territories, decided to produce a film, and to observe what would be the result of the discussion between ancestral African sounds and his own investigation on post-industrial and noise music. He embarked on this road-trip and road-movie with Italian bassist Gianna Greco, the other half of their duo Putan Club, frequent collaborators with New-York (post-)punk poetess Lydia Lunch, also keen on any kind of experimentation. On the Tunisian side stands La Banga de Tozeur, featuring Tarek Sultan, Yahia Chouchen, Youssef Ghazala and Ali Chouchen, who play the typical instruments of their own ritual: tablas, krabebs (castanets), nagharat (drums) and voice.

Ifriqiyya Électrique is a risky human project, and is by definition experimental, like any encounter may be. As Cambuzat put it when talking about sufi music, not losing his regular radicalism: “I like [these] musical scenes (…). And what you should know about them is already badly written on Wikipedia, and it’s enough. The rest of the knowledge will come from the buckets you are willing to sweat to reach them. (…) [My work] is driven towards elevation, sweat, blood, poetry and tears – not to some pretty colour postcard.”

The album Rûwâhîne by Ifriqiyya Électrique is available on Glitterbeat Records from May, 26th.

LISTEN TO THE ALBUM AND SUBSCRIBE TO OUR PLAYLIST “ALBUM OF THE WEEK” ON SPOTIFY AND DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

The complete movie is available on YouTube :

Ifriqiyya Électrique next shows:
29th June – Roskilde (Danemark) – Roskilde Festival
15th July – Policka (Czech Republic) – Colour Meeting
21st July – Barcelos (Portugal) – Milhões de Festa
26th July – Sines (Portugal) – FMM Sines
29th  July – Malmesbury (Angleterre) – WOMAD
3rd August – Näsåker (Sweden) – Urkult Festival

Ifriqiyya Électrique : Transe-Europe-Express sur les routes du rituel de la Banga tunisienne

Quand la transe rituelle des Tunisiens Noirs rencontre le punk post-industriel de nomades occidentaux.

Des corps d’enfants convulsés, des yeux qui se lèvent au ciel, des chants qui se répètent jusqu’à l’épuisement, les pieds battant inlassablement le sol… des percussions tantôt lentes, tantôt galopantes… Puis entre une guitare électrique dont la saturation évoque la douleur ou le plaisir extrême et une basse qui frappe le bas-ventre. Les esprits d’Afrique Noire, du Maghreb et d’Occident se confrontent.


IL NE S’AGIT PAS D’EXPULSER LES ESPRITS – LES RÛWÂHÎNES – MAIS DE LES FAIRE ENTRER EN SOI AFIN QU’ILS POSSÈDENT CEUX QUI LES INCANTENT, ET LES SATISFAIRE PAR LA TRANSE.


On assiste ici à une pratique rituelle thérapeutique, la Banga, maintenue vivante par les communautés noires de Tunisie du Sud-Ouest. Ses membres, descendants des esclaves haoussas d’Afrique Noire, vivent le Djerid, une région semi-désertique, creuset du métissage entre Berbères, Arabes à majorité musulmane, et esclaves noirs. Le rituel, qui mêle danse, musique et cérémonies est un équivalent du gnawa marocain, aux origines similaires, qu’on confond facilement avec l’exorcisme, alors que c’est une pratique d’adorcisme liée aux esprits qu’on appelle rûwâhînes. Il ne s’agit pas ici d’expulser ces esprits, mais bel et bien de les faire entrer en soi afin qu’ils possèdent ceux qui les incantent, et les satisfaire par la transe.


LE POINT COMMUN DE CES PROJETS ? IGNORER L’ÉTIQUETTE « WORLD MUSIC » OU « MUSIQUE DU MONDE » AVANT MÊME D’ENTAMER LA COLLABORATION ENTRE ARTISTES.


Il y a eu l’Éthiopien Gétatchew Mékurya et les Néerlandais de The Ex ; les Sarahouis de Group Doueh et les Français de Cheveu ; ou encore Congotronics VS Rockers, les Congolais de Konono No1 et Kasai Allstars composant avec les membres de Deerhoof et Skeletons (États-Unis), Juana Molina (Argentine) et Wildbirds & Peacedrums (Suède). Il y a désormais Ifriqiyya Électrique. Leur point commun ? Ignorer l’étiquette « world music » ou « musique du monde » avant même d’entamer la collaboration entre artistes. L’ignorer plutôt que la rejeter puisqu’il ne s’est jamais agi d’un projet pensé pour satisfaire les oreilles des auditeurs Blancs (ni celles des autres) ou fait pour remplir les porte-monnaies des producteurs occidentaux. Il s’agit à chaque fois d’une rencontre humaine qui, incidemment, a mis côte-à-côte des artistes aux réalités ethniques et géographiques que tout oppose. Disons-le clairement : un projet qui mêlerait cornemuse bretonne, vielle à roue occitane et punk de Strasbourg est tout aussi excitant que ceux-là, mais n’a pas sa place dans notre magazine.

Alors quand les musiciens d’un rituel soufi installés en Tunisie dialoguent le temps d’un disque avec des musiciens internationaux habitués aux caves punk et squats d’expérimentation sonores extrêmes, mais aussi au field recording en terres orientales et asiatiques, on tend l’oreille. D’autant plus quand c’est François Cambuzat qui mène la danse, lui qu’on a déjà vu donner des performances intenses au début des années 2000 avec L’Enfance Rouge, son projet de recherche en musique bruitiste et contemporaine, sans attache ni artistique ni géographique, incluant déjà des collaborations avec des musiciens tunisiens.


MON TRAVAIL EST MOTIVÉ PAR L’ÉLÉVATION, LA SUEUR, LE SANG, LA POÉSIE ET LES LARMES – TRÈS LOIN D’UNE JOLIE CARTE POSTALE EN COULEURS.


À l’initiative du projet Ifriqiyya Électrique, François Cambuzat découvre le rituel Banga lors d’un de ses nombreux voyages en terres méditerranéennes, et décide d’en faire un film, et d’observer ce qui résulterait d’un dialogue entre les sonorités ancestrales et sa propre recherche sur les musiques post-industrielles et bruitistes. Il embarque avec lui dans ce road-trip et road-movie la bassiste italienne Gianna Greco, avec qui il forme le groupe Putan Club, habitué des collaborations avec Lydia Lunch, poète new-yorkaise (post-)punk férue d’expérimentations tous azimuts. Côté tunisien, La Banga de Tozeur, composée de Tarek Sultan, Yahia Chouchen, Youssef Ghazala et Ali Chouchen, qui manient les instruments typiques du rituels : tablas, krabebs (sortes de castagnettes), nagharat (tambours) et voix.

Un projet risqué, humain et par définition expérimental, comme il en va de toute rencontre. Ainsi que François Cambuzat le défendait avec un certain radicalisme à propos des musiques soufies, et qu’on peut appliquer à son travail en règle générale : « J’aime [ces] musiques. Ce qu’il faut savoir sur eux est déjà écrit – très mal – sur Wikipedia, et c’est bien suffisant. Le reste des connaissances dépendra des litres de sueur que tu es prêt à verser pour t’approcher d’eux. [Mon travail] est motivé par l’élévation, la sueur, le sang, la poésie et les larmes – très loin d’une jolie carte postale en couleurs. »

L’album Rûwâhîne de Ifriqiyya Électrique est disponible depuis vendredi 26 mai sur Glitterbeat Records.

ÉCOUTEZ L’ALBUM ET ABONNEZ-VOUS À NOTRE PLAYLIST « ALBUM OF THE WEEK » SUR SPOTIFY ET DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

Le film complet est visible sur YouTube :

Retrouvez Ifriqiyya Électrique en concert :
29 juin – Roskilde (Danemark) – Roskilde Festival
15 juillet – Policka (République Tchèque) – Colour Meeting
21 juillet – Barcelos (Portugal) – Milhões de Festa
26 juillet – Sines (Portugal) – FMM Sines
29 juillet – Malmesbury (Angleterre) – WOMAD
3 août – Näsåker (Suède) – Urkult Festival