→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Farewell Bebey, your children salute you #2 : Toups Bebey

This week, three of Francis Bebey’s children will talk about a song or an album by their late father. Today it’s Toups’ turn – a musician like Francis. He has sent us “Tumu Pakara: the concept of a positively affirmative slap”.

That bass
That particular phrasing
The introduction of the piece with one stanza, and then a second

The general atmosphere of the song, which may bring to mind so many recordings made by “[his] friend Duvelle”, that is Charles Duvelle, the man to whom I owe the childhood travels I made all over the world – in my head. (Of course this ethnomusicologist with thousands of recordings and co-founder of the OCORA label was friends with the author of the first reference book on the music of the African continent. Especially as they both shared the same passion for J.S. Bach. Thank you Charles for the Javan gamelans! And thanks also to Alain Damasio for having known how to talk about and keep time with the music in a magnificent moment of appeasement and open-mindedness on your work “Furtifs”…but I think it’s probably time I closed these brackets).

This powerful “majestic pain” as the other Charles would say
This power
The voice enters the scene.
Strange, I hear two of them. Diphonic singing, an ancestral technique.
This feeling of the strange and the intangible

Perhaps the tuning is at 432Hz, the “happiness frequency” to which all music intended to do good in nature – to mammals, to plants – is tuned and therefore, incidentally, chases away human disorder? The entrance of the murky, hoarse voice doubled up derails me: is it reasonable to summon the spirits in such an overpowering way?

Francis Bebey – Tumu Pakara

The piece flows, moves, unfolds with a relentless groove that nothing can stop, despite being made up of almost nothing (in my memories at least, and there’s no question of listening to it again, it would be too simple, the instrumentation is rudimentary). It has a wicked groove – what the Americans might call “bad” (or the Brits ‘sick’I’ve changed the French slang to British to make it make sense in English – translator’s note)

Tumu Pakara was a blind and rather old beggar. He would set himself up in a strategic place along the street where, to make a living, he would sing a capella. Well almost – he would shake the coins he’d collected to make a beat. Without rhythm, there is no music.

It is Francis’ tribute to childhood memories. A Francis who never cut his ties with childhood, as we can see in his final novel – which also won a literary award – Rain Child.

Here we hear a Francis who never cut ties with anyone here on earth. It’s is a fact that has been explained perfectly well by Michio Kaku (the American astrophysicist of Japanese origins) through quantum physics, while the veteran poet Birago Diop came to the same conclusion long before him: once and for all, “the dead are not dead”.

“Tumu Pakara” is a memory from my post-adolescence, from the album Sanza Nocturne. It came as a complete surprise, of the kind I would have with the album Lambaréné Schweitzer.

Due to its stupifying effect the song is comparable to the slaps administered by Lino Ventura in the film Let’s Not Get Angry. It would be a mistake to not turn the other cheek.

And it is comparable above all to the last sunny images of Souleymane Cissé’s film Yeelen / La Lumière for it’s sense that it is guiding you with complete confidence, and the confirmation of the poet’s simple observation: ‘Wherever you come from, that’s where you come from’. Francis always had a fascination, admiration and deep respect for the sun, god of the ancient Egypt.

Tumu Pakara was initially release on the album Sanza Nocturne in 1984
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Ave Bebey, tes enfants te saluent #2 : Toups Bebey

Cette semaine, trois des enfants de Francis Bebey évoquent un titre ou un album de feu leur père. Aujourd’hui, c’est le tour de Toups – musicien comme Francis. Il nous envoie « Tumu Pakara : le concept de la gifle affirmativement positive »

Ce son de basse
Ce phrasé si particulier
L’introduction du morceau par une, puis une deuxième sanza

L’ambiance générale du morceau qui peut faire penser à tant d’enregistrements réalisés par « [son] ami Duvelle » ; Charles Duvelle, l’homme à qui je dois d’avoir enfant voyagé dans ma tête dans le monde entier. (L’ethnomusicologue aux milliers d’enregistrements, co-fondateur du label OCORA ne pouvait qu’être ami avec l’auteur du premier ouvrage de référence sur les musiques du continent africain. D’autant qu’ils partageaient tous les deux la même passion pour J.S. Bach. Merci Charles pour les gamelans de Java ! Et Merci en passant également à Alain Damasio d’avoir su parler de et compter avec cette musique, magnifique moment d’apaisement et d’ouverture d’esprit dans ses « Furtifs »… mais je pense qu’il va être temps de fermer cette parenthèse).

Cette puissante « douleur majestueuse » comme dirait l’autre Charles
Cette puissance
La voix entre en scène
Bizarre, j’en entends deux
Chant diphonique, version technique ancestrale
Cette sensation d’étrange et d’impalpable

Peut-être bien que l’accord est à 432Hz, comme toutes les musiques destinées à faire du bien à la nature – aux mammifères, aux plantes… et accessoirement, à chasser le désordre en l’être humain ? L’entrée de la trouble double voix éraillée me fait dérailler : est-ce bien raisonnable de convoquer les esprits d’une façon aussi impérieuse ?

Francis Bebey – Tumu Pakara

Le morceau s’écoule. Il avance. Il déroule un groove implacable, fait de trois fois rien – dans mon souvenir, et il n’est pas question de réécouter, ce serait trop simple, l’instrumentation est rudimentaire –, mais que rien ne pourra empêcher. Il groove méchamment, dans le sens du « Bad » des Américains et du « trop bien » de nos gamins…

Tumu Pakara était un mendiant aveugle. Plutôt âgé. Il avait son spot bien déterminé dans ce lieu de passage stratégique, et il chantait pour gagner sa vie, a capella ou presque secouant les pièces récoltées en guise de sistre. Sans rythme, pas de musique…

C’est un hommage de Francis à son souvenir d’enfance. Un Francis qui n’aura jamais coupé ses liens avec l’enfance comme en témoigne son dernier roman – et dernier prix littéraire L’Enfant Pluie.

Un Francis qui n’aura jamais coupé ses liens avec qui que ce soit ici-bas. C’est une évidence parfaitement bien expliquée entre autres par Michio Kaku (l’astrophysicien américain d’origine japonaise) par la physique quantique, quand le poète vétérinaire Birago Diop arrivait bien avant lui à la même conclusion : une bonne fois pour toutes, « les morts ne sont pas morts ».  

« Tumu Pakara » est un souvenir de ma post-adolescence, paru dans l’album « Sanza Nocturne ». Un effet de surprise intégral, du genre de celui que j’aurais à nouveau plus tard avec la parution de l’album Lambaréné Schweitzer.

Comparable aux gifles administrées par Lino Ventura dans « Ne Nous Fâchons Pas », pour l’effet de sidération. L’erreur n’étant pas de tendre l’autre oreille.

Comparable surtout aux dernières images ensoleillées à l’extrême du film de Souleymane Cissé Yeelen / La Lumière pour la sensation du guidage en toute confiance et la confirmation du simple constat du poète : « D’où que tu viennes, c’est de là que tu viens ». Francis a toujours eu une fascination, une admiration et un profond respect pour le soleil, seul dieu de l’Égypte antique…    

« Tumu Pakara » fut initialiement publié sur l’album Sanza Nocturne en 1984
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé