Music in the City: African Lisbon

chelas-c-bruno-simao

READ IN MUSIC WITH OUR PLAYLIST “LISBOA AFRICA” ON SPOTIFY & DEEZER !

At the crossroads of the continents

Lisbon has long been listening to Africa, Brazil and Carribean, and for more than 50 years, the city has been the melting pot of constantly evolving blended black music genres.

In 2014, as I started to come more often to Portugal, I already knew fado music, sung from the North to the South of the country, in Porto, Coimbra and Lisbon, its birthplace. For the last ten years during the yearly visits to my Portuguese relatives up North, I had never missed a chance to go and merge into the Alfama neighborhood in Lisbon, where I would listen to this chant delivered by amateurs, that they call fado vadio (stray fado or thug fado).

fado-vadio-3

But in the popular Mouraria neighbourhood that I started to explore two years ago, I’ve been discovering pieces of Africa in every street. Lisbon would be such a pale and sad city without them. I then learned to enjoy the Cape-Verdian cachupa that Beto used to cook in his restaurant next to his own house, or the pastéis de milho that Maria put on her menu next to the Angolan muamba de galinha in the tiny place she runs, called São Cristovão. A few meters away, the Mozambican chef Aziz offers generous portions of curry prawn served with quiabos. In those places, dinners often ended with live afro music played by friends of the owners.


INDEED, THE PORTUGUESE CAPITAL CITY HAS ALSO BEEN THE MELTING POT OF CONSTANTLY EVOLVING BLENDED BLACK MUSIC GENRES FOR MORE THAN 50 YEARS. IT’S A CHARACTERISTIC THAT CANNOT BE IGNORED WHEN LOOKING AT THE HISTORY OF A CITY LOCATED AT THE CROSSROADS OF THREE CONTINENTS : LISBON HAS LONG BEEN LISTENING TO AFRICA, BRAZIL AND CARRIBEAN.


The memory of a specific night in Lisbon is still very vivid. It was a Monday night and as I was walking along the famous yellow tramway tracks, I spotted a hand-painted board that read “Shilabo’s”, the name of this tiny Angolan restaurant. As it was already too late to order the muamba de galinha or the fumbua de cavalo, I opted for beer in a small glass bottle and sat at one of the three tables of the minuscule dining room, occupied only by two other customers. At the table on my left, three musicians were jamming, and I would later get to know the identity of two of them: Chalo Correia from Angola, Bilan from Cape Verde. Both are excellent guitarists and their voices are strongly emotional. Their friend took good care of the percussions, hitting the beer bottles with a simple knife, and shaking the table mats and small maracas. The improvised band performed a series of Cape Verdean mornas and Angolan sembas, that immediately made me forget about fado, the only music from Lisbon that would give me goosebumps and teardrops until then. That was it: I was trapped into this music that I would investigate, dissect, compare, feel, listen and dance to for the next months. It’s as if a completely new and parallel world had just opened into Lisbon, the city I had already fell in love with ten years before. It was love at first sight, again, but this time with the African Lisbon.

Indeed, the Portuguese capital city has also been the melting pot of constantly evolving blended black music genres for more than 50 years. It’s a characteristic that cannot be ignored when looking at the history of a city located at the crossroads of three continents : Lisbon has long been listening to Africa, Brazil and Carribean.

Musical call-and-response

Africa, because people originating from the former Portuguese colonies (mostly Angola and Cape Verde, but also Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau and São Tomé and Príncipe) massively settled in the suburban zones of the so-called “white city” (because of its unique clear light). First in the 1950s and 1960s when they filled the labour shortage due to the Portuguese large exile abroad who fled the dictatorship and misery. Then in 1974 and 1975 after they gained independence from Portugal through the Carnation Revolution, seeking for a political stability that most countries did not offer (namely, Angola and Mozambique who sank into civil wars). But historians date back the large African presence in Lisbon (20% of its 250.000 inhabitants) to the 16th century, up until the 19th when the Portuguese monarchy stopped to force slaves into the country. Though this large presence ended after the abolition of slavery, this custom left many genetic imprints, but also linguistic and cultural marks in Portuguese society. Musicologists José Ramos Tinhorão (Brasil) and Rui Vieira Nery (Portugal) even proved the African origins of fado music, coming from the Angolan dance and chant called lundum!

Brazil, because the cultural and commercial trades between this country and Portugal (and Sub-Saharan Africa) have been intense since the 16th century and the colonization of the Latin land. Again, the two musicologists claim that this region gave origins to fado music through the African slaves. The quality of the exchanges between the three territories was noted by Portuguese Jesuit philosopher António Vieira, who wrote in the 17th century that “Brazil has its body in America and its soul in Africa”.

Caribe, because the Portugal-based descendants of African territories still perpetuate and adapt the rhythms and melodies that gave birth to zouk, rumba and merengue. The latter comes from Angola, and rumba originates from Congo. West Indies zouk turned into cola-zouk in Cape Verde, kizomba in Angola and zouk bass in Portugal. A never-ending call-and-response movement.


THAT EXPLAINS WHY AFRICAN-INFLUENCED MUSIC HAS BEEN SUNG, PLAYED AND DANCED IN LISBON’S CLUBS, STREETS AND HOMES FOR AT LEAST 60 YEARS. AFRICAN FOOD, TOO, IS TO BE FOUND EVERYWHERE, BUT THIS IS NOT THE SUBJECT OF THIS ARTICLE, EVEN IF SHAKESPEARE ONCE WROTE “IF MUSIC BE THE FOOD OF LOVE, PLAY ON”.


Africa is in the air

That explains why African-influenced music has been sung, played and danced in Lisbon’s clubs, streets and homes for at least 60 years. African food, too, is to be found everywhere, but this is not the subject of this article, even if Shakespeare once wrote “if music be the food of love, play on”.

But African music started to be heard during the warm nights of Lisbon only from the second half of the 1960s, with the massive arrival of migrants mainly from Cape Verde and Angola. Those who brought their collection of records were playing them at underground clubs, and musicians would start (again) bands with their fellow countrymen who had just put their feet in Portugal. The whole capital city discovered the music and dances coming from its former colonies: amongst them, the Cap-Verdian coladeira (from koladera i.e. “to sing colá in the streets”), the Angolan semba (from masemba, plural for semba, “the belly bump” in kimbundu language). At the same time, some lusophone bands or artists had already started to perform out of their countries, sometimes forced to flee the censorship of the Portuguese colonial power, or the independence wars. They were seen as examples and they helped improve the focus on this music. In Lisbon you can frequently stumble upon and attend the shows of Bonga (the Angolan master of dizanka, whose records were first produced in the Netherlands) and his fellow countryman Waldemar Bastos. Back then, you would often see Voz de Cabo Verde, a Cape-Verdian band that was founded in Rotterdam in 1965, and relocated to Lisbon in 1972, with the late Bana on vocals), along Tito Paris or Nancy Vieira, to name a few.

Creolisation and internationalisation

In the second half of the 1990s, the suburbs of Lisbon – where most of the lower class African migrants settled when they came to fill the labour shortage in the construction sites the EEC funded – started to make themselves heard through hip-hop sung in Portuguese (Da Weasel), in Cape-Verdian crioulo (Boss AC) or in calão from Luanda (a mix of Portuguese language and Angolan kimbundu).

 

Then at the beginning of the 2000s, the new generation of musicians adapted a new musical genre that was everywhere in Angola – kuduro, which bluntly means “hard ass” (cu duro) but also refers to the “hard environment” people lived in (ku means “the place” in kimbundu). This electronic trance inspired by Angolan traditional percussions and mixed with caribbean soca and Western techno and eurodance speaks to the bodies of the dancers just as much as to their brains: it’s a true social rant coming from Luanda’s musseque, the slums in the outskirts of the capital of Angola. Kuduro would be “the poetic, though inconscient, recreation of the intensity of life in Luanda”, as Kalaf Epalanga puts it. Epalanga is the main brain of Lisbon-based collective Buraka Som Sistema, who have been working their asses off since 2006 to successfully promote around the world their Portuguese version of kuduro. The name of this gang of artists is a reference to Buraca, the suburbian neighbourhood of Lisbon where its cosmopolitan members used to live – they come from Portugal, Angola, Moçambique, Cuba and Brazil. The Lisbon version of kuduro quickly left the suburbs, and even convinced M.I.A. to collaborate on the band’s second album in 2008. Their last recorded musical effort dates back to 2011, and the relentless kuduro champions decided to put an end to their production career in 2016, after 10 years of generous promotion of the culture they come from. Still, they chose to embark on a new mission: discover and support the emerging talents of Portugal.


TODAY IN 2016, THE INTENSITY AND THE PRESENCE OF THE AFRICAN-INFLUENCED OR INSPIRED MUSIC IN LISBON – ESPECIALLY IN THE VENUES LOCATED IN THE CITY CENTRES – SHOW THE QUALITY AND THE SUCCESSFUL EFFORTS OF THE ARTISTS, PRODUCERS AND EVERYDAY ACTIVISTS.


Music from the suburbs takes over the city centres

Actually, Great Lisbon’s got talent when it comes to reinvent African music: Batida, AF Diaphra, Octa Push… we’ll cover those names later. For example, since 2011, a dozen young producers, aged 17 to 30, united under the Príncipe Discos flag. Their monikers: DJ Marfox, DJ Nigga Fox, DJ Lilocox, DJ Nervoso… Literally “Prince Records”, their aristocratic-named label was founded by four Lisbon-based activists with the sole purpose of amplifying the blended sounds of the suburbs. It’s a mix of Angolan kuduro and batida (the “beat”) and Western techno.

The collective holds a monthly club at MusicBox, one of Lisbon’s most edgy and respected music places. The avant-garde spirit of those “Noite Príncipe” gatherings bizarrely contrasts with the heavy-partying regular crowd that floods in the streets around – Erasmus exchange students, cheap beer-chasing anglo-Saxon males and the tireless local youth. But inside the club, a surprisingly blended audience is dancing like crazy: be they coming from the suburbs or the city centre, hip or newbies, white or person of colour, they all queue outside from 2 a.m. and do not leave the club before having sweated their bodies out and shaken their hips to the bone. A true dance marathon where you’d witness unique dance moves and physics-law defying hip and foot work.

Today, in 2016, the intensity and the presence of the African-influenced or inspired music in Lisbon – especially in the venues located in the city centres – show the quality and the successful efforts of the artists, producers and everyday activists. Promoting and spreading this music out of Lisbon and mostly behind the Portuguese borders is a powerful way to free the local production from the discriminating labels and prejudices (talking about racism against people of African descent is still a huge taboo in Portugal) and to help it grow and consolidate as a strong scene that proudly advocates its blended features.

This is precisely what this new column aims to do: keep the ears wide open towards Lisbon sounds and amplify the ever-changing batida’s pulse of the city, looking towards an uncertain future, undoubtedly everyday more cosmopolitan, like African music has always been.

Celeste/Mariposa are Lisbon-based and afro-lusophone specialised DJs, promoters of the monthly Afrobaile night and founders of C/M Discos label, who shared their vision in a recent interview they gave to the national daily Público : “abroad, they tell us that Portugal is now at the centre, whereas we’ve got used to be considered as the periphery, just because it’s the way we grew up as Portuguese people. And then, for the first time, someone says we would be at the centre. And it’s true that we’re at the centre of our small world: at the center of the PALOP countries’ diaspora – the Portuguese-speaking African countries.”

Yes, Lisbon might be at the centre of something: the continents. And it’s not that small.

LISTEN TO OUR PLAYLIST “LISBOA AFRICA” ON SPOTIFY & DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

Title photo: © Bruno Simão – The audience at the Festival Zona Não Vigiada in Chelas (Lisboa, 2015)

Music in the City : Lisbonne l’Africaine

chelas-c-bruno-simao

Lisbonne à la croisée des continents

Lisbonne a les oreilles toutes tendues vers l’Afrique, le Brésil et les Caraïbes. Depuis plus de 50 ans, la capitale portugaise est le creuset de musiques noires métissées, en évolution permanente.

LISEZ EN MUSIQUE AVEC NOTRE PLAYLIST « LISBOA AFRICA » SUR SPOTIFY ET DEEZER !

En venant m’installer au Portugal en 2014, je connaissais déjà bien le fado, qui se chante et se joue du nord au sud, à Porto, à Coimbra, et à Lisbonne, berceau du genre. Quand j’allais visiter cette terre maternelle, depuis une décennie déjà, je ne manquais pas de passer par le quartier d’Alfama à Lisbonne, pour écouter ce chant entonné par des amateurs, le fado vadio, c’est-à-dire « voyou ».

fado-vadio-3

Mais dans la Mouraria, le quartier populaire où j’ai trouvé mon appartement il y a deux ans, j’ai découvert à chaque coin de rue un peu de cette Afrique sans laquelle Lisbonne serait bien pâle et triste. J’ai appris à déguster la cachupa cap-verdienne de Beto, mon voisin qui tenait un restaurant à quelques mètres de chez moi, ou les pastéis de milho de Maria, elle aussi cap-verdienne née en Guinée-Bissau, mais qui se plait également à cuisiner le muamba de galinha angolais. À peine plus loin, c’est Aziz le Mozambicain qui sert de généreuses portions de curry de crevettes accompagnées de quiabos. Et les dîners se finissent souvent en musique, jouée par les habitués du lieu et amis des patrons.


PARCE QUE DEPUIS PLUS DE 50 ANS, LA CAPITALE PORTUGAISE EST AUSSI LE CREUSET DE MUSIQUES NOIRES MÉTISSÉES, EN ÉVOLUTION PERMANENTE, ET INDISSOCIABLES DE L’HISTOIRE D’UNE VILLE À LA CROISÉE DES CONTINENTS : LISBONNE A LES OREILLES TOUTES TENDUES VERS L’AFRIQUE, LE BRÉSIL ET LES CARAÏBES.


Je contemple souvent le souvenir de ma deuxième nuit à Lisbonne, un lundi soir de septembre dans une rue en pente de mon quartier où passe le fameux tramway jaune. Un panneau peint à la main me fait de l’oeil. J’y lis « Shilabo’s ». C’est un minuscule restaurant angolais. J’arrive trop tard pour goûter le muamba de galinha ou le fumbua de cavalo, et j’opte pour une bière en bouteille, assis à l’une des trois tables de la minuscule salle, occupée par seulement deux autres clients. À ma gauche, trois musiciens attablés improvisent, et j’apprendrais plus tard leur identité (Chalo Correia l’Angolais, Bilan le Cap-Verdien, et un de leur ami, inconnu). Deux guitaristes inspirés pour deux voix troublantes, et leur ami qui assure les percussions en frappant de son couteau les bouteilles de bière vides et les verres, et secouant un set de table et une sorte de maracas pour marquer le rythme. S’enchaîneront des mornas cap-verdiennes et des sembas angolais, qui me firent instantanément oublier le fado, seule musique de Lisbonne qui jusque là me donnait la chair de poule et me tirait quelques larmes. J’étais fait comme un rat, pris au piège d’une musique que j’allais passer chacun des jours suivants à explorer, écouter, disséquer, comparer, ressentir et danser. Comme si un monde entier et parallèle venait de s’ouvrir dans un Lisbonne dont j’étais pourtant déjà tombé amoureux dix ans plus tôt. Un deuxième coup de foudre, en somme, avec Lisbonne l’Africaine.

Parce que depuis plus de 50 ans, la capitale portugaise est aussi le creuset de musiques noires métissées, en évolution permanente, et indissociables de l’histoire d’une ville à la croisée des continents : Lisbonne a les oreilles toutes tendues vers l’Afrique, le Brésil et les Caraïbes.

Allers-retours et questions-réponses musicaux

L’Afrique, parce que des habitants des anciennes colonies portugaises (Angola et Cap-Vert en tête, mais aussi Mozambique, Guinée-Bissau et São Tomé-et-Principe) se sont massivement installés dans les zones périphériques de la « ville blanche » dans les années 50 et 60 pour combler le manque de main-d’œuvre dû à l’exil des Portugais ; puis après 1974 dès l’obtention de leur indépendance à la suite de la Révolution des Œillets, à la recherche de travail et d’une meilleure stabilité politique. Mais aussi parce que dès le 16e siècle, une large présence africaine à Lisbonne est avérée par les historiens. Environ 20% des 250 000 habitants de la ville étaient africains, esclaves ou travailleurs affranchis. La monarchie portugaise faisait venir des esclaves dans le pays, une pratique qui s’est épuisée après l’abolition de l’esclavage, non sans avoir laissé de nombreuses traces génétiques, mais aussi linguistiques ou culturelles : les musicologues José Ramos Tinhorão (Brésil) et Rui Vieira Nery (Portugal) ont même prouvé l’origine africaine du fado, issu du chant et de la danse lundu d’Angola.

Le Brésil, parce que les échanges commerciaux et culturels entre ce pays et le Portugal (et l’Afrique noire) n’ont jamais cessé depuis le 16e siècle et la colonisation de cette terre latine. Là encore, le fado y aurait puisé une autre partie de ses origines via les esclaves africains, selon les deux musicologues déjà cités. Et pour ajouter à la richesse des échanges entre les trois territoires, citons le philosophe jésuite portugais António Vieira, au 17e siècle, selon qui « le corps du Brésil est est en Amérique, et son âme est en Afrique ».

Les Caraïbes, parce que le zouk, la rumba, le merengue, notamment, trouvent leurs racines dans les rythmes et mélodies que perpétuent ou adaptent les descendants des territoires africains, nés sur le continent ou au Portugal. Le merengue vient d’Angola et la rumba du Congo. Le zouk antillais a donné le cola-zouk au Cap-Vert, le kizomba en Angola et le zouk bass au Portugal. Des échanges en forme d’allers-retours incessants, en somme.


ALORS À LISBONNE, DANS LES CLUBS, DANS LA RUE, DANS LES MAISONS, ON CHANTE, JOUE ET DANSE AFRICAIN DEPUIS AU MOINS 60 ANS. ON MANGE MÊME AFRICAIN, UN PEU PARTOUT DANS LA VILLE.


Alors à Lisbonne, dans les clubs, dans la rue, dans les maisons, on chante, joue et danse africain depuis au moins 60 ans. On mange même africain, un peu partout dans la ville. Ce n’est pas le sujet ici, bien que Shakespeare ait écrit « si la musique est l’aliment de l’amour, jouez toujours ! ».

Mais c’est à partir du milieu des années 1960, et l’installation massive d’immigrés du Cap Vert et d’Angola principalement, que la musique africaine a vraiment commencé à résonner dans les chaudes nuits lisboètes, grâce à des DJs qui jouaient leur collection de vinyles, et des musiciens qui (re)montaient des groupes avec leurs compatriotes tout juste arrivés sur le territoire. Lisbonne (re)découvre alors les musiques et danses des anciennes colonies : parmi elles, la coladeira cap-verdienne (de koladera, « chanter le colá dans la rue »), le semba angolais (de masemba, pluriel de semba qui signifie en kimbundu « le coup de nombril » qui frotte le partenaire). Au même moment, certains groupes ou artistes lusophones avaient déjà commencé à internationaliser leur carrière, parfois obligés de s’exiler pour fuir la censure du colon portugais ou les guerres d’indépendance, et sont apparus comme des exemples et catalyseurs. À Lisbonne, on peut régulièrement croiser et entendre Bonga l’Angolais (dont les disques ont été enregistrés et produits d’abord aux Pays-Bas) et son compatriote Waldemar Bastos. À l’époque, on tombait facilement sur les Cap-Verdiens de Voz de Cabo Verde (groupe fondé à Rotterdam en 1965, puis délocalisé à Lisbonne en 1972 avec le regretté Bana au chant), aux côtés de Tito Paris, Nancy Vieira, parmi d’autres.

Créolisation et internationalisation

Dans la deuxième moitié des années 1990, les banlieues de Lisbonne – où habitent la majorité des immigrés africains des classes populaires venus combler le manque de main d’oeuvre sur les grands chantiers financés par la Communauté Européenne – commencent à se faire entendre, via le hip-hop chanté en portugais (Da Weasel), en créole cap-verdien (Boss AC) ou en calão de Luanda, mélange de portugais et de kimbundu angolais (Conjunto Ngonguenha).

Puis au début des années 2000, la nouvelle génération adapte un genre musical qui explose en Angola : le kuduro, qui signifie tout bonnement « cul dur » (cu duro) mais aussi « environnement difficile » (ku signifie le lieu en langue kimbundu). Une transe électronique inspirée par les percussions traditionnelles angolaises mélangées à la soca caribéenne et techno et l’eurodance européennes, qui sollicite aussi bien les jambes des danseurs que leur cerveau, puisqu’il s’agit d’un coup de gueule social lancé depuis le musseque (favela) de Luanda. « La recréation sous forme poétique, bien qu’inconsciente, de l’intensité de la vie à Luanda », comme le décrit Kalaf Epalanga, tête pensante du collectif lisboète Buraka Som Sistema. C’est ce groupe qui va promouvoir avec efficacité le kuduro version portugaise dès 2006. Son nom est une référence à Buraca, le quartier périphérique de Lisbonne où vivent ses membres cosmopolites aux origines diverses : Portugal, Angola, Mozambique, Cuba et Brésil. Le kuduro version Lisbonne va rapidement sortir des cités, jusqu’à convaincre M.I.A. de collaborer sur le deuxième disque du groupe, qui vient cet été de mettre un terme à une carrière scénique et discographique de 10 ans. Leur nouvelle mission ? Poursuivre le défrichage et l’accompagnement de nouveaux talents découverts sur le territoire portugais.

 


AUJOURD’HUI EN 2016, LA VIVACITÉ ET LA PRÉSENCE DES MUSIQUES D’INFLUENCE OU D’INSPIRATION AFRICAINE À LISBONNE – ET NOTAMMENT DANS LES CLUBS DU CENTRE-VILLE – PROUVENT LA QUALITÉ ET LE SUCCÈS DES EFFORTS DES ARTISTES, PRODUCTEURS ET AUTRES ACTIVISTES DU QUOTIDIEN.


Quand la musique des banlieues obtient le droit de cité

Et des artistes émergents et talentueux qui s’inspirent et réinventent les musiques africaines, le Grand Lisbonne n’en manque pas : BatidaAF DiaphraOcta Push… on y reviendra dans ce magazine. Un exemple parmi d’autres : depuis 2011, une dizaine de jeunes producteurs (17 à 30 ans) sont réunis sous la bannière Príncipe Discos. Leurs blases : DJ Marfox, DJ Nigga Fox, DJ Lilocox, DJ Nervoso…  Littéralement « les Disques Prince », le label au nom aristocratique est fondé par quatre lisboètes dans le seul but de faire entendre à leur juste valeur les sons métissés des quartiers périphériques de la ville : un mélange de kuduro et de batida (le beat) angolais, et de techno occidentale.

Une fois par mois, le collectif co-produit une soirée dans un des clubs les plus pointus du centre-ville, le MusicBox, à Cais do Sodré, un quartier plutôt bigarré quand il s’agit de faire la fête, où s’y côtoient étudiants Erasmus, anglo-saxons en quête de bière pas chère, et jeunesse portugaise infatigable. Pour la soirée mensuelle « Noite Príncipe », c’est un public de banlieue et du centre-ville, de branchés et de novices, mais avant tout de danseurs audacieux qui fait la queue à partir de 2 heures du matin, pour sortir en sueur à l’aube après un marathon de mouvements de danse et de déhanchements ultra physiques.

Aujourd’hui en 2016, la vivacité et la présence des musiques d’influence ou d’inspiration africaine à Lisbonne – et notamment dans les clubs du centre-ville – prouvent la qualité et le succès des efforts des artistes, producteurs et autres activistes du quotidien. Promouvoir et faire entendre ces musiques en dehors de Lisbonne et notamment à l’étranger est une des façons de permettre à la production locale de s’émanciper des étiquettes discriminantes (évoquer le racisme envers les populations d’origine africaine est encore un véritable tabou au Portugal) et de se construire comme une scène vigoureuse et fière de ses métissages.

C’est justement l’un des objectifs de cette nouvelle rubrique : avoir les oreilles grandes ouvertes à Lisbonne et retransmettre la pulsation de la batida de la ville, en permanente évolution, les yeux rivés sur un futur encore inconnu, mais sans doute toujours plus cosmopolite, à l’image de la musique africaine.

Comme le disaient récemment les membres de Celeste/Mariposa, un duo de DJs lisboètes spécialisés dans la musique afro-lusophone et afro-portugaise, organisateurs des soirées Afrobaile et fondateurs du label C/M Discos, interviewés par le quotidien national Público : « à l’étranger, on nous dit qu’aujourd’hui le Portugal se situe au centre alors qu’on est plutôt habitués à être considérés comme la périphérie. Parce que c’est comme ça qu’on a grandi en tant que Portugais. Et pour la première fois, on se retrouve au centre. On est vraiment au centre de notre petit monde. Au centre de la diaspora des PALOP, les Pays Africains de Langue Officielle Portugaise. »

Oui, Lisbonne est au centre des continents. Et ce n’est pas un petit monde.

ÉCOUTEZ NOTRE PLAYLIST « LISBOA AFRICA » SUR SPOTIFY ET DEEZER !

Spotify_Icon_CMYK_Green  Deezer

Title photo: © Bruno Simão – Le public du Festival Zona Não Vigiada à Chelas (Lisbonne, 2015)