→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
PAM Rewind: Jamz Supernova's world in 10 tracks
© Jake Thompson

PAM Rewind: Jamz Supernova's world in 10 tracks

Jamz Supernova, BBC Radio 1Xtra host and founder of the label Future Bounce, breaks down her come-up in the UK music scene and the tracks that inspired her understanding of heritage, influence, and the future of music.

I am no astronomer, but Supernovas must have something to do with extraordinary levels of energy and light speeds judging by what Jamz has accomplished so far. Born Jamilla Walters and raised in south London, she made a name for herself running her own residencies on BBC Radio 1Xtra, while moving clubs and festivals with her own blend of dance floor heat mixing gqom, kuduro, dancehall and UK funky. And while her packed touring agenda took a blow last year, she turned her energy into growing her own label – Future Bounce – bringing innovative new music club to life, while diving into podcasting with her very own DIY Handbook – an insightful series about overcoming challenges and career do’s and don’ts. We caught up with her for the release of her label’s debut album.

Here is her selection of 10 songs around her identity as a DJ, her relationship to electronic music & the Black diaspora, kind of going chronologically.

Fish Go Deep – Cure & The Cause (Dennis Ferrer Remix)

I vividly remember hearing this record for the first time, I was like 15, walking home from school, a big group of us used to walk the same way “up the hill”. A friend of mine kept playing this song from her phone and introduced it to me as UK Funky. She bluetoothed it to me and that was the beginning of my love affair with the sound. Many years later I now realize that it wasn’t actually a UK Funky track, but soulful house. But it did mark my interest as the soundtrack to my formative raving years! By the time I was legally able to rave the sound had exploded and was everywhere, my friends & I lived and breathed it, going to every rave, devouring the mix CD’s at the end of the nights, like on our first holiday sans parents in Aiya Napa , Cyprus. The holiday home of the sound and a pilgrimage most young black teens made in the 2000s.

Black Coffee (Feat. Bucie) – Superman

During my UK Funky raving days in heels and a bodycon dress through the selections of the DJ’s, I was also dancing to records like this from South Africa. Again, at the time, for me it all fell under the UK Funky umbrella. But I do remember hearing the record a few years later and finding out who Black Coffee was and where he was from. That then opened me up to finding out more about South African music. I’m so inspired by their innovation of sound and what they add to electronic music, from the soulful house side of things, Bacardi House, Gqom and more recently Amapiano, I love it all. The drum patterns are so unique and have an unapologetic African sound to them, as someone of Caribbean heritage connecting with music like this feels almost spiritual and a return to the motherland. I don’t think I’m alone in feeling this.

Teedra Moses – Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Remix)

My past time since a child has always been spent looking for new music. It began with going through my parents’ collection, waiting for my uncle to bring new CD’s round and copying them off him and then boom THE INTERNET!!! From 14 it was all about Limewire for me corrupting and ruining on my travels through the ether. But Limewire was all about getting up to speed with old music I may have missed. However, Soundcloud blew my mind! New music from around the world at my fingertips. Soundcloud in 2011 restored my hope in R&B finding all these incredible strains that fused electronic music. Hearing some of my favorite R&B classics reworked into futuristic productions was so life-affirming for me. I made it my mission to support this music and build a radio show out of it. Focusing on that specialism is what helped me build a name for myself and eventually what landed me my show on BBC Radio 1Xtra. Time moves on as does sound but hearing this record will always give me chills of excitement. I think Kaytranada is a genius, again back to the drums, the syncopated claps, you know it’s him from the get-go!

Uniiqu3 – Phase 3 

Jersey Club was another genre that I came across through Soundcloud. The producers and DJ’s were so unapologetic in their delivery, culturally it’s so Black and proud. Something about that resonated with me, as I was finding my feet in electronic music. I remember in some of my early sets as a DJ really trying to rep the sound on UK dancefloors and it was not always going down well, however over the years the UK has caught up… Uniiqu3 was an instant stand out for me as a producer I was in awe of. When I finally met her in 2016 we just clicked. She’s very independent of spirit & mind and just gets shit done. She’s built an empire and is extremely savvy. She was a visible Black woman touring the world with a sound dare I say it so unique!!! Jersey Club will always have a special place in my heart!

Buraka Som Sistema – Hangover (Bababa) 

This record!!!!! I still play it out today, I’ve had to give myself a self-imposed ban on playing it in my DJ sets. I have rinsed it to death and given half a chance or a moment of weakness I’ll find fingers itching to play it. I have closed many a set over the years with this record! The energy is through the roof and it’s 100% a crowd pleaser even if they don’t know it. How can you not dance to this record! It served as another introduction into a world away from mine. Through this song, I became a huge Branko fan, an avid follower of his label Enchufada and opened up the door for me to explore music coming out of Portugal. I loved learning about the intersection of cultures, the Angolan, Cape Verde, Brazil, etc. merging with Euro sounds. I’m not sure what the appropriate description for it would be now, but Global club music has a massive influence on the way I DJ & the music I seek out & through it I’ve made many friends.

Girls Music · Serocee – Propellah
Toddla T & Serocee – Propellah 

I had this as my very first ever dubplate! I felt so gassed that they would even take the time to make me one, Serocee’s vocals are the best in the bizness they just cut through on any track! I spent a good couple of years working on Toddla’s BBC Radio 1 show as an assistant producer and then a producer. I had already loved his show and selections but working on it I got to see it up close and be a part of it. The music I was exposed to shaped how I would begin to DJ and I thought it was brilliant how he merged the sounds of the Caribbean with the UK electronic scene to make a Bashy sound. The sound made perfect sense to me, it was my heritage and upbringing all rolled into one!

Jus Now & Dismantle (feat. Busy Signal) – Fire (Spotie)

Another record that falls under that “Bashy” umbrella! Through working on Toddla’s show I met my other half, Sam Interface, part of the duo Jus Now, who were known for fusing UK Bass & Bristolian sounds with the sounds of Trinidad. I got with Sam at a crucial point in my career, during our early months I had recently just got my show on BBC Radio 1Xtra and was starting to officially feel like a DJ. The year this came out was my biggest summer and I played it in every set either to open or close. I was proud and still am proud to play his music in my sets, he’s my favorite producer… I hate it if we are on the same bill together as a chunk of my arsenal has to be taken out as there are his records.

Hagan – Right Here 

This record kicked off the Club arm of my label Future Bounce. I had always wanted Future Bounce to release Club music alongside the R&B, Soul and Alt projects. But I just didn’t know how to make it make sense, I also wanted music from my label to play in my club sets. So I thought I would do them as a series, a release a month from my fave producers to be tied into a compilation at the end of the year! Hagan was the first producer to be up for it and he gave us two absolute belters. The record has some strong support from the get-go, and just encouraged me to keep on going. I learnt an incredible amount in the last year as a label owner and this record will always remind me of the beginning of that phase of the label!

Ghetto Kumbe – Vamo a Dale Duro 

I feel so lucky and blessed that I’ve had a career that has taken me around the world. Every trip I’ve been on I’ve learnt something new about myself. There is nothing I love more than connecting with the Black diaspora and music, specifically electronic music & our African heritage being what we can meet on. Being in Colombia last year was magical for that. The African culture feels so preserved and celebrated. I think also being of mixed heritage and seeing so many families that look exactly like mine, something felt homely & freeing being there. I was lucky enough to have a great host who introduced me to a wealth of music, including these guys. I can’t wait to go back!

Jaymie Silk · 01 – Dance Music Is Black Music
Jaymie Silk – Dance Music Is Black Music 

And lastly we end here, a poignant record from last year. Despite loving electronic music, for a long time I never truly felt I belonged and had a lot of imposter syndrome. I’d played gigs as the only person of color on the lineup, which can feel even more exaggerated when you’re the only black woman, which then feels magnified when you’re playing to a mostly all white crowd. But through my travels, the conversations of last year around Black Lives Matter, the educating myself on Black people’s role historically in electronic music and my work on the label, I don’t feel that anymore. And besides, I don’t care if I feel welcome. I’m here and I’m not going anywhere. This record embodies that for me!

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
PAM Rewind : l'univers de Jamz Supernova en 10 sons
© Jake Thompson

PAM Rewind : l'univers de Jamz Supernova en 10 sons

Tous les mois, Cortega vous emmène à la rencontre d'un DJ ou producteur qui met l'Afrique et sa diaspora à l'honneur à travers une playlist exclusive des 10 sons qui ont façonné son univers musical. Aujourd'hui, Jamz Supernova.

Je ne suis pas astronome, mais le nom « Supernova » a forcément un lien avec vitesse de la lumière et niveaux extraordinaires d’énergie, à en juger par ce que Jamz a accompli. Née Jamilla Walters et ayant grandi dans le sud de Londres, elle s’est fait un nom avec ses propres résidences sur BBC Radio 1Xtra, tout en animant les clubs et festivals avec des sons qui mélangent gqom, kuduro, dancehall et UK funky. Et alors que son programme chargé de tournées a volé en éclats l’année dernière, elle a consacré son énergie au développement de sa maison de disque – Future Bounce – donnant vie à un style de musique de club innovant.

Voici sa sélection de 10 sons qui ont façonné son identité en tant que DJ et son rapport à la musique électronique et à la diaspora noire, en suivant un ordre un peu chronologique.

Fish Go Deep – Cure & The Cause (Dennis Ferrer Remix)

Je me souviens très bien d’avoir entendu ce disque pour la première fois, j’avais environ 15 ans, je rentrais de l’école à pied, et nous étions nombreuses à marcher ensemble sur la route qui gravit la colline. Une de mes amies l’écoutait tout le temps sur son téléphone et m’a dit que c’était du UK Funky. Elle me l’a transférée par bluetooth et ça a été le début de mon histoire d’amour avec ce son. De nombreuses années plus tard, je me suis rendu compte que ce n’était pas en fait du UK Funky, mais de la soulful house. Ça a piqué mon intérêt, et c’est devenu la bande originale de mes années de rave (qui ont été très formatrices) ! Au moment où je pouvais aller en rave “légalement”, le son avait explosé et on l’entendait partout, mes amis et moi l’avons vécu et respiré, allant à chaque rave, dévorant les CD de mix à la fin de la nuit, comme lors de nos premières vacances sans parents à Aiya Napa, à Chypre. Aiya Napa c’est un peu « la maison de vacances » de ce son et un lieu de pèlerinage que la plupart des jeunes ados noirs ont fait dans les années 2000.

Black Coffee (Feat. Bucie) – Superman

Pendant mes raves UK funky en talons et robe moulante, je dansais aussi sur des musiques comme celle-ci, d’Afrique du Sud. Encore une fois, à l’époque, pour moi, tout était du UK Funky. Mais je me souviens avoir entendu le disque quelques années plus tard et découvert qui était Black Coffee et d’où il venait. Cela m’a ensuite permis d’en savoir plus sur la musique sud-africaine. Je suis tellement inspirée par leur capacité d’innovation sonore et ce qu’ils ajoutent à la musique électronique, du côté soulful house, bacardi house, gqom et plus récemment amapiano, j’aime tout ça. Les rythmes de batterie sont uniques et ils ont une identité africaine affirmée. Celle ou celui qui a des origines caribéennes sent une sorte de lien spirituel avec cette musique, c’est un retour à la mère ancestrale. Je ne pense pas être la seule à ressentir cela.

Teedra Moses – Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Remix)

Depuis l’enfance, je passe mon temps à chercher de nouvelles musiques. Cela a commencé par parcourir la collection de mes parents, en attendant que mon oncle apporte de nouveaux CD pour les copier, et puis boum, l’INTERNET !!! À partir de 14 ans j’étais bloquée sur Limewire (une plateforme de téléchargement peer to peer, ndt) qui m’a vraiment contaminée, et qui m’a pourrie-gâtée de découvertes. Pour moi, Limewire consistait à se familiariser avec de la vieille musique que j’avais peut-être manquée. Mais c’est Soundcloud qui m’a bluffée : de la nouvelle musique du monde entier à portée de main ! Soundcloud en 2011 m’a redonné espoir dans le R&B en trouvant toutes ces incroyables variétés (de son) qui fusionnent dans la musique électronique. Entendre certains de mes classiques R&B préférés retravaillés en productions futuristes a été très stimulant. Je me suis donné pour mission de soutenir cette musique et d’en faire une émission de radio. Me concentrer sur cette spécialité, ça m’a aidé à me faire un nom et finalement c’est ce qui m’a permis d’obtenir mon émission sur BBC Radio 1Xtra. Le temps passe comme le son, mais entendre ce disque me donnera toujours des frissons d’excitation. Je pense que Kaytranada est un génie : encore une fois, la batterie, les frappes syncopées… dés le depart, vous savez que c’est lui ! 

Uniiqu3 – Phase 3 

Le Jersey club est un autre genre que j’ai découvert grâce à Soundcloud. Les producteurs et les DJ étaient si implacables dans leur prestation, et culturellement si « noirs et fiers ». Quelque chose a résonné en moi, alors que je trouvais mes marques dans la musique électronique. Je me souviens de certains de mes premiers sets en tant que DJ essayant vraiment de représenter ce son sur les dancefloors britanniques et sans grand succès au départ… mais au fil des ans, le Royaume-Uni a rattrapé son retard… Uniiqu3 s’est immédiatement démarquée comme productrice pour moi, et j’étais en admiration. Quand je l’ai finalement rencontrée en 2016, nous nous sommes très bien entendues. Elle a un esprit très indépendant et fait avancer les choses. Elle a bâti un empire et est extrêmement maligne. C’est une femme noire connue, parcourant le monde avec un son, si j’ose dire, tellement… unique !!! Le jersey club aura toujours une place spéciale dans mon cœur !

Buraka Som Sistema – Hangover (Bababa) 

Ce disque !!!!! Je le joue encore aujourd’hui, mais j’ai dû m’interdire de le mettre dans mes DJ sets. Je l’ai usé jusqu’à la corde, et dans les moments de faiblesse, mes doigts me démangent de le rejouer ! Au fil des ans, j’ai conclu de nombreux sets avec ce disque. L’énergie est dingue et cela plait toujours à la foule, même quand elle ne connait pas le morceau.

Comment ne pas danser sur ce disque ! Il m’a fait découvrir un monde très éloigné du mien. A travers cette chanson, je suis devenue une grande fan de Branko, une fervente adepte de son label Enchufada et ça m’a conduit à explorer la musique venant du Portugal. J’ai adoré découvrir le croisement des cultures, l’Angola, le Cap-Vert, le Brésil, etc… fusionnant avec les sons européens. Je ne sais pas quelle serait la description appropriée pour cela, mais cette musique global bass a énormément influé sur ma manière d’être DJ, sur la musique que je recherche et même sur les amis que j’ai rencontrés.

Girls Music · Serocee – Propellah
Toddla T & Serocee – Propellah 

C’était mon tout premier dubplate !! Je me sentais tellement honorée qu’ils prennent le temps de m’en faire un, la voix de Serocee est la meilleure dans le business, on l’entend partout! J’ai passé quelques années à travailler sur l’émission BBC Radio 1 de Toddla en tant qu’assistante de production puis productrice. J’adorais déjà son émission et ses sélections, mais en travaillant dessus, j’ai pu le voir de près et en faire partie. La musique que j’y ai entendue a influencé la façon dont j’ai commence à être DJ et j’ai trouvé génial sa façon de fusionner les sons des Caraïbes avec la scène électronique britannique pour créer un son qui bastonne (bashy en anglais). Le son était parfaitement logique pour moi, c’était en même temps mon héritage et mon éducation !

Jus Now & Dismantle (feat. Busy Signal) – Fire (Spotie)

Un autre disque du genre « bashy » ! En travaillant sur le spectacle de Toddla, j’ai rencontré mon autre moitié, Sam Interface, membre du duo Jus Now, qui était connu pour fusionner les sons UK bass et bristolian avec les sons de Trinidad. J’ai rencontré Sam à un moment crucial de ma carrière. Je venais d’avoir ma propre émission sur BBC Radio 1Xtra et commençais à me sentir comme une vraie DJ. L’année de la sortie de ce titre, j’ai vécu mon plus grand été et je l’ai joué dans chaque set, que ce soit pour l’ouverture ou la fin. J’étais fière et je suis toujours fière de jouer sa musique dans mes sets, c’est mon producteur préféré… D’ailleurs je déteste que nous soyons sur la même affiche car dans ces cas-là je dois retirer ses disques qui sont une partie centrale de mon arsenal.

Hagan – Right Here 

Ce disque a lancé la branche club de mon label Future Bounce. J’avais toujours voulu que Future Bounce publie de la musique club aux côtés des projets R&B, soul et alt. Mais je ne savais tout simplement pas comment lui donner un sens, et je voulais aussi jouer de la musique de mon label dans mes sets en club. Alors j’ai pensé que je les ferais en série, une sortie par mois de mes producteurs préférés, dont on ferait une compilation en fin d’année ! Hagan a été le premier producteur à être partant et il nous a donnés deux titres très forts et puissants. Le disque a bénéficié d’un fort soutien dès le départ et cela m’a vraiment encouragé à continuer. J’ai appris énormément de choses l’année dernière en tant que propriétaire de label et ce disque me rappellera toujours le début de cette phase du label !

Ghetto Kumbe – Vamo a Dale Duro 

Je me sens tellement chanceuse et bénie d’avoir eu une carrière qui m’a fait faire le tour du monde. Chaque voyage que j’ai fait, j’ai appris quelque chose de nouveau sur moi-même. Il n’y a rien que j’aime plus que de me connecter avec la diaspora noire et la musique, en particulier la musique électronique, notre héritage africain étant ce sur quoi nous pouvons nous retrouver. Voilà pourquoi c’était magique d’aller en Colombie l’année dernière. La culture africaine y est tellement préservée et célébrée. Le fait d’être d’origine mixte et de voir tant de familles exactement comme la mienne, m’a fait ressentir quelque chose de chaleureux et de libérateur là-bas. J’ai eu la chance d’avoir un hôte formidable qui m’a fait découvrir une immense richesse musicale, dont ces gars-là font partie. J’ai hâte d’y retourner !

Jaymie Silk · 01 – Dance Music Is Black Music
Jaymie Silk – Dance Music Is Black Music 

Et enfin pour terminer, un disque poignant de l’année dernière. Malgré mon amour pour la musique électronique, pendant longtemps, je ne me suis pas vraiment sentie à ma place et j’ai eu souvent le syndrome de l’imposteur. J’ai fait des shows en étant la seule personne de couleur dans la programmation, et ce sentiment (de ne pas être à ma place) est encore plus grand lorsque vous êtes la seule femme noire, et il est encore amplifié quand vous jouez devant une foule presque entièrement blanche. Mais à travers mes voyages, les conversations de l’année dernière autour de Black Lives Matter, mon apprentissage sur le rôle historique des noirs dans la musique électronique et mon travail sur le label, je ne me sens plus comme cela. Et au fond, je me fiche de me sentir la bienvenue. Je suis là, et je n’irai nulle part ailleurs. Ce disque incarne cet état d’esprit pour moi !

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé