Gili Yalo is back with highly psychedelic music video ‘Sew Lesew’

Isreali-Ethiopian singer and songwriter Gili Yalo is back with a music video for his new single “Sew Lesew”. A song dealing with the issue of refugees, immigration and borders.

After releasing his first album in 2017, Gili Yalo is back with “Sew Lesew”, dropped on Dead Sea Recordings.

Recorded in Forth Worth, Texas, with the Nile City Sounds producers, the track has a highly Rock’n’Roll energy. The VHS aesthetic music video seems to have been influenced by Texas. Desertic landscapes, a motorcycle, an old-school green background effect and psychedelic colors blend into an Easy Rider-like universe.

Sew Lesew means “from human being to human being” […] It is a song about the concept of living without borders around ourselves, a topic I’m very interested in” says Gili Yalo.

He has indeed experienced this issue himself, when his family fled from Ethiopia to Israel during the 1984 famine. The song deals with the crisis in human and social relationships that Gili perceives in Israel and around the world.

Things are already moving, societies are becoming more and more multicultural, no-one can stop that. […] Let’s not waste our time fighting eachother, let’s try making our respective countries more welcoming places, where everyone could connect to one another, no matter where he or she comes from.”

Listen to “Sew Lesew” in our Noir Wave playlist on Spotify or Deezer.

Read Next: Ethiopian Hit Parade Vol. 1: from ’70s Ethiopia to the modern world

Gili Yalo est de retour avec le clip hautement psychédélique ‘Sew Lesew’

Le compositeur et chanteur israélien d’origine éthiopienne Gili Yalo est de retour avec un clip pour son nouveau single « Sew Lesew ». Un titre qui parle de la question des réfugiés et des frontières.

Après la sortie de son premier album fin 2017 et un passage remarqué aux Trans Musicales de Rennes, Gili Yalo revient avec « Sew Lesew », sorti sur Dead Sea Recordings.

Enregistré à Forth Worth, au Texas, avec les super-producteurs de Nile City Sounds, « Sew Lesew » dégage une énergie rock indéniable. On retrouve cette influence texane dans le clip, tourné dans une esthétique VHS. Paysages désertiques, Harley Davidson, effet fond vert old-school et couleurs psychédéliques sont réunis pour une vidéo digne des scènes les plus hallucinées d’Easy Rider.

Sew Lesew veut dire “d’être humain à être humain”. […] C’est une chanson qui parle du concept de vivre sans frontières autour de nous, un sujet qui m’intéresse énormément, qui me préoccupe beaucoup même« , raconte Gili Yalo.

Il a en effet été concerné par ces problématiques, sa famille ayant fui l’Ethiopie, durant la famine de 1984, vers des camps de réfugiés au Soudan, puis en Israël. Ce morceau traite de la crise des relations humaines et sociales que Gili perçoit en Israël et dans le monde.

« Le changement aujourd’hui est déjà en marche, les sociétés deviennent de plus en plus multiculturelles, personne ne peut stopper ça. […] Ne perdons pas de temps à nous battre entre nous, essayons de faire de nos pays respectifs des pays plus accueillants, où chacun pourra se connecter aux autres, peu importe d’où il vient. »

Retrouvez « Sew Lesew » dans notre playlist Noir Wave sur Spotify ou Deezer.

Lire ensuite : La transe poétique d’Aziz Sahmaoui