MC Obama drops the White House’s microphone

As outgoing president Barack Obama is leaving power and his microphone, we’re looking at the most musical presidency in the history of the USA, which let Black music enter the White House.

A Black president in the White House? Such a situation had only been contemplated in music through fanciful songs that insisted on the non-existent probability of the scenario to happen.

Blowfly was “The First Black President” in 1988

Barack Obama may have a Kenyan father, a Kansas-born mother, he may have grown up between Hawaii and Indonesia, he’ll still be remembered as the first Black president of the United States of America in history.

“In fact he’s half-White / So even in a racist mind he’s half right” sang ironically Jay Z, one of the most visible supporters in Obama’s eclectic musical galaxy. The President has spent his two mandates educating his fans through regular presidential playlists.

He also organized special shows at the White House, during which he himself sang, too. His music selection has showed a strong taste for soul music – Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin – but there was even more: in only 8 years, Barack Obama became the American president who invited the most artists (Mavis Staples, Bob Dylan, Kendrick Lamar, Common, Smokey Robinson, Paul McCartney, Mick Jagger, Esperanza Spalding, Queen Latifah, etc.) and the first one to largely approve and open the institution doors to hip hop, Motown sound, and the African-American Civil Rights Movement soundtrack.

Obama, Beyoncé, Jay Z

In a country where fame is the ultimate step of social identity, Obama gathered the support of a few stars even his daughters approved (besides the obvious Beyoncé or Jay Z) and he opened his door to a whole new generation of artists. No wonder that the POTUS [POTUS stands for President of The United States, Obama’s username on Spotify and Twitter] farewell party attracted such a crowd of musicians, who patiently queued in the cold outdoors to eventually get into The People’s House, run by the Obama for only a few more days.

At the beginning of January, one could spot at the White House artists as various as Jill Scott, Janelle Monaé, Common, Usher, Les Roots, De La Soul and even new Broadway musical star Leslie Odom Jr., whose Hamilton show has delighted the mainstream audiences. This hip hop and R’n’B show sees the actor and singer (re-)enact US history with the help of a multiethnic cast.


THIS ANECDOTE REVEALS ONE OF THE GREATEST QUALITIES OF SUCH A MUSIC LOVER AS OBAMA, AND HIS TEAM OF ADVISORS AND COUNSELORS: HE HIMSELF EMBODIED THE “COOL” SIDE OF AN ERA THAT WILL END WITH THE ARRIVAL OF HIS SUCCESSOR.


Hamilton had such a large appeal that even Donald Trump‘s future vice-president Mike Pence went to see the show, a rather special attendee who was greeted by the reading of a letter written by the actors themselves, worried about the future of multiculturalism in their country. Long before the performance’s success, Obama had already invited its author, Lin-Manuel Miranda, to participate in one of the White House’s poetic jams.

Since then, the play has toured the whole USA (and will probably be adapted in other countries), has already generated billions of dollars, its author was awarded the Pulitzer prize, and Obama invited him again this year to perform the musical show at home.

“When I first received Lin home, he told me about a project featuring a character that represents the essence of hip hop: Alexander Hamilton, born in 1757!”, Obama was joking when introducing the off-site show at the White House.

This anecdote reveals one of the greatest qualities of such a music lover as Obama, and his team of advisors and counselors: he himself embodied the “cool” side of an era that will end with the arrival of his successor.

During his whole mandate, he has been able to promote a conscious hip hop. With him, even when anger-ridden, hip hop seemed to lose its violence and clichés. When he hosted very symbolic guest Kendrick Lamar for the Independence Party last summer, he had him respect the protocol: the American rapper could not play the too polemical Pimp as a Butterfly, and had to avoid the terms “gang”, “gang sign” and “hood”.

Kendrick Lamar at the White House, 4th of July, 2016

Of course Obama loves hip hop! This is what the then Senator for Illinois said when interviewed in 2008. He revealed he liked Jay Z, this new American gangsta rapper who “has a great flow”, indeed showing his knowledge of rap vocabulary. But the politician mostly talked about his passion for Stevie (Wonder), Marvin (Gaye), the Temptations, and Earth Wind and Fire… what he likes to call “old school” music: those icons who transcended time and whom he chose to pay tribute to as a President.

Thus, the first artist he invited for an official concert broadcasted on the public TV channel was Stevie Wonder, whose music the presidential candidate had already included in the soundtrack of his campaign meetings. And the same music he is said to have danced to with his beautiful wife Michele… Among the guests of that special night were to be found Paul Simon, Esperanza Spalding and of course Black Eyed Peas‘ will.i.am, whom composed the hit “Yes We Can“.


TO HIM, THE ONLY COUNTERPART TO THIS EXHAUSTING DAILY LIFE WAS THE OPPORTUNITY TO “INVITE MICK JAGGER FOR A GIG FROM TIME TO TIME…”


“We organized this tribute to Stevie Wonder in less than a month, and this has already made history! Whether it be Dylan, Mick Jagger, BB King, Buddy Guy or other artists, you could see they felt a kind of magic, playing in front of such a music lover”, remembers Dalton Delan, executive producer for the In Performance at The White House shows series.

Sweet Home Chicago with Mick Jagger, BB King , Buddy Guy live at The white House feat. Barack Obama

Obama constantly repeated it: these concerts remain one of his preferred traditions at The White House, a breath of air in a tightly timed daily schedule inside of the institution bubble. To him, the only counterpart to this exhausting daily life was the opportunity to “invite Mick Jagger for a gig from time to time…”

Upon arrival of the Obama administration, the musical tone of the White House changed drastically. New themes, like “Fiesta Latina”, “The Gospel Tradition”, “The Motown Sound”, “Memphis Soul”, “Red, White and Blues” replaced the classical music and the Republican heroes of Country music George W. Bush used to invite.

During his last year of mandate, President Obama had a huge craving for music at home, outside the official concerts – the last of which being a stirring tribute to Ray Charles when the President, after having introduced the singers and the band, resumed the song by inviting the crowd to sing with him. He also organized an outdoor festival on the lawn of the White House, and he hosted a “Tiny Desk Concert” of Common for the famous NPR radio show. And, for his last open-to-the-public Christmas in the garden, he invited Chance The Rapper.

Chance The Rapper at White House

Right from the 20th of January, things will radically have changed, and Donald Trump’s soundtrack – the new President had a hard time recruiting artists for his inauguration day – may well re-establish the good ol’ Republican tradition: full-on country music. For now, the new administration announced that the concerts would not be a priority, and that no in-White House show was planned yet. However, we still want to hope the presidential home would trigger new musical anthems… Yes We Can?

À la Maison-Blanche, DJ Obama lâche les platines

À l’heure où Barack Obama quitte le pouvoir et lâche les platines, retour sur une présidence mélomane, qui ouvrit la Maison-Blanche aux musiques noires.

Un président Noir à la Maison-Blanche ? Le scénario n’avait été envisagé en musique qu’à travers des compositions fantaisistes ou carrément pour imaginer l’impossibilité d’une telle élection.

En 1988, Blowfly était « the first Black President »

Même si Barack Obama a un père kényan et une mère née dans le Kansas, qu’il a grandi entre Hawaï et l’Indonésie, pour l’Histoire, il restera le premier président Noir des Etats-Unis.

« En fait il est à moitié Blanc, et donc même dans les cerveaux racistes, il a au moins à moitié raison » ironisait le rappeur Jay Z, un des soutiens les plus visibles de la galaxie musicale Obama, finalement plus éclectique qu’il n’y paraît.

Pendant ses deux mandats, le Président a éclairé ses fans en publiant des playlists présidentielles. Il a aussi organisé des concerts exceptionnels à la Maison-Blanche où il a souvent lui-même donné de la voix. Dans ses choix, on décèle un goût certain pour la soul music, Stevie Wonder et Aretha Franklin, mais pas seulement. En huit ans, Barack Obama aura été le Président américain qui a reçu le plus d’artistes (Mavis Staples, Bob Dylan, Kendrick Lamar, Common, Smokey Robinson, Paul McCartney, Mick Jagger, Esperanza Spalding, Queen Latifah, etc.) et le premier à donner droit de cité en si haut lieu au hip-hop, à la Motown ou à la bande-son du Mouvement pour les droits civiques.

Obama, Beyoncé, Jay Z

Dans un pays où la célébrité est le statut ultime de l’identité, Barack Obama a trouvé le soutien de stars adoubées par ses filles (pas seulement Beyoncé ou Jay Z) et il a ouvert sa porte à toute une nouvelle génération d’artistes. Pas étonnant donc que pour la soirée d’adieu du POTUS (President of The United States, son pseudo sur Spotify et sur Twitter), une foule de musiciens aient été prêts à affronter le froid et à faire la queue pour entrer dans « la Maison du Peuple » tenue par les Obama pendant encore quelques jours.

En ce début janvier, on pouvait apercevoir Jill Scott, Janelle Monaé, Common, Usher, Les Roots, De La Soul ou encore Leslie Odom Jr., la nouvelle star de la comédie musicale de Broadway qui a séduit le grand public américain dans Hamilton, un show hip-hop et R’n’B qui (ré-)interprète l’histoire américaine avec un casting multiethnique.


C’EST PEUT-ÊTRE LÀ UNE DES GRANDES QUALITÉS DU MÉLOMANE OBAMA ET DE SON ÉQUIPE DE CONSEILLERS : INCARNER À LUI SEUL LE « COOL » D’UNE ÉPOQUE, LA MUSIQUE D’UNE ÈRE QUI VA S’ACHEVER AVEC L’ARRIVÉE DE SON SUCCESSEUR. 


À tel point que même le futur vice-président de Trump, Mike Pence, y est allé, ce qui lui a valu une lettre lue sur scène par les acteurs inquiets pour l’avenir du multiculturalisme dans leur pays. Bien avant le succès, Obama, lui, avait reçu son auteur, Lin Manuel Miranda, dans les jams poétiques de la Maison-Blanche. Depuis, la pièce a fait le tour des États-Unis (et devrait être adaptée ailleurs), elle a généré des milliards de dollars, l’auteur a reçu le prix Pulitzer, et Barack Obama l’a réinvité cette année pour présenter cette comédie musicale chez lui.

« Lorsque j’avais reçu Lin, il m’avait parlé de son projet sur un personnage  qui représente le hip-hop dans tout son être : Alexander Hamilton, né en 1757 ! » rigolait Obama en présentant le spectacle délocalisé à la Maison-Blanche.

C’est peut-être là une des grandes qualités du mélomane Obama et de son équipe de conseillers : incarner à lui seul le « cool » d’une époque, la musique d’une ère qui va s’achever avec l’arrivée de son successeur. Il a su, tout au long de son mandat, promouvoir un hip-hop conscient. Même empreint d’une certaine colère, chez Obama le hip-hop paraît exempt de violence et de clichés. D’ailleurs, quand il reçoit Kendrick Lamar pour la fête du Jour de l’Indépendance américaine cet été, c’est un symbole fort bien sûr, mais, protocole oblige, le chanteur ne joue pas son dernier album Pimp As a Butterfly, très politisé, et il ne peut prononcer les mots « gang », « gang sign », « hood ».

Kendrick Lamar à la Maison-Blanche, 04 juillet 2016

Bien sûr qu’il aime le hip-hop dit le Sénateur Obama interviewé en 2008 ! Il aime ce rappeur gangster américain, Jay Z, qui « a un bon flow », disait-il en connaisseur du vocabulaire rap. Mais le sénateur de l’Illinois avouait aimer surtout Stevie (Wonder), Marvin (Gaye), les Temptations, Earth Wind and Fire… Ce qu’il appelle la musique « old school », ces idoles qui transcendent la postérité auquel Barack Obama va rendre hommage tout au long de sa présidence. Le premier artiste qu’il invite pour un concert officiel retransmis sur la chaîne publique sera d’ailleurs Stevie Wonder, que le candidat Obama a joué dans ses meetings de campagne et sur lequel il aurait fait danser la belle Michelle pour la première fois… Parmi les « guests » de cette soirée spéciale, il y a entre autres, Paul Simon, Esperanza Spalding et bien sûr le Black Eyed Peas, Will.i.am, l’auteur du tube « Yes We Can ».


POUR LUI, LA SEULE CONTREPARTIE DE CE QUOTIDIEN ÉREINTANT, C’EST DE « RECEVOIR MICK JAGGER DE TEMPS EN TEMPS POUR UN CONCERT… »


« On a organisé cet hommage à Stevie Wonder en moins d’un mois, c’est historique ! Que ce soit chez Dylan, Mick Jagger, BB King, Buddy Guy ou d’autres, on sent que pour les artistes, il y avait une certaine magie à jouer devant ce président si mélomane » se souvient Dalton Delan, producteur exécutif des concerts In Performance at The White House.

« Sweet Home Chicago » avec Mick Jagger, BB King, Buddy Guy en live à la Maison-Blanche feat. Barack Obama

Barack Obama n’a cessé de le dire : ces concerts restent l’une de ses traditions préférées à la Maison-Blanche, sa petite bouffée d’oxygène dans un quotidien contrôlé, minuté, au cœur de la bulle White House. Pour lui, la seule contrepartie de ce quotidien éreintant, c’est de « recevoir Mick Jagger de temps en temps pour un concert… »

Avec l’arrivée de l’administration Obama, ces concerts officiels ont changé la couleur musicale de la Maison-Blanche. De nouvelles thématiques – Soul, Fiesta Latina, soirée Blues, Gospel, ou Motown – ont remplacé la musique classique et les héros républicains country invités par George W. Bush. Pendant sa dernière année au pouvoir, le Président Obama a d’ailleurs eu une boulimie de musique à domicile. En marge des concerts officiels qui se sont soldés par un vibrant hommage à Ray Charles et où le président, après avoir présenté les musiciens, a encore chanté. Il a aussi délocalisé un festival sur la pelouse de la Maison-Blanche, et il a invité le « live » d’une célèbre émission de radio de NPR avec Common. Et pour son dernier Noël au jardin, en public, il a invité Chance the Rapper.

Chance The Rapper at White House

Dès le 20 janvier, les choses vont changer, et la bande-son de Donald Trump – qui a eu du mal à recruter des artistes pour chanter lors de son investiture – risque de renouer avec la bonne vieille tradition républicaine, tendance country. Pour l’instant, la nouvelle administration a fait savoir que les concerts ne seraient pas sa priorité, aucun show n’est encore prévu en la demeure présidentielle, mais il est encore permis d’espérer qu’elle suscitera des hymnes… « Yes We Can » ?