African Hits Timeline 2017 (2/2)

Here is the second part of our timeline for the African hits of 2017. From Nigerian pop to South African gqom, via Tanzanian bongo flava and Moroccan rap: a 60-track journey to discover the artists who nailed it on YouTube in the last 12 months!

Read also : African Hits Timeline 2017 (1/2)

Today in Europe, YouTube view stats are the new index for measuring the success of a track. But in Africa, where only 23.4% of the population have access to internet (against 84% of the Europeans, according to Internet Live Stats survey), this data isn’t enough. And not always available.

This is however a great piece of information that helps reveal the main trends that have appeared in the continent. With respectively 57% and 52%, Morocco and South Africa are the leading countries for internet penetration rates, and are two of the main online scenes for African rap in 2017. Far ahead Togo (7.3%) or Guinea (1.8%), for example. Tunisia (48%) set new records with artists like Balti (more than 118 million views on YouTube in only two months with the track “Ya Lili”). Africa’s most populated country – Nigeria (46%) – is still leading the pop scene (Davido, Wizkid, Tekno, Olamide, Runtown, Tiwa Savage).

Still, in a field where the dice are loaded, some artists managed to pull it off nicely. Tales of kifs, diasporas, new record stats or strong characters: these artists all caught our attention in 2017.

Discover African hits timeline’s playlist on YouTube and Spotify.


July, 1st
 – The ever inspired Arafat DJ (Ivory Coast)

They call him “Zeus of Africa”, “InfluenMento”, “Caesar” or simply Arafat DJ the boss of coupé-décalé. Since the first hit “Hommage à Jonathan”, the supercharged artist, real name Yôrôbô and awarded Best Artist at the Coupé-Décalé Awards 2017, keep on chain-producing concepts – the gorilla dance he named Kpangor – successes and clashes – see his already legendary Facebook Live sessions.


July, 9th
 – Stronger than Nigeria: Aymane Serhani and the raï’n’b (Morocco)

The 25-year-old raï’n’b singer Aymane Serhani has been active on YouTube since February 2013 and his video view numbers have already been through the roof. His series of three selfie-like films count more than 200M views on YouTube today.

Similar tracks: “Yamma” by 36-year-old Casablanca-based singer Hatim Ammor who made a name for himself thanks to his success at the 2M TV channel talent show (July 2017, +14M views on YouTube). “Moul Chateau” by 34-year-old YouNess, among the new voices of Moroccan raï (May 2017, +26M views on YouTube).

Featured in Africa’s biggest scores of 2017: Morocco’s rock star Saad Lamjarred, who has reached 108M views on YouTube with the single “Let Go”. Tunisian rapper Balti and his amazing success: “Ya Lili” was released last October and already counts more than 110M views!


July, 6th – Sidiki Diabaté, Walaye c’est bon ! (Mali)  

Sidiki Diabaté, son of the famous Toumani (one of the few African artists to have won a Grammy Awards), has been performing on stage since 15 and gives sold out shows in his country’s stadiums. There they call him “Mali’s Chris Brown”. And in France he inspired Booba for the famous track “Validée” and recently was invited as a guest on the last album of the French boss of rap, Trône.

On the same tone: “Wari” by Tal B. Awarded “Mali’s Best Rapper” in 2009, the Halala – the worthy, the noble – called in Ivory Coast’s best rapper Didi B from the Kiff No Beat, to perform on this track.


July, 13th
 – Dji Tafinha, Angolan rap ambassador

Star in his own country, Dji Tafinha was a member of the jury for “The Voice – Angola” in 2015. The same year, the rapper-producer nailed it on the web with “Imperfeito”, of the album Independente 2 (Apollo), the follow-up to the first part released in 2011 (+2,5M views on YT).


July, 14th
 – Pop Up! “Yagute” with Yared Negu (Ethiopia)

Just because Ethiopian video clips keep popping up in our YouTube suggestions, and to discover them may sometimes be a happy surprise. Like this “Yagute” by Yared Negu and its 4 million views..

On the same tone: “Hana” by Temesgen Gebregziabher.


July, 27th – Let’s all do the motorbike dance aka the “booda dance” with Young Bullet (South Sudan)

Since the independence of South Sudan in 2011, the youth has found in music a way to express themselves and sing peace or just let off steam in pop music or dancehall – the two most popular genres of the country.

Recommended: “Piandu” by Sudanese dancehall singer Slate Nation.

August, 10th – Locko, the R&B sensation (Cameroon)

Since the release of the song “Ndutu” (Jan. 2016, +2.7M views on YT), Locko has been considered one of the greatest names of Cameroon pop music. He took part in Coke Studio Africa (a video show we’ve already covered in de December timeline).

It was released the same day: “Y.O.L.O” by Angolan rap’s boss NGA and member of one the most popular bands of the country, Força Suprema.


August, 16th – Olamide, Nigerian rap’s baddo

Olamide “the baddo” (tough nut) has been spotted at the beginning of the 2010s thanks to the yoruba and pidgin-spoken rap (a Creole language mixing English and indigenous languages) he performed on “Eni Duro”. Since then he’s released six albums – the last one in 2016, titled Glory.

Recommended: “Wehdone Sir” by Nigerian rapper Falz (Jan. 2017, +1.3M views on YT).


August, 25th – Diamond Platnumz’s bongo flava (Tanzania)

Diamond Platnumz is the king of Tanzanian pop, called bongo flava*. Since 2017 he’s tried to win over the West with songs like “Mary You” featuring R&B singer Ne-Yo, “Waka” featuring rapper Ricky Ross or “Hallelujah” with Jamaican roots reggae band Morgan Heritage.

It was released the same day: the magical song “Seduce Me” by Tanzanian “King Kiba” Alikiba (August 2017, +8.5M views on YT).

* Bongo flava originates from “ubongo”, the Swahili word for “brains”. It is the nickname of Dar es Salaam, the birthplace of this music that has mixed elements of rap, pop, r’n’b and more traditional sounds like taarab.


September, 4th – Fireworks shot by Nerù Americano’s kuduro (Angola)


September, 7th – Makifizolo’s magic potion (South Africa)

This duo formed by Theo Kgosinkwe et Nhlanhla Nciza has been very popular since the release of the amazing track “Khona” (Apr. 2013, +10M views on YT) – produced by Uhuru, one of the country’s greatest hitmakers. The pair was awarded “Best Artist of the Year” three times at the SA Music Awards.


September, 11th – Let’s dance the “Manger Chier” (“Eat and Take a Shit”) with Safarel Obiang, and beware the “fort diarrhée” (“heavy diarrhea”) (Ivory Coast)


September, 18th – Rapper 7Liwa’s “Mimi” is a hit!

7Liwa is considered by many the best rapper of the new generation. He was spotted in 2016 in France as he performed with Lartiste on the track “Gonzales”. He penned some of Morocco’s biggest rap bangers of the last years: “Nik DT”,”Adidas”, “Haribo”, etc. With “Mimi”, excerpt of the mixtape #WF (for Wald Fatema, “the son of Fatema” in Dejia language), 7Liwa has almost reached the 10M views on YouTube in 2017.


September, 21st
 – Shado Chris hot flow (Ivory Coast)


October, 11th – Rapper Kwesta releases the the best track featuring a US artist of 2017 (South Africa)

With his unique voice tone and flow, Kwesta presents himself as “Da King of Afrikan Rap”. A status he’s logically earned since the release of the second part of the album DaKARi n 2016. The album offered the amazing “Ngud” featuring Cassper Nyovest (+4.9M views on YT). And just as if it was not enough, Kwesta chose to launch a duo with the rapper Wale in 2017. The result of the collaboration was the track “Spirit”, best duo “Africa/U.S.A.” of the year.  

Wale and Africa: Since his first trip to Nigeria and the release of the tribute track to Fela Kuti “The God Smile”, the rapper multiplied the collaborations with fellow countrymen artists. In April 2017 he invited Davido, Olamide et Wizkid on his latest album, Shine.


October, 13th – Jah Prayzah, le Musoja* du Zimbabwe

As this is often the case for most of the biggest names of African music, the popularity of Jah Prayzah – an artist who won a MTV African Music Awards in 2016 – has grown on the continent (and especially on YouTube) as he was releasing featurings with stars from the neighboring countries.

Among the most popular songs, “Watora Mari” with Diamond Platnumz, “My Lilly” with Davido and “Sendekera” with Mafikizolo.

* for “soldier” in the Shona language mainly spoken in  Zimbabwe. Jah Prayzah has earned this nickname for the military outfits he’s used to wearing on stage.


October, 25th – The happy mornings of rapper A.L.A. (Tunisia)

What a good day to wake up and rap, as A.L.A puts it on “Nharzin” (“what a beautiful day”)! His solo adventure – A.L.A has started his career in the band ZZH.5 – was officially launched on YouTube in June, 2017 and his channel already counts more than 36 million views (a record reached with “U.Z.I” and its 11M views).

And in order to make these rap mornings even happier, A.L.A called in Moroccan rapper Toto on “Nharzin”: the artist is famous in the neighboring kingdom, and signed the great track “Pablo”, produced by Hades. The Moroccan rap’s idol has noticeably worked on Fantôme, the latest album of French rap‘s veteran Rim’K.

October, 26th – Algeria will always be the country of raï – Cheb Bilal,“Romantique” (Algeria)

November, 3rd 
Tiwa Savage is an African Queen (Nigeria)

Tiwa Savage might well be “Nigeria’s Beyoncé”. Signed to Don Jazzy’s label – one of the most powerful artists of the continent – and managed by Jay-Z’s firm Roc Nation, the multi-awarded singer has launched the new EP Sugarcane in September 2017. This six-track record offers the hit “Ma Lo” featuring Wizkid (+9M views on YT).

Recommended: “Sugar n Spice” by Yémi Alada (Jan. 2017, +1.1M views on YT), another highly influential Nigerian singer.


November, 19th – Rapper Dip Doundou Guiss’ science (Senegal)

Born in 1991, Dip Doundou Guiss takes his name from “deep” and his lyrics are deep, indeed. He’s made a name for himself with the tracks “Hors Norme” or “Yakarouma Ci Ken” at the beginning of the 2010s. Today he’s considered one of the leaders of the galsen rap (“NMLD”, about 900 000 views on YT). But the flamboyant Omzo Dollar stole Dip’s “Best Rapper” title at the Galsen Hip Hop Awards 2017 with “Yarr” (Sept. 2017, +325 000 views on YT).

Recommended: “La Boca” by Nix feat. Omzo Dollar. Active in the rap field for more than 20 years, Nix is a treasure of the musical genre for West Africa. He’s left a great mark in Senegalese hip hop with the band Kantiolis and has released many solo works, among which Excuse My Wolof – released in 2016 with an EP and the song “Badou Meun Lepp”. The follow-up is an album that should be launched soon.


November, 20th – The Sauti Sol are still the boss of pop music (Kenya)

Since the release of “Sura Yako” (Sept. 2014, +5.6M views on YT), excerpt of their third album Live and Die in Africa, the Sauti Sol are the leading band of Kenyan pop scene. The group has multiplied featurings with artists from other countries, which earned them a strong leading status at home as well as abroad.

Sauti Sol featurings in 2017: Angolan kizomba singer C4 Pedro on “Love Again” ; Ugandan Bebe Cool on “Mbozi Za Malwa” ; Nigerian Kcee on “Wine for Me”.

It was released the same day: “Yasis” by rapper Youngsta CPT – and his 27 mixtapes! – who was awarded “Best Lyricist” at the SA Hip Hop Awards 2017.

November, 25th Don’zer the ragman of rap launches his video (Gabon)

Don’Zer made a huge buzz in 2017 with the track “Goudronnier” (ragman, ragpicker) that tells the daily art of being street smart when you’re an unfortunate thug living in the poor areas of Libreville.

Recommended: “Piccolo” by “the boss of your boss”, Gabonese rapper Zyone Stylei.


November, 25th – Tunji and Khaligraph Jones, the nicest duo of Kenya’s rap

For the remix of “Mat Za Ronga”, the young Tunji called in heavyweight artist Khaligraph Jones.

Released in June 2017, “Mat Za Ronga” is an ode to the matatu minibus, Kenya’s most popular public transportation. This vehicle has turned into a surprising cultural phenomenon: the drivers use to pimp their vehicles with flashy decorations, plasma screens, loud sound systems, etc.


November, 29th – Ariel Sheney, the voice of the ghetto (Ivory Coast)

With “Ghetto”, Ariel Sheney signed one of the major tracks of 2017. Released last September, it counted up to 2M views on YT until Sheney’s former mentor Arafat DJ decided to take it down in November (the rapper was a member of the YoroGang, Arafat’s artistic structure). Ariel Sheney has since resumed a solo career.


December, 3rd – Prodígio and the wonders of Angolan rap – Força Suprema (Angola)

Prodígio, another member of the band Força Suprema with NGA, has uploaded tens of videos on his YouTube channel last December. They’re tracks from his latest album Lua, released on December, 28th.


December, 14th – Big companies do great things sometimes

LCoke Studio Africa is a TV show broadcast on 30 different TV channels of Africa and has offered great encounters with artists for a few years now. The 2017 lineup has featured singers Youssoupha (DR Congo), Locko (Cameroon), Yemi Alade (Nigeria), Dji Tafinha (Angola) ; producers Nahreel (from the Tanzanian duo Navy Kenzo) and Sketchy Bongo (Soutjh Africa) ; and artists who recorded special collaborations. A great example is Nasty C and Runtown who sang together on a music written by Shado Chris: a few minutes that brought together South Africa, Nigeria and Ivory Coast, with Coca Cola company’s colours in the background.

La timeline des hits africains 2017 (2/2)

Seconde partie de notre timeline des hits africains 2017, allant de la pop du Nigeria, au gqom d’Afrique du Sud, en passant par la bongo flava de Tanzanie au rap marocain. Un voyage en 60 titres à la découverte de ceux et celles qui ont cartonné sur YouTube entre janvier et décembre 2017.

Lire : La timeline des hits africains 2017 (1/2)

En Europe aujourd’hui, le succès d’un hit se mesure peut-être en fonction du nombre de vues qu’il comptabilise sur YouTube. Mais pour l’Afrique où seulement 23,4% de la population a accès à Internet (contre 84% des Européens, selon les chiffres d’internet Lives Stats), ces données ne sont pas suffisantes. Voire quasi absentes.

Ces informations permettent toutefois d’avoir une idée de certaines des grandes tendances qui ont traversé le continent. Un territoire où le Maroc (57%) et l’Afrique du Sud (52%), en tête du classement des taux de pénétration, se sont installés comme deux des scènes fortes du rap africain en 2017 sur internet. Loin devant le Togo (7,3%) ou la Guinée (1.8%) par exemple. La Tunisie (48%) a explosé des records avec des artistes comme Balti (plus de 118 millions de vues YouTube en deux mois pour son morceau « Ya Lili »). Le pays le plus peuplé d’Afrique, le Nigeria (46%), a su garder le lead de la pop (Davido, Wizkid, Tekno, Olamide, Runtown, Tiwa Savage).

Mais dans ce paysage où les dés sont pipés, certains artistes ont réussi à tirer leur épingle du jeu. Histoires de kifs, de diasporas, de stats records ou d’identités marquées, ils ont attiré notre attention en 2017.

Retrouvez la timeline des hits africains en playlist, sur YouTube ou Spotify.


1er juillet
Arafat DJ, toujours très inspiré (Côte d’Ivoire)

Appelez-le “Zeus de l’Afrique”, “’InfluenMento”, “César” ou plus simplement Arafat DJ le boss du coupé-décalé. Le survolté Yôrôbô, sacré Meilleur artiste des Awards du coupé-décalé en 2017, enchaîne les concepts (la danse du gorille ou Kpangor), les succès et les clashs – ses Facebook Live sont légendaires – depuis son premier hit “Hommage à Jonathan”.


9 juillet
Il y a plus fort que le Nigeria, il y a Aymane Serhani et le raï’n’b (Maroc)

Le chanteur de raï’n’b Aymane Serhani, 25 ans, en activité YouTube depuis février 2013, a explosé les compteurs de vues. Avec sa série de vidéos tournées en mode selfie (3 clips à ce jour), il a réussi à dépasser les 200M de vues sur YT en 2017.

Dans la même veine : « Yamma » d’Hatim Ammor, 36 ans, chanteur de Casablanca devenu célèbre suite à sa victoire au télé-crochet de la chaîne marocaine 2M (+14M de vues YT, juillet 2017). « Moul Chateau » de YouNess, 34 ans, dans les nouvelles voix du raï marocain (+26M de vues YT, mai 2017).

Dans les plus gros scores de 2017 en Afrique : Saad Lamjarred, la rock star du Maroc qui atteint les 108M de vues YT avec son single “Let Go”. Le rappeur tunisien Balti dont le succès est assez spectaculaire. Avec son “Ya Lili” sorti en octobre, il a dépassé la barre folle des 110M de vues.


6 juilletSidiki Diabaté, Walaye c’est bon ! (Mali)  

Sidiki Diabaté, fils du très célèbre Toumani (parmi les artistes africains qui ont gagné un Grammy Awards), se produit sur scène depuis l’âge de 15 ans et remplit des stades dans son pays où on l’appelle même le “Chris Brown du Mali”. En France, il a inspiré à Booba son très célèbre « Validée » et récemment rejoint la short list des artistes invités sur son tout dernier album Trône.

Sur la même note : Tal B, « Wari ». Élu “Meilleur Rappeur” du Mali en 2009 Tal-b le “Halala” (le digne, le noble) a fait appel au plus grand rappeur de Côte d’Ivoire, Didi B des Kiff No Beat, sur ce track.


13 juillet
Dji Tafinha, ambassadeur du rap angolais (Angola)

Star au pays, Dji Tafinha était dans le jury de « The Voice – Angola » en 2015. Cette même année, le rappeur et producteur a fait boom sur les réseaux avec son “Imperfeito”, morceau extrait de son album Independente 2 (Apollo), suite du premier volet sorti en 2011 (+2,5M de vues YT).


14 juillet
Pop Up ! “Yagute” avec Yared Negu (Éthiopie)

Parce que les clips des éthiopiens arrivent dans les suggestions YT et que les découvertes sont parfois joyeuses. À l’instar du “Yagute” de Yared Negu avec ses 4 millions de vues sur YT.

Sur la même note : « Hana » de Temesgen Gebregziabher.


27 juilletOn fait la danse de la moto, la “boda dance” avec Young Bullet (Sud-Soudan)

Depuis l’indépendance du Sud-Soudan en 2011, la jeunesse a trouvé grâce à la musique une façon de s’exprimer, de chanter la paix ou de se “défouler” sur des musiques pop ou dancehall, les styles les plus populaires du pays.

On vous conseille :Piandu du chanteur de dancehall sud-soudanais Slate Nation.

10 aoûtLocko, la sensation R&B (Cameroun)

Depuis la sortie son morceauNdutu” (janvier 2016, +2,7M de vues YT), Locko est reconnu comme l’un des grands noms de la pop camerounaise. En 2017, il a participé au Coke Studio Africa (on vous en parle dans la timeline en décembre).

Sorti le même jour : Y.O.L.O du boss du rap angolais, NGA, membre de l’un groupes les plus populaires du pays, Força Suprema.


16 août  – Olamide le baddo du rap nigérian

Olamide, le baddo (le dur à cuire) s’est fait repérer avec son rap en yoruba et pidgin (créole mélange d’anglais et de langues vernaculaires) sur le morceau “Eni Duro” au début des années 2010. Il a depuis sorti 6 albums (dont le tout dernier Glory en 2016).

On vous conseille : Wehdone Sir” du rappeur nigérian Falz (janvier 2017, +1,3M de vues YT).


25 aoûtLa bongo flava de Diamond Platnumz (Tanzanie)

Diamond Platnumz est le roi de la Pop made in Tanzanie, la bongo flava*. En 2017, il s’est lancé à la conquête de l’occident avec des titres comme “Mary You” aux côtés du chanteur de R&B Ne-Yo, “Waka” avec le rappeur Rick Ross ou “Hallelujah” avec le groupe de reggae roots jamaïcain Morgan Heritage. Des titres qui ont dépassé en cumul les 32M de vues YT.

Sorti le même jour : le magique “Seduce Me” du “King Kiba” Alikiba, tanzanien lui aussi (+8,5M de vues YT, août 2017).

*Pour le mot “Bongo”, “cerveau” en Swahili. Surnom de Dar-es-Salaam qui a vu naître cette musique dans les années 90. Mélange de rap, de pop, de R&B et de musiques plus traditionnelles comme le taarab.


4 septembreFeu d’artifice avec Nerù Americano et son kuduro (Angola)


7 septembreLa potion magique de Makifizolo (Afrique du Sud)

Très populaire depuis la sortie de l’incroyable “Khona” (+10M de vues YT, avril 2013), titre produit par Uhuru (dans les plus grands hitmakers du pays), le duo composé de Theo Kgosinkwe et Nhlanhla Nciza, a remporté trois fois le titre de « Meilleur Artiste de l’année” aux SA Music Awards.


11 septembreOn danse le “Manger Chier” avec Safarel Obiang, attention au “fort diarrhée” (Côte d’Ivoire)


18 septembreLe “Mimi” du rappeur 7Liwa fait un énorme carton !

7Liwa est considéré par beaucoup comme le meilleur rappeur de la nouvelle génération. En France, on a pu le découvrir en duo avec Lartiste sur son morceau “Gonzales” sorti en 2016. Au Maroc, il a signé certains des gros bangers rap de ces dernières années : “Nik DT”,“Adidas”, “Haribo”, ..et avec “Mimi”, extrait lui aussi de mixtape #WF (Wald Fatema, pour le fils de Fatema en dejia), 7Liwa a presque passé le palier des 10M de vues YT en 2017.


21 septembre
Shado Chris, fait monter la température et ça donne la Chaleur (Côte d’Ivoire)


11 octobreLe rappeur Kwesta sort le meilleur feat. avec un ricain de 2017 (Afrique du Sud)

Avec son timbre de voix et son flow si singulier, Kwesta se présente comme le “Da King of Afrikan Rap” (“le roi du rap africain”). Un titre qu’il porte à merveille depuis la sortie du second volet de son album DaKAR où l’on retrouve l’épatant « Ngud » en 2016 (ft. Cassper Nyovest +4,9M de vues YT). Et pour relancer la machine en 2017, Kwesta a notamment choisi de tabler sur un duo avec le rappeur Wale. Une collaboration qui a donné naissance à “Spirit”, le meilleur duo rap “Afrique/U.S.A.” de cette année.  

Wale et l’Afrique : Depuis son premier voyage au Nigeria et la sortie de son titre hommage à Fela Kuti “The God Smile”, le rappeur a multiplié les collaborations avec les artistes de son pays d’origine. Sur son tout dernier album Shine, il a invité Davido, Olamide et Wizkid (avril 2017).


13 octobreJah Prayzah, le Musoja* du Zimbabwe

Comme pour la plupart des gros noms de la musique africaine, la popularité de Jah Prayzah, artiste récompensé d’un MTV African Music Awards en 2016, a grandi sur le continent (et surtout sur YouTube) au rythme de ses featurings avec les stars des pays voisins.

Parmi les plus populaires aujourd’hui, “Watora Mari” avec Diamond Platnumz, My Lilly avec Davido et “Sendekera” avec Mafikizolo.

* « Soldat » en shona, langue principalement parlée au Zimbabwe. Jah Prayzah a gagné sur ce surnom pour les tenues militaires qu’il porte sur scène avec son groupe.


25 octobreLes matins joyeux du rappeur A.L.A (Tunisie)

Qu’il fait bon de se lever pour rapper aujourd’hui comme A.L.A le dit sur “Nharzin” (le jour est beau) ! Son aventure solo (A.L.A a notamment fait ses débuts au sein du groupe ZZH.5) a officiellement été lancée sur Youtubpraye en juin 2017 et sa chaîne affiche déjà plus de 36 millions de vues (pic atteint avec “U.Z.I”, +11M).

Et pour mieux chanter les matins de rap joyeux, A.L.A a fait appel au marocain Toto sur “Nharzin”. Un artiste bien connu du Royaume, auteur du très efficace “Pablo” produit par Hades. Le chouchou du rap marocain qui a notamment bossé sur Fantôme, le dernier album du tonton du rap français Rim’K.

26 octobreL’Algérie reste le pays du raï – Cheb Bilal, “Romantique

3 novembre
Tiwa Savage est une African Queen (Nigeria)

Tiwa Savage c’est un peu la “Beyoncé du Nigeria”. Signée sur le label de Don Jazzy – dans les artistes les plus puissants du continent – et managée par Roc Nation – la structure de Jay-Z, la chanteuse aux multiples récompenses est arrivée avec un nouvel EP Sugarcane en septembre 2017. Un six titres porté par le hit “Ma Lo” en duo avec Wizkid (+9M de vues YT).

On vous conseille : « Suga n Spice » de Yémi Alada (janvier 2017, +1,1M de vues YT), autre chanteuse nigériane très influente sur le continent.


19 novembreLa science du rappeur Dip Doundou Guiss (Sénégal)

Il est né en 1991. Il s’appelle Dip Doundou Guiss pour le mot “deep” en anglais et ses ses textes profonds. Il s’est fait connaître avec les morceaux “Hors Norme” ou “Yakarouma Ci Ken” au début des années 2010. Il est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des leaders du rap galsen (“NMLD”, environ 900 000 vues YT). Un meneur qui s’est fait voler son titre de “Meilleur Rappeur” aux Galsen Hip Hop Awards 2017 par un Omzo Dollar flamboyant sur “Yarr” (septembre 2017,+325 000 vues YT).

On vous conseille : Nix, “La Boca” ft. Omzo Dollar. Présent dans le milieu depuis plus de 20 ans, Nix est un ténor du rap en Afrique de l’Ouest. Il a marqué le hip hop sénégalais de son empreinte avec son groupe Kantiolis, sorti de nombreux projets solos dont la série Excuse My Wolof (lancée en 2016 avec un EP et le titre “Badou Meun Lepp”. La suite arrive sous la forme d’un album).


20 novembreLes Sauti Sol restent les patrons de la pop (Kenya)

Depuis la sortie de “Sura Yako” (septembre 2014, +5,6M de vues YT), extrait de leur troisième album Live and Die in Africa, Sauti Sol est le groupe phare de la pop kenyane. Un groupe qui, pour rester leader au pays comme à l’étranger, enchaîne les featurings interpays.

Sauti Sol en feat. sur 2017 : avec le chanteur de kizomba angolais C4 Pedro sur “Love Again”, avec l’ougandais Bebe Cool sur “Mbozi Za Malwa”, avec le nigérian Kcee sur “Wine for Me”.

Sorti le même jour : “Yasis” du rappeur aux 27 mixtapes Youngsta CPT qui a gagné le prix du “Meilleur Lyriciste” aux SA Hip-Hop Awards 2017.


25 novembreLe goudronnier du rap Don’zer sort enfin sa vidéo (Gabon)

Don’zer a eu un buzz monstre en 2017 avec morceau “Goudronnier” qui raconte l’art de la débrouillardise, la vie des voyous des quartiers pauvres de Libreville.

On vous conseille : Piccolo” du “boss de ton boss”, le rappeur gabonais Zyone Stylei.


24 novembreTunji et Khaligraph Jones, le plus beau duo du rap Kenyan

Pour le remix de son “Mat Za Ronga”, le jeune Tunji a fait appel au poids lourd Khaligraph Jones (on vous parlait de ces deux-là dans notre spéciale rap kényan).

Sorti en juin 2017, “Mat Za Ronga” est une ode au minibus matatu, le moyen de transport en commun le plus utilisé au Kenya devenu un véritable phénomène culturel avec des chauffeurs qui pimpent leurs véhicules à grand renfort de décorations criardes, écrans plasma, sono hurlantes…


29 novembreAriel Sheney, la voix du ghetto (Côte d’Ivoire)

Avec “Ghetto”, Ariel Sheney tient l’un des titres phares de cette année 2017. Sorti en septembre dernier, il totalisait plus de 2M de vues YT jusqu’à son retrait des réseaux par son ancien mentor Arafat DJ (il faisait partie de sa structure, la YoroGang) au mois de novembre. Ariel Sheney poursuit aujourd’hui sa carrière en solo.


3 décembreProdígio et les merveilles du rap angolais – Força Suprema

Prodígio, autre membre du groupe Força Suprema, a balancé une dizaine de vidéos au mois de décembre sur sa chaîne YT. Des titres extraits de son dernier album Lua, sorti le 28 décembre 2017.


14 décembreLes grandes marques font parfois des choses chouettes

Le Coke Studio Africa, émission diffusée sur les chaînes de télévision de 30 pays du continent, donne lieu à de très jolies rencontres depuis plusieurs années. Sur l’édition 2017, on retrouvait Youssoupha (Congo RDC), Locko (Cameroun), Yemi Alade (Nigéria), Dji Tafinha (Angola) parmi les chanteurs. Nahreel (du duo Navy Kenzo, Tanzanie) ou Sketchy Bongo (Afrique du Sud) dans les producteurs. Des artistes qui ont aussi enregistré des titres collaboratifs à l’image de Nasty C et Runtown sur une musique de Shado Chris. Un morceau où sont donc réunis l’Afrique du Sud, le Nigéria et la Côte d’Ivoire le temps d’une vidéo aux couleurs de “Coca Cola”.