Agogo Records’ upcoming compilation is an intercontinental journey in rhythm

Two Tribes features a broad spectrum of renowned artists, such as Healing Force Project, Blay Ambolley and Raoul K, with tracks ranging from traditional music to modern club culture.

Out on february 1st, Agogo Records new compilation is a snapshot of musical hybridations between european and african sounds. The german label’s new project  makes an effort to give insight in how musicians living in Europe today incorporate and transfer muscial traditions particularly from the African continent into their own oeuvre.

Two Tribes features musicians with roots in African countries who reside in Europe and collaborations between European and African artists. Through its 12 tracks, the project gathers classical songs using traditional instruments from both continents as well as electronic productions that combine musical heritage with current club culture.

 

The music included refers to the musical traditions of Senegal, Kenya, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Ethiopia, Morocco, Zimbabwe and South Africa amongst others. It features well-known names such as Healing Force Project, veteran Highlife musician from Ghana Blay Ambolley and south african afrohouse producer Raoul K, now living in Germany.

The project intends to build a bridge between the musical legacy of both continents, where traditions are integrated and re-signified into each artist’s own oeuvre .

Purchase Two Tribes on Bandcamp

Read Next: 5 Nigerian classics album of the 80’s

La nouvelle compilation d’Agogo Records est un voyage rythmique entre l’Europe et l’Afrique

Two Tribes accueille une large palette d’artistes tels que Healing Force Project, Blay Ambolley ou encore Raoul K, entre musique traditionnelle et club culture.

Sorti le 1er février dernier la nouvelle compilation d’Agogo Records nous offre un panorama des hybridations entre musiques européennes et africaines. Le projet du label basé à Hanovre en Allemagne fait la part belle à la manière dont les musiciens vivant aujourd’hui en Europe intègrent et retranscrivent les traditions musicales africaines dans leurs œuvres.

La compilation tente de capturer une partie de l’énorme diversité des créations musicales européennes qui s’inspirent des musiques africaines, en allant de musiciens d’origine africaine résidant en Europe à des collaborations entre musiciens des deux continents. À travers ses 12 titres, le projet regroupe à la fois des morceaux classiques, reposants majoritairement sur l’utilisation d’instruments traditionnels, et des productions électroniques qui combinent influences musicales africaines et club culture actuelle.

Sans se prétendre exhaustif, Two Tribes inclut un large panel d’influences musicales, du Maroc à l’Afrique du Sud en passant par le Sénégal, le Kenya ou le Zimbabwe. Ces inspirations se retrouvent retranscrites par les productions de musiciens aussi divers que confirmés, tel que les Italiens de Healing Force Project, le vétéran du highlife ghanéen Blay Ambolley ou encore le producteur sud-africain Raoul K, qui réside aujourd’hui en Allemagne.

Cette compilation tente de tracer un pont entre les héritages musicaux des deux continents, où les influences traditionnelles se confrontent à la sensibilité personnelle de chaque artiste.

La compilation Two Tribes est disponible sur Bandcamp et sur toutes les plateformes légales.

Lire ensuite: 5 classiques de la musique sénégalaise des années 70