→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Welcome to Kumerica: dive into the Kumasi street phenomenon
Jay Bahd

Welcome to Kumerica: dive into the Kumasi street phenomenon

In Ghana, rap is going through a revival with the drill wave. The subgenre revealed the existence of the Kumerica subculture to the whole country, originating from the poor neighbourhoods of Kumasi. With its coded language, brutal music and lifestyle, the movement is shaking up social media and stimulating a new identity-seeking youth. PAM investigates the phenomenon.

The video for “Condemn” is as sinister as its message. Leaning against old cars or on the pavement with their squad, the young rappers display baseball bats, liquor bottles and bandanas eerily reminiscent of the American gang world. The atmosphere is just as heavy in terms of music. A lack of melody in the instrumental is mixed with a heavy bass and aggressive hi-hats. The chorus lyrics – “when we pull on them” – are mixed with gimmicks seriously reminiscent of Kalashnikov shots. Yet, the scene takes place neither in the cold ghettos of Chicago nor on the violent outskirts of Los Angeles. Instead, the video is shot in the middle of Kumasi, second largest city in Ghana, capital of the Ashanti kingdom. The track is none other than the latest release from rapper Jay Bahd and his mates from the Life Living Records label. 

JAY BAHD – CONDEMN (feat. CITYBOY, O’KENNETH, REGGIE & KWAKU DMC)
Chicago-London-Kumasi, international street music

If Ghana has been known for decades for its warm melodies and playful rhythms, one confinement period was enough for many things to change. In September 2020, a bunch of rappers suddenly gained huge attention on Twitter and Instagram with tracks like “Sore” and “Akatafoc.” No sweet lyrics, no choreography, no Afrobeats: this was drill music. Born in the 2010’s on the South Side of Chicago, a powerful successor to trap music, this rap subgenre tended to present a purer and rawer face than that of mainstream hip-hop. Among the rappers who popularized it (mainly Chief Keef), many had a double life between their gangs and their music, in which they described their macabre acts with precision: drug dealing, assault, murder… This harsh style quickly gained popularity in the impoverished neighbourhoods of Great Britain, before being reappropriated by the United States around 2018, notably through the (deceased) Pop Smoke. “Welcome To The Party”, “Dior”, and the New York rapper with the darkest voice of the game popularised the genre worldwide.

In Ghana, the phenomenon made its way through Kwaku DMC, Jay Bahd, O’Kenneth, Reggie, Yaw Tog, City Boy and many others. Strangely enough, all these drillers claim to be under the same umbrella: Kumerica, a word born from the fusion between Kumasi and America, whose lifestyle is admired by the local artists. A big part of Kumasi’s youth feels represented by the term, and as far as in Accra, the Kumericans are gaining attention. What’s happening in the Ashanti capital? 

Yaw Tog – SORE (feat. O`kenneth,City Boy, Reggie, Jay Bahd)

In reality, the drill is only the tip of the Kumerica iceberg. On the phone with Rabby Jones, co-founder of Life Living Records (one of the most influential labels in the Kumasi drill scene), two comments stand out: “Kumerica is a lifestyle,” and “it’s not a hype.” The term actually encompasses the many codes of the Kumasi streets lifestyle. “The word arrived 4 years ago, with the rapper Blaq Foreigner,” Rabby tells me. “He came up with the term because we live in Kumasi, but we live like Americans. In the ghettos, in Accra it’s dancehall, but in Kumasi it’s rap.” For several decades now, the inhabitants have been inspired by black American cultures, which they have integrated into their own ways of being. Like any subculture, the Kumerica lifestyle is extremely codified. For example, the Kumericans call each other “Akata.” “Last week, an old man was explaining me that Akata is a Yoruba word for a person with a true ghetto experience. It means the same thing here,” Rabby explains. Ironically, for some Nigerians, the word “Akata” refers to African-Americans, a nuance that must surely delight the Akata boys of Kumasi.

Kumasi, capital of hip-hop

A second important element is their language. “We have a code for our Twi: basically we turn the words around,” the manager tells me. “For example, broda (brother). If I were to say broda to a Kumerican, I would say dabro. It’s to speak in code, to keep the discussion between us.” This slang is called Saka, which is the opposite of the Twi word “Kasa,” meaning “to speak.” Saka is not to be confused with Asakaa, which is none other than the famous Drill of Kumerica. Is there anything else we need to know to understand the phenomenon? “Street names, or town names. Bantama is called Florida, Abuakwa has always been called Chicago, and Suame is Miami. But all this is stuff from our ghettos, it was there long before the word Kumerica.” Indeed, if the movement is booming, it is important to understand that it is not just hype. The drill wave is only one element of this broad culture, in which a large Ashanti population recognizes itself. This cold and violent form of rap joins the lifestyle: it is its soundtrack more than its trigger. “Drill instrumentals are very upbeat, and we just think it goes well with the tempo of the Twi.” Rabby adds. Yet, Kumasi’s drill is also part of a long history of Ashanti rap. 

Lil Fyve – Live and Colored from Kumerica (ft Braa Benk & City Boy)

Kumasi hip-hop is enjoying new and unprecedented exposure, but the scene has actually been vibrating for years, patiently waiting for an opportunity to break through to the rest of the country. For Ghanaian music journalist Philip Edusei, drill is not a totally new phenomenon: it is actually a very logical continuation of the various rap waves that Ghana – and the world – have experienced. Between the 1990s and 2000s, for example, the trend was hiplife, a hybrid genre-blending hip-hop with highlife. The movement’s biggest artists became idols to the Ghanaian youth, touring and appearing all over the country. “Well, most of these artists came from Kumasi or had some kind of association with the city,” Philip tells me. “The duo Akyeame, for example, or Lord Kenya, were from Kumasi. Even Reggie Rockstone, known as the Godfather of Hiplife, is the self-proclaimed President of Oseikrom, another nickname for the city.”

Between 2000 and 2010, the kingdom’s rappers followed the same rap trends as the world, converting to gangsta rap or trap music, for example. However, there was no comparable impact to the Kumerica phenomenon. “The problem is that although Kumasi is home to a lot of talent, it has never been recognised musically because Accra is the capital,” Philip explains. “If you start to be popular, after a while you have to relocate to Accra.” “Before the drill, there was no base in Kumasi,” Rabby Jones adds. “The music was watered down, even though there were a lot of artists.” Yet, one mystery remains: what is the explanation behind the alchemy between the city and rap? What makes Kumasi so in love with hip-hop? According to online sources, this relationship dates back to the 1980s, when Ashanti men migrated to the West and came back to Kumasi with new influences, notably African-American ones. Philip intervenes: “I think this hypothesis is more about Boga highlife. A Boga is a Ghanaian who went to live abroad for a long time and came back. In the 80s, many artists came back from the US or Europe and started to integrate Western elements into their highlife. But it’s interesting to see that Reggie Rockstone, for example, is a Boga himself: he lived in London and New York before returning to Ghana.” Could the Asakaa drill be the illegitimate daughter of Boga highlife… ? My other interviewees all offer a different explanation: gold. This precious metal indeed occupies a central place in the American rapper aesthetics, filled with ostentatious jewellery which act as tokens for their success. This aesthetic probably found particular resonance in Kumasi, the home of Ashanti culture, where gold occupies an equally important place. “Our kings wear 24-carat gold chains,” Rabby simply tells me, without even needing to mention their gold rings, gold bracelets and gold thrones. The young people of Kumasi have long since made the connection between their American rap idols’ jewellery and their kings. The city was indeed a fertile ground for the birth of a hip-hop movement.

Lil Fyve
Sounds and tales from the ghetto

Kumasi embraced hip-hop, and drill embraced Kumasi. The sub-genre, cold and aggressive, found the right fit in a country paradoxically known for its warmth, welcoming culture and safety. This reputation however overshadows the 25% of the population living below the poverty line, in frustration and anger. For Lil Fyve, a proudly Kumerican rapper, drill is the best way to describe the harsh reality of the streets, whether in America, in London or in Ghana. “I started doing drill in 2014, just like in Chicago,” he tells me live from Kumasi. “When the hip-hop trend switched to trap, it was more about the melodies, the mumbling… You couldn’t say what was in your heart.” Indeed, although it deals with the same realities, drill could be described as more simplified musically than trap. This adds an extra sound space, which allows the artists to be more straightforward in their words. “I rap about my life, and I’ve been through a lot,” the rapper continues. “I rap about my suffering, my betrayals, about what happens in the streets. Drill allows you to do that, it gives you time to talk about your feelings, even if you’re a hardcore rapper. And I also try to motivate the people of the streets to never give up.” In addition to being a vehicle for expression, drill has also served as a getaway for many Kumericans whose trajectories could have gone really wrong. “Personally, before the music, I was deeply into scamming,” Rabby Jones admits on the phone. “All the artists with me are boys picked up from the streets. Some of them were into burglary.” Violent, dark, aggressive, macabre, certainly. But the arrival of drill has been beneficial for many, and the popularity the subgenre is enjoying is understandable. “Chicago has become Chiraq (because of the city’s homicide statistics being as high as in Iraq), and Kumasi has become Kumerica.” Rabby smiles. United by music, the two cities are also united by crime. “There are members of the Bloods (a powerful American gang) from Washington DC here,” the manager adds. Connected to the Bloods of the United States? “Yes, somehow.

Kwame Kantinka
Elegant Kumasi

But what would Kumerica be without its fans and supporters? Carried by thousands of young people from Kumasi (and elsewhere), it is also thanks to them that the term has flooded the web and the public sphere. Rich or poor, living in Kumasi or not, these young fans have taken Kumerica from a subculture to a much broader label. Nowadays, to be a 2.0 Kumerican, new criteria have replaced the simple condition of belonging to the city’s ghettos. Firstly, on social media, one’s location should be replaced with “Kumerica.” Secondly, if possible, it is required that you speak Saka. Thirdly, a must, you have to wear Kumerica merchandise: jumpers, caps, T-shirts… I got in touch with Kwame Kantinka, who is not a rapper, but who explains to me that he is “the representative of the Kumericans in Accra.” He tells me enthusiastically that through social media, the movement’s supporters have organised themselves into branches. The actions of each group are extremely diverse. “These days, we are selling a lot of t-shirts,” he tells me, very excitedly. “And it’s a collective art: we design and print everything in Kumasi. When you wear the t-shirt, people call you out in the street, Kumasi people will recognise you… You look in the mirror and you tell yourself that you are an Ashanti man, anything is possible!” The young people of the kingdom seem to be delighted with this new label, stylish and trendy. For once, Kumasi is no longer number 2, and its inhabitants no longer live in the shadow of a capital city where the industry is already well established. But beware: “let me be very clear,” Kwame warns me, “Kumerica does not belong to the Ashanti people. It belongs to every Ghanaian who loves the culture of Kumasi.” No ethnicism here, then. On the contrary, young Kumericans do everything to distinguish themselves from an image that could be seen as ethnically divisive or gang affiliated. Kwame tells me that last month, the Accra Kumerican branch carried out a campaign to clean up certain districts of the capital.

But generating so much excitement is bound to attract critics. And it is always hard to keep everything authentic while the trend is ongoing. “Some people will tell us they are Kumericans because they were born in Kumasi, they went to church in Kumasi, they did this in Kumasi…,” Lil Fyve tells me. “Ok, we accept. But it’s just for the trend. Many of them have no street credibility, the street doesn’t know them. They moved to Accra, where they have advantages over us. At the end of the day, we will see who is really street and who is not.” And beyond notions of hype and reclaimed identity, the movement already recieves its fair share of criticism. With the gangster attitude the rappers exude and the resulting social frenzy, Kumerica is seen as a scary phenomenon. When extreme fans started to print out Kumerican “United States of Ashanti” passports, accusations of sectarianism and separatism spread all over the country. “But no Ashanti ever spoke about having our own independence. The passports were just a joke!” Kwame Kantinka firmly states. The Kumericans are also under attack about their music, accused of entirely copying UK and American rappers. “But Asakaa is different, you add flavour to it”, Lil Fyve replies. “We’re helping to promote hip-hop worldwide, because hip-hop is for everyone.” “And everything we say in our music really happens,” Rabby adds. Even if the Kumasi ghetto reality is not likely to stop any time soon, some may wonder whether the new attention around Kumerica will prove to be more than  temporary. The subculture has existed for years and will definitely survive. But how can the media and social craze be sustained? Lil Fyve is more pragmatic, saying that the change will come through concrete projects: “with my team, we plan to organize an annual street festival to promote the culture. With time, the trend may stop on social media, but every year we will talk about Kumerica. We have measures in place.” For Rabby, it’s more a question of mentality. “We’ve been underground for more than 10 years,” he concludes serenely. “We are ready.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Welcome to Kumerica : Kumasi, vue sur ghetto
Jay Bahd

Welcome to Kumerica : Kumasi, vue sur ghetto

Au Ghana, la drill a ranimé le rap, et révélé au pays entier l’existence de la contre-culture Kumerica, originaire des quartiers pauvres de Kumasi. Langage codé, musique brutale, lifestyle, PAM a enquêté sur ce phénomène en pleine ébullition.

Le clip du morceau « Condemn » est aussi sombre que son message. Adossés à de vieilles voitures ou en bande dans la rue, les jeunes rappeurs exhibent des battes de baseball, des bouteilles d’alcool et des bandanas qui rappellent sinistrement l’univers des gangs américains. Niveau musique, l’atmosphère est tout aussi pesante. Peu de mélodies dans l’instrumentale, pétrie d’une basse sourde et de hi-hat agressifs. Les paroles du refrain, « when we pull on them » (« quand on arrive sur eux »), se mêlent à des gimmicks faisant sérieusement penser à des tirs de kalachnikov. La scène ne se déroule pourtant ni dans le froid des ghettos de Chicago ni aux périphéries violentes de Los Angeles. Le clip est tourné en plein milieu de Kumasi, deuxième ville du Ghana, capitale du royaume ashanti. Et le morceau n’est autre que la dernière sortie du rappeur Jay Bahd et de sa bande du label Life Living Records.

JAY BAHD – CONDEMN (feat. CITYBOY, O’KENNETH, REGGIE & KWAKU DMC)
Chicago-Londres-Kumasi, le trip de la drill

Si le Ghana est depuis des décennies reconnu pour ses mélodies chaudes et ses rythmiques enjouées, sachez que beaucoup de choses ont changé le temps d’un confinement. En septembre 2020, une flopée de rappeurs font soudainement le buzz sur Twitter et Instagram à travers des titres comme « Sore » ou « Akatafoc ». Pas de paroles mielleuses, pas de chorégraphies, pas d’afrobeats : tous font de la drill. Né dans les années 2010 dans le South Side de Chicago, digne successeur de la trap music, ce sous-genre du rap se veut plus épuré et brut que le hip-hop mainstream. Les rappeurs qui le popularisent, comme Chief Keef, mènent pour la plupart une double vie entre leurs gangs et leur musique, dans laquelle ils détaillent avec précision leurs agissements macabres : vente de drogue, agression ou meurtres. Ce style froid connaîtra un succès retentissant dans les quartiers paupérisés de Grande-Bretagne, avant d’être de nouveau récupéré par les États-Unis vers 2018, notamment en la personne (défunte) de Pop Smoke. « Welcome to the Party », « Dior », et le rappeur new-yorkais à la voix infectieuse popularise le genre dans le monde entier.

Au Ghana, le phénomène prend aussi à travers Kwaku DMC, Jay Bahd, O’Kenneth, Reggie, Yaw Tog, City Boy et bien d’autres. Étrangement, tous ces drillers se revendiquent de la même bannière : Kumerica, un mot né de la fusion entre leur ville, Kumasi et l’Amérique, dont le lifestyle est admiré par les artistes. Le terme est récupéré par toute une partie de la jeunesse de Kumasi, et jusqu’à Accra, les Kumericans attirent l’attention. Que se passe-t-il dans la capitale Ashanti ?

Yaw Tog – SORE (feat. O`kenneth,City Boy, Reggie, Jay Bahd)

En réalité, la drill n’est que la partie émergée de l’iceberg Kumerica. Au téléphone avec Rabby Jones, cofondateur de Life Living Records (l’un des labels les plus influents de la scène drill de Kumasi), deux commentaires ressortent : « Kumerica est un lifestyle », et « ce n’est pas une mode ». Le terme englobe en fait les nombreux codes du mode de vie des ghettos de Kumasi. « Le mot est arrivé il y a quatre ans, par le rappeur Blaq Foreigner », m’apprend Rabby. « Il est arrivé avec ce terme parce qu’on habite à Kumasi, mais on vit comme des Américains. Dans les ghettos, à Accra c’est du dancehall, mais à Kumasi c’est du rap ». Il faut dire que depuis des décennies, les gens de Kumasi s’inspirent des cultures noires américaines, qu’ils ont intégrées dans leurs propres manières d’être. Comme toute contre-culture, le mode de vie Kumerica est extrêmement codifié. Entre eux par exemple, les Kumericans s’appellent « Akata ». « Un vieux m’a expliqué qu’Akata est un mot yoruba pour désigner une personne du ghetto. Ici, ça veut dire la même chose », m’explique Rabby. Ironiquement, pour certains Nigérians, le mot « Akata » désigne justement les Afro-Américains, une nuance qui doit sûrement ravir les Akata boys de Kumasi. 

Kumasi, ville de hip-hop et de verlan (saka)

Un deuxième élément important est d’ailleurs leur langue. « On a un code pour notre Twi (langue parlée dans les régions ashanti, NDLR) : en gros on retourne les mots », me dit le manager. « Par exemple, broda (“frère”). Si je dois dire broda à un Kumerican, je dirais dabro. C’est pour parler en code, pour garder la discussion entre nous. » Cet argot s’appelle le Saka, soit l’inverse du mot Twi « Kasa », qui signifie « parler ». Le Saka n’est d’ailleurs pas à confondre avec l’Asakaa, qui n’est autre que la fameuse drill de Kumerica. Un dernier code à connaître pour bien comprendre le phénomène ? « Les noms de rue, ou les noms de quartiers. Bantama est appelé Florida, Abuakwa a toujours été appelé Chicago, et Suame c’est Miami. Mais tout ça, c’est des trucs de nos ghettos, c’était là bien avant le mot Kumerica. » En effet, si le mouvement est en plein essor, il est important de comprendre qu’il n’est pas une simple mode. L’explosion de la drill n’est qu’un élément de cette culture large, dans laquelle une grande partie de la population ashanti se reconnaît. Ce rap froid et violent ne fait qu’accompagner ce mode de vie : il en est la bande-son plus que l’élément déclencheur. « Les instrumentales de drill sont très rythmées, et on trouve juste que ça va bien avec le tempo du Twi », ajoute Rabby. Pourtant, la drill de Kumasi s’inscrit aussi dans une longue histoire de rap Ashanti.

Kawabanga – Akatafoc (feat. O’Kenneth,Reggie & Jay Bahd)

S’il profite d’une exposition nouvelle et inédite, le rap de Kumasi vibre en réalité depuis des années, attendant patiemment une occasion pour déferler sur le reste du pays. Pour Philip Edusei, journaliste musical ghanéen, la drill n’est pas un phénomène totalement nouveau : elle est en fait la suite logique des différentes vagues hip-hop qu’ont connues le Ghana et le monde. Entre les années 90 et 2000, par exemple, la mode est au hiplife, un genre hybride qui marie le rap au highlife. La jeunesse ghanéenne s’arrache les nouvelles stars du mouvement, qui enchaînent les concerts dans tout le pays. « Et bien la plupart de ces artistes venaient de Kumasi ou avaient une association quelconque avec la ville », m’apprend Philip. « Le duo Akyeame par exemple, ou Lord Kenya, sont originaires de Kumasi. Même Reggie Rockstone, qu’on connaît comme le Parrain du Hiplife, est le Président autoproclamé d’Oseikrom, un autre surnom de la ville. »

Entre 2000 et 2010, les rappeurs du royaume suivent les mêmes évolutions que le rap mondial, se convertissant par exemple au gangsta rap ou à la trap music. Pourtant, aucun retentissement comparable au phénomène Kumerica. « Le problème, c’est que même si Kumasi abrite énormément de talents, ça n’a jamais été reconnu musicalement parce que c’est Accra la capitale », explique Philip. « Si tu commences à être populaire, au bout d’un moment, tu es obligé de déménager à Accra. » « Avant la drill, il n’y avait pas de base à Kumasi », complète Rabby Jones. « La musique était diluée, même s’il y avait plein d’artistes ». Un mystère subsiste pourtant : comment expliquer cette alchimie si puissante entre la ville et le rap ? Qu’est-ce qui rend Kumasi si amoureuse du hip-hop ? Sur internet, on peut lire que cette relation date des années 1980, quand des hommes ashanti ont migré vers l’Occident et sont revenus à Kumasi avec de nouvelles influences, notamment afro-américaines. Philip précise : « Je pense que cette hypothèse est celle du Boga Highlife. Un Boga, c’est un Ghanéen qui est allé vivre à l’étranger et qui est revenu. Dans les années 80, beaucoup d’artistes sont revenus des US ou de l’Europe et ont commencé à intégrer des éléments occidentaux dans leur highlife. Mais c’est intéressant de voir que Reggie Rockstone, par exemple, est lui-même un Boga : il a vécu à Londres et à New York avant de revenir au Ghana ». La drill ghanéenne, fille illégitime du Boga Highlife… ? Mes autres interlocuteurs offrent tous une explication différente : l’or. Cette denrée précieuse occupe en effet une place centrale dans l’esthétique des rappeurs américains, qui s’affichent depuis des décennies avec des bijoux des plus ostentatoires, gages de leur réussite. Cette esthétique aurait trouvé une résonance particulière à Kumasi, siège de la culture ashanti, où l’or occupe une place tout aussi importante. « Nos rois portent des chaînes en or 24 carats », me dit simplement Rabby. Sans oublier de mentionner leurs bagues en or, bracelets en or, et trône en or. Les jeunes de Kumasi ont depuis longtemps fait le lien entre les bijoux des clips de rappeurs américains et leurs rois. Et selon eux, pour cette raison-là, La ville était un terreau fertile à la naissance d’un mouvement rap.

Lil Fyve
Le son du Ghetto

Kumasi a donc épousé le rap, et la drill a épousé Kumasi. Le sous-genre, froid et agressif, a trouvé chaussure à son pied dans un pays pourtant réputé pour sa chaleur, sa culture de la l’hospitalité et sa sécurité. Une réputation qui occulte cependant les 25 % de la population qui vivent sous le seuil de pauvreté, dans la frustration et la colère. Pour Lil Fyve, rappeur estampillé kumerican, la drill a été le meilleur moyen de décrire la dure réalité de la rue, qu’elle soit américaine, londonienne ou ghanéenne. « J’ai commencé à faire de la drill en 2014, comme à Chicago », me dit-il au bout du téléphone. « Quand la mode du hip-hop est passée à la trap, c’était plus orienté vers les mélodies, le marmonnement… Tu ne pouvais pas dire ce qu’il y avait dans ton cœur. » De fait, bien qu’elle traite des mêmes réalités, la drill est plus épurée que la trap. Un espace sonore en plus, qui permet d’être plus percutant dans les propos. « Moi, je rappe sur ma vie, et j’en ai bavé », poursuit le rappeur. « Je rappe sur ma souffrance, mes trahisons, sur ce qui se passe dans la rue. La drill te permet ça, ça te donne le temps de parler de tes sentiments, même si tu es un rappeur hardcore. Et j’essaie aussi de motiver les gens de la rue à ne jamais abandonner. » En plus d’être un vecteur d’expression, la drill a aussi servi d’échappatoire pour beaucoup de Kumericans, alors qu’ils s’apprêtaient à rejoindre les rangs croissants des jeunes désœuvrés. « Personnellement, avant la musique, j’étais profondément dans le scamming (arnaques virtuelles) », m’avoue Rabby Jones au bout du fil. « Tous les artistes avec moi sont des garçons ramassés dans la rue, certains faisaient des cambriolages. » Violente, sombre, agressive, macabre, certes. Mais l’arrivée de la drill a été bénéfique pour beaucoup, et la popularité qu’elle rencontre est logique. « Chicago est devenue Chiraq (en raison des statistiques d’homicides de la ville aussi élevées qu’en Irak), et Kumasi est devenue Kumerica », sourit Rabby. Unies par la musique, les deux villes le sont aussi par le crime. « Il y a des membres des Bloods (puissant gang américain) de Washington D.C. ici », ajoute le manager. Connectés aux Bloods des États-Unis ? « Oui, d’une manière ou d’une autre ».

Kwame Kantinka
Kumasi chic

Mais que serait Kumerica sans ses fans et supporters ? Porté par des milliers de jeunes de Kumasi (et d’ailleurs), c’est aussi grâce à eux que le terme a inondé la toile et la sphère publique. Riche ou pauvre, habitant à Kumasi ou non, cette jeunesse a fait passer Kumerica d’une contre-culture à une étiquette bien plus large. Aujourd’hui, pour être un Kumerican 2.0, de nouveaux critères ont remplacé l’appartenance aux ghettos de la ville. Premièrement, sur les réseaux sociaux, remplacer sa localisation par « Kumerica ». Deuxièmement, si possible, parler le Saka. Troisièmement, un must, porter la marchandise Kumerica : le choix est large entre les pulls, casquettes, t-shirts et autres accessoires. Je prends contact avec Kwame Kantinka, qui n’est pas un rappeur, mais qui m’explique être le « représentant de Kumerica à Accra ». Très enthousiaste, il m’apprend qu’à travers les réseaux sociaux, les supporters du mouvement se sont organisés en branches. Les actions de chaque groupe sont extrêmement diverses. « Ces temps-ci, on vend énormément de t-shirts », me dit-il, très excité. « Et c’est un art collectif : on design et on imprime tout à Kumasi. Quand tu portes le t-shirt, on t’interpelle dans la rue, les gens de Kumasi te reconnaissent… Tu te regardes dans le miroir et tu te dis que tu es un homme ashanti, tout est possible ! » Les jeunes du royaume semblent se réjouir de cette nouvelle étiquette, stylée et tendance. Pour une fois, Kumasi n’est plus la numéro 2, et ses habitants ne vivent plus dans l’ombre d’une capitale où l’industrie est déjà bien implantée. Mais attention : « que ce soit très clair », m’avertit Kwame, « Kumerica n’appartient pas aux personnes ashanti. Cela appartient à tous les Ghanéens qui aiment la culture de Kumasi ». Pas d’ethnicisme, ça non. Au contraire, les jeunes Kumericans font tout pour se distinguer d’une image qui pourrait être affiliée à des identitaires ou à des gangs. Kwame me raconte que le mois dernier, la branche accréenne de Kumerica a réalisé une campagne de nettoyage de certains quartiers de la capitale.

Difficile de susciter autant d’engouement sans s’attirer des détracteurs. Et difficile de garder son authenticité en étant à la mode. « Certaines personnes vont nous dire qu’ils sont Kumericans parce qu’ils sont nés à Kumasi, ils y sont allés à l’église, ils y ont fait ceci… », me dit Lil Fyve. « Ok, on accepte. Mais c’est juste pour la mode. Beaucoup d’entre eux n’ont aucune crédibilité, la rue ne les connaît pas. Ils vivent à Accra, où ils ont des avantages par rapport à nous. On finira par savoir qui vient vraiment de la rue ou pas. » Et quand il n’est pas récupéré juste pour faire partie du groupe, le mouvement est lourdement critiqué. Entre l’attitude gangster que les rappeurs dégagent et le mouvement social qui en résulte, Kumerica fait peur. Quand certains fans extrêmes ont commencé à imprimer des faux passeports « Republic of Kumerica », les accusations de sectarisme et de séparatisme ont fusé dans tout le pays. « Aucun Ashanti n’a parlé d’avoir notre propre indépendance. Les passeports, c’était juste une blague ! », s’exclame Kwame Kantinka. Autre plan sur lequel les Kumericans sont attaqués : la musique, qu’ils sont accusés de calquer intégralement sur les rappeurs anglais et américains. « Mais l’Asakaa est différent, on y ajoute de la saveur », répond Lil Fyve. « On participe à la promotion du hip-hop global, c’est pour tout le monde. (…) Et tout ce qu’on raconte dans notre musique se passe réellement », ajoute Rabby. Si cette réalité ne risque pas de s’arrêter d’un instant à l’autre, certains peuvent pourtant se demander si la nouvelle attention autour de Kumerica n’est pas que passagère. La contre-culture survivra peut-être, mais comment faire durer l’engouement médiatique et social ? Pour Lil Fyve, méthodique, le changement viendra par des projets concrets : « Avec mon équipe, on compte organiser un festival de rue annuel pour promouvoir la culture. Avec le temps, la mode s’arrêtera peut-être sur les réseaux sociaux, mais chaque année on reparlera de Kumerica. On a des mesures en place. » Pour Rabby, question de mentalité. « On a été underground pour plus de 10 ans », conclut-il, serein. « On est prêts ».

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé